Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Rhaeto-Romance

Abstract

The Rhaeto-Romance course is devoted to the varied linguistic forms in the Romansh-speaking area of the canton of Grisons. Who uses Rhaeto-Romance in today's society, and how and when? What is the position of Romansh people in the trilingual canton of Grisons and in quadrilingual Switzerland? What are the subjects and traditions which shape Rhaeto-Romance literature? These and other questions are covered by Rhaeto-Romance students. At the University of Fribourg, the emphasis is on linguistics, but literature is an integral part of the course.
Students acquire the broad basic knowledge required to pursue a career in Rhaeto-Romance institutions, the media or teaching and/or to continue their studies to Master level.
The Bachelor programme requires thorough knowledge of at least one variant of Rhaeto-Romance (idiom or Rumantsch Grischun). Some classes are taught in German.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Rumantsch a Friburg? Sa chapescha!
The University of Fribourg is the only higher education establishment in Switzerland apart from the University of Zurich to offer studies in Rhaeto-Romance. These studies are devoted to the science of past and present Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. The Rhaeto-Romance course in Fribourg puts the emphasis on linguistics, whereby socio-linguistics and language-contact issues are given particular consideration. Literature is an integral part of the course.

Curriculum
The Bachelor programme teaches students the foundations of linguistics and literary analysis and gives an overview of the history of the Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. The focus lies on the historical development and structural elements of Rhaeto-Romance dialects and regional written languages, as well as on the various contacts with other language and cultural spaces. Students study a wide spectrum of uses of Rhaeto-Romance, from court documents from the Republic of the Three Leagues to current media reports, from religious debates and political verse from the period of the Reformation through to modern poetry and everyday digital communication. Other subjects for study include the language debate in past and present of Grisons, the multilingualism of Rhaeto-Romance speakers, the supraregional standardisation of the written language with Rumantsch Grischun, and the status of Rhaeto-Romance as a minority language.

Requirements
To study Rhaeto-Romance, students must be innovative, enjoy reading and writing and have an interest in analytical examination of language, text and other media. As the majority of the course is provided in Rhaeto-Romance, thorough knowledge in at least one Rhaeto-Romance variety (idiom or Rumantsch Grischun) is essential. The study of other variants of Rhaeto-Romance is part of the course.
Some classes are taught in German so that students without any knowledge of Rhaeto-Romance can attend. In addition, Rhaeto-Romance language courses are open to all students.

Advantages
The small number of students enables effective and close mentoring by professors and lecturers. A familiar atmosphere is characteristic of Rhaeto-Romance studies, which also promotes contact among students outside the university.

Combinations
The Rhaeto-Romance study programme can be combined with other study programmes in the arts and also in social sciences and/or natural sciences. Popular combinations are, for example, other languages and literature, history, communication and media or education.

Career openings
In the Rhaeto-Romance Bachelor programme, students acquire a broad and well-founded basic knowledge to pursue a career in Rhaeto-Romance institutions, the media or teaching. The Bachelor degree is also the basis for Master-level studies (in Multilingualism Studies with Rhaeto-Romance as an option and in other language disciplines).
There are many different career opportunities for graduates in Rhaeto-Romance: the media (radio, press, TV, Internet), Rhaeto-Romance or Rhaeto-Romance-related language and cultural institutions (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Swiss Literary Archives, etc.), translation, library work. The Rhaeto-romance study programme for 60 ECTS credits fulfils the requirements for admission to the Teaching Diploma for Academic Upper Secondary Education (Diplôme d'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité, DEEM/Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen, LDM).
Given the relatively low number of university graduates in Rhaeto-Romance, people with that qualification are always be in great demand on the labour market in Graubünden, in federal administration, universities and a variety of national research projects.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/eg-4R (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/CwVZr (German)

Comments

This Bachelor programme is continued at the Master level with the Rhaeto-Romance minor study programme (30 ECTS credits) and the Multilingualism Studies major study programme with Rhaeto-Romance as the elective (90 ECTS credits).

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme for 30 ECTS credits.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Rätoromanisch

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Studienprogramm Rätoromanisch widmet sich den vielfältigen Sprachformen Romanischbündens. Wer verwendet in der heutigen Gesellschaft wie und wann Rätoromanisch? Welche Stellung haben die Rätoromanen im dreisprachigen Kanton Graubünden und in der viersprachigen Schweiz? Welche Motive und Traditionen prägen die rätoromanische Literatur? Mit solchen und weiteren Fragen setzen sich Rätoromanischstudierende im Bachelorprogramm auseinander. Der Schwerpunkt liegt an der Universität Freiburg auf der Linguistik, doch die Literaturwissenschaft bildet ebenfalls einen integralen Bestandteil der Ausbildung.
Die Studierenden erwerben im Bachelorprogramm ein breites Grundlagenwissen für die Tätigkeit in rätoromanischen Institutionen, Medien und Schulen bzw. für ein weiterführendes Studium auf Masterstufe.
Das Bachelorprogramm setzt vertiefte Kenntnisse in mindestens einer rätoromanischen Varietät voraus (Idiom oder Rumantsch Grischun). Einige Veranstaltungen werden auf Deutsch durchgeführt.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Rumantsch a Friburg? Sa chapescha!
Die Universität Freiburg ist neben der Universität Zürich die einzige Schweizer Hochschule, die ein Studienprogramm in Rätoromanistik anbietet. Rätoromanistik ist die Wissenschaft von der rätoromanischen Sprache und Literatur in Geschichte und Gegenwart. Der Schwerpunkt des Rätoromanischstudiums liegt in Freiburg auf der Linguistik, wobei soziolinguistische und sprachkontaktbezogene Fragestellungen besondere Berücksichtigung finden. Die Literaturwissenschaft bildet ebenfalls einen integralen Bestandteil der Ausbildung.

Studieninhalte
Das Bachelorprogramm vermittelt den Studierenden Grundlagen der Linguistik und der literarischen Textanalyse und gibt einen Überblick über die rätoromanische Sprach- und Literaturgeschichte. Der Fokus liegt auf den historischen Entwicklungen und den strukturellen Eigenheiten rätoromanischer Mundarten und Regionalschriftsprachen sowie den vielfältigen Kontakten zu anderen Sprach- und Kulturräumen. Die Studierenden befassen sich mit einem breiten Spektrum von Verwendungsarten des Rätoromanischen: von Gerichtsprotokollen aus dem Dreibündenstaat bis zu aktuellen Medienbeiträgen, von Glaubensdisputen und politischer Dichtung aus der Reformationszeit bis zu moderner Lyrik und digitaler Alltagskommunikation. Weitere Gegenstände des Studiums sind die Bündner Sprachdebatten in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, die Mehrsprachigkeit der Rätoromanisch Sprechenden, die überregionale schriftsprachliche Normierung mit Rumantsch Grischun und der Status des Rätoromanischen als Minderheitensprache.

Voraussetzungen
Für das Räroromanischstudium sind Pioniergeist, Freude am Lesen und Schreiben sowie Interesse an der analytischen Auseinandersetzung mit Sprache, Texten und anderen Medien gefragt. Da der Grossteil der Veranstaltungen auf Rätoromanisch durchgeführt wird, sind vertiefte Kenntnisse in mindestens einer rätoromanischen Varietät (Idiom oder Rumantsch Grischun) unabdingbar. Die Beschäftigung mit weiteren Varietäten des Rätoromanischen ist Teil des Studiums.
Einige Veranstaltungen werden auf Deutsch durchgeführt, sodass auch Studierende ohne Rätoromanischkenntnisse Teile des Studienprogramms besuchen können. Zudem stehen allen Studierenden rätoromanische Sprachkurse offen.

Vorteile
Die kleine Anzahl Studierender ermöglicht eine gute und enge Betreuung durch Professoren und Lehrbeauftragte. Charakteristisch für den Studienbereich Rätoromanisch ist die familiäre Atmosphäre, die auch den ausseruniversitären Kontakt unter den Studierenden fördert.

Kombinationen
Das Studienprogramm Rätoromanisch kann sowohl mit anderen Studienprogrammen der Geisteswissenschaften als auch mit solchen der Sozial- und/oder der Naturwissenschaften kombiniert werden. Beliebte Kombinationen sind zum Beispiel andere Sprachen und Literaturen, Geschichte, Kommunikation und Medien oder Pädagogik.

Berufsperspektiven
Im Bachelorprogramm Rätoromanisch erwerben die Studierenden ein breites und fundiertes Grundlagenwissen für die Arbeit in rätoromanischen Institutionen, Medien und Schulen. Der Bachelorabschluss bildet ausserdem die Basis für ein weiterführendes Studium auf Masterstufe (in Mehrsprachigkeitsforschung mit Option Rätoromanisch und in weiteren sprachlichen Disziplinen).
Den Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Rätoromanischstudiums stehen zahlreiche Berufsfelder offen: Medienarbeit (Radio, Zeitung, Fernsehen, Internet), Mitarbeit in rätoromanischen oder mit dem Rätoromanischen verbundenen Sprach- und Kulturinstitutionen (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Schweizerisches Literaturarchiv usw.), Übersetzertätigkeit, Bibliotheksarbeit. Das Bachelorprogramm zu 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten erfüllt die Anforderungen für die Zulassung zum Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen (LDM).
Wegen der relativ geringen Anzahl von Hochschulabsolventinnen und -absolventen in Rätoromanistik sind auf dem Arbeitsmarkt in Graubünden, in der Bundesverwaltung, an Hochschulen sowie in verschiedenen nationalen Forschungsprojekten immer wieder Personen mit dieser Qualifikation gesucht.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/CwVZr

Bemerkung

Dieses Bachelorprogramm findet auf Masterstufe Fortsetzungen im Nebenprogramm Rätoromanisch (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) und im Hauptprogramm Mehrsprachigkeitsforschung mit Option Rätoromanisch (90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm zu 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkten angeboten.