Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Materials Science

Fribourg profile

The Adolphe Merkle Institute (AMI) currently employs around 50 PhD students who work in the five AMI research groups. The working language at the AMI is English and the PhD work comprises a personal research 3-4 year project within one of the research groups. The mentoring staff at AMI is devoted to instilling the doctoral candidates with the desire to perpetuate a tradition of high scientific quality. The state-of-the-art facilities provide students with the potential to acquire a whole range of valuable knowledge and skills over the course of their studies. The quality of the research equipment constitutes one of the major assets of the program, as the trainees will be given the chance to master a high number of experimental techniques. The combination of interdisciplinary, outstanding infrastructures and educational commitment defines the attractiveness of AMI, making it one of the best places to study soft nanomaterials at the postgraduate level.
The institute strives to be a leader in this area and hosts both fundamental and application-oriented interdisciplinary research programs. Our researchers are currently organized in five research groups, which offer complementary expertise and interests in strategically important areas:

BioNanomaterials
The BioNanomaterials research group is co-led by Prof. Alke Fink and Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser. Prof. Fink leads the materials science aspect of the group and Prof. Rothen-Rutishauser is responsible for all biological studies. This situation is a fresh, novel, and exciting perspective upon scientific research in an academic setting, enabling the unification of two different scientific backgrounds in order to make a truly strong interdisciplinary research group. The interdisciplinary nature within the BioNanomaterials research group is further expressed by the varying scientific backgrounds of its members, which include chemistry and biochemistry, biology, pharmacy, biomedicine, materials science, and biophysics.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/bionanomaterials

Biophysics
The overarching research goal in the Biophysics laboratory, led by Prof. Michael Mayer, is to apply biophysics knowledge towards improving human health. To this end, his group contributes to the molecular understanding of disease by developing sensitive diagnostic assays and sensors, as well as characterizing individual protein molecules for applications in biomarker detection, routine protein analysis, and proteomics. Research is multidisciplinary and collaborative and many projects take inspiration from nature to develop biophysical assays, methods, and tools that enable molecular-scale interrogations with unprecedented information content, sensitivity, and speed.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/biophysics

Macromolecular Chemistry
The research carried out by AMI's Macromolecular Chemistry group, led by Prof. Nico Bruns, is motivated by a fascination for polymers and proteins. The rationale behind our work exploits the various functions of proteins, such as their ability to self-assemble into well-defined three dimensional structures and to act as catalysts, and merges them with polymer systems, which are relatively easy to synthesize and can be tailored to specific applications. Via this approach, some of the best aspects of two different domains of macromolecular chemistry are combined in order to exploit the catalytic power of enzymes, to create novel nanosystems and to develop materials with unprecedented new functions.
Three lines of research illustrate our strategy:
1) Enzyme-catalyzed controlled/living radical polymerization (ATRPases);
2) Protein cages and polymersomes as nanoreactors;
3) Polymer-protein hybrid materials with the capability to self-report damage.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/macromolecular-chemistry

Polymer Chemistry and Materials
Motivated by the desire to create novel (nano)materials that exhibit currently unavailable properties and enable new applications, the primary research focus of the Polymer Chemistry and Materials group led by Prof. Christoph Weder is the design, synthesis, and investigation of structureproperty relationships of novel functional polymers. Many projects are inspired by Nature's materials, and/or utilize bio-based building blocks, such as cellulose nanocrystals. Interests and activities are interdisciplinary and range from the synthesis of new monomers and polymers, to advanced polymer processing, to the in-depth investigation and technological exploitation of materials with unusual but desirable properties.

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/polymer-chemistry-materials

Soft Matter Physics
How does the assembly of materials on the 10 nm to 1 ?m length scale determine its function? This question motivates most of the projects of the soft-matter physics group. Currently the two main topics encompass energy and optical materials. In the energy materials field, we investigate structure-function interplay in organic and perovskite based solar cells and in lithium-ion batteries. Optical materials include plasmonic metals that are structure with the help of polymer self-assembly and bioinspired photonic bandgap materials. The latter is part of the strong focus on bioinspiration focus of the soft matter physics group that also includes surface properties of (nano-) structured materials such as wetting and adhesion, and mechanical properties (e.g. nacre).

For more information: http://ami.swiss/research/soft-matter-physics

Interdisciplinary collaborations between our researchers are the basis for the successful and efficient execution of complex research projects that transcend the boundaries of traditional scientific disciplines.

Open PhD positions will be advertised on the AMI web-page. Unsolicited applications that are not targeting an advertised position will not necessarily receive a response.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

No ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school

-

Admission

In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate should contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Materialwissenschaft

Freiburger Profil

In den fünf Forschungsgruppen des Adolphe Merkle Institute (AMI) sind derzeit etwa 50 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden beschäftigt. Die Arbeitssprache am AMI ist Englisch. Die Dissertation umfasst ein drei- bis vierjähriges persönliches Forschungsprojekt innerhalb einer unserer Forschungsgruppen. Die Mentoren des AMI setzen sich dafür ein, den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden Freude an der Weiterführung der Tradition hoher wissenschaftlicher Qualität zu vermitteln. Die hochmodernen Einrichtungen bieten den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden die Möglichkeit, während ihres Doktoratsstudiums umfangreiche neue Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten zu erwerben. Die Qualität der Forschungsausrüstung ist einer der grossen Vorzüge des Programms, denn sie bietet den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden die Gelegenheit, zahlreiche Versuchstechniken zu beherrschen. Die Kombination von interdisziplinären, herausragenden Infrastrukturen mit dem Engagement für Ausbildung macht die Attraktivität des AMI aus. Im Postgraduiertenbereich ist es einer der besten Orte für das Studium weicher Nanomaterialien.
Das Institut stellt sich dem Anspruch, in diesem Bereich führend zu sein, und organisiert sowohl grundlagen- als auch anwendungsorientierte interdisziplinäre Forschungsprogramme. Derzeit gibt es bei uns fünf Forschungsgruppen, die sich gegenseitig ergänzen in ihrer Expertise und in ihren Interessen an strategisch wichtigen Bereichen:

Bio-Nanomaterialien
Die Forschungsgruppe Bio-Nanomaterialien wird gemeinsam von Prof. Alke Fink und Prof. Barbara Rothen-Rutishauser geleitet. Prof. Fink leitet den materialwissenschaftlichen Aspekt der Gruppe, Prof. Rothen Rutishauser ist für alle biologischen Studien verantwortlich. Für die wissenschaftliche Forschung im akademischen Umfeld bietet diese Organisation eine frische, neue und aufregende Perspektive, da zwei unterschiedliche wissenschaftliche Hintergründe zu einer wirklich starken interdisziplinären Forschungsgruppe vereint werden konnten. Die verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Hintergründe der Gruppenmitglieder, darunter Chemie, Biochemie, Biologie, Pharmazie, Biomedizin, Materialwissenschaft und Biophysik, tragen weiter zum interdisziplinären Ansatz der Forschungsgruppe Bio-Nanomaterialien bei.

Für weitere Informationen: http://ami.swiss/research/bionanomaterials

Biophysik
Das übergeordnete Forschungsziel des von Prof. Michael Mayer geleiteten Biophysiklabors ist die Anwendung des biophysischen Wissens zur Verbesserung der menschlichen Gesundheit. Die Gruppe trägt zum molekularen Krankheitsverständnis bei, indem sie sensitive Diagnosetestverfahren und -sensoren entwickelt und individuelle Proteinmoleküle für Anwendungen in der Biomarkererkennung, der Routine-Proteinanalyse und der Proteomik charakterisiert. Die Forschung ist interdisziplinär und kollaborativ. Bei der Entwicklung biophysischer Testverfahren, Methoden und Werkzeuge, die molekulare Untersuchungen mit völlig neuem Informationsgehalt und noch nie dagewesener Empfindlichkeit und Geschwindigkeit möglich machen, lassen wir uns häufig von der Natur inspirieren.

Für weitere Informationen: http://ami.swiss/research/biophysics

Polymerchemie
Die Forschung der von Prof. Nico Bruns geleiteten Forschungsgruppe Polymerchemie ist von einer Faszination für Polymere und Proteine motiviert. In die Überlegungen hinter unserer Arbeit fliessen die verschiedenen Proteinfunktionen ein, z.B. ihre Fähigkeit, sich zu gut definierten dreidimensionalen Strukturen zusammenzufügen und als Katalysatoren zu fungieren. Diese Funktionen führen wir mit Polymersystemen zusammen, die relativ einfach synthetisiert und auf spezifische Anwendungen zugeschnitten werden können. Mit diesem Ansatz lassen sich einige der besten Aspekte aus zwei verschiedenen Bereichen der Polymerchemie miteinander verbinden, um die Katalysekraft von Enzymen zu nutzen, neue Nanosysteme zu schaffen und Materialien mit völlig neuen Funktionen zu entwickeln.
Unsere Strategie spiegelt sich in drei Forschungsbereichen wider:
1) Enzymkatalysierte kontrollierte/lebende radikalische Polymerisation (ATRPases);
2) Proteinkäfige und Polymersome als Nanoreaktoren;
3) Polymer-Protein-Hybridmaterialien mit der Fähigkeit, eigeninitiativ über Beschädigungen zu berichten.

Für weitere Informationen: http://ami.swiss/research/macromolecular-chemistry

Polymerchemie und Polymermaterialien
Wir möchten neue (Nano-)Materialien mit derzeit nicht verfügbaren Eigenschaften schaffen und neue Anwendungen möglich machen. Der wichtigste Forschungsschwerpunkt der von Prof. Christoph Weder geleiteten Forschungsgruppe Polymerchemie und Materialien liegt daher auf Design, Synthese und Untersuchung der Struktur-Eigenschaften-Beziehungen neuer funktionaler Polymere. Viele unserer Projekte sind von Materialien der Natur inspiriert und/oder nutzen biobasierte Bausteine wie Cellulose-Nanokristalle. Unsere Interessen und Aktivitäten sind interdisziplinärer Natur und reichen von der Synthese neuer Monomere und Polymere über fortgeschrittene Polymerverarbeitung bis hin zur tiefgreifenden Untersuchung und technischen Nutzung von Materialien mit ungewöhnlichen, aber wünschenswerten Eigenschaften.

Für weitere Informationen: http://ami.swiss/research/polymer-chemistry-materials

Physik der weichen Materie
Wie ist die Funktion von Materialien im Längenbereich zwischen 10 nm und 1 ?m durch ihre Zusammensetzung festgelegt? Dies ist die Frage, die hinter fast allen Projekten der Forschungsgruppe Physik der weichen Materie steht. Unsere beiden wichtigsten Forschungsbereiche sind derzeit Energiematerialien und optische Materialien. Im Bereich Energiematerialien untersuchen wir das Zusammenspiel zwischen Struktur und Funktion bei organischen und Perowskit-Solarzellen und bei Lithium-Ionen-Akkus. Die optischen Materialien umfassen plasmonische Metalle, die mithilfe von Polymer-Selbstassemblierung und bioinspirierten photonischen Materialien mit Bandlücken strukturiert sind. Letztere spiegeln wider, dass in der Forschungsgruppe Physik der weichen Materie ein starker Schwerpunkt auf der Bioinspiration liegt. Darunter fallen auch Oberflächeneigenschaften von (nano-)strukturierten Materialien wie Befeuchtung und Adhäsion sowie mechanische Eigenschaften (z.B. Perlmutt).

Für weitere Informationen: http://ami.swiss/research/soft-matter-physics

Die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zwischen unseren Forschern bildet die Basis für eine erfolgreiche und effiziente Ausführung komplexer Forschungsprojekte, die über den Horizont der traditionellen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen hinausgehen.

Über offene Stellen für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden informieren wir auf der AMI-Website. Initiativbewerbungen, die sich nicht auf eine angebotene Stelle beziehen, werden nicht notwendigerweise beantwortet.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

Es können keine ECTS-Kreditpunkte erworben werden.

Doktoratsschule

-

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Doktorat setzt einen universitären Bachelor- und Masterabschluss oder einen gleichwertigen Studienabschluss einer von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten Universität voraus.

Es wird empfohlen, vor der Anmeldung eine Professorin oder einen Professor zu kontaktieren, die oder der bereit ist, die Dissertation zu betreuen.

Es besteht kein Anspruch darauf, zum Doktorat zugelassen zu werden.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Doktorats-Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.