Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Psychology

Abstract

Students who are interested in the human experience and behaviour are on the right track with a course of study in psychology. Here, we study how feelings, experiences, education and motivational factors affect us and what role the cultural and social environment plays. At Bachelor level, particular emphasis is placed on always letting the students confront their theories of everyday life with the insights of scientific psychology.
During the three-year study programme, they become acquainted with the fundamental professional knowledge, the working methods used in research, the various areas of application of psychology and the basic competencies of psychological diagnostics and counselling. Two months of internship and a written thesis crown the bachelor studies.
In addition, the bilingualism of the course of studies is a unique feature of the studies in psychology at the University of Fribourg: Here, graduate school programmes are offered in German, French or in a combination of both languages.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study of psychology introduces the students to the science of psychology, which deals with human experience and behaviour. They thereby study the motivational, emotional, cognitive and psychomotor processes which occur within a cultural and social context and are more or less directly rooted in human biological makeup.

Psychological practice is based on the constituent parts of this scientific knowledge and on psychologists' theories of everyday life. During the studies, great importance is attached to ensuring that individual student compare their theories of everyday life with those of scientific psychology.

This course of study leads to a Bachelor of Science degree and imparts, among other things, fundamental knowledge of psychological activities in the areas of diagnostics and counselling.

The bilingualism of the course of studies is a unique feature of the studies in psychology at the University of Fribourg. The Department of Psychology offers courses of study in German and French as well as bilingually.

Contents and basic structure of studies
During the first academic year, the main focus lies on gaining an overview of the subject, initial contact with academic working methods and an introduction into the various fields of psychology. Methodological knowledge and research competencies are systematically established.

The second academic year is devoted to expanding methodological and basic knowledge and introducing students to areas of application of psychology and to basic practical, psychological competencies in the fields of psychological diagnostics and psychological counselling.

In the third year knowledge of basic subjects and applications is deepened, and students absolve a two-month internship and write a Bachelor thesis.

Career prospects and further education
The Bachelor's programme in psychology prepares students for the following areas of employment: diagnostics, counselling, psychological intervention, such as prevention or psychotherapy, and scientific research in these fields.

The main areas of activity are health care, the educational system and the working environment.

Within most professions, professional work as a psychologist requires a Master's degree in addition to a Bachelor's degree and sometimes an additional practical qualification. The most important psychological occupational fields are clinical psychology, industrial psychology, organisational psychology, market research and advertising, educational psychology, environmental psychology, traffic psychology and media psychology.

After the Master's degree, doctoral studies are provided as the main offer of further education for even better research qualifications, for example, for professional activities at the university.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/44B-S (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lvBrp (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Psychologie

Kurzbeschreibung

Wer sich für das menschliche Erleben und Verhalten interessiert, liegt mit einem Studium der Psychologie genau richtig. Hier wird untersucht, wie Gefühle, Erfahrungen, Gelerntes oder Motivationen auf uns einwirken und welche Rolle das kulturelle und soziale Umfeld spielt. Auf Bachelor-Stufe wird besonders Wert darauf gelegt, dass die Studierenden ihre Alltagstheorien stetig mit den Erkenntnissen der wissenschaftlichen Psychologie konfrontieren.
Während des dreijährigen Studienprogramms werden sie mit den fachlichen Grundlagenkenntnissen, den Arbeitstechniken der Forschung, den verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen der Psychologie und mit Basiskompetenzen der psychologischen Diagnostik und Beratung vertraut gemacht. Ein zweimonatiges Praktikum und eine schriftliche Arbeit krönen die Ausbildung zum Bachelor.
Einzigartig am Psychologie-Studium an der Universität Freiburg ist zudem die Zweisprachigkeit im Lehrbetrieb: Hier werden Studienprogramme auf Deutsch, Französisch oder als Kombination beider Sprachen angeboten.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Studium der Psychologie führt die Studierenden an die Wissenschaft der Psychologie heran, die sich mit dem menschlichen Erleben und Verhalten befasst. Dabei werden motivationale, emotionale, kognitive und psychomotorische Prozesse untersucht, die sich in einem kulturellen und sozialen Kontext abspielen und die mehr oder weniger direkt in der biologischen Ausstattung des Menschen verwurzelt sind.

Die psychologische Praxis stützt sich auf Bestandteile dieses wissenschaftlichen Wissens und auf die sogenannten Alltagstheorien der Psychologinnen und Psychologen. Im Studium wird Wert darauf gelegt, dass die Alltagstheorien der einzelnen Studierenden in aktiver Auseinandersetzung mit der wissenschaftlichen Psychologie konfrontiert werden.

Dieses Studium führt zur Verleihung des Titels eines Bachelor of Science und vermittelt u.a. die Grundkenntnisse psychologischer Tätigkeiten in den Bereichen Diagnostik und Counselling.

Die Psychologie an der Universität Freiburg zeichnet sich ausserdem durch ihre Zweisprachigkeit aus. Das Departement für Psychologie bietet Studienprogramme auf Deutsch, Französisch und auch zweisprachig an.

Inhalte und Grundaufbau des Studiums
Im ersten Studienjahr liegt der Schwerpunkt auf dem Überblick über den Studienbereich, auf einem ersten Kontakt mit den akademischen Arbeitstechniken und auf den Einführungen in die verschiedenen Gebiete der Psychologie. Ausserdem werden methodische Kenntnisse und Forschungskompetenzen systematisch aufgebaut.

Im zweiten Studienjahr, das gekennzeichnet ist durch die Erweiterung von Methodik- und Grundlagenkenntnissen, durch die Einführung in Anwendungsbereiche der Psychologie und eine Heranführung an praktisch-psychologische Basiskompetenzen, die die psychologische Diagnostik und die psychologische Beratung (Counselling) betreffen.

Das dritte Jahr sieht die weitere Vertiefung von Grundlagenfächern und Anwendungen vor, die Absolvierung eines zweimonatigen Praktikums und das Schreiben einer Bachelorarbeit.

Berufsmöglichkeiten und Weiterbildung
Das Bachelorstudium der Psychologie bereitet auf die folgenden Tätigkeitsbereiche vor: Diagnostik, Beratung, Psychologische Interventionen wie Prävention oder Psychotherapie und auf die wissenschaftliche Forschung in diesen Bereichen.

Die Tätigkeitsbereiche erstrecken sich besonders auf das Gesundheitswesen, das Erziehungswesen und auf die Arbeitswelt.

Für die berufliche Tätigkeit als Psychologin oder Psychologe sind für die meisten Berufe neben dem Bachelor unbedingt der Master erforderlich und teilweise wird eine praktische Zusatzqualifikation benötigt. Als wichtigste psychologische Berufsfelder sind die klinische Psychologie, die Arbeits-, Betriebs- & Organisationspsychologie, die Marktforschung & Werbung, die Schulpsychologie, die Umweltpsychologie, die Verkehrspsychologie und die Medienpsychologie zu nennen.

Als zentrales Weiterbildungsangebot für eine noch stärkere Forschungsqualifikation, zum Beispiel für die berufliche Tätigkeit an der Universität, ist nach dem Master das Doktorat vorgesehen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lvBrp

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).