Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Economics

Abstract

The Bachelor programme provides an in depths training in economics, and additionally covers the fundamentals of business administration and quantitative methods. The focus is on solving economic and societal issues in companies, households, government institutions and markets. The approach is based on the analysis of human decision-making processes as well as the optimal use and the effect of economic resources, e.g. labour and capital. Some questions addressed in this programme relate to broad economic relationships: What determines prosperity and the distribution of wealth in a country? What influences the exchange rates and trade flows between nations? How do firms acquire market power and should when should the state regulate them? But there are also more specific questions that are addressed: What effect does education have on income, health and crime? Because of what characteristics are some companies more successful than others? Which kind of interventions work in developmental aid? To answer such questions, the programme provides theoretical concepts as well as data-based (i.e. empirical) methods and puts students in a position to understand economic problems, to analyse them autonomously and to derive advice for action for companies or politicians. The inclusion of real life cases makes it possible to practically implement the knowledge that has been acquired, and the excellent student-to-teacher ratio allows for interactive teaching styles.
The Bachelor programme in economics combines modern teaching and research with the humanistic tradition of the University of Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Bachelor programme provides an in depths training in economics, and additionally covers the fundamentals of business administration and quantitative methods. The focus is on solving economic and societal issues in companies, households, government institutions and markets. On the one hand, it is of interest how people in companies, households, government institutions and markets use economic (eg financial) resources, and how decisions interact with economic and political institutions. On the other hand, an analysis of the impact and the optimal use of economic resources is necessary in order to be able to derive recommendations for companies and politicians. Examples of questions in economics are: What determines prosperity and the distribution of wealth in a country? What influences the exchange rates and trade flows between nations? How do firms acquire market power? Economics also deals with more specific questions: What effect does education have on income, health and crime? Because of what characteristics are some companies more successful than others? Which kind of interventions work in developmental aid? Economics also deals with the question of whether and how the state should intervene in economic and social processes at the national and international level.

Fribourg profile
The Department of Economics combines modern political economic teaching and research with the humanistic tradition of the University of Fribourg. Students are empowered to provide answers to economic, social and entrepreneurial issues and to put them into practice.
The excellent support in the department and the strong application orientation of the teaching provide an ideal environment for students to acquire these skills. The Bachelor programme, which is offered entirely in German and French, enables students to prepare themselves optimally for work in an intercultural environment.

Learning outcomes
A solid basic education in economics provides students with the necessary knowledge to understand and independently analyse economic problems. The goal of the study programme is to impart methodological, professional and social skills:

Methodological skills
Economists contribute to the understanding of economic processes and economic interrelationships under changing conditions. Students learn
– to make economic diagnoses and prognoses with the help of theoretical and statistical insights, as well as quantitative methods of causal analysis;
– how to provide economic consulting for companies, the public sector and organisations that pursue certain economic goals;
– how to communicate economic ideas and economic interrelationships, for example, in the media.

Professional skills
Good professional expertise is indispensable for the analysis of complex economic problems. During the course of the study programme, students learn how they can theoretically structure economic issues and subsequently examine them with the help of data. The inclusion of practical cases makes it possible for students to transfer the knowledge that has been acquired into practice and develop solutions for economic and socio-political problems.

Social skills
The excellent student-to teacher ratio in the department allows for interactive teaching methods. Students have the opportunity to work in teams early on, present the results of their work and practice participating in scientific discussions. In group work in particular students have the opportunity to motivate fellow students and help one another.

Career prospects
At the University of Fribourg, economists gain a solid theoretical and statistical education, which at the same time is practice-oriented, focussing on current economic issues in public organisations and companies. Such a profile provides employment prespectives in particular in large private companies (in particular in banking and insurance, industry, trade, data management and media), consulting, market research, the public sector (on the cantonal or state level), international organisations (e.g. UNO) as well as in professional or trade union organisations.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/4F2Tn

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Volkswirtschaftslehre

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Bachelorprogramm umfasst neben dem Schwerpunkt in Volkswirtschaftslehre auch Grundlagen der Betriebswirtschaftslehre und der quantitativen Methoden. Im Vordergrund steht die Lösung wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Fragestellungen in Unternehmen, Haushalten, staatlichen Institutionen und Märkten. Dies basiert auf der Analyse von menschlichen Entscheidungsprozessen sowie des optimalen Einsatzes und der Wirkung von wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen wie z.B. Arbeit und Kapital. Zum einen geht es dabei um gesamtwirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge: Wodurch bestimmen sich Wohlstand und Einkommensverteilung eines Landes? Wodurch werden die Wechselkurse und Handelsströme zwischen den Nationen beeinflusst? Wie generieren Firmen Marktmacht, und wann sollte der Staat Firmen regulieren? Die Volkswirtschaftslehre beinhaltet aber auch spezifischere Fragestellungen: Welchen Effekt hat Bildung auf Einkommen, Gesundheit und Kriminalität? Aufgrund welcher Eigenschaften sind manche Unternehmen erfolgreicher als andere? Welche Massnahmen sind effektiv in der Entwicklungshilfe?
Zur Beantwortung solcher Fragen vermittelt das Studium sowohl theoretische Konzepte, als auch datenbasierte (d.h. empirische) Methoden und versetzt Studierende in die Lage, ökonomische Probleme zu verstehen, selbstständig zu analysieren und Handlungsempfehlungen für Unternehmen oder Politiker abzuleiten. Der Einbezug von realen Beispielen ermöglicht es, das erworbene Wissen in die Praxis zu übertragen und das ausgezeichnete Betreuungsverhältnis erlaubt eine interaktive Gestaltung der Lehrveranstaltungen.
Das Bachelorprogramm in Volkswirtschaftslehre kombiniert moderne Lehre und Forschung mit der humanistischen Tradition der Universität Freiburg.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Bachelorprogramm umfasst neben dem Schwerpunkt in Volkswirtschaftslehre auch Grundlagen der Betriebswirtschaftslehre und der quantitativen Methoden. Im Vordergrund steht die Lösung wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Fragestellungen in Unternehmen, Haushalten, staatlichen Institutionen und Märkten. Dazu ist zum einen von Interesse, wie Menschen in Unternehmen, Haushalten, staatlichen Institutionen und Märkten über den Einsatz von wirtschaftlichen (z.B. finanziellen) Ressourcen entscheiden und wie diese Entscheidungen mit den wirtschaftlichen und politischen Rahmenbedingen zusammenhängen. Zum anderen bedarf es einer Analyse der Wirkung und des optimalen Einsatzes der wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen, um Handlungsempfehlungen für Unternehmen und Politiker ableiten zu können. Beispiele für Fragestellungen in der Volkswirtschaftslehre sind: Wodurch bestimmen sich Wohlstand und Einkommensverteilung eines Landes? Wodurch werden die Wechselkurse und Handelsströme zwischen den Nationen beeinflusst? Wie generieren Firmen Marktmacht, Die Volkswirtschaftslehre beinhaltet aber auch spezifischere Fragestellungen: Welchen Effekt hat Bildung auf Einkommen, Gesundheit und Kriminalität? Aufgrund welcher Eigenschaften sind manche Unternehmen erfolgreicher als andere? Welche Massnahmen sind effektiv in der Entwicklungshilfe? Die Volkswirtschaftslehre beschäftigt sich auch mit der Frage, ob und wie der Staat in wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Prozesse auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene eingreifen soll.

Freiburger Profil
Das Department für Volkswirtschaftslehre kombiniert moderne wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Lehre und Forschung mit der humanistischen Tradition der Universität Freiburg. Die Studierenden werden befähigt, Antworten auf wirtschaftliche, gesellschaftliche und unternehmerische Herausforderungen zu geben und in die Praxis umzusetzen.
Das hervorragende Betreuungsverhältnis am Departement, der starke Anwendungsbezug der Lehre und das duale Kursangebot auf Deutsch und Französisch bereiten die Studierenden optimal auf ein interkulturelles Arbeitsumfeld vor.

Ausbildungsziele
Eine solide wirtschaftliche Grundausbildung vermittelt Ihnen die notwendigen Kenntnisse, um ökonomische Probleme zu verstehen und selbständig zu analysieren. Das Ziel des Studienprogramms ist es, Ihnen Methoden-, Fach- und Sozialkompetenzen zu geben:

Methodenkompetenz
Volkswirtinnen und Volkswirte tragen bei zum Verständnis von Wirtschaftsabläufen und wirtschaftlichen Zusammenhängen unter sich verändernden Bedingungen. Sie erlernen
– das Erstellen von wirtschaftlichen Diagnosen und Prognosen unter Zuhilfenahme theoretischer und statistischer Erkenntnisse sowie quantitativer Methoden zur kausalen Analyse;
– die Fähigkeit zur wirtschaftlichen Beratung von Unternehmen, Staatssektor und Organisationen, die bestimmte wirtschaftliche Ziele verfolgen;
– die Kommunikation wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Ideen und ökonomischer Zusammenhänge etwa in den Medien.

Fachkompetenz
Für die Analyse komplexer wirtschaftlicher Probleme sind gute Fachkenntnisse unverzichtbar. Die Studierenden lernen im Laufe des Bachelorstudiums, wie man volkswirtschaftliche Fragestellungen theoretisch strukturiert und mit Hilfe von Daten untersuchen kann. Durch den Einbezug realer Beispiele erlernen die Studierenden das erworbene Wissen in die Praxis zu übertragen und Lösungen für wirtschafts- und gesellschaftspolitische Probleme zu entwickeln.

Sozialkompetenz
Das hervorragende Betreuungsverhältnis erlaubt eine interaktiv Gestaltung der Lehrveranstaltungen. Dies bietet den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, im Team zu arbeiten, die Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit zu präsentieren und sich in fachspezifischen Diskussionen zu üben. Insbesondere in Gruppenarbeiten gilt es auch, die Kommilitonen zu motivieren und sich gegenseitig zu helfen.

Berufsperspektiven
An der Universität Freiburg erhält eine Volkswirtin oder ein Volkswirt eine solide theoretische und statistische Ausbildung, die sich gleichzeitig durch ihren Praxisbezug zu aktuellen wirtschaftlichen Fragestellungen in Unternehmen und staatlichen Institutionen auszeichnet. Dadurch eröffnen sich Studierenden der Volkswirtschaftslehre attraktive Berufsmöglichkeiten in grossen Unternehmen (insbesondere in Banken, Industrie, Handel, Datenmanagement und Medien), Beratungsfirmen, (Markt-)Forschungsinstituten, Wirtschafts- und Berufsverbänden (z.B. Gewerkschaften), internationalen Organisationen (z.B. UNO) sowie im öffentlichen Sektor (z.B. Verwaltung auf Kantons- oder Bundesebene).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ac8PM

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).