Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Theology

Abstract

In contrast to other university fields of study, theology has a guiding perspective of its own: it is fundamentally concerned with God and doctrine and thereby reflects its own position and that of the church in society. The critical work of theology is aimed at contributing to keeping the issues of value and truth alive in public discourse.
A many-faceted discipline, Theology is taught across five departments. The objective of the first three years is to gain the bachelor (180 ECTS credits) degree and to familiarise the students with theology by introducing them to its different fields

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Theology also differs from other areas of science because it has a guiding perspective of its own: it is fundamentally concerned with God and creatures, to the extent that it refers to God as their origin and goal. It reflects its own position and that of the church in society. Theologians share responsibility for sustainable development with a human face on our planet. In view of the deregulation in the religious and ethical area (fundamentalist and esoteric movements) and in search of a peaceful co-existence of religions and cultures, the critical work of theology has a valuable contribution to make in keeping the public discourse about values and truth alive.
In this broad context, the Faculty of Theology works in the service of the church as a community as well as its individual parts, and in the service of society. The questioning and research, which characterise theology and which operate using different scientific methods, have a critical constructive function.

The Faculty of Theology of the University of Fribourg is the largest theological faculty in Switzerland and very cosmopolitan in spirit. It is one of two Catholic theological faculties that are integrated into a state university and is subject to state law, as are the other Faculties of the University, but at the same time is recognised by the Church authorities and supported by the Dominican Order and the Swiss Conference of Bishops.
The Faculty is unique in Europe in being completely bilingual. The courses can be attended in German or French, or in both languages (distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German»). More than half of the professors and almost half of the students are from abroad. The Faculty and University life are characterised by the spirit of cosmopolitan Catholicism, giving prominence and recognition to Fribourg as a place of study

In principle, students have the possibility of completing a part of their studies at a partner university or continuing them at a university that is a part of a network to which the University of Fribourg belongs.

Career openings
In view of the many theological fields, it makes sense to continue studies with a master study programme at the Faculty of Theology.
The study of theology opens up career prospects in public social and cultural facilities, mediation, the publishing industry, human resources, social work and psychological counselling, counselling centres for religion and worldview issues (interreligious dialogue) and ethics counselling, as well as in adult education and journalism. This study programme trains future priests, pastoral assistants, and teachers (see «Teacher Education for Secondary Level»).
For those students who are preparing for service within the Church, the Swiss dioceses offer a mandatory academic advice programme. It encompasses spiritual orientation, practice of living in community and specific elements of preparation for pastoral service. The regents of the seminaries of the dioceses act as contacts.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

180 ECTS credits, 6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/cOigT (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/llH5R (German)

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Federal vocational or specialised Baccalaureate + supplementary examination of the Swiss Maturity Commission (passerelle)
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognised Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-swiss-certificates

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology or chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography or history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (computer sciences or philosophy or an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: http://studies.unifr.ch/go/en-admission-countrylist
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Theologie

Kurzbeschreibung

Im Unterschied zu anderen universitären Fachgebieten hat die Theologie eine eigene leitende Perspektive: Sie beschäftigt sich grundlegend mit Gott und der Glaubenslehre und reflektiert dabei ihre eigene Stellung und jene der Kirche in der Gesellschaft. Die kritische Arbeit der Theologie will einen Beitrag leisten, um Wert- und Wahrheitsfragen im öffentlichen Diskurs lebendig zu halten.
Die Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät in Freiburg ist die grösste theologische Fakultät der Schweiz und von einem weltoffenen Geist geprägt.
Den Kern der theologischen Ausbildung bilden die Studiengänge zur Ausbildung künftiger Priester, Pastoralassistentinnen und Pastoralassistenten, sowie von Lehrerinnen und Lehrern an der Sekundarstufe.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Die Theologie unterscheidet sich zugleich von den anderen Wissenschaftsgebieten, weil sie eine eigene leitende Perspektive hat: Sie handelt grundlegend von Gott und von den Geschöpfen, insofern sie auf Gott als Ursprung und Ziel bezogen sind. Sie reflektiert ihre eigene Stellung und jene der Kirche in der Gesellschaft. Theologinnen und Theologen tragen Mitverantwortung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung mit menschlichem Antlitz auf unserem Planeten. Angesichts der Deregulierung im religiösen und ethischen Bereich (fundamentalistische und esoterische Strömungen) und in der Suche nach einem friedlichen Zusammenleben der Religionen und Kulturen hat die kritische Arbeit der Theologie einen wertvollen Beitrag zu leisten, um Wert- und Wahrheitsfragen im gesellschaftlichen Diskurs lebendig zu halten.
In diesem weiten Horizont steht die Theologische Fakultät im Dienst der Kirche als Gemeinschaft wie auch ihrer einzelnen Glieder sowie im Dienst an der Gesellschaft. Das Fragen und Forschen der Theologie, das mit unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Methoden arbeitet, hat eine kritisch-aufbauende Funktion.

Die Theologische Fakultät der Universität Freiburg ist die grösste theologische Fakultät der Schweiz und eine der zwei katholisch-theologischen Fakultäten, die in eine staatliche Universität integriert sind. Sie unterliegt staatlichem Recht wie die übrigen Fakultäten der Universität, besitzt aber zugleich die Anerkennung kirchlicher Autoritäten und wird vom Dominikanerorden und der Schweizer Bischofskonferenz mitgetragen.
In Europa wohl einmalig ist die vollständige Zweisprachigkeit der Fakultät. Über die Hälfte der Professorenschaft und fast die Hälfte der Studierenden stammen aus dem Ausland. Der Geist einer weltoffenen Katholizität prägt die Fakultät und das universitäre Leben und gibt Freiburg als Studienort eine internationale Bekanntheit und Anerkennung.

Studierende haben im Prinzip die Möglichkeit, einen Teil ihrer Ausbildung an einer Partneruniversität zu absolvieren oder an einer Universität fortzusetzen, welche Mitglied eines Netzes ist, dem die Universität Freiburg angeschlossen ist.

Berufsperspektiven
Angesichts der Vielzahl der theologischen Gebiete ist es sinnvoll, das Studium mit einem Masterstudienprogramm an der Theologischen Fakultät fortzuführen.

Für diejenigen Studierenden, die sich auf einen kirchlichen Dienst vorbereiten, bieten die Schweizer Bistümer eine verpflichtende Studienbegleitung an. Sie umfasst eine geistliche Begleitung, eine Einübung in das Leben in Gemeinschaft und Elemente der spezifischen Vorbereitung auf den pastoralen Dienst. Ansprechpartner sind die Regenten der Priesterseminare der Diözesen.

Den Kern der theologischen Ausbildung bilden sicherlich die Studiengänge zur Ausbildung künftiger Priester, Pastoralassistentinnen oder Pastoralassistenten, sowie von Lehrerinnen oder Lehrern (siehe «Unterricht auf der Sekundarstufe»). Das Studium der Theologie ermöglicht jedoch auch Berufsperspektiven in öffentlichen sozialen und kulturellen Einrichtungen, im Verlagswesen, im Personalmanagement, in Sozialarbeit und psychologischer Begleitung, in Beratungsstellen für Religions- und Weltanschauungsfragen, in Erwachsenenbildung und Journalismus.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/Ls2wE

Zulassung

Folgende schweizerische Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH)

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/schweizerische-ausweise/

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache
  2. Zweitsprache
  3. Mathematik
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie)
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht)
  6. Frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5)

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg befinden sich auf der Webseite von swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/de/services/zulassung-zur-universitaet/laender/
Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die «Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07de). Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).