Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

European Business

Abstract

The study programme is management-oriented with a strong emphasis on international management and a focus on business in Europe. Designed to teach methods, concepts and tools to manage international companies, it also builds intercultural awareness and the soft skills necessary to be a successful and valuable member of an international management team. With a rich offer of courses from different management fields (strategy, finance, HR, etc.), this study programme builds on lectures but also group work and case studies in intercultural teams; excursions to companies and visits from executives from multinational companies and international organisations. In addition, the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Fribourg together with the EM Strasbourg Business School in France and the Università di Pavia in Italy have established two Double degree programmes leading to two Master's degrees, with one year in Fribourg and one year in Strasbourg or Pavia.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Today's business environment requires managers with an international perspective. The entry into foreign markets, the organisation of cross-border production processes and the creation of worldwide innovation is crucial for the success of many companies today. Therefore, executives must understand the complexity of international business, must be able to manage within an increasingly global environment, identify global business opportunities and compete against international competitors.
The Master of Arts in European Business is a management-oriented Master with a strong emphasis on international management and in particular with a focus on Business in Europe. The study programme is designed to teach the necessary methods, concepts and tools to manage international companies as well as to build intercultural awareness and soft skills that are necessary to be a successful and valuable member of an international management team.
The study programme does not neglect the business opportunities in other regions of the world (in particular Emerging Markets), but some emphasis is put on the particularities of Western and Eastern Europe since these are the dominant target regions for companies from all over Europe, including Switzerland.

Fribourg profile
With a rich offer of courses from different management fields (strategy, marketing, finance, HR, etc.), the study programme builds on lectures but also on group work and case studies in intercultural teams; excursions to companies are offered and executives from multinational companies and international organisations frequently visit the faculty to present their international strategies and to discuss recent issues with the students.
In addition, the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Fribourg together with the EM Strasbourg Business School in France and the Università di Pavia in Italy provides the option for selected students to add a Double degree programmes leading to the award of two university Master's degrees, with one year in Fribourg and one year in Strasbourg or Pavia. On both diplomas it is mentioned that the student is awarded a Double degree.

Career openings
The study programme is designed primarily for students in management that eventually wish to work in an international context. With the Master of Arts in European Business, students will acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to assume the responsibilities and decision making within any multinational company or organisation. Depending on the specialisation that students choose in the optional module, they can develop the necessary skills to work in an executive position in marketing, general management, finance or managerial accounting.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters
or
120 ECTS credits, 4 Semesters, for the optional Double degree programmes.

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/PWEqb

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

European Business

Kurzbeschreibung

Dieses Studienprogramm der BWL widmet sich dem internationalen Management im Allgemeinen und der Geschäftstätigkeit in Europa im Besonderen. Die Studierenden erhalten Einblick in die zum Management international tätiger Unternehmen benötigten Methoden, Konzepte und Werkzeuge. Ferner werden ihnen ein interkulturelles Bewusstsein und wichtige Sozialkompetenzen vermittelt, um sie in die Lage zu versetzen, erfolgreich in internationalen Managementteams mitzuarbeiten. Das vielfältige Angebot an Kursen aus verschiedenen Fachgebieten (Strategie, Marketing Finanzen, Personalwesen usw.) umfasst Vorlesungen, Gruppenarbeit und Fallstudien in interkulturellen Teams. Aber auch Unternehmensexkursionen und Besuche von Führungskräften multinationaler Unternehmen und internationaler Organisationen stehen auf dem Programm. Zudem bietet die Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Freiburg mit der EM Strasbourg Business School in Frankreich und der Università di Pavia in Italien wahlweise für ausgewählte Studierende die Möglichkeit eines Doppeldiploms. Im Rahmen dieser Masterprogramme wird ein Studienjahr in Freiburg absolviert und ein Studienjahr in Strassburg oder Pavia.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Manager stehen heutzutage vor der Aufgabe, einen internationalen Blickwinkel zu entwickeln. So sind der Eintritt in ausländische Märkte, die Organisation grenzüberschreitender Fertigungsprozesse und die Schaffung globaler Innovationen heute Voraussetzung für den Erfolg vieler Unternehmen. Geschäftsführer müssen die Komplexität internationaler Geschäfte verstehen und in der Lage sein, ein zunehmend globalisiertes Umfeld zu verwalten, weltweite Geschäftschancen zu nutzen und sich gegen internationale Wettbewerber zu behaupten.
Das auf Managementaspekte ausgerichtete Masterprogramm in European Business widmet sich dem internationalen Management im Allgemeinen und der Geschäftstätigkeit in Europa im Besonderen. Die Studierenden erhalten Einblick in die zur Verwaltung internationaler Unternehmen benötigten Methoden, Konzepte und Werkzeuge. Ferner werden ihnen ein interkulturelles Bewusstsein und wichtige Sozialkompetenzen vermittelt, um sie in die Lage zu versetzen, internationale Managementteams auf erfolgreiche und wertvolle Art zu unterstützen.
Das Studienprogramm widmet sich zwar auch den Geschäftsmöglichkeiten in anderen Gegenden der Welt (u.a. den Schwellenländern); die Betonung liegt jedoch auf den Besonderheiten in West- und Osteuropa, d.h. den Hauptzielregionen der meisten Unternehmen in Europa und der Schweiz.

Freiburger Profil
Das vielfältige Angebot an Kursen aus verschiedenen Geschäftsfeldern (Strategie, Marketing, Finanzen, Personalwesen usw.) setzt sich aus Vorlesungen, Gruppenarbeit und Fallstudien in interkulturellen Teams zusammen. Studierende können sich überdies an Unternehmensexkursionen beteiligen oder relevante Themen diskutieren anlässlich der Besuche von Führungskräften multinationaler Unternehmen und internationaler Organisationen.
Im Rahmen des BeNeFri-Abkommens können auch Kurse in Bern und Neuenburg besucht werden.
Zudem bietet die Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Freiburg mit der EM Strasbourg Business School in Frankreich und der Università di Pavia in Italien wahlweise, für ausgewählte Studenten, zwei Double Degree Programme entwickelt, die die Verleihung je zwei universitären Mastertiteln vorsehen. Im Rahmen dieser Programme wird ein Studienjahr in Freiburg absolviert und ein Studienjahr in Strassburg oder Pavia. Das Doppeldiplom wird auf beiden Urkunden angegeben.

Berufsperspektiven
Das Studienprogramm wendet sich hauptsächlich an Wirtschaftsstudierende, die in Multinationalen Unternehmen oder KMU mit internationaler Geschäftstätigkeit arbeiten möchten. Im Rahmen des Master of Arts in European Business erwerben sie das Wissen und die Fertigkeiten, um in multinationalen Unternehmen oder internationalen Organisationen Aufgaben erfüllen und Entscheidungen treffen zu können. In Abhängigkeit von ihrer Spezialisierung im Wahlmodul werden die Studierenden mit allen notwendigen Fähigkeiten ausgestattet, um eine führende Position im Marketing, in der Betriebsleitung, in der Finanzbuchhaltung oder im Controlling bekleiden zu können.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester
oder
120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 4 Semester, im Rahmen der optionalen Double degree Programme.

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/TbVuN

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.