Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

German as a Foreign Language

Abstract

This study programme teaches the student, in theory and practice, how German as a foreign language is taught and learned. The basics of the description, planning, designing, analysis and evaluation of the language learning processes are thereby deepened. This programme also provides insights into intercultural communication, cultural studies and the use of literature in teaching foreign languages.
The Bachelor's programme for German as a Foreign Language at the University of Fribourg is unique in Switzerland. Students, who are enrolled in a main programme at another Swiss university, can therefore apply to enrol in the study programme as guest students.
This study programme is also characterised by the close contact with the Institute of Multilingualism and with the Language Centre and profits from an ideal environment due to the multilingualism in Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The German as a Foreign Language (German acronym DaF) study programme deals with the theory and practice of teaching and learning German as a foreign and second language. It prepares students to teach German as a foreign or second language both nationally and internationally, to be active as cultural mediators or to be able to analyse and evaluate teaching concepts with German as a foreign language.
It imparts the specialised basic knowledge for describing, planning, designing, analysing and evaluating language learning processes of German as a foreign or second language.
This includes linguistic fundamentals, such as knowledge of the basic concepts and methods used in linguistics, the acquisition of second or foreign languages and multilingual competences, dealing with mistakes and the evaluation of language competence, the knowledge of foreign language didactic approaches and methods and their curricular foundations, as well as insights into the concepts of intercultural communication, cultural studies and the use of literature in foreign language teaching.
During the course of the studies, the students collect and reflect on their own language learning experience: non-native speaking students continue to expand their language competence in German (introductory level: B2, target level C1+ and higher), native speaking students learn, among other things, a new language at the A1 level.

Fribourg profile
In addition to the Bachelor's programme, the University of Fribourg especially offers training courses in the field of foreign language didactics, or multilingualism, at Master's level, among other things in German as a foreign language. Close contact is maintained with the Institute of Multilingualism, which in 2010 was designated as the Research Centre on Multilingualism of the Federal Government. The Ph.D. programme «Multilingualism: Acquisition, Education and Society» is organised by the Institute of Multilingualism and a documentation centre is operated. There is close cooperation with the university's Language Centre. Fribourg thus offers expertly qualified, research-based teaching, an excellent infrastructure and living bilingualism.
The University of Fribourg is the only university that offers German as a foreign language within the framework of a Bachelor's programme. In addition to pursuing a programme with 120 ECTS credits at a Swiss university, it is possible for students to absolve the programme with 60 ECTS credits as a minor programme guest student upon application. This allows for interesting combinations, for example, with a Bachelor in Sinology at the University of Zurich, in Linguistics at the University of Berne or in Psychology at the universities of Berne or Zurich.

Learning outcomes and career openings
Graduates have the basic scientific expertise to teach German as a foreign or second language, both nationally and internationally, and to understand and optimise teaching concepts with German as a foreign or second language.
They are aware of the linguistic, foreign language didactics and intercultural theories, concepts and methods that are the foundation of today's foreign language teaching. They are acquainted with the historical development of teaching and therefore have the foundation for evaluating new developments. They are able to analyse and evaluate teaching concepts for German as a foreign or second language and observe, plan and evaluate language learning processes. At the end of their studies, foreign language students are competent in German as a foreign language, at least at the C1+ level or higher.
Possible professional fields are assistance of migrants, language teaching in adult education, exchange programmes, occupation-specific or in-house language promotion, bilingual content-based teaching and language learning with multimedia programmes and conceptual activities in the field of foreign languages.
The programme can be combined with many other study programmes with 120 ECTS credits. It can, for example, be combined with sociology, social work and social policy, study of religions or social anthropology if students are interested in conceptual and practical work in the area of migration and bilingualism or intercultural mediation activity; with philology if they are interested in a broad-based foundation in teaching or if the focus is on foreign language teaching within adult education; or with educational sciences or education/psychology for activities in the field of educational planning or adult education.
Due to the strong demand for qualified teachers, it is possible to teach German as a foreign language, although the formal qualification in the form of a Master's degree is still missing. In this way advanced students gather their first practical experience.
Those who wish to teach in public schools need pedagogic training at the Master's level, whereas those who wish to teach German as a foreign language within adult education in private institutions should prepare to later acquire an SVEB (Swiss Association for Adult Education) certification (www.alice.ch).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/IaFd2 (German only)

Comments

Language competence in German of at least B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages is required.

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Deutsch als Fremdsprache

Kurzbeschreibung

Dieses Studienprogramm vermittelt den Studierenden in Theorie und Praxis, wie Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache unterrichtet und erlernt wird. Dabei werden die Grundlagen für die Beschreibung, Planung, Gestaltung, Analyse und Beurteilung der Sprachlernprozesse vertieft. In die interkulturelle Kommunikation, in die Landeskunde und zum Einsatz von Literatur im Fremdsprachenunterricht bietet dieses Programm ebenfalls Einblick.
Das Bachelor-Angebot für Deutsch als Fremdsprache an der Universität Freiburg ist schweizweit einzigartig. Studierenden, die an einer anderen Schweizer Universität für ein Hauptprogramm eingeschrieben sind, steht deshalb auf Antrag offen, das Studienprogramm als Gaststudierender zu belegen.
Dieses Studienprogramm zeichnet sich zudem durch die engen Kontakte mit dem Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit und mit dem Sprachenzentrum aus und profitiert durch die in Freiburg gelebte Mehrsprachigkeit von einem idealen Umfeld.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Studienprogramm Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF) befasst sich mit der Theorie und Praxis des Lehrens und Lernens von Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache. Es bereitet darauf vor, Deutsch als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache im In- und Ausland zu unterrichten, als Kulturmittler tätig zu werden oder unterrichtliche Konzepte mit Deutsch als Fremdsprache analysieren und beurteilen zu können.
Es vermittelt die fachwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für die Beschreibung, Planung, Gestaltung, Analyse und Beurteilung von Sprachlernprozessen des Deutschen als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache.
Dazu zählen linguistische Grundlagen wie z.B. die Kenntnis grundlegender Konzepte und Methoden der Linguistik, des Zweit- und Fremdsprachenerwerbs und des Erwerbs mehrsprachiger Kompetenzen, des Umgangs mit Fehlern und der Beurteilung von Sprachkompetenz, die Kenntnis fremdsprachendidaktischer Ansätze und Methoden sowie ihrer curricularer Grundlagen, sowie Einblicke in Konzepte der interkulturellen Kommunikation, der Landeskunde und des Einsatzes von Literatur im Fremdsprachenunterricht.
Studierende sammeln und reflektieren während des Studiums eigene Sprachlernerfahrungen: nicht-muttersprachige Studierende bauen ihre Sprachkompetenz in Deutsch weiter aus (Eingangsniveau: B2, Zielniveau C1+ und höher), muttersprachige Studierende erlernen u.a. eine neue Sprache auf Niveau A1.

Freiburger Profil
Die Universität Freiburg bietet neben diesem Bachelor-Programm vor allem Ausbildungsgänge im Bereich der Fremdsprachendidaktik oder Mehrsprachigkeit auf Masterstufe an, u.a. in Deutsch als Fremdsprache. Enge Kontakte bestehen zum Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit, das 2010 zum Wissenschaftlichen Kompetenzzentrum für Mehrsprachigkeit des Bundes ernannt wurde. Vom Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit wird das Doktoratsprogramm «Mehrsprachigkeit: Erwerb, Bildung und Gesellschaft» ausgerichtet und ein Dokumentationszentrum betrieben. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit besteht mit dem Sprachenzentrum der Universität. Freiburg bietet also eine fachlich kompetente, forschungsbasierte Lehre, eine ausgezeichnete Infrastruktur und eine gelebte Mehrsprachigkeit.
Die Universität Freiburg ist die einzige Universität, die Deutsch als Fremdsprache im Rahmen eines Bachelorstudiums anbietet. Es ist daher auf Antrag möglich, zu einem Programm zu 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten an einer Schweizer Universität, das Programm zu 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten als Gastnebenprogrammstudierender zu absolvieren. Das ermöglicht interessante Kombinationen, beispielsweise mit einem Bachelor in Sinologie an der Universität Zürich, in Linguistik an der Universität Bern oder in Psychologie an den Universitäten Bern oder Zürich.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Absolventen haben die fachwissenschaftliche Basis, um Deutsch als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache im In- und Ausland zu unterrichten und Unterrichtskonzepte mit Deutsch als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache zu verstehen und zu optimieren.
Sie kennen die linguistischen, fremdsprachendidaktischen und interkulturellen Theorien, Konzepte und Methoden, die heutigem Fremdsprachenunterricht zugrunde liegen. Sie kennen ihre historische Entwicklung und haben damit die Basis, neuere Entwicklungen einzuschätzen. Sie sind fähig, Unterrichtskonzepte und Methoden mit Deutsch als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache zu analysieren und zu bewerten sowie Sprachlernprozesse zu beobachten, zu planen und zu evaluieren. Fremdsprachige Studierende verfügen am Ende des Studiums über eine Handlungskompetenz in Deutsch als Fremdsprache mindestens auf dem Niveau C1+ und höher.
Mögliche Arbeitsfelder sind die Betreuung von Migrantinnen und Migranten, Sprachunterricht in der Erwachsenenbildung, Austauschprogramme, berufsspezifische oder betriebsinterne Sprachförderung, zweisprachiger Sachunterricht und Sprachenlernen mit Multimediaprogrammen, konzeptionelle Tätigkeiten im Bereich Fremdsprache.
Das Programm kann mit vielen anderen Studienprogrammen zu 120 ETCS-Kreditpunkten kombiniert werden: bei Interesse an konzeptioneller und praktischer Arbeit im Bereich Migration und Mehrsprachigkeit oder interkultureller Mittlertätigkeit z.B. mit Soziologie, Sozialarbeit und Sozialpolitik, Religionswissenschaft oder Sozialanthropologie, bei Interesse an einer breiten Fundierung oder Ausrichtung auf Fremdsprachenunterricht in der Erwachsenenbildung mit einer Philologie, oder bei Tätigkeiten im Bereich von Bildungsplanung oder Erwachsenenunterricht mit Erziehungswissenschaften, Pädagogik/Psychologie.
Wegen der grossen Nachfrage nach ausgebildeten Lehrpersonen ist es möglich, Deutsch als Fremdsprache zu unterrichten, obwohl der offizielle Qualifikationsnachweis in Form eines Masters noch fehlt. Fortgeschrittene Studierende sammeln so erste Praxiserfahrungen.
Wer an öffentlichen Schulen unterrichten will, braucht eine pädagogische Ausbildung auf Masterstufe, wer in der Erwachsenenbildung bei privaten Trägern DaF unterrichten will, sollte sich darauf einstellen, eine SVEB-Anerkennung (www.alice.ch) später einzuholen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/IaFd2

Bemerkung

Eine Sprachkompetenz in Deutsch von mind. B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen wird vorausgesetzt.

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.