Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

German Literary Studies

Abstract

The modern German literature study programme, called German Literary Studies, is ideal for students who enjoy reading and writing, and dealing analytically with language, texts and other media in particular. As a branch of German Studies, «German Literary Studies» is dedicated to German-language texts from the times of humanism and the Reformation to the present day. The programme is for those who have an interest in the historical and cultural interconnections of language. In this Bachelor programme, students acquire the skills needed to stylistically analyse texts of various genres and media and to place them in their historical context. Special features of literary studies at Fribourg are the opportunities available for comparative literature study engendered by our proximity to the language boundary, and the focus on the relationship between media and literature, and the debates on questions of poetics and literary theory.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The modern German literature study programme, more precisely called German Literary Studies, is ideal for students who enjoy reading and writing, and dealing analytically with language, text and other media; they should also be interested in the historical and cultural interconnections of language. The German Literary Studies course covers modern German literature from the 16th century to the present day. In this Bachelor programme, students acquire the skills needed to stylistically analyse texts of various genres and media and to place them in their historical context. They also learn how to argue scientifically and develop research questions of their own.
Special features of literary studies at Fribourg are the opportunities available for comparative literature study engendered by our proximity to the language boundary, and the special focus on the representation of literature in various media, and the research in poetics and in literary theory. The programme therefore addresses literary texts and communication processes, both in general (for example, it looks at the functions of literary genres, the rhetorical structure of texts, etc.) and with regard to historical characteristics (it deals with individual literary works and work groups, their authors and readers, relationships with other literature and arts, etc.). A key target is to develop graduates own power of judgement in relation to earlier, current and future developments in literature and in scientific literary research.
Studies take place in an agreeable environment in a pleasant city in a medium-sized bilingual university (around 10,000 students, of which 250 are studying German); French is mainly spoken in the region, however the study programme is in German. Around 15% of our students do not speak German as their mother tongue. In Fribourg, students can study French and German at the same level and use both languages daily.

Learning outcomes
The German Literary Studies programme provides direct, or facilitated, access to many Master's programmes in the fields of languages, communication and literature, in particular comparative literature. However, access to the teaching profession requires enrolling in an adjustment programme in the basics of German linguistics and medieval studies.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Studienprogramm der neueren deutschen Literatur – genannt: Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft – setzt Freude am Lesen und Schreiben voraus, insbesondere am präzisen analytischen Umgang mit Sprache und Texten und anderen Medien. Als Teilgebiet der Germanistik widmet sich die «Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft» deutschsprachigen Texten vom Humanismus bzw. der Reformation bis zur Gegenwart. Das Programm erfordert also ebenso ein Interesse an geschichtlichen und kulturellen Zusammenhängen. In diesem Bachelorprogramm erwerben Sie die Kompetenz, Texte in unterschiedlichen Gattungen und medialen Formen stilistisch zu analysieren und in ihrem historischen Kontext zu verorten. Besonderheiten der Freiburger Literaturwissenschaft sind die (an der Sprachgrenze naheliegende) enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Komparatistik, das Interesse für das Verhältnis Medien und Literatur sowie die Beschäftigung mit Fragen der Poetik und der Literaturtheorie.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Studienprogramm der neueren deutschen Literatur – genauer gesagt: Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft – setzt Freude am Lesen und Schreiben voraus, insbesondere am analytischen Umgang mit Sprache und Texten und anderen Medien sowie Interesse an geschichtlichen und kulturellen Zusammenhängen. Der Gegenstand der Germanistischen Literaturwissenschaft umfasst die neuere deutsche Literatur vom 16. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. In diesem Bachelorprogramm erwerben Sie die Kompetenzen, Texte in unterschiedlichen Gattungen und medialen Formen stilistisch zu analysieren, sie in ihrem historischen Kontext zu verorten. Darüber hinaus lernen Sie, wissenschaftlich zu argumentieren und literaturwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen zu entwickeln.
Besonderheiten der Freiburger Literaturwissenschaft sind die (an der Sprachgrenze naheliegende) enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Komparatistik, das Interesse für unterschiedliche mediale Erscheinungsformen von Literatur sowie die Erforschung von Fragen der Poetik und der Literaturtheorie. Das Programm widmet sich demnach literarischen Texten und Kommunikationsprozessen sowohl in prinzipieller Hinsicht (z.B. mit Fragen nach dem Funktionieren der literarischen Gattungen, der rhetorischen Struktur von Texten, usw.) als auch hinsichtlich der historischen Ausprägungen (es befasst sich also mit einzelnen literarischen Werken und Werkgruppen, deren Autoren und Lesern, den Beziehungen zu anderen Literaturen und Künsten usw.). Ein zentrales Ziel ist dabei die Ausbildung eigener Urteilsfähigkeit im Hinblick auf frühere, aktuelle und künftige Entwicklungen in der Literatur wie in ihrer wissenschaftlichen Erforschung.
Sie studieren bei uns in einer überschaubaren Stadt, an einer mittelgrossen Universität (mit rund 10'000 Studierenden, davon 250 Germanistinnen und Germanisten), an einer zweisprachigen Hochschule in überwiegend französischsprachiger Umgebung und doch unter den Bedingungen eines deutschsprachigen Studienbetriebs. Ungefähr 15% unserer Studierenden sind nicht deutscher Muttersprache. Sie können daher in Freiburg auch Deutsch und Französisch auf gleichem Niveau studieren und zugleich beide Sprachen täglich anwenden.

Ausbildungsziele
Das Bachelorprogramm Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft ermöglicht einen direkten oder erleichterten Zugang zu vielen Masterprogrammen in den Bereichen Sprachen, Kommunikation und Literatur, insbesondere zur Komparatistik. Der Zugang zum Lehrerberuf setzt allerdings ein Anpassungsprogramm zu den Grundlagen der germanistischen Linguistik und Mediävistik voraus.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/rC-uD

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.