Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Sport Sciences and Motor Control

Abstract

This Bachelor's programme enables students to acquire practical know-how and scientific knowledge about the impact of motor activity on the development and maintenance of the individual's physical, mental and social life. It not only looks at subjects such as anatomy, the principles of training and sports psychology, but also the technical aspects of practice in a variety of fields, notably games, corporal expression, and water and snow sports. The teaching concept, which places the emphasis on the relationship between theory and practice, is based on a «lecture-seminar/workshop» structure and fosters the practical application of theoretical knowledge.
Students also have the possibility of specialising in teaching physical education and sports at secondary school level.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

In today's society, the regular, healthy practice of motor activities is based not only on experience, but first and foremost on scientific knowledge. The study programme in sport sciences and motor control focuses on the impact of this motor activity on the development and maintenance of the individual's physical, mental and social life. This basic training has two dimensions:

  • A scientific dimension, which studies the different human systems in order to understand how the principal resources that are to be developed, mobilised and preserved in our daily motor activities and in recreational or performance sports function. This scientific training takes in aspects such as anatomy, the physiology of exercise, the theory of motor learning and control, the principles of training, biomechanics, sports psychology and sociology;
  • A practical/methodological dimension, which deals with the analysis of movement as a tool for professionals in the fields of health, education, training and recreational or performance sports. It studies the techniques and methodologies of the reference social practices in six fields of activity: games, corporal expression, gymnastic and athletic activities, activities related to physical development and maintenance, combative sports, water sports and snow sports.

Students specialise in one of the two following orientations:

  • «Health - Performance - Research», which gives students basic training in fundamental subjects, biomedical science and the science of movement and sport. This monodisciplinary course is aimed at students wishing to pursue a career in the field of physical activity and sport, sports performance, or research into sport sciences and motor control;
  • «Teaching», which gives students basic training in movement and sport science and prepares them for teaching physical education and sport at secondary school level in combination with other subjects (for further information, see also «Teacher Education for Secondary Level»).

Fribourg profile
The Bachelor's degree at the University of Fribourg presents a number of worthwhile features:

  • A teaching concept which places the emphasis on the relationship between theory and practice: most of the scientific coursework involves a seminar or workshop. This structure «lecture-seminar/workshop» fosters the practical application of theoretical knowledge;
  • Thanks to the bilingualism which is an integral part of the course, students have the chance of enriching their specialist vocabulary and learning to interact in an academic context with specialists in both French and German, giving them a considerable advantage in their future professional lives.

Learning outcomes and career openings
By the time students obtain their Bachelor's degree, they will have consolidated their basic scientific know-how and acquired a general knowledge and a broader vision of their subject. They will have developed an ability to synthesize information and apply a critical way of thinking, which will enable them to pursue their studies at a more advanced, specialised level by taking a Master's degree. Moreover, they will have acquired know-how in a variety of codified or non-codified motor skills in the different fields of activity.

«Health - Performance - Research» orientation:
The general subject knowledge and methodology that students acquire equip them for a variety of careers in the field of health, training or research. The basic training that this specialisation affords in fundamental subjects, biomedical sciences and the science of movement and sports opens the door to more advanced studies, notably a Master's degree in sport sciences with a specialisation in «Health and Research», and from there to a career in:

  • Research in the science of movement and sports;
  • Preventative health measures and integration of health concepts in the public or private sector;
  • Functional rehabilitation in rehabilitation centres.

«Teaching» orientation:
The general subject knowledge and methodology that students are taught equip them for a variety of careers in the field of teaching physical education and sports in schools. This orientation provides the basic training which is crucial to pursuing more advanced studies in the context of a Master's degree in sport sciences with a specialisation in «Teaching».

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters
or
120 ECTS credits + 60 ECTS credits in a minor study programme freely chosen, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Applications are conditional. They are only validated once candidates have passed a compulsory Physical and Motor Skills test (TCPM/KMF) and if they are certified to be in good health.
For more information about these specific conditions for admission, consult the following web pages:
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/spoFR (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/spoDE (German)

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften

Kurzbeschreibung

In diesem Bachelorprogramm erlernen die Studierenden das praktische Know-how und die wissenschaftlichen Kenntnisse über den Einfluss von Bewegung und Sport auf den Körper, die Psyche sowie auf das Sozialleben des Menschen. Sie studieren Fächer wie Anatomie, Grundlagen des Trainings und Sportpsychologie und gehen auf die technische Erforschung der Methoden in verschiedenen Disziplinen ein, z.B.: Spiele, körperliche Ausdrucksformen, Wasser- und Schneesport. Das Studienkonzept fördert die Beziehung zwischen Theorie und Praxis und stützt sich auf die Unterrichtsform «Vorlesung-Seminar/Workshop». Diese ermöglicht eine verstärkte Übertragung der theoretischen Kenntnisse in die Praxis.
Es wird auch eine spezifische Orientierung für den Sportunterricht an der Sekundarstufe angeboten.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

In der heutigen Gesellschaft haben sowohl die Erfahrung als auch wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse in Bezug auf Bewegung und Sport direkte Auswirkungen auf das regelmässige und gesunde Sporttreiben. Das Studienprogramm in Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften befasst sich in erster Linie mit dem Einfluss der Bewegung auf den Körper, die Psyche und das Sozialleben der Menschen. Die Grundausbildung umfasst zwei Dimensionen:

  • Eine wissenschaftliche Dimension, die sich mit den verschiedenen Systemen des menschlichen Wesens beschäftigt, um sein Funktionieren besser zu verstehen. Es wird der Frage nach den wichtigsten Ressourcen nachgegangen, die im Alltag, im Freizeit- oder Leistungssport mobilisiert, entwickelt und bewahrt werden müssen. Diese wissenschaftliche Dimension umfasst insbesondere auch Anatomie, Trainingsphysiologie, Theorien zum Lernprozess und zur motorischen Kontrolle, die Grundlagen des Trainings, Biomechanik, Sportpsychologie und -soziologie.
  • Eine praktisch-methodische Dimension, die anhand von Bewegungsanalysen ein Werkzeug für Fachkräfte im Bereich Gesundheit, Erziehung, Ausbildung und Freizeit- oder Leistungssport vermittelt. Dabei wird das technische und methodische Studium sozialer Referenzpraktiken in sechs Handlungsbereichen angegangen: Spiele, körperliche Ausdrucksformen, Geräteturnen und Leichtathletik, Aufbau und Pflege des Körpers, Kampfsport, Wasser- und Schneesport.

Die Studierenden können aus zwei Studienrichtungen auswählen:

  • Die Orientierung «Gesundheit - Leistung – Forschung» bietet eine Grundausbildung in den propädeutischen Fächern, den biomedizinischen Wissenschaften sowie den Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften. Die monodisziplinäre Ausbildung ist auf berufliche Perspektiven im Gesundheitswesen, in der sportlichen Betätigung, der sportlichen Leistung und der sport- und bewegungswissenschaftlichen Forschung ausgerichtet;
  • Die Orientierung «Unterricht» bietet eine Grundausbildung in Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften und führt zum Erwerb der Lehrbefähigung für den Sportunterricht auf der Sekundarstufe, zusammen mit anderen Unterrichtsfächern (weitere Informationen siehe «Unterricht auf der Sekundarstufe»).

Freiburger Profil
Das von der Universität Freiburg angebotene Bachelorstudium zeichnet sich durch mehrere Besonderheiten aus:

  • Das Studienkonzept stellt einen engen Zusammenhang zwischen Theorie und Praxis her. Die meisten wissenschaftlichen Vorlesungen werden an ein Seminar oder einen Workshop gekoppelt. Diese Struktur «Vorlesung-Seminar/Workshop» ermöglicht die gezielte Umsetzung der theoretischen Kenntnisse in die Praxis;
  • Die integrierte zweisprachige Ausbildung bietet den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, ihr Fachvokabular in beiden Sprachen zu erweitern. Sie lernen, sich im Rahmen ihres Studiengebiets mit Fachkräften auf Deutsch und auf Französisch zu unterhalten, was im Berufsleben ein entscheidender Vorteil ist.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Bei erfolgreichem Abschluss des Bachelorprogramms verfügen die Studierenden über solide wissenschaftliche Grundlagen. Sie haben sich Fachwissen und ein umfassendes Bild des Studienbereichs angeeignet. Zudem konnten sie ihre Synthesefähigkeit und ihr kritisches Denken entwickeln. Dies öffnet ihnen die Türen zu weitergehenden Studien auf Master-Stufe. Des Weiteren verfügen die Studierenden über Fachwissen zu verschiedenen kodifizierten und nicht kodifizierten motorischen Fähigkeiten in den verschiedenen Disziplinen.

Die Orientierung «Gesundheit - Leistung - Forschung»:
Das allgemeine Fachwissen und die Methoden dieser Orientierung bilden die notwendigen Grundlagen für zahlreiche Berufe im Gesundheitswesen, im Training und in der Forschung. Die Grundausbildung in den propädeutischen Fächern, biomedizinischen Wissenschaften und Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften gewährt den Studierenden den Zugang zu weitergehenden Studien. So eröffnet insbesondere das Masterstudium Sportwissenschaften mit der Orientierung «Gesundheit und Forschung» den Studierenden folgende Berufsfelder:

  • Grundlagenforschung im Bereich Sport- und Bewegungswissenschaften;
  • Prävention und Integration von Gesundheitskonzepten im öffentlichen oder privaten Sektor;
  • Rehabilitation in Reha Zentren.

Die Orientierung «Unterricht»:
Das erworbene Fachwissen und die erlernten Methoden bilden die notwendigen Grundlagen für zahlreiche Berufe im Zusammenhang mit dem Sportunterricht an Schulen. Diese Ausrichtung bietet den Studierenden die erforderliche Grundbildung, um weiterführende Studien aufzunehmen, insbesondere das Masterstudium Sportwissenschaften, Orientierung «Unterricht».

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester
oder
120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 60 ECTS Kreditpunkte in einem Nebenprogramm nach Wahl, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/0fTFn

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-swiss-certificates

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-countries
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.
Das Zulassungsgesuch wird unter Vorbehalt eingereicht. Es ist gültig nach erfolgreichem Bestehen eines obligatorischen Tests der physischen Fähigkeiten und motorischen Fertigkeiten (TCPM) sowie nach Bestätigung des guten Gesundheitszustand der Kandidatin oder des Kandidaten. Weitere Informationen betreffend diese besonderen Zulassungsbedingungen finden Sie auf der folgenden Internetseite: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/spoDE

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).