Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Latin Studies

Abstract

This Bachelor's programme covers the study of Roman antiquity from the beginnings of the Republic to the humanist period. It focuses on the acquisition and consolidation of Latin language skills, as well as the interpretation of literary texts set in the broader context of Roman culture. Special emphasis is placed on Latin culture and literature of Late Antiquity, the Latin Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Students also study the influence of literary forms and classical mythology on modern literature.
On completing their course, students will have acquired a command of Latin and in-depth knowledge of Roman literature and culture. This programme concentrates essentially on the teaching of the Latin language and literature, with lectures, exercises and proseminars aimed at enabling students to hone their language skills, their knowledge of philological techniques and literary analysis skills.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The programme covers the study of Roman antiquity from the beginnings of the Republic to the humanist period. The emphasis is on the acquisition and consolidation of Latin language skills, as well as on the interpretation of literary documents. As the title of the programme indicates, work on literary texts is set in the broader context of Roman culture, while the study of language and culture proper goes hand in hand with that of the history of classical antiquity, archaeology, ancient philosophy and patristics. The programme concentrates essentially on teaching Latin language and culture, reading texts in the original Latin, and exercises and proseminars aimed at deepening students' knowledge of the Latin language and of philological techniques.

Fribourg profile
The University of Fribourg specialises in classical studies and consequently special attention is paid to Latin culture and literature in Late Antiquity. In partnership with the Institute of General and Comparative Literature (Institut de littérature générale et comparée/Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft), students also study the influence of literary forms and classical mythology on modern literature. In line with University of Fribourg's language policy, students of the Latin Studies have the possibility of taking their course in two languages (French and German).

Learning outcomes and career openings
On completing their course, students will have acquired a command of Latin and in-depth knowledge of Roman literature and culture. They will be capable of translating a Latin text, analysing it grammatically and stylistically, placing it in its literary, historical and cultural context and establishing links with modern literature. For a given problem, they will have acquired the methodological skills allowing them to draw up a pertinent bibliography, search for sources, analyse them critically and in detail, put forward a summary of the issue and give an oral or written presentation of the results of their research.

The principal career openings for Latin Studies students are:

  • Teaching Latin at secondary school level I;
  • An academic career in classical studies;
  • Public administration and cultural policy;
  • Administrative posts in scientific bodies;
  • Private sector (human resources).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/Ep5Sc (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/gpUA1 (German)

Comments

Knowledge of Latin is required. Students who did not take this language at an academic upper secondary school can attend the special lessons that are built into the curriculum.

Furthermore, a study programme worth 120 ECTS credits is also offered as a major: Classics.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme for 30 ECTS credits.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Lateinische Sprache und Kultur

Kurzbeschreibung

Gegenstand dieses Bachelorprogramms ist die römische Antike von der frühen Republik bis in die Zeit der Humanisten. Das Schwergewicht liegt auf dem Studium und der Vertiefung der lateinischen Sprache sowie der Beschäftigung mit den literarischen Texten und deren Einordnung in den breiteren Rahmen der römischen Kultur. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf die lateinische Kultur und Literatur der Spätantike, auf das lateinische Mittelalter sowie auf die Renaissance gelegt. Auch das Nachwirken der antiken Literaturformen und Mythen in der modernen Literatur wird untersucht.
Nach dem Abschluss des Studiums beherrschen die Studierenden die lateinische Sprache und verfügen über vertiefte Kenntnisse der römischen Literatur und Kultur. Das Schwergewicht des Studiums liegt auf der lateinischen Sprache sowie auf der Vertiefung der Kenntnisse über die römische Literatur und Kultur. Das Hauptgewicht des Studienprogramms liegt auf Kursen über die lateinische Sprache und Literatur, Lektürekursen sowie in Übungen und Proseminaren zur Vertiefung der Sprachkenntnisse, der philologischen Technik und der literarischen Kompetenzen.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Gegenstand dieses Studienprogramms ist die römische Antike von der frühen Republik bis in die Zeit der Humanisten. Das Schwergewicht des Studiums liegt auf dem Erlernen und Vertiefen der lateinischen Sprache sowie der Erschliessung der literarischen Denkmäler. Wie der Name des Studienprogramms «Sprache und Kultur» zeigt, wird diese Beschäftigung mit den schriftlichen Zeugnissen in den grösseren Rahmen der römischen Kulturgeschichte eingebettet und das eigentliche Sprach- und Literaturstudium mit Veranstaltungen in Geschichte des Altertums, Archäologie, Antiker Philosophie und Patristik eng verknüpft. Das Hauptgewicht des Studienprogramms liegt auf Vorlesungen in römischer Literatur- und Kulturgeschichte, auf Lektürekursen von lateinischen Originaltexten, sowie auf Übungen zur Vertiefung der Sprachkenntnisse und der philologischen Technik.

Freiburger Profil
Entsprechend dem Schwerpunkt der Altertumswissenschaften an der Universität Freiburg gilt besondere Aufmerksamkeit der lateinischen Kultur und Literatur der Spätantike und – in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Mediävistischen Institut – dem Ausblick auf das lateinische Mittelalter und der Renaissance. Einbezogen ist ferner auch das Nachleben antiker Mythen und literarischer Gattungen in den modernen Literaturen, dies vor allem in gemeinsamen Veranstaltungen im Rahmen des Instituts für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft. In Übereinstimmung mit der Sprachpolitik unserer Universität können die Studierenden der lateinischen Sprache und Kultur ihr Studium zweisprachig (deutsch-französisch) absolvieren.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss ihres Studiums verfügen die Studierenden über eine solide Kenntnis des Lateins und sind mit der Literatur und Kultur der römischen Antike vertraut. Sie sind in der Lage, einen lateinischen Text aus der Originalsprache zu übersetzen, ihn grammatikalisch und stilistisch zu erklären, ihn in die literarische Tradition und in den kulturhistorischen Kontext einzuordnen und seine Rezeption in der neueren Literatur zu erkennen. Methodisch werden sie imstande sein, die antiken Texte in Auseinandersetzung mit der wissenschaftlichen Literatur zu interpretieren, sie kritisch zu analysieren und die Ergebnisse der philologisch-literarischen Untersuchung argumentierend zusammenzufassen, sei es in einem mündlichen Referat oder in Form einer schriftlichen Arbeit.

Hauptsächliche Berufsmöglichkeiten für Absolventen dieses Studienprogramms sind:

  • Lehramt für Latein auf der Sekundarstufe I;
  • Akademische Karriere im Bereich der Altertumswissenschaften;
  • Öffentliche Verwaltung und Kulturpolitik;
  • Wissenschaftsverwaltung;
  • Privatsektor (Personalwesen).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/gpUA1

Bemerkung

Lateinkenntnisse sind erforderlich. Für Studierende, welche diese Kenntnisse nicht im Gymnasium erworben haben, werden ggf. im Studienplan integrierte Lateinkurse angeboten.

Ausserdem wird ein Studienprogramm zu 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten auch als Hauptprogramm angeboten: Klassische Philologie.

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm zu 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkten angeboten.