Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Communication and Media Research

Abstract

The Bachelor programme in communication and media research teaches essential knowledge about media in modern societies. Our dedicated team offers an excellent scientific education, insights into the daily media business and optimal supervision in small groups. A Bachelor's degree from the University of Fribourg opens up various career options in the media and communication sector.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fribourg profile
The University of Fribourg's Bachelor programme in communication and media research aims at describing and explaining media and communication in modern societies. The programme puts an emphasis on actors, content, and effects of public communication as well as its social, political and economic environments. In addition to teaching basics about the interplay between media, society, organisations and individuals, the programme offers insights into the media business.

Learning outcomes
The Bachelor programme at the Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) offers you a solid scientific education. Beyond acquiring basic knowledge about the workings of the media in today's society, you learn to research and scrutinise important and exciting aspects of media and communication yourself. In addition, you have the opportunity to gain hands-on experience in the media business. Thus, you acquire knowledge and competencies that are in demand in various occupational fields in the media and communication sector. The DCM puts an emphasis on didactics, optimal supervision and regular feedback.

Career openings
Knowledge about how the media operate and social scientific competences are an important requirement for many careers in the media and communication sector.
Our graduates work in media management, journalism, public relations, communication management, marketing, market research, media planning, academia, the public administration, politics and communication consultancy.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits + 60 ECTS credits in one or two minor study programmes freely chosen, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/4F2Tn

Comments

In Fribourg you have the opportunity to complement your studies of communication according to your own interests with a variety of minor study programmes like economics, management, history, sociology, psychology or languages.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Bachelorstudium in Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung vermittelt Grundlagenwissen über Medien in modernen Gesellschaften. Unser engagiertes Team bietet Ihnen eine erstklassige wissenschaftliche Ausbildung, Einblicke in die Medienpraxis und eine gute Betreuung in kleinen Gruppen. Ein Bachelorstudium an der Universität Fribourg eröffnet Ihnen hervorragende Berufsperspektiven im Medien- und Kommuniaktionssektor.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Freiburger Profil
Das Bachelorstudium in Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung an der Universität Freiburg vermittelt sozialwissenschaftliche Grundlagen zur Beschreibung und Erklärung von Medien. Im Fokus stehen Akteure, Inhalte und Wirkungen öffentlicher Kommunikation sowie ihre sozialen, politischen und ökonomischen Rahmenbedingungen. Der Studiengang dient dem Erwerb von Grundlagenwissen über das Zusammenspiel von Medien, Gesellschaft, Organisationen und Individuen und bietet ergänzend Einblicke in die Medienpraxis.

Ausbildungsziele
Mit dem Bachelorstudium am Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung (DCM) bieten wir Ihnen eine erstklassige wissenschaftliche Ausbildung. Neben grundlegenden Kenntnissen über die Funktionsweise von Medien in modernen Gesellschaften lernen Sie, wichtige und spannende Aspekte von Medien und Kommunikation selbst zu erforschen und kritisch zu hinterfragen. Zusätzlich haben Sie die Möglichkeit, in Praxiskursen Einblicke ins journalistische Handwerk zu gewinnen. Damit erwerben Sie Wissen und Kompetenzen, die in zahlreichen Berufsfeldern im Medien- und Kommunikationssektor gefragt sind. Das DCM legt in der Ausbildung besonderen Wert auf die didaktische Vermittlung, eine gute Betreuung und regelmässiges Feedback.

Berufsperspektiven
Wissen über die Funktionsweise von Medien und sozialwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen sind eine wichtige Voraussetzung für zahlreiche Berufe im Medien- und Kommunikationssektor.
Unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind unter anderem tätig in Medienmanagement, Journalismus, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Kommunikationsmanagement, Marketing, Marktforschung, Mediaplanung, Wissenschaft, Verwaltung, Politik und Kommunikationsberatung.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in einem oder zwei Nebenprogrammen nach Wahl, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ac8PM

Bemerkung

Durch die Kombination mit anderen Studienprogrammen wie beispielsweise Volkswirtschaftslehre, Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Geschichte, Soziologie, Psychologie oder Sprachen können Sie Ihr Studium der Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung gemäss Ihren eigenen Interessen optimal ergänzen.

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).