Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Business Communication

Abstract

Do you want to learn how to communicate in the interactive, digital world while keeping abreast of a constantly changing business environment? In that case, the master programme in Business Communication was made for you!
This course helps you to understand and anticipate the risks and opportunities of digitalisation, and to master the art of communication in a whole new way. Today, it is not enough to build a message to reach a target audience. You also have to know how to engage and co-construct a relationship with different stakeholders.
By choosing this master programme, you can personalise your degree course by combining one compulsory Communication module with a specialisation in Management, Economics, Ethics and Economics or Business Informatics. Another advantage is that you can complete a bilingual or trilingual curriculum by attending courses in French, German and English.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Description of the programme
The programme consists of two modules.

The objective of module 1 (compulsory) is to examine three aspects of communication in greater depth as part of a study programme focused on companies and organisations. The three aspects are:

  • Strategic communication: Which stakeholder should be addressed first in a communication plan? How do you manage Twitter and Facebook conversations during a crisis? How do you proactively build an online community? How do you communicate sustainability programmes to a sceptical audience? How do you generate social value and ethical consumerism in companies through communication?
  • Digitalisation and use of media: How do you create open-source platforms that allow citizens to get involved in an organisation's strategic decision-making? How has the digital transformation changed user communication? How do you develop a content strategy to create a customer, citizen or employee orientation?
  • Communication in a digital and media context: How do public and political actors communicate? What mobilisation strategies do the different social, economic and media actors develop? What are the different media systems, and what is their role at the societal level? How do you develop a digital advocacy strategy for an organisation or a political or public actor?

The objective of module 2 (optional) is to acquire multidisciplinary skills relating to, for example, human resources, financial management, ethics in development and global change, social computing, etc. This second module is crucial because to communicate in an optimal way, a professional has to be able to understand how an organisation works (option Management), how public policies are negotiated (option Economics), how artificial intelligence works (option Business Informatics) and how a sustainability strategy is developed (option Ethics and Economics).

Fribourg profile
The Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) at the University of Fribourg is known for its international expertise in the field of business communication.

Thanks to our advanced teaching methods, you have the opportunity to immerse yourself in the world of work with challenges, case studies and multimedia simulations carried out in the classroom, applying the theoretical knowledge you have acquired during your degree course. While studying for your master's degree in Business Communication, you will also have the chance to put your knowledge into practice by learning how to manage web supports (sites, blogs, etc.), lead team projects and scientific research, and also build contacts with companies, especially when writing your thesis.

Our master programme offers you the freedom and flexibility you need: you have numerous options to choose from and can attend most of the courses in the order you wish. In addition, with a wide choice of specialisations available, you can complement your master programme in Business Communication in accordance with your own interests, thereby gaining optimal, additional expertise.

In our programme, we place special emphasis on interactive and innovative teaching methods and excellent mentoring of our students, which includes close collaboration and regular feedback. You also have the opportunity to spend an exchange semester at one of our numerous partner universities abroad.

The master programme in Business Communication consists of courses in French and English. You can also take courses in German. This provides the only opportunity in Switzerland to study this subject bilingually or trilingually (distinction «Bilingual curriculum: French/German» on your diploma, or mention of the languages of study on the diploma: «The candidate completed the programme in French and English» or «The candidate completed the programme in French, German and English»).

Learning outcomes and career prospects
On completing your master's degree in Business Communication, you will be equipped for a position of responsibility in information and communication in a business context. For example, our alumni are communication officers, digital content managers, employer brand specialists, digital marketing managers, consumer data analysts, online community managers, journalists, public diplomacy specialists and brand managers.

The degree course also provides academic prospects, for example as a scientific research worker, and gives you access to doctoral studies. To get an idea of what we do in our department, take a look at the different themes of our research projects.

According to a survey carried out in 2019, 67% of our alumni found a job within three months of completing their studies. By six months after the end of their studies, 87% had found a job. Our alumni hold intermediate (52%), junior (25%), senior (16%) and higher (7%) positions. Their employers are diverse: the Swiss Confederation, Swiss Post, SBB, Philip Morris, Siemens, Swiss Olympic, Ringier, Festi'neuch, etc.

Among our alumni, those who chose the specialisation Management are digital marketing communication managers or digital communication specialists, for example. Those who completed the specialisation Economics tend to work in communication for international organisations, national banks or public administration. Those who completed the specialisation Ethics and Economics work as communication and sustainability managers for companies or public institutions. Lastly, those who completed the specialisation Business Informatics work as data analysis experts in a communication context (e.g. stakeholder monitoring).

To find out more, watch our presentation video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTgafU2YT3s&feature=emb_logo).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credit in a specialisation programme freely chosen, 3 or 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/2GtJ5 (French only)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Business Communication

Kurzbeschreibung

Sie möchten lernen, in einer digitalen und interaktiven Welt zu kommunizieren und im sich verändernden Umfeld, in dem sich die Unternehmen bewegen, den Überblick zu behalten? Dann ist der Master in Business Communication für Sie genau das Richtige!
Dieser Studiengang hilft Ihnen, zu verstehen, wie die Chancen und Risiken der Digitalisierung antizipiert und Kommunikationsmuster neu überdacht werden können. Heutzutage genügt es nicht, eine Botschaft zu formulieren, um ein bestimmtes Zielpublikum zu erreichen. Es gilt auch zu verstehen, wie Beziehungen zu den unterschiedlichen Stakeholdern aufgebaut und im wechselseitigen Austausch gefestigt werden können.
Wenn Sie sich für diesen Master entscheiden, können Sie Ihr Studiengang individuell gestalten und ein Pflichtmodul in Kommunikation mit einer Spezialisierung in Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Volkswirtschaft, Ethik und Volkswirtschaftslehre oder Wirtschaftsinformatik kombinieren. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass Sie Lehrveranstaltungen in französischer, deutscher und englischer Sprache besuchen können, um einen zwei- oder dreisprachigen Studiengang zu absolvieren.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Programmbeschreibung
Das Programm besteht aus zwei Modulen.

Ziel des ersten Moduls (Pflichtmodul) ist die Vertiefung von drei Aspekten der Kommunikation im Rahmen eines auf Unternehmen und Organisationen ausgerichteten Studienprogramms. Bei diesen drei Aspekten handelt es sich um:

  • Strategische Kommunikation: Welche Stakeholder sollen im Kommunikationsplan zuerst angesprochen werden? Wie handhabt man in einer Krise Gespräche auf Twitter und Facebook? Wie kann man proaktiv eine Online-Community aufbauen? Wie kommuniziert man Nachhaltigkeitsprogramme einem skeptischen Publikum? Wie stellt man sozialen Wert und ethischen Konsum in Unternehmen mittels Kommunikation heraus?
  • Digitalisierung und Mediennutzung: Wie erstellt man Open-Source-Plattformen, um die Bürgerinnen und Bürger in die strategischen Entscheidungsprozesse einer Organisation einzubeziehen? Inwiefern hat die digitale Transformation die Kommunikation der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer verändert? Wie baut man eine Content-Strategie auf, um eine Kunden-, Bürger- oder Mitarbeiterorientierung zu fördern?
  • Kommunikation im digitalen und medialen Umfeld: Wie kommunizieren öffentliche und politische Akteure? Welche Einbindungsstrategien entwickeln die verschiedenen Akteure aus Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Medien? Welche Mediensysteme gibt es und welche Rolle spielen sie in der Gesellschaft? Wie entwickelt man eine digitale Advocacy-Strategie für eine Organisation oder einen politischen oder öffentlichen Akteur?

Ziel des zweiten Moduls (Wahlmodul) ist der Erwerb interdisziplinärer Kompetenzen, beispielsweise in den Bereichen Personalwesen, Finanzmanagement, Ethik in der Geschäftsentwicklung und im globalen Wandel oder Social Computing. Dieses zweite Modul spielt eine wesentliche Rolle, denn wer als Fachperson optimal kommunizieren will, muss verstehen können, wie Organisationen funktionieren (Option Betriebswirtschaftslehre), wie öffentliche Politiken ausgehandelt werden (Option Volkswirtschaftslehre), wie künstliche Intelligenz funktioniert (Option Wirtschaftsinformatik), wie Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien entstehen (Option Ethik und Volkswirtschaftslehre).

Freiburger Profil
Das Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung (DCM) der Universität Freiburg ist für seine internationale Expertise auf dem Gebiet der Organisationskommunikation bekannt.

Dank unserer fortschrittlichen Lehrmethoden haben Sie die Möglichkeit, in die Arbeitswelt einzutauchen und Challenges, Fallstudien und multimediale Simulationen im Unterricht durchzuführen. So können Sie die im Studium erworbenen theoretischen Kenntnisse anwenden. Während Ihres Studiums in Business Communication haben Sie zudem Gelegenheit, Ihre Kenntnisse in die Praxis umzusetzen und zu lernen, Online-Ressourcen wie Websites und Blogs zu verwalten, Teamprojekte und wissenschaftliche Forschungen zu steuern sowie Verbindungen mit Unternehmen aufzubauen. Dies gilt insbesondere für die individuell zu erstellende Masterarbeit.

Unser Master bietet Ihnen die Freiheit und Flexibilität, die Sie brauchen: Sie verfügen über zahlreiche Optionen und können in den meisten Fällen selbst einteilen, wann Sie welche Lehrveranstaltungen besuchen. Ausserdem können Sie Ihr Masterstudium in Business Communication mit einem breiten Spektrum an Spezialisierungen nach Ihren eigenen Interessen ergänzen und eine optimale Zusatzqualifikation erwerben.

In unserer Lehre ist es uns neben dem Fokus auf Interaktion und Innovation besonders wichtig, unseren Studierenden eine hervorragende Betreuung zu bieten, was mit einer engen Zusammenarbeit und regelmässigem Feedback einhergeht. Überdies haben Sie die Möglichkeit, ein Austauschsemester an einer unserer zahlreichen Partneruniversitäten im Ausland zu absolvieren.

Das Masterstudienprogramm in Business Communication enthält Lehrveranstaltungen in französischer und englischer Sprache. Sie können auch Kurse in deutscher Sprache belegen. So haben Sie die in der Schweiz einmalige Gelegenheit, in zwei oder drei Sprachen zu studieren (Diplom mit dem Zusatz «Zweisprachiges Studium, Deutsch/Französisch» oder Vermerk der Studiensprachen auf dem Diplom: «Der Kandidat hat den Studiengang in Französisch und Englisch absolviert» oder «Der Kandidat hat den Studiengang in Französisch, Deutsch und Englisch absolviert»).

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Nach dem Erwerb des Masters in Business Communication sind Sie in der Lage, eine Führungsposition in den Bereichen Information und Kommunikation im Unternehmen einzunehmen. Unsere ehemaligen Studierenden sind beispielsweise Kommunikationsbeauftragte, Content-Managerinnen/Content-Manager, Spezialistinnen/Spezialisten für Employer Branding, Digital-Marketing-Managerinnen/Digital-Marketing-Manager, Analystinnen/Analysten für Verbraucherdaten, Online-Community-Managerinnen/Online-Community-Manager, Journalistinnen/Journalisten, Spezialistinnen/Spezialisten für Public Diplomacy und Brand-Managerinnen/ Brand-Manager.

Dieses Programm eröffnet auch akademische Perspektiven, namentlich als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, und ermöglicht den Zugang zum Doktorat. Um einen Überblick darüber zu erhalten, was in unserem Departement läuft, werfen Sie einen Blick in die verschiedenen Themenbereiche unserer Forschungsprojekte.

Laut einer 2019 durchgeführten Umfrage haben 67 Prozent unserer ehemaligen Studierenden innerhalb von drei Monaten nach Abschluss ihres Studiums eine Beschäftigung gefunden. Sechs Monate nach Beendigung des Studiums hatten 87 Prozent eine Beschäftigung gefunden. Unsere ehemaligen Studierenden haben mittlere Positionen (52 Prozent), Junior-Positionen (25 Prozent), Senior-Positionen (16 Prozent) und höhere Positionen (7 Prozent) inne. Ihre Arbeitgeber sind: Bund, Post, SBB, Philip Morris, Siemens, Swiss Olympic, Ringier, Festi'neuch und viele mehr.

Ehemalige Studierende mit Spezialisierung Betriebswirtschaftslehre sind heute unter anderem als Leiterinnen und Leiter Kommunikation und Digitalmarketing oder als Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten für digitale Kommunikation tätig. Diejenigen mit Spezialisierung Volkswirtschaftslehre arbeiten eher in der Kommunikation für internationale Organisationen, nationale Banken oder die öffentliche Verwaltung. Diejenigen mit Spezialisierung Ethik und Volkswirtschaftslehre leiten die Bereiche Kommunikation und Nachhaltigkeit in Unternehmen oder öffentlichen Einrichtungen. Diejenigen, die sich für die Spezialisierung Wirtschaftsinformatik entschieden haben, arbeiten als Expertinnen und Experten für Datenanalyse im Kommunikationskontext (z.B. Stakeholder-Monitoring).

Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Präsentationsfilm: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTgafU2YT3s&feature=emb_logo

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in einem Spezialisierungsprogramm nach Wahl, 3 oder 4 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/2GtJ5 (Französisch)

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf die im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines universitären Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Universitären Hochschule werden ohne Bedingungen zum Masterstudium zugelassen, wenn sie, je nach gewünschtem Masterstudium, 60 oder 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in derselben Studienrichtung erworben haben. Es können jedoch Auflagen verfügt werden. Dasselbe Prinzip gilt für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Schweizer oder ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird, welche diese Bedingung nicht erfüllen, können mit Bedingungen (vor Beginn des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) und/oder Auflagen (während des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) zum Masterstudium zugelassen werden. Diese Studienleistungen dürfen 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte nicht überschreiten. Dasselbe trifft für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Fachhochschule zu, gemäss den massgebenden Konventionen.

Die spezifischen Zulassungsbedingungen jedes Masterstudienprogrammes bleiben vorbehalten.