Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 
 

Chemistry

Fribourg profile

The Department of Chemistry offers a doctoral programme in Chemistry. The programme is conducted entirely in English and comprises a personal research project which must be completed within a timescale of three to four years.

Chemistry in Fribourg is an interdisciplinary science. Research at the FriMat and NCCR Bio-inspired Materials centres of competence is focused on nanomaterials, and practical application of the research is facilitated by the immediate geographical proximity to the departments of biochemistry, medicine and physics, as well as the Adolphe Merkle Institute.

PhD students learn how to conduct independent research. They are also trained in the interpretation and presentation of scientific data and learn how to categorise these in a general context. PhD students have access to a comprehensive, modern pool of analytical instruments and are supported in their research by the respective experts. They also take part in international scientific conferences, to increase their knowledge and build up a scientific and social network. PhD students are actively involved in training chemistry students, for example by supervising chemistry laboratory course.

PhD students in the Department of Chemistry are remunerated in line with the Faculty of Science salary scales. To enrol for the doctoral programme, applicants choose the laboratory where they wish to write their thesis. After consulting the respective publications, contact the group leader who will tell you if there are any vacancies.

You will find the list of research groups on the department's Web page (see Contact).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

-

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 
 

Chemie

Freiburger Profil

Das Departement für Chemie bietet ein Doktoratsprogramm in Chemie an. Das Programm wird vollständig in englischer Sprache durchgeführt und umfasst ein persönliches Forschungsprojekt, das in einem Zeitrahmen von drei bis vier Jahren abzuwickeln ist.

Die Chemie in Fribourg ist eine interdisziplinäre Wissenschaft. Durch die Kompetenzzentren FriMat und NCCR Bio-inspired Materials existiert ein Forschungsschwerpunkt für Nanomaterialien, welcher durch die geografisch unmittelbare Nähe zu den Departementen für Biochemie, Medizin, und Physik sowie dem Adolphe Merkle Institut aktiv gelebt wird.

Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden lernen, ein Forschungsprojekt auf unabhängige Art und Weise durchzuführen. Darüber hinaus werden sie in der Interpretation und Präsentation wissenschaftlicher Daten ausgebildet und lernen, diese in einen allgemeinen Kontext einzuordnen. Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden haben Zugang zu einem umfassenden, modernen Pool an Analysegeräten und werden durch die jeweiligen Expertinnen und Experten in ihrer Forschung unterstützt. Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden nehmen an internationalen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen teil, um ihr Wissen zu erweitern und ein wissenschaftliches und soziales Netzwerk aufzubauen. Zudem sind die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aktiv in die Ausbildung der Chemiestudentinnen und Chemiestudenten eingebunden, z.B. in der Betreuung der Chemiepraktika.

Die Entlohnung der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden im Departement für Chemie richtet sich nach den Standards der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät. Um sich für das Doktoratsprogramm anzumelden, wählen die Bewerber ein Labor aus, in dem sie ihre Dissertationsarbeit erstellen möchten. Nachdem sie die relevanten Veröffentlichungen konsultiert haben, wenden sie sich an den Gruppenleiter, der ihnen Auskunft über offene Stellen gibt.

Die Liste der Forschungsgruppen finden Sie auf der Internetseite des Departements (siehe Kontakt).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

-

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Anmeldung eine Professorin oder einen Professor zu kontaktieren, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.