Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Communication and Media Research

Abstract

The University of Fribourg's Master programme in Communication and Media Research offers a comprehensive overview of theories, research fields and topical developments in the media and communication sector. This Master programme provides a multi-faceted, problem-oriented and internationally comparative study of the interplay between media, society, organisations and individuals. Moreover, according to their own preferences and interests, our students are given the opportunity to specialise in one of three core areas that will also be noted on their diploma: «Media, Politics and the Economy», «Journalism and Organisational Communication», «Media Use and Effects».

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fribourg profile
The Master programme at the Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) offers you a solid scientific education. Beyond acquiring knowledge you learn to critically analyse and independently research topical and societally relevant phenomena in media and communication. In small groups, you will acquire competences that are in demand in various occupational areas in the media and communication sector. Our dedicated team ensures diverse courses, excellent supervision and regular feedback.
Our Master programme offers the freedom and flexibility you need thanks to the variety of courses offered and the possibility to determine your timeschedule yourself. A large offer of minor study programmes at the University of Fribourg enables you to complement your studies of communication according to your own interests

Learning outcomes and career openings
The study programme is aimed at teaching profound scientific knowledge and methods and prepares you for careers in the fields of media management, journalism, politics, administration and NPOs, science, consulting in communication, public relations and communication management, marketing, market research and media planning. The possibility of the recognition of an internship offers opportunities to make contacts at an early stage with the media and communication practice.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/PWEqb

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Masterstudium in Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung an der Universität Freiburg bietet einen umfassenden Überblick über Theorien, Forschungsfelder und aktuelle Entwicklungen im Medien- und Kommunikationsbereich. Unser Master ermöglicht Ihnen eine differenzierte, problemorientierte und international vergleichende Auseinandersetzung mit dem Zusammenspiel von Medien, Gesellschaft, Organisation und Individuum. Gleichzeitig haben Sie die Möglichkeit, sich entsprechend Ihrer individuellen Präferenzen in einem von drei Schwerpunkten zu spezialisieren, der auch auf Ihrem Diplom vermerkt wird: «Media, Politics and the Economy», «Journalism and Organisational Communication», «Media Use and Effects».

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Freiburger Profil
Mit dem Masterstudium am Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung (DCM) bieten wir Ihnen eine fundierte wissenschaftliche Ausbildung. Über reines Fachwissen hinaus lernen Sie, aktuelle und gesellschaftlich relevante Medienphänomene kritisch zu analysieren und selbstständig zu erforschen. Somit erwerben Sie bei uns in kleinen Gruppen Wissen und Kompetenzen, die in zahlreichen Berufsfeldern im Medien- und Kommunikationssektor gefragt sind. Unser engagiertes Team garantiert vielseitige Lehrveranstaltungen, eine hervorragende Betreuung und regelmässiges Feedback.
Unser Master bietet Ihnen auch die Freiheit und Flexibilität, die Sie brauchen: Durch den Verzicht auf fixe Stundenpläne haben Sie zahlreiche Wahlmöglichkeiten und können die meisten Veranstaltungen in einer selbst festgelegten Reihenfolge belegen. Ein vielfältiges Angebot an Nebenprogrammen erlaubt Ihnen zudem, Ihr Studium der Kommunikationswissenschaft gemäss Ihren eigenen Interessen sinnvoll zu ergänzen und sich optimal weiterzuqualifizieren.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das Studienangebot zielt auf die Vermittlung wissenschaftlich fundierter Kenntnisse und Methoden ab und bereitet Sie vor auf Karrieren z.B. in Medienmanagement, Journalismus, Politik, Verwaltung und NGOs, Wissenschaft, Kommunikationsberatung, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Kommunikationsmanagement, Marketing, Marktforschung oder Mediaplanung. Durch anrechenbare Praktika besteht die Möglichkeit, frühzeitig Kontakte zur Medien- und Kommunikationspraxis zu knüpfen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/hxTyS

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf die im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines universitären Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Universitären Hochschule werden ohne Bedingungen zum Masterstudium zugelassen, wenn sie, je nach gewünschtem Masterstudium, 60 oder 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in derselben Studienrichtung erworben haben. Es können jedoch Auflagen verfügt werden. Dasselbe Prinzip gilt für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Schweizer oder ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird, welche diese Bedingung nicht erfüllen, können mit Bedingungen (vor Beginn des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) und/oder Auflagen (während des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) zum Masterstudium zugelassen werden. Diese Studienleistungen dürfen 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte nicht überschreiten. Dasselbe trifft für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Fachhochschule zu, gemäss den massgebenden Konventionen.

Die spezifischen Zulassungsbedingungen jedes Masterstudienprogrammes bleiben vorbehalten.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).