Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Speech-Language Therapy

Abstract

Speech and language therapists assess and diagnose disorders of language, speech, fluency, voice, swallowing and written language and carry out appropriate therapies, supportive trainings and counselling sessions with the affected children, adolescents and adults.
The Bachelor's degree programme provides students with the scientific and practical competencies to work in educational and/or clinical settings. The programme is interdisciplinary and provides students with expert knowledge in speech and language pathology as well as basic knowledge in the areas of special education, linguistics, medicine and psychology. Placements and written assignments round off the programme of studies.
The University of Fribourg is the only university in German-speaking Switzerland to offer a degree course in speech and language therapy. Further distinguishing features are detailed courses to develop competencies such as one's own initiative, self-organisation, reflective and critical thinking, communication skills and specific practical expertise.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fribourg is the only university in German-speaking Switzerland to offer a Bachelor's degree course in speech and language therapy. The modular training programme consists of three years of full-time study. The language of tuition is German. Students acquire in–depth scientific and practical competences which qualify them for later careers in educational and/or clinical settings.
In keeping with the interdisciplinary nature of the speech and language therapy as a subdiscipline of special education, students at the University of Fribourg receive a sound basic knowledge during the first five semesters in the areas of special education, linguistics, medicine and psychology, which specifically underpins and complements the expert knowledge in the field of speech and language pathology. Besides theoretical training, which consists of written assignments (including a Bachelor's thesis) on speech and language therapy topics, there are also practical courses and four study-integrated placements from the second year onwards. This combination of theory and practice culminates in a case report. In the sixth semester, the comprehensive practice-related training concludes with a full-time 18-week placement (with a case report) and a practical exam.

Fribourg profile
The programme of speech and language therapy in Fribourg has a good national and international reputation, particularly attributable to consistent interlinking of subject-specific and practical training content. Studies provide graduates with a professional qualification, and are firmly anchored in the university infrastructure. This facilitates the integration of current theoretical and empirical findings from relevant related sciences into speech and language therapy studies and promotes cooperation between researchers and teaching staff from disciplines such as speech and language pathology, special education, linguistics and psychology.
In addition to gaining a scientific grounding in the subject, a diverse spectrum of teaching and learning methods further enhance the high quality of the well-designed speech and language therapy curriculum. Classical study elements such as lectures and seminars are complemented by target-specific courses. These are designed to give prospective speech and language therapists effective support, and help them improve their reflective and critical thinking, communication, organisational and specific practical skills (self-awareness courses, placements, case reports, supervision) as well as the ability to take the initiative. A well-established tutorial system assures students of individual care and support on their path to the successful completion of their degree studies.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The academic diploma in speech and language therapy provides graduates with a professional qualification which entitles them to assess and diagnose disorders of communication, language, speech, fluency, voice, swallowing and written language in children, adolescents and adults. It further qualifies them to plan, carry out and evaluate therapeutic, supportive and counselling interventions for persons with communication impairments.
The Bachelor's degree, which is recognised by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK), opens up a wide range of career options in the area of educational and/or clinical speech and language pathology. Apart from genuine speech and language therapy activities in fields such as early education, mainstream school (outpatient centre), special schools, hospitals, rehabilitation clinics, or private practice, speech and language therapists can also be involved in the practical training of students (placement supervision) after acquiring a minimum of two years' professional experience.
The university diploma in speech and language therapy (Bachelor) is the formal admission requirement for continued academic study (Master) in special education, speech and language therapy/logopaedics, or in the neighbouring disciplines of speech and language therapy, such as linguistics or education (in Switzerland and abroad).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/3PEvK (German only)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Special admission requirements
Candidates wishing to be admitted to the Bachelor of Arts in Speech and Language Therapy must satisfy both:
a) the admission requirements under Art. 6 of the Regulation on the Recognition of University Degrees in Speech and Language Therapy and University Degrees in Psychomotor Therapy of 3 November 2000;
b) and the following special admission requirements:

  1. Certification by a speech pathologist that the candidate's vocal organs, hearing and voice are normal;
  2. Certification by a speech therapist that the candidate has normal language ability, articulation and elocution, and vocal suitability;
  3. Perfect command of spoken and written German (speech therapy assessment);
  4. Confirmation of having completed a three-week career guidance course (78 lessons) in an approved speech therapy service.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Logopädie

Kurzbeschreibung

Logopädinnen und Logopäden erkennen und diagnostizieren Störungen der Sprache, des Sprechens, der Rede, der Stimme, des Schluckens und der Schriftsprache und führen mit den betroffenen Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen angepasste Therapien, Fördermassnahmen und Beratungen durch.
Das Bachelor-Programm vermittelt den Studierenden wissenschaftliche und praktische Kompetenzen im Hinblick auf eine Tätigkeit in der pädagogischen und/oder klinischen Logopädie. Aufgrund der Interdisziplinarität des Studienprogramms erwerben die Studierenden ergänzend zu den logopädischen Fachkenntnissen auch Grundlagenwissen aus den Bereichen Sonderpädagogik, Linguistik, Medizin und Psychologie. Praktika und schriftliche Arbeiten runden das Studium ab.
Die Universität Freiburg bietet die einzige Möglichkeit zur universitären Ausbildung in Logopädie in der Deutschschweiz. Eine zusätzliche Besonderheit bilden weiterführende Kursangebote zur Entwicklung von Eigenaktivität, Selbstorganisation, Reflexions- und Kritikfähigkeit, Kommunikationskompetenz und von spezifischen Praxisfertigkeiten.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Freiburger Bachelor-Studium der Logopädie bietet die einzige Möglichkeit zur universitären Ausbildung als Logopädin oder Logopäde in der Deutschschweiz. Das modular aufgebaute Ausbildungsprogramm wird als dreijähriges Vollzeitstudium in deutscher Sprache angeboten. Es vermittelt den Studierenden fundierte wissenschaftliche und praktische Kompetenzen im Hinblick auf eine spätere Berufstätigkeit im Bereich der pädagogischen und/oder klinischen Logopädie.
Entsprechend dem interdisziplinären Selbstverständnis der sonderpädagogischen Subdisziplin Logopädie an der Universität Freiburg erwerben die Studierenden in den ersten fünf Semestern solides Grundlagenwissen aus Sonderpädagogik, Linguistik, Medizin und Psychologie, das spezifisch logopädische Fachkenntnisse fundiert und ergänzt. Zusätzlich zur theoretischen Ausbildung, welche das Verfassen von schriftlichen Hausarbeiten (u.a. Bachelor-Arbeit) zu logopädischen Themen beinhaltet, werden ab dem zweiten Studienjahr praktische Kurse und vier studienintegrierte Praktika zur Theorie-Praxis-Verknüpfung angeboten, aus denen ein Fallbericht hervorgeht. Die umfangreiche praxisbezogene Ausbildung wird im sechsten Semester mit einem Vollzeitpraktikum von 18 Wochen Dauer (mit Fallbericht) und einer praktischen Prüfung abgeschlossen.

Freiburger Profil
Das Studium der Logopädie geniesst sowohl national als auch international einen guten Ruf, den es insbesondere der konsequenten Verknüpfung von (fach-)wissenschaftlichen und praktischen Ausbildungsinhalten verdankt. Die universitäre Verankerung des berufsqualifizierenden Studienprogramms begünstigt die Integration von aktuellen theoretischen und empirischen Erkenntnissen relevanter Bezugswissenschaften in die Logopädie-Ausbildung, aber auch die Kooperation zwischen Forschenden und Lehrenden aus Disziplinen wie Logopädie, Sonderpädagogik, Linguistik oder Psychologie.
Neben der wissenschaftlichen Fundierung tragen insbesondere vielfältige Lehr-Lern-Methoden zur hohen Qualität der strukturierten Ausbildung in Logopädie bei. Klassische Studienelemente wie Vorlesung und Seminar werden ergänzt durch zielführende Kursangebote, um Eigenaktivität, Reflexions- und Kritikfähigkeit, Kommunikationskompetenz, Selbstorganisation und spezifische praktische Fertigkeiten der angehenden Logopädinnen und Logopäden aufbauen und wirksam unterstützen zu können (Selbsterfahrungskurse, Praktika, Kasuistiken, Supervision). Ein bewährtes Tutorialsystem gewährleistet eine individuelle Betreuung der Studierenden im Hinblick auf einen erfolgreichen Studienabschluss.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das berufsqualifizierende akademische Diplom in Logopädie qualifiziert und berechtigt zur Erkennung und Diagnostik von Sprach- und Kommunikationsstörungen sowie zur Planung, Durchführung und Evaluation von Therapie-, Förder- und Beratungsmassnahmen bei Störungen der Kommunikation, der Sprache, des Sprechens, der Stimme, des Schluckens und der Schriftsprache bei Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen.
Mit dem erfolgreichen Erwerb des von der Schweizerischen Konferenz der kantonalen Erziehungsdirektoren (EDK) anerkannten Bachelor-Diploms eröffnet sich den Absolventinnen und Absolventen ein breites Spektrum an beruflichen Optionen im Bereich der pädagogischen und/oder klinischen Logopädie. Neben genuin logopädischen Tätigkeiten in Handlungsfeldern wie Früherziehungsstelle, Regelschule (Ambulatorium), Sonderschule, Spital, Rehabilitationsklinik oder Privatpraxis ergeben sich nach mindestens zweijähriger Berufserfahrung überdies Möglichkeiten zur Mitarbeit in der praktischen Ausbildung von Logopädinnen und Logopäden (Praktikumsbetreuung).
Das universitäre Diplom in Logopädie (Bachelor) bildet die formale Zulassungsvoraussetzung für ein weiterführendes akademisches Studium (Master) der Sonderpädagogik bzw. Logopädie/Sprachheilpädagogik oder in Nachbardisziplinen der Logopädie wie Linguistik oder Erziehungswissenschaften (In- und Ausland).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/3PEvK

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.
Besondere Zulassungsbedingungen
Für die Zulassung von Kandidaten und Kandidatinnen zum Bachelor of Arts in Logopädie müssen kumulativ erfüllt sein:
a) die Zulassungsbedingungen gemäss Art. 6 des Reglements über die Anerkennung der Hochschuldiplome in Logopädie und der Hochschuldiplome in Psychomotoriktherapie vom 3. November 2000;
b) sowie folgende besondere Zulassungsbedingungen:

  1. ein Zeugnis über normalen Sprechapparat, normale Hörfähigkeit und normale Stimme (Phoniatrisches Gutachten);
  2. ein Zeugnis über normale Sprach-, Rede-, Sprechfähigkeit und Stimmtauglichkeit (Logopädisches Gutachten);
  3. eine einwandfreie Beherrschung der deutschen Sprache in Wort und Schrift (gemäss logopädischer Tauglichkeitsprüfung);
  4. ein Nachweis über drei Wochen (78 Lektionen) Berufsorientierung in einem anerkannten logopädischen Dienst.