Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

French and German: Bilingualism and Cultural Exchange

Abstract

With its day-to-day bilingual environment, Fribourg University alone offers the possibility of studying German and French as native languages in equal proportions. The «French and German: Bilingualism and Cultural Exchange» study programme combines this particular offer with the intensive consolidation of skills in the respective foreign language at the start of the course in addition to targeted modules that provide an understanding of the linguistic and cultural exchanges between both areas. The foreign language didactics field of study (German as a Foreign Language and French as a Foreign Language) is therefore an essential component of this study programme alongside German and French studies. With student life in the bilingual university city, Fribourg is the ideal environment in which to engage in practical and theoretical considerations of German and French bilingualism.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

At Fribourg University, both French and German language and literature studies are possible at native language level. This situation is unique in Switzerland for academic bilingualism. The French and German: Bilingualism and Cultural Exchange study programme combines this particular offer with the option of consolidating skills in the respective foreign language in the first year, with a view to graduates being part of the common bilingual environment. Through cross-disciplinary cooperation with the French and German as a foreign language study programmes, which are unique in Switzerland, access to foreign language didactics and lessons on fostering exchanges between both languages and cultures are offered at the same time. Given that between 40% and 50% of lessons are given in the foreign language, the resulting BA degree bears the additional distinction of «Bilingual curriculum».
This course is essentially aimed at students who grew up with either language or culture and who wish to consolidate their language, literary and cultural knowledge in the foreign or second language. Native speakers from both language areas work together, thus enabling them to gain further knowledge of the other language and literature. In addition, students on this programme benefit from the bilingual environment of the University and the city. Fribourg provides the optimal conditions for language acquisition and for discussions through the interlingual and intercultural exchanges between both linguistic and cultural areas.
Fribourg University offers a convenient framework for lectures and studies. In addition to the acquisition of a wide range of basic knowledge, students work in small groups, making direct exchanges with lecturers possible.

Organisation of studies
The core of the study programme comprises a combination of German and French studies as a minor field of study. The content is enhanced through the consolidation and development of language skills in the second or foreign language through participation in language learning opportunities at the University's Language Centre. It is also recommended that students spend time at a partner university in the language area where the foreign language is spoken. At the crossroads between two language communities, Fribourg University is the ideal location for bilingual studies. Students can take part in language tandems and find many ways to fully immerse themselves in the second language.
In addition to the consolidation of language skills, an understanding of the language and cultural contacts and exchanges is an essential component of this study programme. This is why the course also focuses on specialist skills such as methodological and didactic approaches to teaching foreign languages in cooperation with the German as a Foreign Language and French as a Foreign Language study programmes. In particular, the modules of this course foster different specialist perspectives for in-depth considerations of language and cultural exchanges and the acquisition of well-grounded knowledge of the specific features and issues.

Learning outcomes and career openings
Graduates of the study programme benefit from a fundamental knowledge of French and German language and literature. In terms of language skills, the study programme is aimed at gaining a very good command of the foreign or second language, which opens up scope for unrestricted participation in the relevant Master's studies and above all access to linguistic practice and cultural life. The BA degree specifically provides direct access to various Master's programmes such as German, French, German as a Foreign Language/German as a Second Language (DaF/DaZ), French as a Foreign Language/French as a Second Language (FLE/FLS), Multilingualism Studies and Foreign Language Didactics or Comparative Literature. A Master's in German or French can lead on to teacher education for academic upper secondary schools (Formation à l'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité (DEEM, French-speaking section)/Ausbildung für den Unterricht an Maturitätsschulen (LDM, German-speaking section)).
Furthermore, the knowledge and experience of cultural and linguistic interaction between German and French acquired through the study programme are key skills, applicable not only to the Swiss labour market but also of importance beyond the country's borders. These skills can be associated with various advanced professional specialisations in the fields of international relations, cultural activities, public relations and communications.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Deutsch und Französisch: Zweisprachigkeit und Kulturkontakt

Kurzbeschreibung

Nur an der Universität Freiburg mit ihrer gelebten Zweisprachigkeit besteht die Möglichkeit, Deutsch und Französisch zu gleichen Teilen auf muttersprachlichem Niveau zu studieren. Das Studienprogramm «Deutsch und Französisch: Zweisprachigkeit und Kulturkontakt» verbindet dieses besondere Angebot mit einer intensiven Förderung der Kompetenzen in der jeweiligen Fremdsprache am Anfang des Studiums sowie in gezielten Kursen zum Verständnis des sprachlich-kulturellen Austausches zwischen beiden Sprach- und Kulturräumen. Die Fremdsprachendidaktik in «Deutsch als Fremdsprache» und «Français langue étrangère» bildet deshalb neben «Germanistik» und «Français» einen wichtigen Bestandteil dieses Studienprogramms. Mit dem studentischen Leben in der zweisprachigen Universitätsstadt bietet Freiburg somit ideale Rahmenbedingungen, um sich praktisch und theoretisch mit der deutsch-französischen Zweisprachigkeit zu befassen.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

An der Universität Freiburg werden sowohl die deutsche als auch die französische Sprache und Literatur in einer in der Schweiz einmaligen Situation akademischer Zweisprachigkeit jeweils auf Muttersprachenniveau angeboten. Das Studienprogramm Deutsch und Französisch: Zweisprachigkeit und Kulturkontakt kombiniert dieses besondere Angebot mit der Möglichkeit, im ersten Jahr die Kompetenzen in der jeweiligen Fremdsprache auszubauen, und zwar mit dem Ziel, dass die Absolventinnen und Absolventen Teil der gelebten Zweisprachigkeit werden. Dank der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit mit dem schweizweit einzigartigen Studienprogramm Deutsch als Fremdsprache wie seinem französischen Pendant Français langue étrangère werden zugleich Zugänge zur Fremdsprachendidaktik und Kurse zur Förderung des Kontakts zwischen beiden Sprachen und Kulturen angeboten. Da zwischen 40 und 50% der Kurse in der jeweiligen Fremdsprache belegt werden, trägt das angestrebte Bachelor-Diplom den Vermerk «Zweisprachiges Studium».
Das Angebot richtet sich vor allem an Studierende, die mit einer der beiden Sprachen und Kulturen aufgewachsen sind und ihre sprachlichen, literarischen und kulturellen Kompetenzen in der jeweiligen Fremd- bzw. Zweitsprache vertiefen möchten. Es bringt Muttersprachler aus beiden Sprachregionen zusammen, die das Ziel verbindet, die jeweils andere Sprache und Literatur vertieft kennenzulernen. Gleichzeitig wird das Studium in der Situation gelebter Zweisprachigkeit an der Universität und in der Stadt Freiburg angeboten. Freiburg bietet somit sowohl für den Spracherwerb als auch für die Auseinandersetzung mit dem zwischensprachlichen und interkulturellen Austausch beider Sprach- und Kulturräume die optimalen Bedingungen.
An der Universität Freiburg wird in einem überschaubaren Rahmen doziert und studiert. Dadurch wird den Studierenden neben der Aneignung eines breiten Grundwissens auch die Arbeit in Kleingruppen sowie der direkte Austausch mit den Dozierenden ermöglicht.

Organisation des Studiums
Kernbestand des Studienprogramms bildet die Grundausbildung in Germanistik und Französisch im Umfang eines üblichen Nebenbereichs. Diese Inhalte werden ergänzt durch die Vertiefung und Erweiterung der Sprachkenntnisse in der jeweiligen Zweit- bzw. Fremdsprache dank der Teilnahme an Sprachlernangeboten am Sprachenzentrum der Universität. Empfohlen wird zudem der Aufenthalt an einer Partneruniversität im Sprachraum der jeweiligen Fremdsprache. Daneben bietet sich durch die ideale Lage der Universität Freiburg am Schnittpunkt der Zweisprachigkeit die Möglichkeit, individuell an einem Sprach-Tandem teilzunehmen und so auf ganz persönliche Art und Weise einen vertieften Zugang zur Zweitsprache zu finden.
Neben der Förderung der Sprachkompetenz bildet das Verständnis des sprachlichen und kulturellen Kontakts und Austausches einen weiteren Bestandteil des Studiums. Aus diesem Grund werden im Rahmen des Studiums fachwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen sowie methodisch-didaktische Herangehensweisen des Fremdsprachenunterrichtes in Zusammenarbeit mit den Bereichen Deutsch als Fremdsprache und Français langue étrangère vermittelt. Insbesondere werden Kurse angeboten, die aus unterschiedlichen fachwissenschaftlichen Perspektiven zur vertieften Reflexion über den Sprach- und Kulturkontakt anregen und der Aneignung eines fundierten Wissens über die Eigenheiten und Problematiken desselben dienen.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Die Studierenden, welche mit Erfolg das Studienprogramm absolviert haben, entwickeln grundlegende Kenntnisse der deutschen und französischen Sprache und Literatur. Im Hinblick auf die Sprachkompetenz zielt das Studienprogramm auf eine sehr gute Beherrschung der jeweiligen Fremd- bzw. Zweitsprache, die eine uneingeschränkte Teilnahme am jeweiligen Masterstudium und den Zugang zum Sprach- und Kulturleben überhaupt eröffnet. Namentlich bietet das Bachelor-Diplom direkten Zugang zu verschiedenen Masterstudienprogrammen wie etwa zum Master Germanistik, Français, Deutsch als Fremdsprache/Deutsch als Zweitsprache (DaF/DaZ), Français langue étrangère/Français langue seconde (FLE/FLS), Mehrsprachigkeitsforschung und Fremdsprachendidaktik oder Allgemeine und vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft. Ein Master in Germanistik sowie Français eröffnet zudem den Zugang zur Ausbildung für den Unterricht an Maturitätsschulen (LDM).
Darüber hinaus handelt es sich bei der durch das Studium angeeigneten Kenntnis und Erfahrung kultureller und sprachlicher Vermittlung zwischen Deutsch und Französisch um Schlüsselqualifikationen, die nicht nur auf dem schweizerischen Arbeitsmarkt, sondern auch jenseits der Grenzen von Bedeutung sind. Diese können durch verschiedene weiterführende berufsspezifische Spezialisierungen in den Bereichen Internationale Beziehungen, Kulturarbeit, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Kommunikation verbunden werden.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.