Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Biology

Fribourg profile

The Department of Biology offers a PhD curriculum in Biology. This programme is fully given in English and comprises a personal research project to be taken over 3-4 years. It also includes seminars and lectures according to the bylaws of the Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

The biology laboratories at the University of Fribourg investigate three main areas of research:

Ecology and Evolution
This research area investigates organismic biology with a special focus on ecology and evolution. Current research interests include food web structure, conservation biology, invasive species, agro-ecology, host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, inbreeding depression, evolution in fragmented habitats, and population genetics. The organisms investigated are whole food webs, water fleas (Daphnia), horse chestnut leaf miner (Cameraria), as well as plants: spotted knapweed (Centaurea stoebe), groundsel (Senecio), false hellebore (Veratrum), dock (Rumex), and their natural enemies.

Neuro- and Developmental Biology
The laboratories investigate the mechanisms that govern animal development in the following model systems: The fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster, the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans, the zebra fish Danio rerio and the mouse. Research topics include molecular aspects of regeneration, cell differentiation in somatic and germ line tissues, neuronal outgrowth and connectivity, behaviour, chemoreceptors, and aging. The tools employed are molecular genetics, molecular biology, protein analysis, microscopy and imaging, behavioural analysis and many more.

Plant Biology
This area emphasizes the cellular and molecular aspects of pathogenic and symbiotic plant-microbe interactions. The research groups focus on aspects ranging from the recognition of microbes by the plants, initiation of defences, metabolic and hormonal adjustments, and interference of the microbe with the host defences. Current tools comprise molecular biology, reverse genetics, imaging, analytics, and biochemistry. The training both in practical and theoretical areas will prepare the PhD students for the challenge of the professional world.

PhD students learn how to conduct a research project in an independent manner. They will also learn how to interpret scientific data and to present them. Furthermore, students are expected to be able to think independently about their research topic, to trouble-check their experiments, evaluate their data and put them into a general context, and of course to work in a team. PhD students participate at national and international scientific meetings in order to broaden their knowledge and to establish a scientific and social network.

PhD students in the Department of Biology are remunerated according to standards of the Faculty of Science.

To register to the doctoral programme, candidates select a laboratory in which they plan to carry out their PhD (see Contact). They read the relevant publications and then contact the group leader to ask for a possible opening.

Alternatively, candidates look for openings that are posted by the FGLS. The selection procedure is carried out twice a year. It comprises a 15-minute oral presentation and discussions with the various group leaders.

A non-exhaustive list of laboratories includes:

  • Prof. Simon Sprecher

– Development and specification of photoreceptor neurons in the larva
– Genetic control of sensory receptor gene expression switch during metamorphosis
– Dissecting of the neuronal circuit for vision in the Drosophila larva: identifying neurons and their synaptic connectivity
– Dissecting of the neuronal circuit for vision in the Drosophila larva: function of neurons in light-guided navigation and visual learning and memory formation
– Proliferation control of neural cells in development
– Neuroanatomy of an ant brain: insights into differences of a cast system
– Super resolution imaging to identify synaptic connections
– Systems biology of forgetting

  • Prof. Anna Jazwinska

– Mechanisms of fin, heart and retina regeneration in zebrafish

  • Prof Louis-Félix Bersier

– Biodiversity and community structure
– Metacommunities
– Food webs
– Conservation
– Dynamics of multitrophic systems in mesocosms
– Modelling

  • Prof Heinz Müller-Schärer

– Ecological and evolutionary aspects of plant-antagonist interactions
– Plant invasion and range extension
– Biological control

  • Prof. Felix Mauch

– Functional analysis of RxLR effectors in the interaction of the oomycete pathogen Phytophthora brassicae with Arabidopsis
– Molecular analysis of an Arabidopsis thaliana - Phytophthora pathosystem
– Signalling control of pathogen induced plant immunity

Please refer to the internet link below for a complete an updated list (see Contact).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 
 

Biologie

Freiburger Profil

Das Departement für Biologie bietet ein Doktoratsprogramm in Biologie an. Das Programm wird vollständig in englischer Sprache durchgeführt und umfasst ein persönliches Forschungsprojekt, das in einem Zeitrahmen von drei bis vier Jahren abzuwickeln ist. Darüber hinaus besteht das Doktoratsprogramm aus Seminaren und Vorlesungen gemäss den Statuten der Fribourg Graduate School of Life Sciences (FGLS).

In den Biologielaboren der Universität Freiburg wird hauptsächlich in drei Gebieten geforscht:

Ökologie und Evolution
Dieses Forschungsgebiet beschäftigt sich mit organismischer Biologie, wobei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf Ökologie und Evolution gelegt wird. Derzeit setzen sich die Forscher mit der Struktur von Nahrungsnetzen, Naturschutzbiologie, Bioinvasoren, Agroökologie, Wirt-Parasit-Interaktionen, Life-History-Evolution, Inzuchtdepression, Evolution in fragmentierten Habitaten und Populationsgenetik auseinander. Die untersuchten Organismen sind vollständige Nahrungsnetze, Wasserflöhe (Daphnia), Rosskastanienminiermotten (Cameraria), die Pflanzen Rispen-Flockenblume (Centaurea stoebe), Greiskraut (Senecio), Germer (Veratrum), Ampfer (Rumex) sowie deren natürliche Feinde.

Neurowissenschaften und Entwicklungsbiologie
In den Laboren werden in den folgenden Modellsystemen die Mechanismen der Tierentwicklung sowie die Funktion des Nervensystems erforscht: Fruchtfliege Drosophila melanogaster, Fadenwurm Caenorhabditis elegans, Zebrabärbling Danio rerio und Maus. Die Forschungsthemen umfassen molekulare Aspekte der Regeneration, Zelldifferenzierung in somatischen Geweben und Keimbahnen, neuronale Auswüchse und Verbindungen, Verhalten, Chemorezeptoren und Alterung. Zu den verwendeten Werkzeugen zählen unter anderem Molekulargenetik, Molekularbiologie, Proteinanalyse, Mikroskopie und Imaging sowie Verhaltensanalyse.

Pflanzenbiologie
In diesem Bereich werden die zellulären und molekularen Aspekte pathogener und symbiotischer Pflanzen-Mikroben-Interaktionen hervorgehoben. Die Forschungsgruppen konzentrieren sich auf Aspekte wie die Mikrobenerkennung durch die Pflanzen, Abwehrmobilisierung, Stoffwechsel- und Hormonanpassungen sowie die Beeinflussung der Wirtsabwehr durch die Mikrobe. Dabei stützen sich die Forscher derzeit auf Molekularbiologie, reverse Genetik, Imaging, Analytik und Biochemie. Die sowohl praktische als auch theoretische Ausbildung bereitet die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden auf die Herausforderungen des Berufslebens vor.

Sie lernen, ein Forschungsprojekt auf unabhängige Art und Weise durchzuführen, wissenschaftliche Daten zu interpretieren und zu präsentieren. In Bezug auf das jeweilige Forschungsthema werden unabhängiges Denken, die Überprüfung der Experimente und Beseitungung von etwaigen technischen oder konzeptuellen Problemen, die Auswertung der Daten sowie die Einordnung in einen allgemeinen Kontext und natürlich Teamarbeit erwartet. Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden nehmen an internationalen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen teil, um ihr Wissen zu erweitern und ein wissenschaftliches und soziales Netzwerk aufzubauen.

Die Entlöhnung der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden im Departement für Biologie richtet sich nach den Standards der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Um sich für das Doktoratsprogramm anzumelden, wählen die Bewerber ein Labor aus, in dem sie ihre Dissertationsarbeit erstellen möchten (siehe Kontakt). Nachdem sie die relevanten Veröffentlichungen konsultiert haben, wenden sie sich an den Gruppenleiter, der ihnen Auskunft über offene Stellen gibt.

Die Bewerber können auch die offenen Stellen der FGLS konsultieren. Das Auswahlverfahren findet zwei Mal jährlich statt und besteht aus einer 15-minütigen mündlichen Präsentation und Gesprächen mit den verschiedenen Gruppenleitern.

Die folgende Liste von Laboren erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit:

  • Prof. Simon Sprecher

– Entwicklung und Spezifizierung von Photorezeptorneuronen bei Larven
– Genetische Prüfung des Genexpressionswechsels der Sinnesrezeptoren während der Metamorphose
– Sezierung des neuronalen Kreislaufs für das Sehen der Drosophila-Larve: Bestimmung der Neuronen und ihrer synaptischen Verbindungen
– Sezierung des neuronalen Kreislaufs für das Sehen der Drosophila-Larve: Neuronenfunktion bei der lichtgesteuerten Navigation, Ausbildung von visuellem Lernen und Gedächtnis
– Vermehrungskontrolle bei neuronalen Zellen in der Entwicklung
– Neuroanatomie des Gehirns der Ameise: Einblicke in ein System verschiedener Kasten
– Superauflösende bildgebende Verfahren zur Identifikation synaptischer Verbindungen
– Systembiologie des Vergessens

  • Prof. Anna Jazwinska

– Mechanismen von Flossen-, Herz- und Retinaregeneration bei Zebrabärblingen

  • Prof. Louis-Félix Bersier

– Biodiversität und Gemeinschaftsstruktur
– Metagemeinschaften
– Nahrungsnetze
– Konservierung
– Dynamiken von multitrophischen Systemen in Mesokosmen
– Modellierung

  • Prof. Heinz Müller-Schärer

– Ökologische und evolutionäre Aspekte von Pflanzen-Antagonisten-Interaktionen
– Pflanzeninvasion und Lebensraumerweiterung
– Biologische Kontrolle

  • Prof. Felix Mauch

– Funktionale Analyse von RxLR-Effektoren bei der Interaktion des Oomyceten-Pathogens Phytophthora brassicae mit Arabidopsis
– Molekularanalyse im Pathosystem Arabidopsis thaliana – Phytophthora
– Signalkontrolle bei krankheitsinduzierter Pflanzenimmunität

Für eine vollständige und aktuelle Liste klicken Sie bitte auf den Internetlink (siehe Kontakt).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

http://www.unifr.ch/biology/studies/fgls

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Anmeldung eine Professorin oder einen Professor zu kontaktieren, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.