Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Management

Abstract

This Bachelor programme provides the essential basis for understanding business management tools for companies and nonprofit organisations such as hospitals, associations and international organisations but also for public administration. Students are equipped with methodological, professional and social skills. Future graduates are trained in making decisions in a changing and complex economic environment, and acquire specific methods for analysing and understanding socioeconomic phenomena. A wide range of courses provides a solid knowledge and allows students to develop their skills in the different areas of management. In synergy with other subjects in the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences, courses are also provided in economics and information management.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The management discipline covers all methods required to make decisions related to the various sectors and functions of companies: production, finance, marketing, accounting and control, human resources, strategy, etc. Management consists of formulating strategic objectives and optimising the use of material, financial and human resources. It also involves finding the right compromise between the potentially conflicting goals of stakeholders and the opportunities presented by the markets. Management is relevant for companies as well as for non-profit organisations such as hospitals, associations and international organisations, and in the public administration.

Fribourg profile
The study programme provides the essential bases for understanding business administration tools and at the same time creates synergies with other areas in the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences. Therefore the programme also comprises courses in the fields of economics and information management.

Learning outcomes
This programme provides foundations in business administration. It allows students to continue with a Master programme in management or economics, or to embark directly their career. The latter option often requires additional training, provided by the company.

Methodological skills
Preparing future graduates to make decisions in a changing and complex economic environment involves the acquisition of methods enabling them to structure the way they approach problems and develop adequate solutions. The programme provides a range of quantitative and qualitative methods that enable future managers to analyse and understand socio-economic phenomena (market developments, consumer preferences, organisational conflicts and company performance, etc.). Students learn these methods in lessons, group projects, case studies, exercises and presentations, and finish their Bachelor by writing a scientific Bachelor thesis.

Professional skills
The wide range of courses allows students to acquire a solid knowledge, combined with advanced expertise in different areas of management. This Bachelor programme benefits from the scientific skills of the professors who integrate the most up-todate research results into their courses. The university environment also provides an essential inter-disciplinary dimension for understanding modern management issues.

Social skills
Work in small groups in a bilingual and multi-cultural context encourages the development of social, linguistic and cultural skills. In addition to professional skills, this experience is highly valued by companies that operate in a multi-cultural environment.

Career openings
The Bachelor in business administration/management provides future graduates with all the knowledge and methods they need to understand how a company functions and how to make decisions. Graduates will be able to address the challenges of large multinational companies or small and medium enterprises in operational, market research, auditor or junior consultant positions.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/4F2Tn

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Betriebswirtschaftslehre

Kurzbeschreibung

Dieses Bachelorprogramm vermittelt die notwendigen Kenntnisse zum Verständnis der betriebswirtschaftlichen Prozesse in Unternehmen und in Non-Profit-Organisationen wie Verwaltungen, Spitälern, Vereinen und internationalen Organisationen. Die Studierenden erwerben sowohl Methoden- als auch Fach- und Sozialkompetenzen. Sie werden auf die Entscheidungsprozesse im komplexen und sich rasch ändernden wirtschaftlichen Umfeld vorbereitet. Sie erlernen spezifische Methoden, um die sozioökonomischen Erscheinungen analysieren und verstehen zu können. Das Studienprogramm umfasst ein breites Vorlesungsangebot, durch das die Studierenden eine solide wirtschaftliche Ausbildung absolvieren und ihre Kompetenzen in den verschiedenen Bereichen des Managements entwickeln können. In Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen Bereichen der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät runden Vorlesungen in Volkswirtschaftslehre, Wirtschaftsinformatik und Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaft das Angebot ab.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Die Betriebswirtschaft (oder das Management) befasst sich mit den Fragen im Zusammenhang mit den verschiedenen Tätigkeitsbereichen und Funktionen der Unternehmen: Produktion, Finanzen, Marketing, Rechnungswesen und Controlling, Human Resources, Strategie usw. Das Ziel der Betriebswirtschaft besteht Verständnis der entsprechenden Prozesse und der Optimierung der materiellen, finanziellen und menschlichen Ressourcen und der Erreichung der strategischen Ziele der Unternehmen. Dabei muss der bestmögliche Kompromiss zwischen den teils divergierenden Zielen der Akteure und den Möglichkeiten des Marktes geschlossen werden.
Die Betriebswirtschaft interessiert sich sowohl für Unternehmen als auch für Non-Profit-Organisationen wie Verwaltungen, Spitäler, Vereine und internationale Organisationen.

Freiburger Profil
Das Studienprogramm vermittelt die wichtigen Grundkenntnisse, um die betriebswirtschaftlichen Prozesse verstehen zu können. Zudem werden Synergien mit anderen Kompetenzbereichen der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät genutzt. So bietet die Ausbildung auch Vorlesungen in Volkswirtschaftslehre, Wirtschaftsinformatik sowie Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaft.

Studienziele
Mit diesem Bachelorprogramm werden die Studierenden in die Grundlagen der Betriebswirtschaftslehre eingeführt. Sie können anschliessend ein Masterstudium in Betriebs- oder Wirtschaftswissenschaften aufnehmen oder direkt ins Berufsleben einsteigen. Studierende, die sich für letztere Lösung entscheiden, werden von den Unternehmen oft intern weitergebildet.

Methodenkompetenz
Um den komplexen und sich rasch ändernden Anforderungen in der Wirtschaft gerecht zu werden und Entscheidungen treffen zu können, bedürfen die angehenden Betriebswirtschaftler grundlegender Methodenkompetenzen und Problemlösungsfähigkeiten. Das Studienprogramm bietet eine breite Palette an quantitativen und qualitativen Methoden für die Analyse und das Verständnis sozioökonomischer Erscheinungen (Marktentwicklungen, Verbraucherpräferenzen, Organisationskonflikte, Unternehmensleistung).
Diese Methoden werden im Rahmen von Vorlesungen, Gruppen- und Seminararbeiten, Fallstudien, Übungen und Präsentationen erlernt und mit der Erstellung einer wissenschaftlichen Bachelorarbeit konkretisiert.

Fachkompetenz
Das breit gefächerte Vorlesungsprogramm ermöglicht es den Studierenden, sich ein solides Basiswissen und spezifische Fachkenntnisse in allen wesentlichen Bereichen der Betriebswirtschaftslehre bzw. des Managements anzueignen. Die hohe Lehr- und Forschungskompetenz der Dozenten im Departement für Betriebswirtschaftslehre stellt darüber hinaus sicher, dass die Lehrinhalte dem aktuellen Stand der Wissenschaft entsprechen. Das akademische Umfeld gewährleistet zudem eine für das Verständnis der aktuellen Problemstellungen des Managements wichtige interdisziplinäre Dimension.

Sozialkompetenz
Die Arbeit in kleinen Gruppen und Studententeams bietet die einzigartige Chance, in einem zweisprachigen Umfeld zu studieren und das soziale, sprachliche und kulturelle Verständnis zu fördern. Diese Erfahrungen werden von modernen Unternehmen im multikulturellen Umfeld zusätzlich zum Fachwissen immer stärker gewichtet.

Berufsperspektiven
Die universitäre Ausbildung in Betriebswirtschaftslehre/Management vermittelt den Studierenden die notwendigen Kenntnisse und Methoden für ein tief greifendes Verständnis der Unternehmen und der Entscheidungsprozesse. Nach Abschluss des Studiums sind die Studierenden in der Lage, sowohl Herausforderungen in grossen, multinationalen Unternehmen als auch in kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen anzunehmen und im Betrieb als Business-Analystin oder -Analyst, Revisorin oder Revisor sowie Juniorberaterin oder Juniorberater tätig zu sein.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ac8PM

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).