Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Economics

Abstract

The master programme in economics focuses on the analysis and evaluation of economic, social and development policies. Important aspects are, for instance, the optimal regulation of markets and the interaction between the public and private sectors.
The curriculum comprises both economic theory and data-based (i.e. empirical) methods to investigate economically and socially relevant issues and to develop policy recommendations. The programme permits students to choose a specialisation in one of the options listed below (without obligation): «Public Economics and Policy», «Sustainable Development and Social Responsibility», «Quantitative Economics», or «Business Economics».
The study programme in economics also provides the opportunity to acquire a double degree in «Public Economics and Public Finance» in collaboration with one of three European partner universities.
The programme in economics at the University of Fribourg combines modern teaching and research in a multilingual environment with the humanistic tradition of the University.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study programme in economics focuses on the analysis and evaluation of economic, social and development policies. Important aspects are, for instance, the optimal regulation of markets and the interaction between the public and private sectors. The curriculum comprises both economic theory and data-based (i.e. empirical) methods to investigate economically and socially relevant issues and to develope policy recommendations.

Students in the master programme in economics may acquire specific qualifiers, i.e. either a specialisation in a specific field (called «option») or a double degree, as well as the distinction «Bilingual curriculum, French/German». The course offer provides a lot of flexibility and varies w.r.t. the desired qualifier.

The option «Public Economics and Policy» provides students with an advanced background in analysing public decision-making and public policies. It offers courses with a wide range of topics with both a Swiss and an international perspective on tax and fiscal policies, social and economic policies, the economic analysis of politics, etc. This option prepares students to work in international organisations, in the public administration at the federal, cantonal or municipal level, etc. A double-degree programme is offered in collaboration with European partner-universities.

The option «Sustainable development and social responsibility» offers a specialisation in topical issues, namely the implementation of a sustainable and fair economic model. Thanks to multi-disciplinary courses, students will tackle themes related to the development in the poorest countries, inequality and environment protection. The teaching includes primarily economics, but also philosophy, management, law and environmental sciences. The option therefore offers a complete and original training on the theme of sustainable development with a multiplicity of approaches.

The option «Quantitative Economics» focusses on quantitative methods for analysing data sets based on statistics, econometrics, machine learning (artificial intelligence), and network science. The courses discuss the methods' theoretical properties as well as their practical application to economic questions (e.g. in the fields of public policies, finance, development, and education) using software packages such as R, Stata and Python. The option provides state-of-the-art training in data analytics and empirical economics, which are key domains in a digitised economy.

The option «Business Economics» allows students to specialise in microeconomics, at the intersection of economics and management. Students acquire an understanding of strategic decisions of companies from a management perspective, as well as of the strategic interaction of firms in markets from an economic perspective. They learn to analyse the behaviour of organisations, strategic actors within organisations, as well as of the behaviour of consumers. While the management perspective focuses on the objectives of the company, the economic perspective prioritises questions of social welfare and regulation. The option provides an excellent qualification for work with a focus on strategy and analytics in companies, as well as for positions in public institutions with a focus on markets, competition and regulation.

The double degree programme in «Public Economics and Public Finance» is offered together with three European partner universities of the University of Fribourg: Université de Rennes 1, France (https://www.univ-rennes1.fr/); University of Tampere, Finland (http://www.uta.fi); Università degli Studi del Piemonte Orientale, Italy (http://www.eppac.eu). This programme focuses on the management of public institutions.
Students interested in this specialisation are required to submit an application due to space constraints and registration at both universities. In this four-semester-programme, at least one semester must be spent at a partner university. The programme requires the participation in courses both at the home and partner university as well as the co-supervision of the master thesis at both universities.
Graduates receive two diplomas, one from the home and partner university, respectively. The acquisition of the double degree and the multilingual nature of the programme give proof of being well equipped for an international work environment.

Fribourg profile
The Department of Economics combines modern economic teaching and research with the humanistic tradition of the University of Fribourg. Students are empowered to provide answers to economic, social, and business related issues and to implement them in practice. The favourable staff-student-ratio, the strong orientation towards real world applications and the multilingual course offer (French – German – English) optimally prepare students for the challenges of multicultural work environment.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The master programme in economics at the University of Fribourg opens a range of career opportunities in the public and private sectors. Unlike in any other Swiss university, the programme combines solid training in theoretical and data-based methods for analysing economic issues in the society and in firms with a multilingual course offer. Graduates are therefore equally in demand in the public administration, in companies (in particular in the financial insurance sectors), and in education and research.

Some professional fields are:

  • Management positions in the public administration on the municipal, cantonal, or federal level;
  • Management or analyst positions in Swiss or international companies (e.g. market and competor analyses, business analytics, big data management, strategic management);
  • Management and analyst positions in central banks, international organisations (e.g. world bank, UN) and NGOs (e.g. Greenpeace);
  • Consulting and analyst positions in banks, insurance companies, financial service providers, management consulting companies, and auditors;
  • Research positions in universities and public or private research institutes;
  • Teaching positions in universities, colleges, and schools.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/o4j52 (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/8Snjt (German)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Volkswirtschaftslehre

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Masterprogramm in Volkswirtschaftslehre stellt die Analyse und Beurteilung von Wirtschafts-, Sozial- und Entwicklungspolitik in den Vordergrund. Im Fokus stehen z.B. die Regulierung von Märkten und das Zusammenspiel zwischen öffentlichem und privatem Sektor.
Das Studium vermittelt sowohl ökonomische Theorien als auch datenbasierte (d.h. empirische) Methoden zur Untersuchung wirtschaftlich und gesellschaftlich relevanter Fragestellungen und Ableitung wirtschaftlicher und politischer Handlungsempfehlungen. Das modular aufgebaute Studienprogramm erlaubt es, fachspezifische Module (z.B. Wirtschaftspolitik, Wirtschaftstheorie, Quantitative Volkswirtschaftslehre und andere) durch den Besuch mehrerer Modul-relevanter Kurse zu absolvieren. Des Weiteren können Studierende eine der folgenden Optionen wählen (sind dazu aber nicht verpflichtet): «Politik des öffentlichen Sektors» (Public Policy), «Nachhaltige Entwicklung und soziale Verantwortung» (Sustainable Development and Social Responsibility) oder «Industrieökonomik und Finanzwirtschaft» (Industrial Organisation and Finance).
Das Studienprogramm in Volkswirtschaftslehre bietet zudem die Möglichkeit, ein Doppeldiplom in «Public Economics and Public Finance» in Zusammenarbeit mit einer von drei europäischen Partneruniversitäten zu erlangen.
Das Programm in Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Freiburg kombiniert moderne Lehre und Forschung in einem mehrsprachigen Umfeld mit der humanistischen Tradition der Universität.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Im Studienprogramm in Volkswirtschaftslehre stehen die Analyse und Beurteilung von Wirtschafts-, Sozial- und Entwicklungspolitik im Vordergrund. Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte umfassen z.B. die Regulierung von Märkten und das Zusammenspiel zwischen öffentlichem und privatem Sektor. Das Studium vermittelt sowohl ökonomische Theorien, als auch datenbasierte (d.h. empirische) Methoden zur Untersuchung gesellschaftlich relevanter Fragestellungen und Entwicklung wirtschaftlicher und politischer Handlungsempfehlungen.

Im Rahmen des Master of Arts in Volkswirtschaftslehre kann einen Spezialisierungsvermerk erworben werden, entweder eine sogenannte Option (Spezialisierung in einem Fachgebiet) oder ein Doppeldiplom, sowie der Vermerk «Zweisprachiges Studium». Das modular aufgebaute Kursangebot bietet eine grosse Flexibilität und variiert in Abhängigkeit des angestrebten Spezialisierungsvermerkes.

Die Option «Politik des öffentlichen Sektors» (Public Policy) basiert auf einer Kombination der beiden Pflichtmodule «Ökonomik des öffentlichen Sektors und Finanzwissenschaft» (Public Economics & Public Finance) und «Wirtschaftspolitik» (Economic Policy) mit weiteren, frei wählbaren Kursen und Modulen aus dem MA Programm. Absolventinnen und Absolventen qualifizieren sich insbesondere für Aufgaben im öffentlichen Sektor in der Schweiz und anderen Ländern, v.a. unter Inanspruchnahme des mehrsprachigen Kursprogramms.

Die Option «Nachhaltige Entwicklung und soziale Verantwortung» (Sustainable Development and Social Responsibility) basiert auf einer Kombination der beiden Pflichtmodule «Nachhaltige Entwicklung» (Economic Sustainability and Development) und «Wirtschaftsethik und soziale Verantwortung» (Business Ethics and Social Responsibility) mit weiteren, frei wählbaren Kursen und Modulen aus dem MA Programm. Sie folgt innerhalb der Volkswirtschaftslehre dem humanistischen Ansatz, für welchen die Universität Freiburg bekannt ist.

Die Option «Industrieökonomik und Finanzwirtschaft» (Industrial Organisation and Finance) basiert auf einer Kombination der beiden Pflichtmodule «Industrieökonomik» (Industrial Organisation) und «Finanzwirtschaft» (Finance) mit weiteren, frei wählbaren Kursen und Modulen aus dem MA Programm. Inhaltlich schlägt sie eine Brücke zwischen Fragestellungen der Volks- und Betriebswirtschaftslehre und kombiniert wissenschaftliche mit praxis- und insbesondere unternehmensrelevanten Aspekten beider Disziplinen.

Das Doppeldiplom-Programm «Public Economics and Public Finance» wird gemeinsam mit drei europäischen Partneruniversitäten der Universität Freiburg angeboten: Université de Rennes 1, Frankreich (http://www.eco.univ-rennes1.fr); University of Tampere, Finnland (http://www.uta.fi); Università degli Studi del Piemonte Orientale, Italien (http://www.eppac.eu). Im Fokus des Programms stehen die effektive Steuerung von Institutionen des öffentlichen Sektors.
Für diese Spezialisierung besteht aufgrund limitierter Plätze und der Einschreibung an beiden Universitäten Anmeldungspflicht. Das Programm besteht aus vier Studiensemestern, wobei mindestens ein Semester an einer Partneruniversität absolviert werden muss. Das Programm sieht den Besuch von Kursen sowohl an der Heim- als auch der Partneruniversität vor sowie die gemeinsame Betreuung der Masterarbeit an beiden Universitäten.
Absolventinnen und Absolventen erhalten zwei Diplome, jeweils eines der Heim- und der Partneruniversität. Mit dem Erwerb dieses doppelten Abschlusses (double degree) und der Mehrsprachigkeit ihres Studiums stellen die Studierenden ihre Eignung für ein internationales Arbeitsumfeld in besonderem Masse unter Beweis.

Freiburger Profil
Das Department für Volkswirtschaftslehre kombiniert moderne wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Lehre und Forschung mit der humanistischen Tradition der Universität Freiburg. Die Studierenden werden befähigt, Antworten auf wirtschaftliche, gesellschaftliche und unternehmerische Herausforderungen zu geben und in die Praxis umzusetzen. Das hervorragende Betreuungsverhältnis am Departement, der starke Anwendungsbezug der Lehre und die Mehrsprachigkeit des Kursangebots (Deutsch - Französisch - Englisch) bereiten die Studierenden optimal auf die Aufgaben in einem interkulturellen Arbeitsumfeld vor.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Der Abschluss eines Masters in Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Freiburg eröffnet ein breites Spektrum and Berufsmöglichkeiten im privaten und öffentlichen Sektor. Wie an keiner anderen Schweizer Universität kombiniert das Masterprogramm eine fundierte Ausbildung in theoretischen und datenbasierten Methoden zur Analyse von wirtschaftlichen Fragestellungen in der Gesellschaft und in Unternehmen mit der Möglichkeit, in mehreren Sprachen zu studieren. Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind deshalb gleichermassen in der öffentlichen Verwaltung, in Unternehmen aller Branchen und speziell im Finanzund Versicherungssektor sowie in Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen gefragt.

Einige Berufsfelder sind:

  • Leitende oder beratende Funktionen in der öffentlichen Verwaltung auf Gemeinde-, Kantons- und Bundesebene;
  • Managementfunktionen und Analysetätigkeit in nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen (z.B. Markt- und Konkurrenzanalysen, business analytics, big data management, Stabsaufgaben im Bereich Strategie und Organisation);
  • Management und Analysetätigkeit in Zentralbanken (z.B. SNB), internationalen Organisationen (z.B. Weltbank, UNO) und Nicht- Regierungs-Organisationen (z.B. Greenpeace);
  • Management, Beratung und Analysetätigkeit in Banken, Versicherungen und weiteren Finanzdienstleistern;
  • Beratungstätigkeit in Consulting-Firmen und Wirtschaftsprüfern;
  • Forschung an Universitäten sowie öffentlichen und privaten Forschungsinstituten;
  • Dozentin oder Dozent für Wirtschaft an Mittelschulen, Fachhochschulen und Universitäten.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/TbVuN

Zulassung

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in Volkswirtschafts- oder Betriebswirtschaftslehre (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in Volks- oder Betriebswirtschaftslehre) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.