Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

German Language and Literature

Fribourg profile

The Germanistik Domain at Fribourg offers a doctoral training in the three areas of study: linguistics, medieval studies and literature. German Studies' doctoral students therefore have the full range of study areas from which to choose their research subject. The subjects of the theses are arranged individually. They may be connected to current research projects financed by third parties. However, intensive discussions are held with the PhD advisor to find the subject, taking into account the interests of both sides. The theory and methods implemented in the Germanistik Domain at Fribourg are focused on the one hand on historical and cultural studies (in particular medieval studies and literature) and on the other hand on social-cognitive studies (in particular linguistics). In general, theses are written in German.

The main research fields of German Linguistics are language use, language variation and language acquisition, sociolinguistic and perceptual dialectology and sociolinguistic and contact linguistic issues from a synchronic or diachronic perspective. Alongside intensive personal support, there are three further types of support available to doctoral students. (1) A regular research conference, which in spring is also accessible to doctoral students from the western Swiss universities, where the progress of work is presented and unresolved questions are discussed in a wider circle. (2) Anyone writing a thesis within the framework of one of the research projects launched by one of the two professors can benefit from an exchange with a large international research network and from internal workshops. Doctoral students will also be supported in launching debates on their area of research in domestic and international meetings. (3) Doctoral students can also make use of the doctoral programmes of CUSO (Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale), such as the Programme doctoral en langue et littérature allemandes and forge contacts with other doctoral students. Linguistics doctoral students working on the subject of contact linguistics and language acquisition can work with the Institute of Multilingualism or with the Centre for Teacher Training for Secondary Levels I and II (Centre d'enseignement et de recherche francophone pour l'enseignement au secondaire I et II (French-speaking section) or Lehrerinnen- und Lehrerbildung für die Sekundarstufe I und II (German-speaking section)).

German Medieval Studies is deliberately open to other medieval disciplines and encourages interdisciplinary questions. It attaches importance to the exchange between fields of study within the framework of the Medieval Institute and the seminars of guest professors (Wolfgang-Stammler-Gastprofessur), as well as to international experiences made available during the doctoral studies. As standard, all work has an external co-advisor. Individual discussions with doctoral students are complemented with three supportive avenues: (1) The monthly interuniversity «Forschungskolloquium Germanistische Mediävistik», offered jointly by chairs of the universities of Fribourg and Geneva; this culminates in the annual, three-day «Internationales Graduiertentreffen Germanistische Mediävistik (OFFG)», which has connected the universities of Oxford, Freiburg im Breisgau, Fribourg and Geneva since 2002. (2) The interdisciplinary Mediävistik doctoral programme of Fribourg University, for which doctoral students of all disciplines are registered and completion of which is accredited. (3) The doctoral programme of CUSO, whereby doctoral students studying medieval studies alongside the field-specific offer have access to the bilingual Programme doctoral en études médiévales.

German Literature offers a doctoral training which, in terms of subject and method, is purposely open. However, particular emphasis lies on the subjects of general and comparative literature, like, for example, issues of genre typology, stylistics, or historical poetics. German Literature offers the following forms of support for doctoral students: (1) In addition to individual support from professors in Fribourg, a research conference takes place two or three times a term. This conference my be attended by all graduate scholars, doctoral and qualified scholars of German and comparative literature from Fribourg and other Swiss universities. At these meetings, chapters from qualification work are regularly submitted, which are annotated by all participants in advance, thus giving doctoral students the opportunity to learn how to read texts thoroughly and how to discuss them critically. In these circles of students, qualified scholars and professors, current research articles are presented, which serve for in-depth discussion of the topics. (2) Further, doctoral students will also be supported in launching debates on their area of research at domestic and international meetings. (3) Lastly, the network of western Swiss universities, CUSO, offers the opportunity to exchange with students from other universities.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

German Linguistics

  • Prof. Helen Christen

Areas of specialisation:
– Variational linguistics with emphasis on social dialectology
– Language change
– Folk linguistics
– Gender linguistics
– Swiss language situation

  • Prof. Regula Schmidlin

Areas of specialisation:
– Acquisition of writing skills
– Lexicography
– Phraseology
– Language variation and language standardisation
– Language and age

German Medieval Studies

  • Prof. Martina Backes

Areas of specialisation:
– Literature from the Late Middle Ages and the Early Modern Era, in particular the history and development of novels
– 12th to 15th-century poetry
– German-French literature relations
– Middle Age manuscript and book culture
– Regional history of literature of the German-speaking south-west

  • Prof. Eckart Conrad Lutz

Areas of specialisation:
– Mediality and identity
– Text, image and diagram
– Processes of writing, reading and cognition
– Education and conversation
– Courtly culture and its proponents in the Middle Ages

German Literature

  • Prof. Arnd Beise

Areas of specialisation:
– Literature and history
– Intermediality
– Thematology
– History of drama
– Edition philology

  • Prof. Sabine Haupt

Areas of specialisation:
– German and French literature from the 18th to 21st centuries
– Literature and picture media
– Literature and natural science
– History of ideas/Discourse analysis
– Literature and politics

  • Prof. Tom Kindt

Areas of specialisation:
– Theory of literature, in particular interpretation theory
– Theory of humour and history of comedy
– Narrative theory
– Literary modernism
– History of German studies

  • Prof. Ralph Müller

Areas of specialisation:
– Contemporary literature, in particular Swiss literature
– Poetry and rhetoric
– Genre theory and spelling
– Lyricology and narratology
– Digital humanities, corpus stylistics, cognitive poetics

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

https://deutsch.cuso.ch
https://medieval.cuso.ch
https://lettres.unifr.ch/de/sprachen-literaturen/germanistik/mediaevistik.html
http://www.mediaevum.unifr.ch/d/graduiert/doktoratsprogramm.htm

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 
 

Deutsche Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft

Freiburger Profil

Die Freiburger Germanistik bietet Doktoratsausbildungen in den drei Studiengebieten Linguistik, Mediävistik und Literaturwissenschaft an. Den Doktorierenden der Germanistik steht somit die ganze Breite des Studienbereichs für die Wahl eines Forschungsthemas offen. Die Themen der Dissertationen werden individuell vereinbart. Sie können an laufende, drittmittelfinanzierte Forschungsprojekte anschlies-sen. In jedem Fall aber geht die Themenfindung aus intensiven Gesprächen mit den Betreuenden hervor, wobei immer die Interessen beider Seiten zur Geltung kommen. Theoretisch und methodisch ist die Freiburger Germanistik einerseits historisch-kulturwissenschaftlich ausgerichtet (insbesondere die Mediävistik und die Literaturwissenschaft) und andererseits sozial-kognitiv (insbesondere die Linguistik). Die Dissertationen werden in der Regel auf Deutsch verfasst.

Zentrale Forschungsfelder der Germanistischen Linguistik sind Sprachgebrauch, Sprachvariation und Spracherwerb, eine sozio- und wahrnehmungslinguistisch ausgerichtete Dialektologie sowie soziolinguistische und kontaktlinguistische Fragestellungen aus synchroner oder diachroner Perspektive. Die Germanistische Linguistik sieht für die Förderung der Promovierenden – neben der intensiven persönlichen Betreuung – drei unterschiedliche Angebote vor. (1) Ein regelmässig stattfindendes Forschungskolloquium, das jeweils im Frühling auch für die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Westschweizer Universitäten zugänglich ist, dient dazu, den Stand der Arbeit zu präsentieren und anstehende Fragen in einem grösseren Kreis zu diskutieren. (2) Wer eine Dissertation im Rahmen eines von einer der beiden Professuren lancierten Forschungsprojekts schreibt, kann vom Austausch mit einem grösseren internationalen Forschungsnetzwerk und von intern organisierten Workshops profitieren. Zudem werden die Doktorierenden darin unterstützt, ihre Forschungsarbeit an in- und ausausländischen Tagungen zur Diskussion zu stellen. (3) Die Doktorierenden können überdies die Angebote der Doktoratsprogramme der CUSO (Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale) wie das Programme doctoral en langue et littérature allemandes in Anspruch nehmen und dort Kontakte zu anderen Doktorierenden knüpfen. Doktorierende der Linguistik, die Themen im Bereich der Kontaktlinguistik und des Spracherwerbs bearbeiten, finden Möglichkeiten der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit oder mit dem Zentrum für Lehrerinnen- und Lehrerbildung Freiburg (ZELF).

Die Germanistische Mediävistik ist betont offen gegenüber anderen mediävistischen Disziplinen und fördert interdisziplinär interessierte Fragestellungen. Sie legt daher Wert auf den Austausch zwischen den Studienrichtungen im Rahmen des Mediävistischen Instituts und der Seminare der Wolfgang-Stammler-Gastprofessur wie auf internationale Erfahrungen während des Doktorats. Zum Standard gehört die auswärtige Zweitbetreuung jeder Arbeit. Das individuelle Gespräch mit den Doktorierenden wird auf dem Gebiet der Germanistischen Mediävistik durch drei Förderungslinien ergänzt: (1) Das monatliche interuniversitäre «Forschungskolloquium Germanistische Mediävistik», das von den Lehrstühlen der Universitäten Freiburg und Genf gemeinsam angeboten wird; es kulminiert in den jährlich stattfindenden dreitägigen «Internationalen Graduiertentreffen Germanistische Mediävistik (OFFG)», die seit dem Jahr 2002 die Universitäten Oxford, Freiburg im Breisgau, Freiburg/Fribourg und Genève verbinden. (2) Das interdiziplinäre Doktoratsprogramm Mediävistik am Mediävistischen Institut der Universität Freiburg, für das sich Doktorierende aller mediävistischen Disziplinen einschreiben und dessen Absolvierung bestätigt wird. (3) Die Doktoratsprogramme der CUSO, wo für Doktorierende mit mediävistischer Ausrichtung neben dem gebietsspezifischen Angebot das bilinguale Programme doctoral en études médiévales (Doktoratsprogramm Mediävistik) offen steht.

Die Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft bietet ein Doktoratsstudium an, das thematisch und methodisch dezidiert offen ist, wobei jedoch besondere Schwerpunkte auf Fragestellungen der Allgemeinen und Vergleichenden Literaturwissenschaft liegen. Als Beispiele seien Fragestellungen im Rahmen von Gattungstypologien, Schreibweisen oder historischen Poetiken genannt. Die Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft sieht für die Förderung von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden folgende Formen von Unterstützung vor: (1) Neben der individuellen Betreuung durch die in Freiburg Lehrenden findet zwei- bis dreimal pro Semester ein Forschungskolloquium statt. Dieses richtet sich an alle graduierten, doktorierten und habilitierten germanistischen und komparatistischen Literaturwissenschaftlerinnen und Literaturwissenschaftler der Freiburger und anderer Schweizer Universitäten. Da bei diesen Treffen regelmässig Kapitel aus den Qualifikationsarbeiten vorzulegen sind, die vorgängig von allen Teilnehmenden annotiert wurden, lernen die Doktorierenden, wissenschaftliche Texte genau zu lesen und kritisch zu diskutieren. In diesen Kreis von Promovierenden, Habilitierenden und Professoren werden zudem aktuelle Forschungsartikel eingebracht, die ebenfalls der vertiefenden fachlichen Auseinandersetzung dienen. (2) Des Weiteren werden die Doktorierenden darin unterstützt, ihre Forschungsarbeit an in- und ausländischen Tagungen zur Diskussion zu stellen. (3) Schliesslich besteht über das Netzwerk der Westschweizer Universitäten CUSO die Gelegenheit, sich mit Promovierenden an anderen Hochschulen auszutauschen.

Professoren, die berechtigt sind, Dissertationen zu betreuen

Germanistische Linguistik

  • Prof. Helen Christen

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Variationslinguistik mit soziodialektologischem Schwerpunkt
– Sprachwandel
– Folk linguistics
– Gender-Linguistik
– Schweizer Sprachsituation

  • Prof. Regula Schmidlin

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Erwerb von Schreib- und Textkompetenz
– Lexikographie
– Phraseologie
– Sprachvariation und Sprachstandardisierung
– Sprache und Lebensalter

Germanistische Mediävistik

  • Prof. Martina Backes

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Literatur des Spätmittelalters und der Frühen Neuzeit, insbesondere Geschichte und Entwicklung des Prosaromans
– Lyrik des 12. bis 15. Jahrhunderts
– Deutsch-französische Literaturbeziehungen
– Mittelalterliche Handschriften- und Buchkultur
– Regionale Literaturgeschichte des deutschsprachigen Südwestens

  • Prof. Eckart Conrad Lutz

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Medialität und Identität
– Text, Bild und Diagramm
– Prozesse des Schreibens, Lesens und Erkennens
– Bildung und Gespräch
– Erscheinungsformen höfischer Kultur und ihre Träger

Germanistische Literaturwissenschaft

  • Prof. Arnd Beise

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Literatur und Geschichte
– Intermedialität
– Thematologie
– Geschichte des Dramas
– Editionsphilologie

  • Prof. Sabine Haupt

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Deutsche und französische Literatur des 18. bis 21. Jahrhunderts
– Literatur und Bildmedien
– Literatur und Naturwissenschaft
– Ideengeschichte / Diskursanalyse
– Literatur und Politik

  • Prof. Tom Kindt

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Literaturtheorie, insbesondere Interpretationstheorie
– Komiktheorie und Komödiengeschichte
– Erzähltheorie
– Literarische Moderne
– Geschichte der Germanistik

  • Prof. Ralph Müller

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Gegenwartsliteratur, insbesondere Literatur der Schweiz
– Poetik und Rhetorik
– Gattungstheorie und Schreibweisen
– Lyrikologie und Narratologie
– Digital Humanities, Korpusstilistik, Kognitive Poetik

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

https://deutsch.cuso.ch
https://medieval.cuso.ch
https://lettres.unifr.ch/de/sprachen-literaturen/germanistik/mediaevistik.html
http://www.mediaevum.unifr.ch/d/graduiert/doktoratsprogramm.htm

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Anmeldung eine Professorin oder einen Professor zu kontaktieren, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.