Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Special Education and Social Pedagogy

Abstract

This course of study deals with the special educational needs of children, adolescents and sometimes also adults whose social and academic education and general fostering of their needs pose a long-term challenge.
Before students start their course, they have to undertake a nine-month internship in one area of special education or social pedagogy. During the Bachelor's programme, the students take an in-depth look at special education and social pedagogy issues, at the same studying basic subjects in related disciplines such as education, psychology and medicine. Internships and research work are also an integral part of the course.
The Special Education and Social Pedagogy programme in Fribourg is the only university course in Switzerland which qualifies students for both academic and professional careers in this field.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Bachelor of Arts in Special Education and Social Pedagogy is a vocational university training course which teaches students basic theoretical and practical skills as well as giving them a broad, basic grounding in special education and related fields.

The programme is aimed at students with a general upper secondary school leaving qualification who wish to take up a practical career or do research in the fields of special education and social pedagogy. This means that they will be dealing with the special educational needs of children, adolescents and sometimes also adults whose social and academic education and general fostering of their needs pose a long-term challenge. It also encompasses the issue of social environment.

In preparation for the programme, students must undertake a nine-month internship. Special Education and Social Pedagogy is a full-time course in which students earn 180 ECTS credits over six semesters. The curriculum encompasses the basics of special education and related disciplines (such as education, psychology and medicine), in-depth study of special education and social pedagogy issues, practical training in various fields and writing research papers.

Fribourg profile
The Special Education and Social Pedagogy programme is the only university course in Switzerland which qualifies students for both academic and professional careers in this field. Including both a theoretical part and practical experience, it not only gives students a basic grounding in the subject studied but also in the discipline of Special Education as a whole.

The Special Education and Social Pedagogy training course is made up of two core study areas: intellectual and developmental disability and lifespan perspectives, of which they acquire in-depth knowledge.

This Bachelor's degree teaches students the requisite skills either for a professional career in the field of special education and social pedagogy or for further academic studies. Here, the choices open to them are a Master's degree in Special Needs Education or a consecutive Master's degree combined with a Doctorate in Special Education and Social Pedagogy and related disciplines.

The Bachelor's course in Special Education takes both a humanistic and a scientific approach.

Learning outcomes and career openings
With regard to the professional and academic training of students in Special Education and Social Pedagogy, the overall goals are:

  • To teach them the required skills to educate socially and academically, foster and support, guide, counsel, integrate, mentor and care for disabled and potentially disabled children, adolescents and adults. The possible clients are, notably, children, adolescents and adults with intellectual and developmental disability or profound intellectual and multiple, as well as children and adolescents with behavioural behaviour disorders and their respective social environments;
  • The required skills for working with reference people from the clients' social background (families, specialists) and for counselling, guiding and supporting them;
  • Self-awareness, self-reflection and self-evaluation in their professional activity and role;
  • The required skills for observing, analysing and interpreting situations and using this knowledge to take appropriate action;
  • The required skills to undertake process and network analyses, planning and evaluation, and public relations work;
  • Theoretical knowledge of academic and social education and disability and the ability to categorise these contents to critical discernment.

During the programme, the students do practical work with the following client groups:

  • Children, adolescents and adults with intellectual and developmental disability or profound intellectual and multiple disabilities;
  • Children and adolescents with behaviour disorders or in difficult life situations;
  • Children, adolescents and adults with motor or sensory disabilities, or autism spectrum disorders;
  • People at risk of disability.

The career prospects of graduates with a Bachelor of Arts in Special Education and Social Pedagogy cover the same overall goals and client groups as during their internship:

  • Special educational and social pedagogical work in support services for persons with disabilities and youth welfare services in inpatient, semi-inpatient and ambulatory settings;
  • Education management and advisory functions in support services for persons with disabilities and youth welfare services;
  • Training at all levels of specialized workers in support services for persons with disabilities and youth welfare services;
  • Further academic studies (Master).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/uS-sn (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/XIJ0m (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Special admission requirements
Candidates wishing to be admitted to the Bachelor of Arts in Special Education and Social Pedagogy must meet one of the following special requirements:
a) Confirmation of having had a nine-month, full-time internship in a special education establishment;
b) or: confirmation of having had nine months' employment as a qualified teacher (one school year with a full teaching load).

If the scope of the internship is not equivalent to full-time employment, the duration must be extended correspondingly.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik

Kurzbeschreibung

Diese Studienrichtung beschäftigt sich mit besonderen pädagogischen Situationen von Kindern, Jugendlichen und teilweise auch Erwachsenen, deren Erziehung, Bildung und Förderung langfristig erschwert ist.
Bereits vor Studienbeginn muss ein neunmonatiges Praktikum in einem Handlungsfeld der Heil- oder Sozialpädagogik absolviert werden. Während des Bachelorprogramms vertiefen sich die Studierenden in heil- und sozialpädagogische Themen und belegen daneben Grundlagenfächer benachbarter Disziplinen wie Pädagogik, Psychologie oder Medizin. Praktika und wissenschaftliche Arbeiten sind ebenfalls Bestandteil des Studiums.
Das Studienprogramm in Klinischer Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik in Freiburg ist schweizweit das einzige universitäre Angebot zur Qualifikation für wissenschaftliche und berufspraktische Tätigkeiten in dem Themenfeld. Charakteristisch für das Programm sind die Schwerpunktsetzung im Bereich der geistigen Behinderung und die Berücksichtigung der gesamten Lebensspanne der Klientel.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Der Bachelor of Arts «Gesamtbereich Sonderpädagogik, Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik» ist ein universitäres Angebot, welches den Erwerb wissenschaftlicher Kompetenzen ermöglicht und zu einem berufsqualifizierenden Diplom führt.

Das Studienprogramm richtet sich an Studierende mit der allgemeinen Zulassung zur Universität, welche praktisch oder wissenschaftlich in Handlungsfeldern der Heil- und Sozialpädagogik tätig sein wollen. Dies bedeutet die Beschäftigung mit besonderen pädagogischen Situationen von Kindern, Jugendlichen und teilweise auch Erwachsenen, deren Erziehung, Bildung und Förderung lang andauernd erschwert ist. Sie schliesst das erzieherische Umfeld mit ein.

Vorbereitend auf das Studienprogramm absolvieren Studierende ein Praktikum von neun Monaten. Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik ist ein Vollzeitstudium, welches in sechs Semestern den Erwerb von 180 ECTS-Kreditpunkten vorsieht. Studieninhalte sind Grundlagenfächer der Heilpädagogik und benachbarter Disziplinen (Pädagogik, Psychologie, Medizin u.a.m.), Vertiefungen in heil- und sozialpädagogische Themen, Praktika in verschiedenen Handlungsfeldern sowie das Verfassen wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten.

Freiburger Profil
Das Studienprogramm «Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik» ist in der Schweiz ein einzigartiges universitäres Angebot zur Qualifikation für wissenschaftliche und berufspraktische Tätigkeiten in Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik. Durch die Verbindung von theoretischen Elementen und praktischen Erfahrungen wird die Basis für Erkenntnisse nicht nur für die Studierenden, sondern auch für die Sonderpädagogik als Disziplin gelegt.

Eine Schwerpunktsetzung der Pädagogik im Bereich der geistigen Behinderung und die professionelle Arbeit unter Berücksichtigung der gesamten Lebensspanne der Klientel charakterisiert das Freiburger Profil dieses Studienprogrammes.

Mit diesem Bachelor können zwei Qualifikationen erworben werden: die Befähigung zur berufspraktischen Tätigkeit in Handlungsfeldern der Heil- und Sozialpädagogik und die Möglichkeit einer Weiterführung der wissenschaftlichen Studien. Offen stehen dabei der Erwerb eines Master of Arts in Sonderpädagogik, Vertiefungsrichtung Schulische Heilpädagogik, oder der Erwerb eines konsekutiven Masters verbunden mit der Option eines Doktorates, dies im Bereich der Sonderpädagogik und benachbarter Wissenschaften.

Das Studienprogramm «Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik» steht in der wissenschaftlichen und humanistischen Tradition des Heilpädagogischen Instituts.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Rahmenziele für die berufliche und wissenschaftliche Qualifikation Studierender der Klinischen Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik:

  • Befähigung für Erziehung und Bildung sowie Förderung, Unterstützung, Begleitung, Beratung, Eingliederung, Betreuung und Pflege behinderter und von Behinderung bedrohter Kinder, Jugendlicher und Erwachsener. Mögliche Klienten sind insbesondere geistig und mehrfach behinderte Kinder, Jugendlich und Erwachsene sowie Kinder und Jugendliche mit Verhaltensauffälligkeiten und ihr jeweiliges soziales Umfeld;
  • Befähigung für die Zusammenarbeit mit Bezugspersonen des sozialen Kontextes (Familien, Fachpersonen) sowie deren Beratung, Begleitung und Unterstützung;
  • Fähigkeit zur Selbstwahrnehmung, Selbstreflexion und Selbstevaluation in der professionellen Tätigkeit und beruflichen Rolle;
  • Befähigung zu Beobachtung, Situationsanalyse, Interpretation und Umsetzung in adäquates Handeln;
  • Befähigung zu Prozess- und Netzwerkanalyse, Planung und Evaluation, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit;
  • Erwerb von theoretischen Kenntnissen über Bildung, Erziehung und Behinderung sowie die Fähigkeit ihrer kritischen Einordnung.

Im Laufe des Studienprogrammes absolvieren die Studierenden Praktika mit folgenden Klientengruppen:

  • Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen mit geistiger bzw. mehrfacher Behinderung;
  • Kindern und Jugendlichen mit Verhaltensauffälligkeiten bzw. in schwierigen Lebenslagen;
  • Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen mit Sinnes- oder Körperbehinderungen oder Autismusspektrumsstörungen;
  • Von Behinderung bedrohten Personen.

Rahmenziele und Klientengruppen der Praktika umschreiben die beruflichen Perspektiven mit einem Bachelor of Arts «Gesamtbereich Sonderpädagogik, Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik»:

  • Heil- und sozialpädagogische Arbeit in stationären, teilstationären und ambulanten Angeboten der Behindertenhilfe und der Jugendhilfe;
  • Pädagogische Leitungs- und Beratungsfunktionen in Angeboten der Behindertenhilfe und der Jugendhilfe;
  • Arbeit in Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung von Fachpersonen der Behindertenhilfe und der Jugendhilfe;
  • Weiterführung der wissenschaftlichen Studien (Master).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/XIJ0m

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.
Besondere Zulassungsbedingungen
Für die Zulassung von Kandidaten und Kandidatinnen zum Bachelor of Arts in Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik müssen die folgenden zusätzlichen besonderen Voraussetzungen alternativ erfüllt sein:
a) ein Nachweis über ein vollzeitiges neunmonatiges Vorpraktikum in einer heilpädagogischen Institution;
b) oder ein Nachweis über neun Monate Tätigkeit als diplomierter Lehrer oder diplomierte Lehrerin (ein Schuljahr mit einem vollen Lehrpensum).

Falls der Anstellungsumfang des Vorpraktikums nicht einer Vollzeitstelle entspricht, muss die Dauer entsprechend verlängert werden.