Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Part-time Law studies

Abstract

Students opting for a part-time bachelor's degree in Law acquire knowledge in all key areas of law – in this respect there is no difference between it and the full-time course. The part-time course is spread over four years and focuses on specific fields each year. Self-study accounts for a large part of the part-time course.
Teaching includes lectures as well as a selection of tutorials in which students receive guidance on the analysis, solution and critical aspects of concrete legal issues, interactively and in small groups.
In Fribourg, all the teaching sessions are offered in both French and German. The choice is left to students: they can follow all the lectures and tutorials in either French or German, but also have the possibility of upgrading their diploma with the distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German». Other important benefits are the small size of the Faculty and the personal mentoring students receive during the studies.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Main features of the part-time course
Students studying part-time complete a bachelor's degree in Law in four years. This consists of teaching formats requiring students' physical presence, and self-study. Teaching is concentrated into two weekdays: for each subject, either lectures or tutorials take place on these days.
Students must study the content of the other classes on their own. It is recommended that you allow yourself enough time for this self-study.

The particular feature of the part-time course is its focus on specific fields each year. The result is a clearly structured curriculum, which guides you through the wide range of subjects and helps you develop an understanding of the basics of law and sound knowledge of the different areas.

Each year of study ends with examinations to enable you to get an idea of how your studies are coming along periodically. The bachelor's degree in Law entitles you to apply for the master programme.

Structure of the part-time course
To be a successful legal practitioner requires a broad, sound grasp of law – and no compromises are made even in the part-time course.

  • First year (Wed/Thur): Introduction to law, civil procedure/Swiss debt enforcement and bankruptcy law, Swiss constitutional law, administrative law (general/special section), European law and international law
  • Second year (Thur/Fr): Criminal law (I/II), criminal procedural law, history of law, philosophy of law
  • Third year (Mon/Tues): Roman law, law of persons, property law, family and inheritance law, code of obligations (general/special section and tort law)
  • Fourth year (Fri/Mon): Commercial and business law, tax law and social law

Our teaching sessions are designed to teach you the skills you need to be able to navigate the legal system with confidence and ease. You are consistently encouraged to critically analyse legally relevant texts (first and foremost laws and court rulings) in the context of the legal system, to recognise legal issues and develop viable solutions. Student participation in teaching is welcomed and students are encouraged to express themselves in writing and tutored in doing so. By the time you complete your studies, you will have acquired the knowledge and methods to allow you to address even new and unprecedented legal problems.

Acquiring in-depth knowledge of specialist areas with distinctions and special credits
Even at the bachelor level, you can acquire more in-depth knowledge of certain areas of law by obtaining distinctions and special credits.

The distinctions add prestige to your degree certificate. You acquire these with achievements over and above the required curriculum. The following special distinctions are currently available:

  • European law
  • Religious law («Utriusque iuris»)
  • Bilingual curriculum, French/German

The teaching sessions you need to attend to obtain the European law and Religious law distinctions do not necessarily take place on the same days of week as the part-time course.

The special credits are added to the ECTS credits required for the master's degree. You can obtain these by taking advantage of the wide choice of supplementary courses that are open to you already after successfully completing your first year of study.

International networking and student exchange semester (Erasmus)
Since its beginnings, our Faculty has placed great value on international networking and practises exchanges with a large number of Faculties abroad. Part-time students also benefit from this. The exchanges that we offer in cooperation with partner universities include:
– Centre for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS) in London; student exchange in Shanghai (China);
– «Galatasaray (Turkey) – Fribourg» and «Craiova (Romania) – Fribourg» international seminars;
– Summer university of the Institute of Federalism at the University of Fribourg;
– «European Private Law» summer school at Salzburg University (Austria)

If they have the time, students can also participate in the Swiss European Mobility Programme, which is a one or two-semester international exchange at one of more than 100 European law Faculties, and acquire experience that will stand them in good stead including in their subsequent career. To which extent this prolongs your studies depends on your learning achievements abroad that we can add to your record in Fribourg.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The bachelor's degree at our Faculty gives students a solid grounding in law. We do not believe in early specialisation, as specialised knowledge becomes rapidly obsolete. Students who have a thorough understanding of the core fields of law are much better equipped.

Many students who have obtained their bachelor's degree here opt to continue with a master's degree, making use of the strong practical focus and interdisciplinary nature of the courses on offer in Fribourg. A career as a lawyer is only possible with a master's degree, but a wide variety of careers are open to our graduates.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 8 semesters
Lectures and selected tutorials on two weekdays. The self-study concerns in particular the tutorials and lectures which do not take place on the two weekdays.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

We want you to be able to successfully complete your part-time studies. For this reason, we have attached special conditions to the admission to part-time studies. These conditions are met without further formality if you already have (1) a bachelor's degree in another field or (2) at least three years of professional experience (at a 100% rate) (automatic admission). Admission is also possible if (3) due to special circumstances, full-time studies cannot be reasonably expected from you, whereas the chances of success in the part-time programme seem particularly relevant. Such circumstances may be of economic or medical nature, but may also involve family work or an important activity in the fields of art, sport or politics. In the latter case, please indicate in your application the particular circumstances for which you wish to be admitted to part-time studies, so that we can examine your application in depth (admission on a case-by-case basis). Further information can be obtained from the Dean's Office.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Rechtswissenschaft im Teilzeitstudium

Kurzbeschreibung

Wer sich für ein Bachelorstudium der Rechtswissenschaft im Teilzeitmodus entscheidet, erwirbt das juristische Basiswissen in allen wichtigen Rechtsgebieten – Unterschiede zum Studium im Vollzeitmodus bestehen in dieser Hinsicht keine. Das Studium im Teilzeitmodus ist auf vier Jahre angelegt und nach Jahresschwerpunkten aufgebaut. Das Selbststudium macht einen grossen Teil des Teilzeitstudiums aus.
Zum Unterricht gehören Vorlesungen, aber auch ausgewählte Übungsveranstaltungen, in denen die Studierenden in der Analyse, der Lösung und der Kritik konkreter Rechtsfragen angeleitet werden, dies interaktiv und in kleineren Gruppen.
In Freiburg werden fast alle Lehrveranstaltungen in deutscher und in französischer Sprache angeboten. Sie haben die Wahl: Sie können sämtliche Veranstaltungen in deutscher Sprache belegen, haben aber auch die Möglichkeit, Ihren Abschluss durch den Zusatz «Zweisprachiges Studium, Deutsch/Französisch» anzureichern. Gewichtige Vorteile sind weiter die übersichtlichen Verhältnisse an der Fakultät sowie die persönliche Betreuung während des Studiums.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Grundzüge des Teilzeitstudiums
Den Bachelor of Law erlangen Sie im Teilzeitstudium nach vier Jahren. Dieses besteht aus Präsenzunterricht und Selbststudium. Der Präsenzunterricht ist auf zwei Wochentage konzentriert: Für jedes Fach finden entweder die Vorlesungen oder die Übungen an diesen zwei Wochentagen statt.
Die Inhalte der übrigen Lehrveranstaltungen sind im Selbststudium zu erarbeiten. Es empfiehlt sich, genügend Zeit für das Selbststudium einzuplanen.

Besonderes Merkmal des Teilzeitstudiums ist die Bildung von Jahresschwerpunkten. Daraus ergibt sich ein klar strukturierter Studienplan, der Sie durch das breite Fächerangebot führt und Sie dabei unterstützt, sich ein Verständnis für die Grundlagen des Rechts und solide Kenntnisse in den verschiedenen Rechtsgebieten zu erarbeiten.

Jedes Studienjahr wird mit Prüfungen abgeschlossen, damit Sie sich periodisch Aufschluss über Ihren Studienerfolg verschaffen können. Mit dem Bachelor of Law steht Ihnen der Weg ins Masterprogramm offen.

Zum Aufbau des Teilzeitstudiums
Der Erfolg in der Rechtspraxis bedingt ein breites und solides juristisches Fundament – ohne Abstriche auch im Teilzeitstudium.

  • Erstes Studienjahr (Mi/Do): Einführung ins Recht, ZPO/SchKG, Bundesstaatsrecht, Verwaltungsrecht (AT/BT), Europarecht und Völkerrecht
  • Zweites Studienjahr (Do/Fr): Strafrecht (I/II), Strafprozessrecht, Rechtsgeschichte, Rechtsphilosophie
  • Drittes Studienjahr (Mo/Di): Römisches Recht, Personen-, Sachen-, Familien- und Erbrecht, Obligationenrecht (AT, BT und Haftpflichtrecht)
  • Viertes Studienjahr (Fr/Mo): Handels- und Wirtschaftsrecht, Steuerrecht und Sozialrecht

Unsere Lehrveranstaltungen sind darauf angelegt, Ihnen jene Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln, die es braucht, um sich sicher und gewandt im Rechtssystem zu bewegen. Konsequent werden Sie dazu angehalten, rechtlich relevante Texte (vorab Gesetze und Gerichtsurteile) in ihren systematischen Bezügen kritisch zu analysieren, Rechtsfragen zu erkennen und tragfähige Lösungen zu erarbeiten. Beteiligung im Unterricht ist erwünscht, wobei auch der schriftliche Ausdruck gefördert und geübt wird. Am Schluss Ihres Studiums verfügen Sie über Kenntnisse und Methoden, die es Ihnen erlauben, auch neue und neuartige Rechtsprobleme anzugehen.

Vertiefen von Fachbereichen mit Zusätzen und Spezialkrediten
Bereits auf Bachelor-Stufe können Sie bestimmte Bereiche vertiefen, indem Sie Zusätze und Spezialkredite erwerben.

Zusätze geben Ihrem Diplom ein besonderes Gepräge. Erworben werden sie durch Leistungen, die zu den nach Studienplan erforderlichen Leistungen hinzutreten. Möglich sind derzeit folgende Zusätze:

  • Europarecht
  • Religionsrecht («Utriusque Iuris»)
  • Zweisprachiges Studium, Deutsch/Französisch

Die Lehrveranstaltungen, die für die Zusätze Europarecht und Religionsrecht zu belegen sind, finden nicht unbedingt an jenen Wochentagen statt, die für das Teilzeitstudium fixiert wurden.

Spezialkredite («special credits») werden an die ECTS- Kreditpunkte angerechnet, die für unseren Masterabschluss erforderlich sind. Erwerben können Sie sie, indem sie von einem der vielfältigen Zusatzangebote Gebrauch machen, die Ihnen nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss des ersten Studienjahres offenstehen.

Internationale Vernetzung und Gastsemester («Erasmus»)
Seit ihren Anfängen setzt unsere Fakultät auf eine starke internationale Vernetzung und pflegt den Austausch mit einer grossen Zahl von Fakultäten im Ausland. Dies kommt auch unseren Teilzeitstudierenden zugute. Zu den Angeboten, die wir gemeinsam mit Partneruniversitäten bestreiten, gehören zum Beispiel:
– Center for Transnational Legal Studies (CTLS) in London; Student Exchange in Shanghai (China);
– Internationale Seminare «Galatasaray (Türkei) – Freiburg» und «Craiova (Rumänien) – Freiburg»;
– Sommeruniversität des Instituts für Föderalismus an der Universität Freiburg;
– Summer School «European Private Law» an der Universität Salzburg (Österreich).

Bei entsprechender zeitlicher Verfügbarkeit können Studierende im Teilzeitstudium auch am Swiss European Mobility Programme teilnehmen, also einen ein- oder zweisemestrigen Auslandaufenthalt an einer von über 100 europäischen Rechtsfakultäten einschalten und dort Erfahrungen sammeln, die Ihnen auch in Ihrer späteren Praxis zugute kommen werden. In welchem Mass sich Ihr Studium verlängert, hängt davon ab, in welchem Umfang Sie im Ausland Leistungen erbringen, die wir Ihnen in Freiburg anrechnen können.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das Bachelor-Studium an unserer Fakultät will den Studierenden eine grundsolide juristische Allgemeinbildung vermitteln. Wir halten nichts von einer verfrühten Spezialisierung, da Spezialwissen schnell veraltet. Viel besser gerüstet ist, wer über ein vertieftes Verständnis der Kernbereiche verfügt.

Viele Studierende, die den Bachelor hier erworben haben, entscheiden sich für eine Fortsetzung des Studiums auf Masterstufe und machen dafür vom stark praxisorientierten, fächerübergreifenden Studienangebot in Freiburg Gebrauch. Eine Berufstätigkeit als Anwältin oder Anwalt ist erst mit dem Master-Abschluss möglich, wobei sich unseren Absolventinnen und Absolventen mannigfaltigste Berufsfelder eröffnen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 8 Semester
Vorlesungen und ausgewählte Übungen an zwei Wochentagen. Selbststudium der Übungen und Vorlesungen, welche nicht an den zwei Wochentagen stattfinden.

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufs- oder Fachmaturitätsausweis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-swiss-certificates

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-countrylist
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.
Wir wollen, dass Sie das Teilzeitstudium mit Erfolg absolvieren können. Deshalb haben wir die Zulassung zum Teilzeitstudium an besondere Voraussetzungen geknüpft. Diese Voraussetzungen erfüllen Sie ohne weiteres, wenn Sie bereits über (1) einen Bachelor-Abschluss in einem anderen Fach oder (2) eine mindestens dreijährige Berufserfahrung (zu 100% gerechnet) verfügen (automatische Zulassung). Möglich ist die Zulassung aber auch, wenn Ihnen (3) aufgrund besonderer Umstände das Studium im Vollzeitmodus nicht zumutbar ist, ein Teilzeitstudium aber als erfolgsversprechender Weg erscheint. Solche Umstände können wirtschaftlicher oder medizinischer Natur sein, aber beispielsweise auch dann vorliegen, wenn Sie Familienarbeit leisten oder einer anspruchsvollen Tätigkeit im Bereich von Kunst, Sport oder Politik nachgehen. In diesem dritten Fall legen Sie in Ihrem Zulassungsgesuch die besonderen Umstände, aus denen Sie zum Teilzeitstudium zugelassen werden möchten, so dar, damit wir Ihr Gesuch sorgfältig prüfen können (Zulassung im Einzelfall). Nähere Auskünfte erteilt das Dekanat.