Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Human Medicine

Abstract

This study programme provides full schooling in Human Medicine at Bachelor's level. Admission is subject to the numerus clausus.
The first year of study consists of physics, chemistry, an introduction to organ systems and fundamental human biology. In-depth study of the systems begins in the second semester and continues during the second and third years: during the second year, the emphasis is placed on the morphological and functional aspects, and in the third year on understanding the mechanisms responsible for the development of disease.
The course also provides skills in medical interviews, clinical examination techniques and basic practical gestures, on real or simulated patients, and immersion days in a doctor's surgery.
Holders of the Bachelor's degree from the University of Fribourg continue their studies to Master's level at one of the five faculties of Medicine in Switzerland.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Science offers Bachelor's level education in Human Medicine. The holder of a Bachelor of Medicine in Human Medicine has command of the knowledge and skills necessary to continue studying to Master's level in one of the five faculties of Medicine in Switzerland.

The first year of study consists of physics, chemistry, an introduction to organ systems and fundamental human biology (cells, genetics, transmission and processing of biological information, development, structural biochemistry, metabolism and microbiology). In the second semester, systematic and in-depth study of the systems begins; it continues into the second year. At the end of the second year, the student will thus have acquired solid knowledge of the structures and functions of the human body.
The third year comprises the study of the general fundamental concepts of pathology, pharmacology and medical microbiology. At this level, the study of systems is focused on understanding the mechanisms responsible for the appearance of illnesses.
During the Bachelor's programme, the student also acquires skills in medical interviews, clinical examination techniques and basic practical gestures (reanimation, stitches, injections, etc.).
«Medicine and Society» classes introduce students (over the three years of study) to the psycho-social, ethical, deontological and community dimensions of their future profession.

Fribourg profile
Admission to the Human Medicine course at the University of Fribourg is subject to the numerus clausus. Where applicable, selection is based on the result achieved in the «Test d'aptitudes aux études de médecine/Eignungstest für das Medizinstudium». This pre-university mode of selection guarantees cohorts of reasonable size from the beginning of the course, thus giving precedence to quality teaching.
Studies are bilingual, giving students the opportunity to continue in a German or French-speaking faculty. A good understanding of the partner language is required.
The programme comprises a practical mix of lectures, seminars in small groups, practical work and laboratory work, as well as clinical apprenticeships with real or simulated patients. These clinical apprenticeships are notably part of immersion days in a doctor's surgery.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The university course lasts a total of six years, giving access to postgraduate education, which is compulsory for practising medicine as an independent doctor.
The main career options are:

  • Independent doctor: specialist in general medicine or other speciality;
  • Contract doctor, usually in a hospital;
  • Doctor in research (university, industry, etc.).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Comments

To obtain the Bachelor's degree, the candidate must have carried out a four-week nursing internship. This hospital internship can also be done before starting the course. Students who have completed a recruit school as a medical soldier are exempt from this internship.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates (in French and German only) is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Important:
Admission to the Human Medicine course at the University of Fribourg is subject to the numerus clausus. Places are granted on the basis of results obtained in the Aptitude test for medical studies.
Foreign applicants also have to meet the conditions for admission set by the cantonal authorities: see http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ordmedfr (in French) or http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ordmedde (in German).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Humanmedizin

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Studienprogramm bietet eine umfassende Ausbildung in der Humanmedizin auf Bachelor-Stufe. Die Zulassung ist durch einen numerus clausus eingeschränkt.
Das erste Studienjahr umfasst Grundkurse in Physik und Chemie, eine Einführung in die Organsysteme und die humanbiologischen Grundlagen. Das vertiefte Studium der Organsysteme beginnt im 2. Semester und setzt sich im 2. und im 3. Studienjahr fort: im 2. Studienjahr wird der Schwerpunkt auf die morphologischen und funktionellen Aspekte gesetzt, im 3. Jahr auf das Verständnis der Mechanismen, welche den Krankheiten zugrunde liegen.
Zudem beherrschen die Studierenden am Ende der Bachelorausbildung die Techniken des ärztlichen Gespräches und der klinischen Untersuchung sowie einfacher Eingriffe. Die praktischen Fertigkeiten werden anhand reeller oder simulierter Patienten sowie im Rahmen von Immersionstagen in Arztpraxen geübt.
Nach dem Bachelorabschluss können die Studierenden ihre Ausbildung auf Master-Stufe an einer der fünf medizinischen Fakultäten der Schweiz fortsetzen.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Departement für Medizin der Mathematisch- Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät bietet eine humanmedizinische Ausbildung auf Bachelor-Stufe. Die Inhaber eines Bachelor of Medicine in Humanmedizin verfügen über die notwendigen Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen, um ihre Ausbildung auf Master-Stufe an einer der fünf medizinischen Fakultäten der Schweiz fortzusetzen.

Das erste Studienjahr umfasst Kurse in Physik und Chemie, eine Einführung in die Organsysteme sowie die Grundlagen der Humanbiologie (Zelle, Genetik, Übermittlung und Verarbeitung biologischer Informationen, Entwicklung, strukturelle Biochemie, Stoffwechsel und Mikrobiologie). Im zweiten Semester beginnt die systematische und vertiefte Lehre der Organsysteme. Sie wird im zweiten Studienjahr fortgesetzt. Am Ende des zweiten Studienjahres verfügen die Studierenden über solide Kenntnisse der grundlegenden Strukturen und Funktionen des menschlichen Körpers.
Das dritte Studienjahr widmet sich den Grundkonzepten der allgemeinen Pathologie und Pharmakologie sowie der medizinischen Mikrobiologie. Auf dieser Ausbildungsstufe werden die krank machenden Mechanismen bei den einzelnen Organsystemen erarbeitet.
Im Laufe der Bachelorausbildung erlernen die Studierenden medizinische Techniken und Grundlagen der klinischen Untersuchungen sowie praktische Fertigkeiten (Wiederbelebung, Wundnaht, Injektionen usw.).
Das Programm «Medizin und Gesellschaft», das sich über alle drei Studienjahre erstreckt, führt die Studierenden in die psychosozialen, ethischen, deontologischen und gesellschaftlichen Dimensionen des ärztlichen Handelns ein.

Freiburger Profil
Die Zulassung zum Studium der Humanmedizin an der Universität Freiburg ist durch einen numerus clausus eingeschränkt. Bei Bedarf kann die Zulassung aufgrund der Ergebnisse am «Eignungstest für das Medizinstudium» beschränkt werden. Diese präuniversitäre Auswahlmethode gewährleistet überschaubare Studierendengruppen ab dem ersten Studienjahr, was zur Unterrichtsqualität beiträgt.
Das Studium wird zweisprachig durchgeführt. Dies öffnet den Studierenden die Türen deutsch- und französischsprachiger Universitäten für das weiterführende Studium. Ein gutes Verständnis der Partnersprache wird vorausgesetzt.
Der Unterricht besteht aus einer gut ausgewogenen Mischung aus Vorlesungen, Seminaren in Kleingruppen, Übungen, Praktika sowie der Erlernung klinischer Kompetenzen anhand echter oder simulierter Patienten. Die klinischen Kompetenzen werden auch im Rahmen von Immersionstagen in Arztpraxen vermittelt.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das universitäre Studium dauert sechs Jahre. Nach dem Abschluss können die Studierenden eine Weiterbildung absolvieren, die für frei praktizierende Ärzte obligatorisch ist.
Die zentralen Berufsperspektiven sind:

  • Frei praktizierende Ärztin oder praktizierender Arzt: Fachärztin oder Facharzt für Allgemeinmedizin oder für eine andere Disziplin;
  • Ärztin oder Arzt im Anstellungsverhältnis, meist im Spital;
  • Ärztin oder Arzt in der Forschung (Universität, Industrie usw.).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_d.php

Bemerkung

Für den erfolgreichen Abschluss des Bachelorstudiums müssen die Studierenden ein obligatorisches vierwöchiges Pflegepraktikum absolviert haben. Das Spitalpraktikum kann auch vor Studienbeginn absolviert werden. Angehörige der Sanitätstruppen im Militär sind vom Praktikum dispensiert.

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Wichtig:
Die Zulassung zum Medizinstudium an der Universität Freiburg unterliegt einem numerus clausus. Die Studienplätze werden auf der Basis der Resultate beim Eignungstest für das Medizinstudium erteilt.
Ausländische Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten müssen ausserdem die von der kantonalen Verordnung festgelegten Bedingungen betreffend deren Zulassung erfüllen (Siehe http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ordmedde).