Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Economic and Legal Studies

Abstract

The Bachelor in Economic and Legal Studies is an original course of studies and the only one of its kind in Switzerland. It efficiently combines the main features of management, economics and law. Throughout their studies, students will learn about the key concepts of these disciplines.
In the management part, students focus on the decisions made in all sections of a company: production, finance, marketing, accounting and control, human resources and strategy. The students learn to develop solutions in order to optimise the use of resources or to attain ideal compromises to reach various goals. Concrete and pragmatic solutions are presented for traditional, profit-focused companies as well as for non-profit organisations, such as administrations, hospitals, associations and international organisations.
In economics, students learn how to find solutions to economic and social problems, for example by analysing human behaviour in the face of scarcity of resources, human interactions in business contexts or public institutions, the role of markets and other co-ordination mechanisms, in particular the means of intervention open to government through economic and social processes.
Lastly, the subject of legal studies provides an understanding of the characteristics and essential functions of law as a social system. Students can improve their knowledge of the different types of law (public, criminal, European, civil), notably by looking at the historical evolution of law in the political, economic and social context.
Students can attend practically all courses in either French or German, and they can also obtain the distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German» on their diploma. Students are individually supervised in order for them to study in optimal conditions.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study programme, which is based on existing courses in management, economics and law, has been designed and optimised to offer students general, but sound knowledge, in the various fields of management, economics and law. Upon finishing their Bachelor, and depending on the classes chosen in the 2nd and 3rd year, students have access to the Master programmes in Management and Economics offered at the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences. This Bachelor is also ideal for students seeking to teach economics and law in upper secondary schools.
Students will carry out two thirds of their education in the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences (major in «Management and Economics», 120 ECTS credits), and their studies will be completed at the Faculty of Law (minor in «Law», 60 ECTS credits). In general, students at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences follow a well-structured yearly study programme. At the Faculty of Law, students can organise their programme throughout the Bachelor in line with the Regulation for students taking law as a minor programme.

In the first year of management and economics, students will by and by be familiarised with the domain, notably in micro-economics. They will be introduced to management and accounting. They will also acquire knowledge of key concepts in statistics and mathematics, allowing them to take advanced Bachelor or Master classes.

In the second year, some classes are compulsory. These will round off the students' basic studies. They will gain an understanding of the principles of macro-economics, public finances, investment and financing, as well as marketing.

The rest of the courses in the second and third year are free of choice from classes offered by the Faculty's economics and management courses. This flexibility allows students to develop a particular profile, either in the field of management or economics. At the end of their studies, thanks to a general and comprehensive education, they will have acquired theoretical knowledge and practical know-how.

In their three-year course of studies, the students have a broad and free choice of courses in the field of law and can therefore develop a suitable profile in line with their own objectives.

Fribourg profile
The Faculty offers modern teaching based on the results of current research and in line with the University's humanist tradition. The aim is, on the one hand, to provide students with skills that will allow them to find answers and solutions to today's economic and social issues and, on the other hand, to provide them with the foundations which are essential for understanding business management or finance management tools. The complementary legal courses will open the doors to the complex world of law. The courses are held in French and in German and are therefore an optimal way of preparing students for the national and international labour market.

Learning outcomes
Students from the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences and the Faculty of Law are highly attractive for employers. They dispose of numerous skills acquired in economics and management, as well as in specific fields of law.

Methodological skills
In uncertain and constantly changing conditions, students learn to structure their way of dealing with problems and to develop rigorous diagnostic procedures, put forward solutions, forecast models, and offer advice to firms and institutions in both the private and public sector. Qualitative and quantitative methods are taught during lessons, exercises, in the form of group work projects and by studying practical cases. A Bachelor thesis completes the course of studies.

Professional skills
The programme is founded on the experience and the scientific skills of the teaching staff. The latest research results and the most modern tools developed by researchers are immediately integrated in the course syllabi. This knowledge transfer prepares students for their future professional life.

Social skills
The bilingual and interdisciplinary nature of the studies is a major benefit for the students. It allows them to study in different environments, get used to alternative approaches and work with different people. Due to optimal class sizes, group work and debates are frequently used to stimulate interactive learning and co-operation. This particular study context at the University of Fribourg enhances the whole study experience.

Career perspectives
Graduates can pursue a career in small and medium-sized companies or multi-nationals in a variety of positions ranging from operational to management and consultant positions. The basic knowledge acquired in law gives them the advantage of understanding legal issues in the economic world. The public sector is another area of employment. The various governmental and non-governmental institutions, professional institutions and trade unions are also very popular choices. Thanks to the general and interdisciplinary nature of this Bachelor (economics/management/law), graduates have unique and highly attractive profiles. Lastly, new graduates can continue their studies on Master level.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits Management and Economics + 60 ECTS credits Law, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/4F2Tn
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xx39f (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/5P3md (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Minor study programmes to be chosen

Law

A Bachelor's degree in Law provides students with round knowledge of all key areas of law. The full-time course is spread over three years and is progressive in that the individual areas of law are discussed in at least two years.
Teaching comprises lectures as well as numerous tutorials in which students receive guidance on the analysis, solution and criticism of concrete legal issues, interactively and in small groups.
In Fribourg virtually all the teaching sessions are offered in German and in French. The choice is yours: you can follow all the lectures and tutorials in German or in French, but you also have the possibility of upgrading your diploma with the distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German». Further important benefits are the small size of the Faculty and the personal mentoring you receive during your studies.

More info

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Wirtschafts- und Rechtswissenschaftliche Studien

Kurzbeschreibung

Der Bachelor in Wirtschafts- und Rechtswissenschaftlichen Studien ist ein neuartiges und in der Schweiz einzigartiges Studium, bei dem die wichtigsten Aspekte der Betriebswirtschaftslehre (oder des Managements), der Ökonomie und der Rechtswissenschaften effizient behandelt werden. Im Laufe ihres Studiums können sich die Studierenden die wichtigsten Konzepte dieser Disziplinen aneignen.
Die Betriebswirtschaftslehre befasst sich mit allen Entscheidungen, die im Unternehmen in den folgenden Bereichen getroffen werden: Produktion, Finanzwesen, Marketing, Buchhaltung, Controlling, Personalwesen und Strategie. Die erarbeiteten Lösungen zielen darauf ab, den Ressourceneinsatz zu optimieren oder für die Erreichung verschiedener Ziele optimale Kompromisse zu erzielen. Traditionellen gewinnorientierten Unternehmen, Non-Profit-Unternehmen, Behörden, Krankenhäusern, Vereinen und internationalen Organisationen werden konkrete und pragmatische Lösungen geboten.
In der Volkswirtschaftslehre wird nach Lösungen für wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Probleme gesucht. Untersucht werden dabei beispielsweise das Verhalten der Akteure bei Ressourcenknappheit, die zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen im Unternehmen oder bei staatlichen Institutionen sowie die Rolle der Märkte und sonstigen Koordinierungsmechanismen wie insbesondere der staatlichen Eingriffe in die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Prozesse.
Im Bereich Rechtswissenschaften werden schliesslich die Eigenschaften und Grundfunktionen des Rechts als soziales System untersucht. Die Studierenden vertiefen ihre Kenntnisse der verschiedenen Rechtsbereiche (öffentliches Recht, Strafrecht, Europarecht, Zivilrecht) und stellen dabei insbesondere die historische Entwicklung des Rechts in den politischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Kontext.
Die Studierenden haben die Möglichkeit, so gut wie alle Kurse entweder in französischer oder in deutscher Sprache zu absolvieren. Wenn sie sowohl deutsch- als auch französischsprachige Kurse besuchen, erlangen sie den Zusatz «Zweisprachiges Studium». Für optimale Studienbedingungen sorgt die enge persönliche Begleitung, durch die sich diese Ausbildung auszeichnet.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Der Studienplan stützt sich auf die bereits vorhandenen Studiengänge BWL, VWL und Recht und wurde so erstellt und optimiert, dass den Studierenden allgemeine und dennoch solide Kenntnisse in den verschiedenen Rechts-, BWL- und VWL-Bereichen vermittelt werden. Nach Abschluss des Bachelors können die Studierenden gemäss den von ihnen im zweiten und dritten Studienjahr gewählten Kursen mit dem Masterstudium in Betriebswirtschaftslehre oder Volkswirtschaftslehre der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät beginnen. Das Studium wendet sich auch an diejenigen, die im Bereich Wirtschaft und Recht eine Lehrtätigkeit in den Maturitätsschulen anstreben.
Die Studierenden absolvieren zwei Drittel ihres Studiums an der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät (Hauptfach in «Management und Ökonomie», 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) und das restliche Drittel an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät (Grosses Nebenfach in «Rechtswissenschaften», 60 ECTS- Kreditpunkte). Den Studierenden wird von der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät für jedes Studienjahr ein klar strukturierter Studienplan ausgehändigt. Gemäss Reglement für Studierende mit Rechtswissenschaften als Nebenfach können sich die Studierenden ihr Programm in der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät während ihres gesamten Bachelorstudiums selbst zusammenstellen.

Im ersten wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Studienjahr machen sich die Studierenden nach und nach mit der Disziplin vertraut, insbesondere auch im Bereich der Mikroökonomie. Weiterhin belegen sie ausführliche Einführungen in die BWL und die Unternehmensrechnung. Gleichzeitig werden Kenntnisse in Statistik und Mathematik vermittelt, die als Grundlage für die fortgeschrittenen Bachelor- oder Masterkurse dienen.

Im zweiten Jahr ist ein Teil der Kurse zur Vervollständigung der Grundkenntnisse für die Studierenden verpflichtend. Hierzu zählen die Grundlagen in den Bereichen Makroökonomie, öffentliches Finanzwesen, Investitions- und Finanzierungstheorie sowie Marketing.

Der Rest der Kurse im zweiten und dritten Jahr kann frei aus den volkswirtschaftlichen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Programmen der Fakultät ausgewählt werden. Diese Flexibilität soll es den Studierenden ermöglichen, entweder im volkswirtschaftlichen oder im betriebswirtschaftlichen Bereich ein persönliches Profil zu entwickeln. Nach dem Abschluss des Studiums verfügen die Absolventinnen und Absolventen aufgrund der allgemeinen und vollständigen Ausbildung über theoretische und praktische Kenntnisse.

Während der drei Studienjahre verfügen die Studierenden über grosse Wahlfreiheit bei den rechtswissenschaftlichen Kursen und können sich somit auch dort ein adäquates Profil aufbauen, das ihren Wünschen entspricht.

Freiburger Profil
Die Fakultät bietet eine moderne, auf dem neusten Forschungsstand basierende Ausbildung, die der humanistischen Tradition der Universität folgt. Zum einen werden den Studierenden Kompetenzen vermittelt, mit denen sie Antworten und Lösungen für die aktuellen wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Probleme finden können, zum anderen machen sie sich mit den Grundlagen vertraut, die für das Verständnis der in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften verwendeten Werkzeuge unverzichtbar sind. Die zusätzliche rechtswissenschaftliche Ausbildung eröffnet ihnen Möglichkeiten in der komplexen Welt des Rechts. Das Studienangebot wird vollständig parallel in französischer und in deutscher Sprache angeboten und ist damit eine perfekte Vorbereitung auf den nationalen und internationalen Arbeitsmarkt.

Ausbildungsziele
Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Rechtswissenschaftlichen und der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät sind sehr gefragt, da sie über zahlreiche Fähigkeiten sowohl in VWL und BWL als auch in spezifischen Rechtsbereichen verfügen.

Methodische Kompetenzen
Die Studierenden lernen, ihren Problemansatz bei Unsicherheit und ständigen Veränderungen zu strukturieren, fundierte Diagnosen aufzustellen, Lösungen und Prognosemodelle zu entwickeln sowie staatliche und private Unternehmen und Institutionen zu beraten. In den Kursen werden qualitative und quantitative Methoden erlernt, die in Übungen, Gruppenarbeiten, beim Studium praktischer Anwendungsfälle und mit der Erstellung der Bachelorarbeit abgerundet werden.

Berufliche Kompetenzen
Die Ausbildung stützt sich auf die wissenschaftliche Erfahrung und Kompetenz der Professoren. Diese nehmen die jüngsten Forschungsergebnisse unmittelbar in ihre Lehre auf. Dasselbe gilt für die von den Forschern entwickelten modernsten Werkzeuge. Durch diese Kompetenzvermittlung werden die Studierenden bestmöglich auf ihr zukünftiges Berufsleben vorbereitet.

Soziale Kompetenzen
Die Zweisprachigkeit und der interdisziplinäre Ansatz dieses Studiums kommen den Studierenden stark zugute. Sie lernen unterschiedliche Umgebungen kennen, machen sich mit verschiedenen Ansätzen vertraut und arbeiten mit verschiedenen Personen zusammen. Aufgrund der optimalen Klassengrösse wird häufig auf Gruppenarbeit und Diskussionen zurückgegriffen, was eine interaktive Lehre begünstigt und die gegenseitige Hilfsbereitschaft fördert. Dieser besondere Kontext der Freiburger Studien ist eine Bereicherung der im Studium angeeigneten Kenntnisse.

Berufsperspektiven
Die jungen Absolventinnen und Absolventen können nach dem Studium eine Laufbahn in kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen oder in Grosskonzernen anstreben, wobei ihnen verschiedene Stellen im operativen Bereich, im Management oder in der Beratung offenstehen. Die erworbenen rechtswissenschaftlichen Grundlagen sind dabei hilfreich für das Verständnis der juristischen Probleme, mit denen die Wirtschaftswelt konfrontiert ist. Auch der öffentliche Dienst bietet zahlreiche Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten. Die verschiedenen staatlichen und privaten Institutionen, Berufsverbände und Gewerkschaften sind ebenfalls beliebte Arbeitgeber. Die allgemeine und interdisziplinäre Ausbildung (VWL, BWL, Recht) verleiht den Absolventinnen und Absolventen ein einzigartiges Profil, das stark nachgefragt ist. Natürlich können die jungen Absolventinnen und Absolventen ihre Ausbildung auch mit einem Masterstudium fortsetzen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte Management und Ökonomie + 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte Recht, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ac8PM
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/5P3md

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Nebenprogramme nach Wahl

Recht

Wer sich für ein Bachelorstudium in Rechtswissenschaften entscheidet erwirbt das juristische Basiswissen in allen wichtigen Rechtsgebieten. In drei Jahren belegen die Studierenden die Fächer Öffentliches Recht, Römisches Recht, Strafrecht, Europa- und Völkerrecht, Zivilrecht, Rechtsgeschichte, Obligationenrecht, Steuerrecht, Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht, Sozialrecht und Rechtsphilosophie.
Neben den Vorlesungen lernen die Studierenden in praktischen Übungsveranstaltungen, Gesetze und Gerichtsentscheide zu interpretieren, Lösungen für grundlegende Rechtsprobleme zu finden und die Bedeutung aktueller rechtswissenschaftlicher Diskussionen für den juristischen Alltag zu erkennen.
In Freiburg können fast alle Vorlesungen wahlweise auf Deutsch oder auf Französisch besucht werden. Dadurch können die Studierenden ihr Diplom mit dem Zusatz «Zweisprachiges Studium» aufwerten. Weitere Vorteile bieten die persönliche Betreuung während des Studiums sowie die vielen Austauschangebote mit Partneruniversitäten im In- und Ausland.

Weitere Infos