Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Italian Language and Literature

Fribourg profile

The doctoral programme in Italian Language and Literature at the University of Fribourg aims to provide a fostering framework for students' scientific training in the field of Italian studies (literature, linguistics, philology) by giving them a solid foundation in methodology, history and culture. The approach traditionally taken to Italian studies at the University of Fribourg, including the doctoral programme, dates back to Gianfranco Contini and Giuseppe Billanovich and has been continued by Giovanni Pozzi and Alessandro Martini. In this context, particular emphasis is placed on research projects aimed at producing critical and/or annotated text editions, notably of poetry (with a special focus on the Renaissance and Baroque periods, as well as on modern literature), and on the history of the tradition and reception of classical (Greco-Roman and Italian) authors from the 14th and 18th centuries. In collaboration with the Swiss Literary Archives of the Swiss National Library in Bern, we also encourage projects on Italian-speaking authors of Swiss literature in the 20th century.

This programme offers doctoral students scientific training in the different branches of Italian studies: literature and the history of literature, philology, linguistics and the history of the language, and literary criticism theory. In all these fields, special attention is paid to aspects of the methodology of research and academic teaching. The intellectual autonomy of doctoral students as players in the field of scientific research is fostered by means of specific objectives and varied activities: personal study and research with the aim of producing a high-quality thesis; attendance and organisation of colloquia and seminars on specific research issues; participation in intensive courses and research workshops on cross-cutting issues allowing them to acquire a broad and diverse range of skills. In addition, doctoral students are given guidance in building up their own scientific research network through exchanges and collaborations with the principal actors in academic research and teaching in Switzerland, Italy and Europe. To this end, students are recommended to spend periods abroad. The most suitable partner university for candidates' research projects is chosen in line with individual needs and requirements.

The programme is aimed at young, highly qualified researchers from Switzerland or the European academic network who, after a Master's degree, wish to continue their training to the highest level. It fosters dialogue and exchanges between the doctoral students themselves and between them and eminent specialists on the teaching staff or from the Swiss and international research milieu.

Doctoral students must enrol at the Doctoral School of Italian Studies (Scuola dottorale in Studi italiani) and participate in the scientific activities it offers. Back in 2011, the Italian Domain of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities at the University of Fribourg set up a Doctoral School of Italian Studies in collaboration with Geneva University's Italian Unit and Lausanne University's Italian Section, with the support of CUSO (Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale).

The Doctoral School of Italian Studies was inspired by the Séminaire de Troisième Cycle Romand en Italien, which was launched in 1976 on the initiative of Giovanni Pozzi (professor of Italian Literature at the University of Fribourg from 1960 to 1988) and took place until 2011. Continuing the same spirit of internal collaboration and international openness of the Séminaire de Troisième Cycle, the Doctoral School is a place where young highly qualified research students meet and train. As part of its activities, the School also promotes exchanges with other private and public universities in Switzerland (Basel, Bern, Lugano, Saint-Gall, Zürich) which are not members of CUSO. Its relations with Italian-speaking Switzerland also deserve a special mention, as some of the School's activities are organised in Ticino. With this presence south of the Alps, the Doctoral School hopes to encourage teachers from secondary schools in Ticino and Grisons to take part regularly as auditors. These activities are recognised as continuing education courses.

Professors who are eligible to supervise theses

Italian literature

  • Prof. Uberto Motta

Areas of specialisation:
– Italian literature of the Renaissance (notably, Baldassarre Castiglione and the literary culture of the Italian courts from 1500-1530)
– Italian literature of the 20th century (notably, modern and contemporary poetry tradition, with a special focus on the period 1930-1960)
– Theory of literature and history of literary criticism

  • Prof. Edoardo Fumagalli

Areas of specialisation:
– Renaissance and Medieval Italian literature (Dante, Petrarch, Boccaccio; Humanism and the tradition/translation of the classics between the 14th and 16th centuries)

Italian philology

  • Prof. Christian Genetelli

Areas of specialisation:
– Italian poetry of the 19th and 20th centuries (notably Giacomo Leopardi and Eugenio Montale)
– Critical and annotated edition of modern and contemporary texts
– Literary correspondence of the modern period
– Genetic criticism and «critica delle varianti»

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

http://italiano.cuso.ch

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 
 

Italienische Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft

Freiburger Profil

Das Doktoratsprogramm in Italienischer Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft zielt darauf ab, den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden im Rahmen der Betreuung ihrer wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung eine solide methodologische und historisch-kulturelle Grundlage für ihre Italienischstudien an die Hand zu geben (Literatur, Linguistik, Philologie). Der Ansatz, durch den die Tradition der Italienischstudien der Universität Freiburg und auch das Doktoratsprogramm geprägt sind, geht auf Gianfranco Contini und Giuseppe Billanovich zurück und wurde von Giovanni Pozzi und Alessandro Martini weiterverfolgt. In diesem Kontext werden insbesondere Forschungsprojekte unterstützt, die abzielen auf kritische und/oder kommentierte Textausgaben (insbesondere Poetik mit einem besonderen Augenmerk auf Renaissance und Barock sowie literarische Moderne) und auf die Untersuchung von Geschichte, Tradition und Rezeption der klassischen (griechisch-römischen und italienischen) Autoren zwischen dem 14. und dem 18. Jahrhundert. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Schweizerischen Literaturarchiven der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek in Bern unterstützen wir auch Projekte mit Bezug auf italienischsprachige schweizerische Autoren des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Das Programm bietet den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden eine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn in den verschiedenen Teilbereichen der Italienischstudien: Literatur und Literaturgeschichte, Philologie, Linguistik und Sprachgeschichte, Theorie der Literaturkritik. In allen diesen Bereichen wird den methodologischen Aspekten der Forschung und der universitären Lehre besondere Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet. Mittels spezifischer Ziele und verschiedener Aktivitäten wird die intellektuelle Selbstständigkeit der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden als Akteure der wissenschaftlichen Forschung gefördert: persönliches Studium und persönliche Forschung im Hinblick auf die Erstellung einer qualitativ hochwertigen Dissertation; Teilnahme an und Organisation von Kolloquien und Seminaren zu den jeweiligen Forschungsthemen; Teilnahme an Intensivkursen und Forschungsarbeitsgruppen zu übergreifenden Themen, die den Erwerb breiter und differenzierter Kompetenzen ermöglichen. Darüber hinaus werden die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden angeleitet, sich über Austausch und Zusammenarbeit mit den wichtigsten universitären Forschern und Lehrenden der Schweiz, Italiens und Europas ein persönliches wissenschaftliches Netzwerk aufzubauen. Zu diesem Zweck werden Auslandsaufenthalte empfohlen. Gemäss den individuellen Anforderungen wird die für die Forschungsprojekte der Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten am besten geeignete Partneruniversität ausgewählt.

Das Programm wendet sich an hochqualifizierte junge Forscherinnen und Forscher aus der Schweiz oder dem wissenschaftlichen Netzwerk in Europa, die nach dem Masterabschluss ihre Ausbildung auf höchstem Niveau fortzusetzen wünschen. Der Austausch der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden untereinander und mit schweizerischen und internationalen eminenten Professorinnen und Professoren sowie Wissenschaftsvertreterinnen und -vertretern wird gefördert.

Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden schreiben sich in die Doktoratsschule Scuola dottorale in Studi italiani ein und nehmen an den in diesem Rahmen angebotenen wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten teil. Diese Doktoratsschule wurde 2011 vom Studienbereich Italienisch der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Freiburg gemeinsam mit der Italienischeinheit der Universität Genf und der Abteilung Italienisch der Universität Lausanne sowie mit der Unterstützung der Conférence Universitaire de Suisse Occidentale (CUSO) gegründet.

Die Doktoratsschule für Italienischstudien orientiert sich am Séminaire de Troisième Cycle Romand en Italien, das 1976 auf Initiative von Giovanni Pozzi (Professor für italienische Literatur an der Universität Freiburg von 1960 bis 1988) gegründet wurde und bis 2011 bestand. Die Doktoratsschule hat die Grundhaltung dieses Séminaire de Troisième Cycle zur internen Zusammenarbeit und zur Aussenöffnung übernommen und ist ein hochrelevanter Treff- und Ausbildungspunkt für junge Forscherinnen und Forscher. Sie fördert bei der Organisation der Aktivitäten auch den Austausch mit nicht der CUSO angehörigen staatlichen und privaten Schweizer Universitäten (Basel, Bern, Lugano, St.Gallen, Zürich). Auch die Verbindungen zur italienischen Schweiz verdienen es, hervorgehoben zu werden, denn ein Teil ihrer Aktivität findet im Tessin statt. Mit dieser Präsenz südlich der Alpen möchte die Doktoratsschule die regelmässige Teilnahme von Sekundarschullehrerinnen und -lehrern aus dem Tessin und Graubünden als Gasthörer unterstützen. Diese Aktivitäten sind als Weiterbildungskurs anerkannt.

Professoren, die berechtigt sind, Dissertationen zu betreuen

Italienische Literatur

  • Prof. Uberto Motta

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Italienische Literatur der Renaissance (insbesondere Baldassarre Castiglione und literarische Kultur der italienischen Höfe der Jahre 1500 bis 1530)
– Italienische Literatur des 20. Jahrhunderts (insbesondere moderne und zeitgenössische Poesietradition mit besonderem Augenmerk auf den Zeitraum 1930 bis 1960)
– Literaturtheorie und Geschichte der Literaturkritik

  • Prof. Edoardo Fumagalli

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Italienische Literatur des Mittelalters und der Renaissance (Dante, Petrarca, Boccaccio; Humanismus und Tradition/Übersetzung der Klassiker vom 14. bis zum 16. Jahrhundert)

Italienische Philologie

  • Prof. Christian Genetelli

Spezialisierungsbereiche:
– Italienische Poesie des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts (insbesondere Giacomo Leopardi und Eugenio Montale)
– Kritische und kommentierte Ausgabe von modernen und zeitgenössischen Texten
– Literarische Briefwechsel der Moderne
– Genetische Kritik und «critica delle varianti»

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

http://italiano.cuso.ch

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Anmeldung eine Professorin oder einen Professor zu kontaktieren, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.