Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Environmental Sciences

Abstract

Anthropogenic climate change, natural degradation, and loss of biodiversity but also sustainable energy production, resource depletion, and waste disposal demand immediate action and governance. The management of these environmental challenges has already caused and will increasingly engender ethical concerns, dilemmas, and conflicts. The Bachelor minor study programmes in Environmental Sciences complements the competences acquired in the main studies with special knowledge in the environmental sciences and humanities as well as in environmental ethics. It equips students with the competences for resolving governance challenges in the fields of the environment, sustainability and climate change. The unique knowledge accomplished in these Bachelor minor programmes is an integrative and comprehensive sensibilisation on how to analyse environmental conflicts and to propose ethically sound solutions to environmental challenges.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Bachelor minor study programmes in environmental sciences are offered with three options: environmental sciences, environmental law, and applied environmental management. All minors comprise four basic courses introducing the different fields of environmental sciences, a compulsory elective programme in the environmental humanities and ethics, excursions and an interfaculty elective programme from all five Faculties of the University of Fribourg.

Environmental Sciences (30 ECTS credits): Students acquire basic knowledge in all fields of the environmental sciences with a special focus on the environmental humanities and ethics.

Environmental Law (60 ECTS credits): Students dive into environmental law while gaining basic knowledge in all fields of the environmental sciences and especially in the environmental humanities and ethics.

Applied Environmental Management (60 ECTS credits): Beyond basic knowledge in all fields of the environmental sciences and a special focus on the environmental humanities and ethics, students acquire practical experiences in an internship.

Structure of classes and lectures
All Bachelor minor programmes in environmental sciences have the following structure in common. The basic courses introduce the problems and approaches of the different disciplines relevant to the environmental sciences. They cover selected disciplines in natural sciences, social sciences and the humanities. Students successfully completing the basic courses deepen their competences within an elective programme of compulsory courses in the environmental humanities and an elective programme in all other disciplines relevant to the environmental sciences.
The elective programme in the environmental humanities consists of compulsory courses in the environmental humanities as well as in teaching units relevant to the environmental sciences, provided by the existing course programme of the Universities of Fribourg and Bern. In all three minor study programmes students participate in three excursions attached to the seminar «Focal Points of Sustainable Development». Students attend courses of at least 2 ECTS credits each from at least two Faculties of the University of Fribourg. Students choose their electives depending on their interests and specialisations.

Skills acquired
In these Bachelor minor study programmes students complement their main studies with competences for detecting the ethical implications in environmental practice. In addition, students acquire introductory scientific, economic and legal knowledge concerning the environmental challenges of today. Studying at the multi-lingual University of Fribourg allows students to gain language competences in French and German.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30/60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/NW1tn (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/DVvZG (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Umweltwissenschaften

Kurzbeschreibung

Der anthropogene Klimawandel, die Degradierung der Natur und der Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt, aber auch die nachhaltige Energieerzeugung, die Erschöpfung der Ressourcen und die Abfallentsorgung erfordern sofortiges Handeln und eine verantwortungsvolle Governance. Die Bewältigung dieser ökologischen Herausforderungen hat bereits ethische Bedenken, Dilemmata und Konflikte verursacht und wird diese zukünftig in zunehmendem Masse hervorrufen. Die Bachelor-Nebenprogramme in Umweltwissenschaften ergänzen die im Hauptstudium erworbenen Kompetenzen durch Spezialwissen in den Umweltwissenschaften und Umweltgeisteswissenschaften mit einem speziellen Fokus auf die Umweltethik. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf der Lösung von Governance-Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Umwelt, Nachhaltigkeit und Klimawandel. Die einzigartigen Kompetenzen, die in diesen Bachelor-Nebenprogrammen erworben werden, ermöglichen eine integrative und umfassende Sensibilisierung für die Analyse und Lösung von Umweltkonflikten.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Die Bachelor-Nebenprogramme in Umweltwissenschaften werden in drei Optionen angeboten: Umweltwissenschaften, Umweltrecht und Umweltpraxis. Alle Nebenprogramme umfassen vier Grundkurse, die eine Einführung in die verschiedenen Bereiche der Umweltwissenschaften vermitteln, ein Wahlpflichtprogramm in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und der Umweltethik, Exkursionen und ein interfakultäres Wahlprogramm aus allen fünf Fakultäten der Universität Freiburg.

Umweltwissenschafte (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte): Die Studierenden erwerben Grundkenntnisse in allen Bereichen der Umweltwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und Umweltethik.

Umweltrech (60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte): Die Studierenden erhaltenen einen grundlegenden Einblick in das Umweltrecht und erwerben Grundkenntnisse in allen Bereichen der Umweltwissenschaften, insbesondere in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und der Umweltethik.

Umweltpraxis (60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte): Über die Grundkenntnisse in allen Bereichen der Umweltwissenschaften und einen besonderen Schwerpunkt in Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und der Umweltethik hinaus sammeln die Studierenden im Rahmen eines Praktikums praktische Erfahrungen.

Struktur der Kurse und Seminare
Alle Bachelor-Nebenprogramme der Umweltwissenschaften haben die folgende Struktur: In den Grundkursen werden die Probleme und Ansätze der verschiedenen für die Umweltwissenschaften relevanten Disziplinen vorgestellt. Diese umfassen ausgewählte Disziplinen der Natur-, Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften. Die Studierenden vertiefen ihre Kompetenzen im Rahmen eines Wahlpflichtprogramms in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und eines Wahlprogramms in allen anderen Disziplinen der Umweltwissenschaften.
Das Wahlprogramm in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften besteht aus Pflichtveranstaltungen in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften sowie aus umweltwissenschaftlichen Lehreinheiten des bestehenden Studienangebots der Universitäten Freiburg und Bern. In allen drei Studienprogrammen nehmen die Studierenden an drei Exkursionen im Rahmen des Seminars «Brennpunkte nachhaltiger Entwicklung» teil. Die Studierenden besuchen Kurse im Umfang von mindestens 2 ECTS-Kreditpunkten von mindestens zwei Fakultäten der Universität Freiburg. Die Studierenden stellen ihre Wahlfächer nach ihren Interessen und Spezialisierungen zusammen.

Erworbene Kompetenzen
Mit diesen Bachelor-Nebenprogrammen ergänzen die Studierenden ihr Hauptprogrammstudium mit Kompetenzen zum Erkennen der ethischen Implikationen in der Umweltpraxis. Darüber hinaus erwerben sie einführende naturwissenschaftliche, ökonomische und juristische Kenntnisse über die umweltpolitischen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Das Studium an der mehrsprachigen Universität Freiburg ermöglicht den Studierenden den Erwerb von Sprachkompetenzen in Deutsch und Französisch.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

30/60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/DVvZG

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Berufs- oder Fachmaturitätsausweis + Zeugnis über die Ergänzungsprüfung der Schweizer Maturitätskommission (Passerelle)
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-swiss-certificates

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (Informatik oder Philosophie oder eine zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-countrylist
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.