Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Contemporary History

Fribourg profile

The doctorate is the third level of training and research at the University of Fribourg. It consists of the independent conceptualisation, formulation and conduct of a research project which is innovative in its content and methods and is an enrichment to research.

Doctoral studies in Contemporary History can be undertaken following a Master's degree in Contemporary History or History, or following a Master's degree in a related discipline of social sciences or cultural studies. In the latter case, further academic qualifications may be required. At the same time, doctoral students conclude a doctoral agreement which regulates the key steps and tasks during their doctoral studies. After about one year, doctoral students submit a concept of their thesis project.

The Contemporary History Domain offers a dynamic, stimulating and encouraging scientific and social environment and a clear, organisational framework for the pursuit of a doctorate. Great importance is attached to scientific exchange and interdisciplinary cooperation. Doctoral students receive guidance on content and methods, including support in seeking funding. The compatibility of doctoral studies and family life is also a key concern. The Contemporary History Domain encourages periods of research at universities abroad as well as joint supervision of the doctorate at the University of Fribourg and a foreign university via the programme «Cotutelles de thèse/Gemeinsame Dissertationsbetreuung».

The doctorate in Contemporary History offers an outstanding qualification, not only for further research and an academic career, but also for leadership roles and executive positions in a wide array of occupational fields, such as museums, archives, the diplomatic service, communal, cantonal and federal administration, publishing companies, etc.

Doctoral training
Contemporary History offers a number of courses for training at doctoral level: The interdisciplinary doctoral programme Migration and Postcoloniality Meet Switzerland, financed by swissuniversities, deals with various dimensions of inclusion and exclusion and, among other things, looks at present-day migration in the context of the postcolonial present and the colonial past. Further offers are the CUSO Programme doctoral en histoire contemporaine (PDHC), doctoral students' colloquia with presentation of thesis projects, «Study Days Contemporary History» with text readings at a more intensive level, and the «Fribourg Forum for Contemporary History». A core objective of these training and complementary training formats is to promote scientific exchange and to network several disciplines and universities with one another.

Key areas of research
The Contemporary History Domain is the largest of its kind in Switzerland and covers the entire spectrum of Contemporary History as Swiss and European as well as global Contemporary History. In addition to this, the professors in this field have developed focal points and research networks on specific themes.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

  • Prof. Alain Clavien

Areas of specialisation:
– Intellectual history
– Press history
– Cultural history
– History of the labour movement

  • Prof. Jean-Francois Fayet

Areas of specialisation:
– Social and cultural history of politics
– International relations
– Humanitarianism
– Media
– Russian and Soviet world

  • Prof. Claude Hauser

Areas of specialisation:
– Intellectual history
– History of international cultural relationships
– History of the Second World War
– History of Jura region and national minorities

  • Prof. Anne-Francoise Praz

Areas of specialisation:
– History of childhood and education
– History of social and family policies
– Historical demography and population policies
– Women's history and gender history

  • Prof. Damir Skenderovic

Areas of specialisation:
– European and Swiss contemporary history
– Political and cultural history
– History of political parties
– Right-wing populism, radical right
– Countercultures, 68 movement, life reform movement
– Migration History
– Colonial history

  • Prof. Christina Späti

Areas of specialisation:
– Swiss, European and Canadian contemporary history
– Language politics and bilingualism
– Orientalism
– Antisemitism and anti-Zionism
– History of the left, 68 movement
– Post-history of National Socialism

  • Prof. Siegfried Weichlein

Areas of specialisation:
– European contemporary history
– Political and cultural history
– Nationalism
– Regionalism
– Federalism
– Labour movement
– Modern religious history
– Cultural history of the Cold War
– Political iconography
– Transatlantic history
– History of Zionism and the State of Israel

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://histoire.cuso.ch/contemporaine/accueil/
https://lettres.unifr.ch/de/hist/gmzg/doktoratsprogramm.html

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 
 

Zeitgeschichte

Freiburger Profil

Das Doktorat ist die dritte Stufe der Ausbildung und Forschung an der Universität Fribourg. Es besteht aus dem selbständigen Konzeptualisieren, Formulieren und Durchführen eines Forschungsprojektes, das inhaltlich und methodisch innovativ ist und die Forschung bereichert.

Das Doktoratsstudium in Zeitgeschichte kann entweder im Anschluss an einen Master in Zeitgeschichte bzw. Geschichte oder im Anschluss an einen Master in einer verwandten Studienrichtung der Sozial- oder Kulturwissenschaften absolviert werden. Im letzteren Fall werden eventuell noch weitere Studienleistungen verlangt. Gleichzeitig schliessen die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden eine Doktoratsvereinbarung ab, die die wesentlichen Schritte und Aufgaben während des Doktoratsstudiums regelt. Die Doktorierenden legen nach ca. einem Jahr ein Konzept ihres Dissertationsprojekts vor.

Der Studienbereich Zeitgeschichte bietet ein dynamisches, stimulierendes und ermutigendes wissenschaftliches und soziales Umfeld und einen klaren organisatorischen Rahmen für die Promotion. Grossen Wert wird auf wissenschaftlichen Austausch und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit gelegt. Die Doktorierenden werden inhaltlich und methodisch betreut, was auch die Unterstützung bei der Suche nach Finanzierungsmitteln einschliesst. Auch die Vereinbarkeit von Promotion und Familie ist ein wichtiges Anliegen. Der Studienbereich Zeitgeschichte fördert Forschungsaufenthalte an Universitäten im Ausland sowie die gemeinsame Promotion an der Universität Freiburg und einer ausländischen Universität durch das Programm «Cotutelles de thèse/Gemeinsame Dissertationsbetreuung».

Das Doktorat in Zeitgeschichte bietet eine herausragende Qualifikation nicht nur für weitere Forschungstätigkeiten und eine akademische Laufbahn, sondern auch für Leitungs- und Kaderfunktionen in einer Reihe von Berufsfeldern wie Museen, Archiven, diplomatischem Dienst, Verwaltung in Gemeinden, Kantonen und beim Bund, Verlagswesen usw.

Doktoratsausbildung
In der Ausbildung auf Doktoratsstufe bietet Zeitgeschichte mehrere Gefässe an: Das von swissuniversities finanzierte interdisziplinäre Doktoratsprogramm Migration and Postcoloniality meet Switzerland beschäftigt sich mit verschiedenen Dimensionen der Ein- und Ausgrenzung und betrachtet unter anderem die heutige Migration im Kontext der postkolonialen Gegenwart und der kolonialen Vergangenheit. Hinzu kommen das von der CUSO getragene Programme doctoral en histoire contemporaine (PDHC), Doktorierendenkolloquien mit Präsentation der Dissertationsprojekte, «Studientage Zeitgeschichte» mit vertiefter Textlektüre sowie das «Freiburger Forum für Zeitgeschichte». Ein zentrales Ziel dieser Aus- und Weiterbildungsformate ist es, den wissenschaftlichen Austausch zu fördern und mehrere Disziplinen und Universitäten miteinander zu vernetzen.

Schwerpunkte der Forschung
Der Studienbereich Zeitgeschichte ist der grösste seiner Art in der Schweiz und deckt die Zeitgeschichte in ihrer ganzen Breite als schweizerische und europäische wie auch globale Zeitgeschichte ab. Darüber hinaus haben die Professorinnen und Professoren des Studienbereichs Schwerpunkte und Forschungsnetzwerke zu bestimmten Themen entwickelt.

Professoren, die berechtigt sind, Dissertationen zu betreuen

  • Prof. Alain Clavien

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Intellektuellengeschichte
– Pressegeschichte
– Kulturgeschichte
– Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung

  • Prof. Jean-Francois Fayet

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte des Politischen
– Internationale Beziehungen
– Humanitäres
– Medien
– Russische und sowjetische Welt

  • Prof. Claude Hauser

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Intellektuellengeschichte
– Geschichte der internationalen Kulturbeziehungen
– Geschichte des Zweiten Weltkrieges
– Geschichte der jurassischen Region und der nationalen Minderheiten

  • Prof. Anne-Francoise Praz

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Geschichte der Kindheit und der Erziehung
– Geschichte der Sozial- und Familienpolitik
– Historische Demographie und Bevölkerungspolitik
– Frauen- und Geschlechtergeschichte

  • Prof. Damir Skenderovic

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Europäische und schweizerische Zeitgeschichte
– Politik- und Kulturgeschichte
– Historische Parteienforschung
– Rechtspopulismus, radikale Rechte
– Gegenkulturen, 68er-Bewegung, Lebensreformbewegung
– Historische Migrationsforschung
– Kolonialgeschichte

  • Prof. Christina Späti

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Schweizerische, europäische und kanadische Zeitgeschichte
– Sprachenpolitik und Zweisprachigkeit
– Orientalismus
– Antisemitismus und Antizionismus
– Geschichte der Linken, 68er-Bewegung
– Nachgeschichte des Nationalsozialismus

  • Prof. Siegfried Weichlein

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Europäische Zeitgeschichte
– Politik- und Kulturgeschichte
– Nationalismus
– Regionalismus
– Föderalismus
– Arbeiterbewegung
– Moderne Religionsgeschichte
– Kulturgeschichte des Kalten Kriegs
– Politische Ikonographie
– Transatlantische Geschichte
– Geschichte des Zionismus und des Staates Israel

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

https://histoire.cuso.ch/contemporaine/accueil/
https://lettres.unifr.ch/de/hist/gmzg/doktoratsprogramm.html

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Anmeldung eine Professorin oder einen Professor zu kontaktieren, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.