Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Chemistry

Abstract

In this study programme, students deal with the questions of why and how atoms combine to form molecules; they gain basic knowledge of the nature and diversity of chemical bonds and elements and how these are related to the external properties of the materials. But chemistry is not only knowledge; it is also a craft: the future chemists therefore spend much time in laboratories and learn to determine the structure of a material (analysis), synthesise a new material (preparative chemistry), measure the properties of materials with the help of instruments (physical chemistry) or understand and predict these properties with the help of theoretical methods (computational chemistry).
Chemistry is not an isolated science: It uses mathematical tools and has synergies with biology and physics that are becoming increasingly close. For this reason, during the first academic year, courses are also held in these subjects.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Motivation
Life consists of the transformation of substances; with the help of sunshine as a source of energy a plant transforms carbon dioxide into an almost unbelievable number of refined materials and assembles them into a beautiful flower or a practical grain of wheat. Chemistry is the science of the transformation of substances. The contributions by this science to the well-being of our society are immense – be it drugs, plastics or new materials. But the greatest challenges are still waiting for future generations, for you! We are looking for molecules that heal illnesses that were incurable up to now, molecules (or nano particles) that are able to transform sunlight into electricity or hydrogen in a way that is ecologically and economically acceptable, substances that light up our rooms with little energy and no mercury, or that allow us to have even more beautiful smartphone displays, and much more. Chemists are the magicians who have the knowledge and possess the skills to understand the structure and properties of materials and to connect atoms to form new materials.

Learning outcomes
In the Bachelor's course you gain a decisive introduction to the knowledge and, more importantly, the skills mentioned above. You will learn why atoms join together to form molecules – about the nature and diversity of chemical bonds and the chemical elements, and how they are related to the properties of substances. In the laboratory you will learn to plan and realise chemical experiments, synthesise new materials and determine their structure. You will also learn to handle chemical substances practically, without danger.
Chemistry is not only knowledge; it is also a craft. You will therefore spend an important part of your time in laboratories learning to determine the structure of a material concretely (analysis), synthesise new substances (preparative chemistry), measure the properties of substances with the help of instruments that are more and more efficient (physical chemistry) or even understand and predict properties with the help of theoretical methods (computational chemistry).
Chemistry does not stand alone, it uses mathematical tools and has synergies with biology and physics that are becoming increasingly close. For this reason, during the first academic year, you will learn these subjects too, both theoretically and practically.

Academic and professional openings
The Bachelor's programme qualifies you for a number of professions. The majority of students, however, decide to pursue a Master's programme. In either case the most important employers are the pharmaceutical, chemical or food industries, companies that build, sell and maintain chemical, analytical or scientific instruments, and regulatory and administrative authorities. Some graduates pursue «non-classical» careers, for example, for an IT company. One highly competitive and interesting possibility would be to gain a Master's degree and a doctorate and aspire to an academic career in research and education.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

150 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in a minor study programme freely chosen, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/mjkY5 (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/0fTFn (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss vocational or specialised Baccalaureate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swisscertificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-country-list
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Chemie

Kurzbeschreibung

In diesem Studienprogramm beschäftigen sich die Studierenden mit Fragen danach, wieso und wie sich Atome zu Molekülen verknüpfen; sie erwerben grundlegende Kenntnisse über die Natur und Vielfalt der chemischen Bindungen und Elemente, und wie diese mit den äusseren Eigenschaften der Stoffe zusammenhängen. Doch Chemie ist nicht nur Wissen, sondern auch Handwerk: Deshalb verbringen die angehenden Chemikerinnen und Chemiker viel Zeit im Labor und lernen, den Aufbau eines Stoffes zu ermitteln (Analyse), einen neuen Stoff zu synthetisieren (präparative Chemie), die Eigenschaften der Stoffe mit Hilfe von Geräten zu messen (physikalische Chemie) oder diese Eigenschaften mit Hilfe theoretischer Methoden zu verstehen und vorauszusagen (rechnergestützte Chemie).
Die Chemie ist keine isolierte Wissenschaft: Sie bedient sich mathematischer Werkzeuge, hat immer enger werdende Synergien mit Biologie und Physik. Deshalb finden im ersten Studienjahr auch Lehrveranstaltungen in diesen Fächern statt.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Motivation
Das Leben besteht aus Umwandlung der Stoffe – so wandelt eine Pflanze (mit Sonnenlicht als Energiequelle) Kohlendioxid in eine schier unglaubliche Vielzahl von raffinierten Stoffen um und setzt aus ihnen eine schöne Blume oder ein praktisches Weizenkorn zusammen. Die Chemie ist eine Wissenschaft über die Umwandlung der Stoffe. Die Beiträge dieser Wissenschaft zum Wohlergehen unserer Gesellschaft sind gewaltig – seien es Medikamente, Kunststoffe, neue Materialien. Aber die grössten Herausforderungen warten noch auf die kommenden Generationen – auf Sie! Wir suchen Moleküle die bisher unheilbare Krankheiten heilen, Moleküle (oder Nanoteilchen) die imstande sind, Sonnenlicht auf ökologisch und wirtschaftlich vertretbare Weise in Elektrizität oder Wasserstoff umzuwandeln, Substanzen die mit wenig Energie und Quecksilberfrei unsere Räume beleuchten, noch schönere Smartphone Displays erlauben, und vieles mehr. Chemikerinnen und Chemiker sind die Magier, die das Wissen haben, und das Handwerk beherrschen, den Aufbau und die Eigenschaften der Stoffe zu ergründen, und die Atome zu neuen Stoffen zu verknüpfen.

Ausbildungsziele
Im Bachelorstudium erwerben Sie den entscheidenden Einstieg in das oben erwähnte Wissen und, noch wichtiger, Können. Sie werden lernen, wieso sich Atome zu Molekülen verknüpfen – über die Natur und die Vielfalt der chemischen Bindungen und der chemischen Elemente –, und wie diese mit den äusseren Eigenschaften der Stoffe zusammenhängen. Sie werden im Labor lernen, chemische Experimente zu planen und verwirklichen, neue Stoffe zu synthetisieren und ihre Struktur zu ermitteln. Sie werden auch praktisch lernen, mit chemischen Stoffen gefahrlos umzugehen.
Die Chemie ist nicht nur Wissen, sondern auch ein Handwerk. Sie werden deshalb einen Wesentlichen Teil der Zeit in Laboratorien lernen, den Aufbau eines Stoffes konkret zu ermitteln (Analyse), einen neuen Stoff zu synthetisieren (präparative Chemie), die Eigenschaften der Stoffe mit Hilfe immer leistungsfähigeren Geräte zu messen (physikalische Chemie), oder sogar die Eigenschaften mit Hilfe theoretischer Methoden zu verstehen und vorauszusagen (rechenunterstützte Chemie oder computational chemistry).
Die Chemie steht nicht alleine da. Sie bedient sich mathematischer Werkzeuge, hat immer enger werdenden Synergien mit Biologie und Physik. Deshalb werden Sie im ersten Studienjahr auch diese Fächer lernen, sowohl theoretisch wie auch praktisch.

Akademische und berufliche Perspektiven
Das Bachelorstudium qualifiziert für eine Reihe von Berufen. Die Mehrheit der Studierenden entscheidet sich allerdings für ein Masterstudium. Die wichtigen Arbeitgeber sind in beiden Fällen die pharmazeutische, chemische oder die Lebensmittel- Industrie, Firmen, die chemisch-analytische und wissenschaftliche Geräte bauen, verkaufen und warten, und bei Aufsichts- und Verwaltungsbehörden. Einige Absolventinnen und Absolventen beschreiten «nichtklassische» Karrieren, zum Beispiel bei einer IT-Firma. Eine hoch kompetitive aber interessante Möglichkeit ist es, nach einem Master und Doktorat die akademische Forschung und Lehre anzustreben.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

150 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in einem Nebenprogramm nach Wahl, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/0fTFn

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-swiss-certificates

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/de-admission-countries
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).