Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Law

Abstract

A Bachelor's degree in law provides students with basic legal knowledge in all key areas of law. The subjects covered over a period of three years are public law, Roman law, criminal law, European and international law, civil law, history of law, code of obligations, business and commercial law, social law and philosophy of law.
In addition to the lectures, there are also practical exercise sessions in which students learn to interpret laws and court rulings, find solutions to fundamental legal problems, and recognise the significance of current legal discussions for everyday legal practice.
In Fribourg, students have the option of taking almost all their lectures in French or in German. This allows them to upgrade their diploma with the distinction «Bilingual curriculum». Further benefits are the personal care and support given to them during their studies, and the wide array of exchange offers with partner universities in Switzerland and abroad.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Thanks to the well-designed curriculum of compulsory subjects, students can complete the Bachelor of Law in Fribourg in three years. They receive guidance in navigating the wide range of courses as well as individual care and attention. Most lectures and courses are held in French and in German – students choose which language they want to do a subject in. The clear syllabus structure helps students to plan their studies and makes it possible to combine study, work and family life.
The title Bachelor of Law is confirmation of the successful acquisition of basic knowledge in law and is the admission requirement for the Master's degree programme.

In the first year of studies, students acquire an overview of the individual areas of law and learn how these interact with one another. They become familiar with central concepts and methods of law, and gain an understanding of the essential characteristics and functions of law as a social system. They acquire basic knowledge in lawmaking, legal finding and law enforcement. Subjects studied in the first year are public law, Roman law, criminal law, European and international law and civil law.

In the second year, students acquire a deeper knowledge of public law, civil law and criminal law. They gain an insight into the history of law, the basics of the code of obligations and tax law. They are able to put the development of legal history in its political, economic and social context, and compare it with prevailing law. At the end of the second year they have developed the necessary skills to solve minor legal problems independently and apply what they have practised during the numerous training sessions.

In the third and final year of the Bachelor's programme students complete the courses in public law, civil law and code of obligations. New subjects in the third year are business and commercial law, social law and philosophy of law. At the end of the course of study students have a sound basic knowledge in all the key areas of law. Lectures are always accompanied by practical exercises. The title Bachelor of Law is proof that graduates know how to interpret laws and court rulings and find solutions to all fundamental legal problems. They have learnt how to form a critical opinion on current legal discussions and are aware of the significance of these issues for everyday legal practice.

Enhancing areas of specific interest with extra classes and special credits
Even at Bachelor's level there are possibilities of treating particular fields and current legal issues in greater depth. After successfully completing the IUR I examination, students can enrol in various supplementary courses which earn them special credits. Students who are particularly highly motivated can upgrade their diploma by acquiring a special distinction in one of the following areas:

  • European Law;
  • Religious Law (Utriusque Iuris);
  • Bilingualism.

Fribourg profile
Since its very beginnings, the Faculty of Law of the University of Fribourg has placed particular value on national and international networking. Students also benefit from this: Fribourg is linked to law faculties in Switzerland and abroad via numerous exchange agreements and offers a number of joint programmes with partner universities such as:

  • Centre for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS) in London;
  • Student exchange in Shanghai (China);
  • International seminars «Galatasaray (Turkey) – Fribourg» and «Craiova (Romania) – Fribourg»;
  • Summer University of the Institute of Federalism at the University of Fribourg;
  • Summer School «European Private Law» at the University of Salzburg (Austria).

Even at Bachelor's level it is possible to spend one or two semesters studying at another Swiss university or take part in the Erasmus programme. After successfully completing the IUR II examination, students can study abroad at one of over 100 European faculties of law. These exchange programmes allow periods of study abroad without prolonging the duration of the Bachelor's programme. Exactly which achievements are recognised is evaluated and decided by the equivalence committee.

Highly ambitious students can attain a degree at the University of Fribourg and at the same time at the University Panthéon-Assas (Paris II) by taking advantage of the challenging cooperation offer «Double diplôme de Bachelor Fribourg/Paris II».

Learning outcomes and career openings
Fribourg law graduates are specialists who are in great demand – not just in Switzerland but also abroad. Graduates of our faculty have a firm grasp of all fields of law. Fribourg is unparalleled in equipping its students with a diverse spectrum of legal skills and providing goal-oriented preparation for an international career. With the Bachelor of Law in your pocket you will get off to a flying start in your first professional venture. It paves the way to a career as legal adviser e.g. with banks, insurance companies and other service providers.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/qZrdk (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/iRUDr (German)

Comments

Commencement of studies in the Autumn Semester (September) is recommended.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits) to students from the other faculties of the University of Fribourg

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Recht

Kurzbeschreibung

Wer sich für ein Bachelorstudium in Rechtswissenschaften entscheidet erwirbt das juristische Basiswissen in allen wichtigen Rechtsgebieten. In drei Jahren belegen die Studierenden die Fächer Öffentliches Recht, Römisches Recht, Strafrecht, Europa- und Völkerrecht, Zivilrecht, Rechtsgeschichte, Obligationenrecht, Steuerrecht, Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht, Sozialrecht und Rechtsphilosophie.
Neben den Vorlesungen lernen die Studierenden in praktischen Übungsveranstaltungen, Gesetze und Gerichtsentscheide zu interpretieren, Lösungen für grundlegende Rechtsprobleme zu finden und die Bedeutung aktueller rechtswissenschaftlicher Diskussionen für den juristischen Alltag zu erkennen.
In Freiburg können fast alle Vorlesungen wahlweise auf Deutsch oder auf Französisch besucht werden. Dadurch können die Studierenden ihr Diplom mit dem Zusatz «Zweisprachiges Studium» aufwerten. Weitere Vorteile bieten die persönliche Betreuung während des Studiums sowie die vielen Austauschangebote mit Partneruniversitäten im In- und Ausland.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Dank des gut strukturierten Studienplans der obligatorischen Fächer erlangen Sie den Bachelor of Law in Freiburg in drei Jahren. Die Studierenden werden durch das breite Lehrangebot geführt und persönlich betreut. Wir bieten die meisten Vorlesungen und Kurse auf Deutsch und auf Französisch an – Sie wählen selber, in welcher Sprache Sie ein Fach besuchen wollen. Der klare Studienaufbau hilft bei der Planung des Studiums und ermöglicht die Vereinbarung von Studium, Beruf und Familie
Der Titel Bachelor of Law belegt den erfolgreichen Erwerb des juristischen Basiswissens und ist Voraussetzung für das Masterstudium.

Im ersten Studienjahr gewinnen Sie einen Überblick über die einzelnen Rechtsgebiete und lernen, wie diese zusammenwirken. Sie erlernen zentrale Begriffe und Methoden der Rechtswissenschaften und lernen die Wesensmerkmale und Funktionen des Rechts als soziales System kennen. Sie erwerben Grundkenntnisse im Bereich der Rechtsetzung, Rechtsfindung und Rechtsdurchsetzung. Sie belegen in diesem Jahr Öffentliches Recht, Römisches Recht, Strafrecht, Europa- und Völkerrecht und Zivilrecht.

Im zweiten Jahr vertiefen Sie Ihre Kenntnisse des öffentlichen Rechts, Zivilrechts und Strafrechts. Sie arbeiten sich in die Rechtsgeschichte, in die Grundlagen des Obligationenrechts und des Steuerrechts ein. Die rechtshistorische Entwicklung können Sie in den politischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Kontext einbetten, um jene mit dem geltenden Recht vergleichen zu können. Am Ende des Jahres sind Sie gewandt im selbstständigen Lösen kleiner juristischer Probleme, das sie in den zahlreichen Übungsveranstaltungen trainiert haben

Im dritten und letzten Jahr Ihres Bachelorstudiums schliessen Sie das öffentliche Recht, das Zivilrecht und das Obligationenrecht ab. Neu kommen das Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht hinzu, das Sozialrecht und die Rechtsphilosophie. Am Ende der Ausbildung verfügen Sie über ein solides Grundwissen in allen wichtigen Rechtsgebieten. Die Vorlesungen werden stets von Übungen begleitet. Mit dem Erwerb des Bachelortitels belegen Sie, dass Sie die Gesetze und Gerichtsentscheide zu interpretieren und Lösungen für alle grundlegenden Rechtsprobleme zu finden wissen. Sie haben gelernt, eine kritische Meinung zu aktuellen rechtswissenschaftlichen Diskussionen zu entwickeln und erkennen die Bedeutung solcher Fragen für den juristischen Alltag.

Vertiefen von Fachbereichen mit Zusätzen und Spezialkrediten
Bereits auf Bachelor-Stufe können Sie bestimmte Fachbereiche und aktuelle Rechtsfragen vertiefen. Nach bestandener IUR I-Prüfung stehen Ihnen verschiedene Zusatzkurse offen, mit denen Sie Spezialkredite erwerben können. Besonders Motivierte können ihr Diplom aufwerten, indem sie einen Zusatz in einem der folgenden Gebiete erwerben:

  • Europarecht;
  • Religionsrecht (Utriusque Iuris);
  • Zweisprachigkeit.

Freiburger Profil
Seit ihren Anfängen setzt die Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Freiburg auf die nationale und internationale Vernetzung. Dies kommt auch den Studierenden zugute: Wir sind durch zahlreiche Austauschabkommen mit Rechtsfakultäten im In- und Ausland verbunden und bieten mehrere gemeinsame Angebote mit Partneruniversitäten an. So zum Beispiel:

  • Center for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS) in London;
  • Student exchange in Shanghai (China);
  • Internationale Seminare «Galatasaray (Türkei) – Freiburg» und «Craiova (Rumänien) – Freiburg»;
  • Sommeruniversität des Instituts für Föderalismus an der Universität Freiburg;
  • Summer School «European Private Law» an der Universität Salzburg (Österreich).

Bereits auf Bachelor-Stufe können Sie für ein oder zwei Semester an einer anderen Schweizer Universität studieren oder am Erasmusprogramm teilnehmen. Nach erfolgreich bestandenem IUR II-Examen ist ein Auslandaufenthalt an einer von über 100 europäischen Rechtsfakultäten möglich. Die Austauschprogramme ermöglichen einen Aufenthalt im Ausland, ohne das Studium zu verlängern. Welche Leistungen genau anerkannt werden, evaluiert und entscheidet die Äquivalenzkommission.

Unsere ambitioniertesten Studierenden können mit dem anspruchsvollen Kooperationsangebot «Double diplôme de Bachelor Fribourg/Paris II» gleichzeitig einen Abschluss der Universität Freiburg und einen der Universität Panthéon-Assas (Paris II) erwerben.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Freiburger Juristinnen und Juristen sind gefragte Fachleute. Nicht nur in der Schweiz, sondern auch im Ausland. Wer bei uns studiert hat, ist sattelfest in allen Rechtsgebieten. Wo sonst lernen Sie das juristische Handwerk so breit gefächert und können sich gezielt auf eine internationale Karriere vorbereiten. Bereits mit dem Bachelor of Law in der Tasche können Sie den Berufseinstieg waten. Der Abschluss ebnet den Weg zu einer Tätigkeit als Rechtsberaterin oder Rechtsberater der Wirtschaft, zum Beispiel bei Banken, Versicherungen oder anderen Dienstleistungsunternehmen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/iRUDr

Bemerkung

Es wird empfohlen, das Studium im Herbstsemester (September) zu beginnen.

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten der Universität Freiburg angeboten.