Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

French as a Foreign Language

Abstract

The Bachelor's programme French as a foreign language/French as a second language (FLE/FLS) provides theoretical and practical training for teaching FLE/FLS to a range of target groups, including children and adults.
The course is delivered through lessons and seminars to consolidate various aspects of students' knowledge of French – linguistics, language acquisition, didactics, culture and interculturality – in relation to teaching and learning.
The Fribourg University's FLE/FLS Bachelor's programme is based on a multilingual approach in more than one way: the multilingual environment that is a feature of the city of Fribourg, the placing of FLE/FLS studies in the «Multilingualism and Foreign Language Education Domain», and the links with the research conducted at the Institute of Multilingualism.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The French as a foreign language/French as a second language (FLE/FLS) Bachelor's programme is broken down into four subject areas, as follows below.

The language practice subject area is an opportunity for students to expand and consolidate their foreign or second language learning experience. Non-Francophone students will develop their written and oral French skills with a view to reaching level C1 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. A three-month language course will also enable them to fine-tune their skills by being fully immersed in a French-speaking environment. French-speaking students will start to learn a new foreign language and will develop their knowledge of another language through tandem learning. These two experiences aim to foster discussions on the learning process, and to develop practices based on interaction and communication strategies.

The applied linguistics subject area introduces theoretical notions for the description of French language. These notions are then applied in seminars aimed at teaching practice, with a particular focus on teaching grammar and vocabulary, and the use of media in language classes.

The FLE/FLS didactics section includes a theoretical introduction to foreign and second language acquisition. This theoretical approach will then be completed with a range of seminars that focus on the development of practical knowledge and FLE/FLS teaching skills, such as assessment tools, oral and written didactics, literature, information and communication technologies for teaching, and the teaching of French aimed at migrants (French as a school language and French for Specific Purposes).

Lastly, in the Intercultural subject area, students will acquire basic knowledge of intercultural communication theories and their application for classroom interaction. This section also includes modules on the cultural, literary and artistic history of French-speaking regions.

Fribourg profile

The Fribourg University's FLE/FLS training fosters the development of theoretical knowledge, practical skills, critical assessment and personal considerations of learning French from the teacher's and the learner's point of view. The enhanced knowledge of linguistic, didactic, cultural and intercultural aspects and of second and foreign language learning theories provides a solid grounding for professions related to French language and francophone culture.

FLE/FLS studies are not only a means to learn and teach French. They also consider French as a language for integration and school education. This course is particularly relevant in these times of increased mobility and migration.

As it is part of the Multilingualism and Foreign Language Education Domain the Fribourg University's FLE/FLS course is fully open to multilingualism in terms of its practical applications and research fields, in particular through its close ties with the research conducted at the Institute of Multilingualism.

Learning outcomes and career openings

Graduates will have the technical skills needed to teach French as a foreign or second language, in Switzerland and abroad.

They have knowledge of the theories, notions and approaches of linguistics, the teaching of foreign languages and intercultural studies, which are the foundations of modern foreign language learning. Being aware of the trends in these disciplines, graduates are able to consider and discuss emerging theories. They can analyse and assess FLE/FLS teaching notions and methods, and are able to observe, prepare and assess language learning processes.

Career opportunities include, among others, teaching French in different contexts, at school or as part of support for migrants, language learning for adults, exchange programmes, the promotion of languages in corporate or professional environments, the bilingual teaching of language and subjects, or creative activities in the field of foreign languages.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lCeda (French only)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Französisch als Fremdsprache

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Bachelorprogramm in Französisch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache (FLE/FLS) ist eine theoretische und praktische Ausbildung für eine Lehrtätigkeit in der Schul- oder Erwachsenenbildung.
Das Kurs- und Seminarangebot bietet die Möglichkeit zur Vertiefung der Französischkenntnisse unter verschiedenen Aspekten – Sprachkenntnisse, Spracherwerb, Didaktik, Kultur und interkulturelle Aspekte. Das Studienprogramm ist auf das Unterrichten und Lernen von Sprachen ausgerichtet.
Das Bachelorprogramm FLE/FLS der Universität Freiburg verfolgt auf mehreren Ebenen einen mehrsprachigen Ansatz: mehrsprachiger Kontext der Stadt Freiburg, Einordnung des FLE/FLS-Studiums in den «Studienbereich Mehrsprachigkeitsforschung und Fremdsprachendidaktik» sowie Verbindungen zu den Forschungsgruppen des Instituts für Mehrsprachigkeit.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Im Folgenden werden die vier Themenbereiche des Bachelorprogramms in Französisch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache (FLE/FLS) beschrieben.

Im Bereich Sprachpraxis können die Studierenden ihre Erfahrung mit dem Erlernen einer Fremd- oder Zweitsprache erweitern und vertiefen. Die nicht französischsprachigen Studierenden entwickeln ihre schriftlichen und mündlichen Französischkenntnisse weiter. Ziel dabei ist, das Niveau C1 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen zu erreichen. Während eines dreimonatigen Praktikums haben die Studierenden zudem die Gelegenheit, ihre Französischkenntnisse per Immersion zu vertiefen. Die französischsprachigen Studierenden erlernen eine neue Fremdsprache und vertiefen eine weitere Sprache im Tandem. Diese beiden Erfahrungen sollen die Reflexion über den Lernprozess anregen und zur Entwicklung von Kommunikationsstrategien und einer interaktiven Praxis führen.

Im Bereich angewandte Linguistik werden theoretische Beschreibungskonzepte für die französische Sprache eingeführt. Diese werden anschliessend in Seminaren angewandt, die auf die Unterrichtspraxis abzielen, insbesondere in den Bereichen Grammatik, Wortschatz und Medieneinsatz im Sprachunterricht.

Der Bereich FLE/FLS-Didaktik umfasst eine theoretische Einführung in den Fremd- und Zweitsprachenerwerb, gefolgt von einer breiten Palette an Seminaren, in denen die praktischen Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen für den FLE/FLS-Unterricht vermittelt werden, darunter Beurteilungswerkzeuge, die Didaktik des Mündlichen, der Literatur, des Schriftlichen, Informations- und Kommunikationstechniken für den Unterricht sowie die Didaktik für Französisch für Migranten (Französisch als Einschulungssprache, Französisch für spezifische Zwecke).

Schliesslich werden im interkulturellen Bereich Grundkenntnisse über die Theorien der interkulturellen Kommunikation und deren Auswirkungen auf die Interaktion im Klassenraum erworben. Darüber hinaus werden Kenntnisse über die Kultur-, Literatur- und Kunstgeschichte der französischsprachigen Regionen vermittelt.

Freiburger Profil

In der FLE/FLS-Ausbildung der Universität Freiburg werden theoretische Kenntnisse und praktische Kompetenzen entwickelt, eine kritische Haltung und die persönliche Reflexion über das Erlernen der französischen Sprache aus der Sicht des Lehrers, aber auch des Lernenden gefördert. Die Vertiefung der sprachlichen, didaktischen, kulturellen und interkulturellen Aspekte des Französischen sowie die Theorien über den Zweit- und Fremdsprachenerwerb sind eine solide Grundlage für die Ausübung von Berufen, die mit der französischen Sprache und der frankofonen Kultur zusammenhängen.

Das FLE/FLS-Studium ist nicht nur eine Ausbildung für Französisch als zu erlernende und zu unterrichtende Sprache, sondern auch für Französisch als Integrations- und Schulsprache. In der heutigen von Mobilität und Migration geprägten Zeit sind solche Kompetenzen umso wichtiger.

Da die FLE/FLS Ausbildung an der Universität Freiburg in den Studienbereich Mehrsprachigkeitsforschung und Fremdsprachendidaktik fällt, ist sie sowohl auf praktischer Ebene als auch in Bezug auf die Forschung durch Offenheit gegenüber der Mehrsprachigkeit geprägt, was sich insbesondere auch in den Verbindungen zur Forschung äussert, die am Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit durchgeführt wird.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsmöglichkeiten

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen verfügen über die technischen Kompetenzen, um in der Schweiz oder im Ausland Französisch als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache zu unterrichten.

Sie kennen die Theorien, Konzepte und Ansätze der Linguistik, der Fremdsprachendidaktik und der interkulturellen Studien, die die Grundlage für das moderne Erlernen von Fremdsprachen bilden. Darüber hinaus sind die Absolventinnen und Absolventen mit der historischen Entwicklung dieser Disziplinen vertraut und können sich eine Meinung über neue Theorien bilden. Sie können die Konzepte und Methoden des FLE/FLS-Erlernens analysieren und bewerten und die Prozesse des Sprachenlernens beobachten, vorbereiten und bewerten.

Zu den Berufsperspektiven zählen unter anderem Französischunterricht in verschiedenen Kontexten, in der Schule oder im Rahmen der Begleitung von Migranten, Sprachausbildung von Erwachsenen, Austauschprogramme, Förderung von Sprachen im Unternehmen und im beruflichen Umfeld, zweisprachige Sprach- und Sachkundeunterricht und kreative Tätigkeiten im Fremdsprachenbereich.?

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lCeda (Französisch)

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.