Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Islam and Society

Fribourg profile

The Swiss Centre for Islam and Society (SZIG) is a national centre of excellence for current social issues related to Islam in Switzerland. It pursues a multi-perspective approach, which includes Islamic self-reflection as to how the multiple bases of Islamic knowledge and tradition can be transformed and integrated into a Swiss context. On the one hand, it analyses the manifestations of Islam and the day-to-day realities of Muslim men and women in Europe by means of theoretical approaches. It further investigates a possible development in Islamic thinking and Islamic self-reflection in the context of Europe. In its research, the SZIG employs interdisciplinary and intersectional methods. The research question under study determines the methodological approach.

As an inter-faculty institute, the SZIG is part of the faculties of Arts and Humanities, Theology and Law. Doctoral projects may be conducted in all three faculties provided the appropriate supervision is available.

During supervision, doctoral students remain in close contact with their supervisors and submit regular progress reports in a variety of formats. Personal networking within the institute and the University of Fribourg and further afield with relevant researchers from Switzerland and abroad allows doctoral students to benefit from very varied fields of competence.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

  • Prof. Amir Dziri (Faculty of Humanities)

Areas of specialisation:
– Islam in Switzerland and in Europe
– Research on Mohammed
– Islamic traditional theories and hermeneutics

Theses can be supervised in German, English or French.

  • Prof. Hansjörg Schmid (Faculty of Theology)

Areas of specialisation:
– Interreligious ethics and Christian-Muslim relations

  • Prof. René Pahud de Mortanges (Faculty of Law)

Areas of specialisation:
– Religious Law

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://www3.unifr.ch/szig/fr/etudes/doctorat/programmedoctoral/ (French)
https://www3.unifr.ch/szig/de/studium/doktorat/doktoratsprogramm/ (German)

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic bachelor's and master's degree or an equivalent qualification by an university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate must contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Islam und Gesellschaft

Freiburger Profil

Das Schweizerische Zentrum für Islam und Gesellschaft (SZIG) ist ein nationales Kompetenzzentrum für aktuelle gesellschaftliche Fragen zum Islam in der Schweiz. Es verfolgt einen multiperspektivischen Ansatz, der eine islamische Selbstreflexion darüber einschliesst, wie plurale islamische Wissens- und Traditionsbestände im Schweizer Kontext transformiert und eingebracht werden können. Einerseits geht es darum, die Erscheinungsformen des Islams und die Lebenswirklichkeiten von Musliminnen und Muslime in Europa mittels theoretischer Ansätze zu analysieren. Andererseits geht es darüber hinaus um eine mögliche Weiterentwicklung islamischen Denkens und einer islamischen Selbstreflexion im europäischen Kontext. Das SZIG verfolgt in seinen Forschungen interdisziplinäre und intersektionale Methodenansätze, wobei die anvisierte Forschungsfrage den methodischen Zugang bestimmt.

Als interfakultäres Institut ist das SZIG in der Philosophischen, der Theologischen und der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät eingegliedert. Doktoratsprojekte können unter Voraussetzung entsprechender Betreuungsverhältnisse in allen drei Fakultäten angesiedelt werden.

Während der Betreuung stehen die Doktoranden in engem Kontakt zu den Betreuern und stellen ihre Arbeitsprozesse in unterschiedlichen Formaten regelmässig vor. Die personelle Vernetzung innerhalb des Instituts und der Universität Freiburg und darüber hinaus mit einschlägigen Forschenden aus der Schweiz und dem Ausland ermöglicht den Doktorierenden von vielfältigen Kompetenzbereichen zu profitieren.

Professorinnen und Professoren, die berechtigt sind, Dissertationen zu betreuen

  • Prof. Amir Dziri (Philosophische Fakultät)

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Islam in der Schweiz und in Europa
– Muhammad-Forschung
– Islamische Traditionstheorien und Hermeneutik

Leitung von Dissertationen in deutscher, englischer oder französischer Sprache.

  • Prof. Hansjörg Schmid (Theologische Fakultät)

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Interreligiöse Ethik und christlich-muslimische Beziehungen

  • Prof. René Pahud de Mortanges (Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät)

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Religionsrecht

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

ECTS-Kreditpunkte können erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

https://www3.unifr.ch/szig/de/studium/doktorat/doktoratsprogramm/

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Vor der Anmeldung muss eine Professorin oder ein Professor kontaktiert werden, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.