Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Business Informatics

Abstract

The Master's programme comprises a first group of classes in information management and decision support, a second group in computer science, and a third group of optional classes in management. Students can create their personalized curriculum. In these groups, they have full access to the Swiss Joint Master in Computer Science, a programme jointly offered by the Universities of Fribourg, Bern and Neuchâtel. Over 60 courses are available, most of which are taught in English. Practice-orientation is incorporated in the topics addressed (e-business, e-commerce, e-government, supply chain management, revenue management, etc). It is also reflected in the internship at a company or other institution required as an integral part of the curriculum. Finally, the Master's thesis is typically completed on a problem in connection with a practical application.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Master of Science in Information Management gives candidates with a Bachelor's degree in Information Systems or related domains the opportunity to advance their knowledge and skills in the application of information and communication technologies in the economy and society.

The Master's programme comprises a first group of classes in information management and decision support, a second group in computer science, and a third group of optional classes in management. Students can create their personalized course of study choosing classes according to a required number of credits in the first two groups. In these groups, they have full access to the Swiss Joint Master in Computer Science (SJMCS), a programme jointly offered by the Universities of Fribourg, Bern and Neuchâtel, and benefit from the multiple advantages of the SJMCS (for further information, see also the study programme «Computer Science»). Over 60 courses are offered, some taught in German or French, and most of them taught in English, allowing also students who only know English to complete the program without problems.

Practice-orientation is a key attribute of the study programme. It is incorporated in the topics addressed (e-business, e-commerce, e-government, supply chain management, revenue management, etc). It is also reflected in the internship required as an integral part of the programme. This internship at a company or other institution provides the student the opportunity to apply the acquired knowledge and gain valuable practical experience. Finally, the Master's thesis is typically completed on a problem in connection with a practical application.

Learning outcomes and career openings
Offering a broad range of courses, coupled with a scientifically sound but practice-oriented approach, the Master of Science in Information Management is particularly suited to preparing students for the job market, where interdisciplinary experience and practical skills are highly valued in qualified graduates. A Master's degree in Information Management enables students to fill advanced positions in diverse economic sectors, including financial industries, high-tech companies, journalism and entertainment, public administration, teaching and continuing education, research, automation, gaming and sports, communication technology, engineering and knowledge management. It also gives them the opportunity to continue their studies towards a Ph.D. degree, offering further interesting careers in industry and academia. Altogether, it opens excellent professional perspectives, as applied computer scientists are worldwide in high demand.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/PWEqb

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Wirtschaftsinformatik

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Studienprogramm umfasst einerseits Vorlesungen im Bereich Wirtschaftsinformatik und Decision Support und andererseits Informatikkurse sowie Wahlvorlesungen in Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Die Studierenden können sich ihren Studienplan dabei selbst zusammenstellen. In den drei Teilbereichen können sie im Rahmen des Swiss Joint Master in Computer Science an über 60 Vorlesungen der Universitäten Freiburg, Bern und Neuenburg teilnehmen. Der Unterricht findet mehrheitlich in Englisch statt. Die behandelten Themen sind praxisorientiert und befassen sich u.a. mit E-Business, E-Commerce und E-Government, Supply Chain Management sowie Revenue Management. Auch das obligatorische Praktikum in der Wirtschaft oder einer öffentlichen Institution stärkt diese praktische Ausrichtung. In der Masterarbeit befassen sich die Studierenden schliesslich mit einer Fragestellung im Zusammenhang mit einer praktischen Anwendung.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Masterprogramm umfasst eine Vorlesungsgruppe zum Thema Wirtschaftsinformatik und Decision Support, eine zweite Gruppe an Informatikkursen und einen dritten Teilbereich mit Wahlkursen in der Betriebswirtschaft. Die Studierenden können sich ihren Studienplan unter Berücksichtigung der jeweiligen Kreditpunkte für die Kurse in den ersten beiden Gruppen selbst zusammenstellen. In diesem Rahmen haben sie Zugang zum Swiss Joint Master in Computer Science (SJMCS). Dieses Masterprogramm wird gemeinsam von den Universitäten Freiburg, Bern und Neuenburg angeboten und bietet den Studierenden zahlreiche Vorteile (weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie im Studienprogramm «Informatik»). So können sie über 60 Vorlesungen in Deutsch, Französisch, aber mehrheitlich in Englisch belegen. Somit können auch englischsprachige Studierende das Programm problemlos absolvieren.

Das Departement legt einen besonderen Wert auf ein praxisnahes Studium. Dies kommt insbesondere in den behandelten Themen zur Geltung (E-Business, E-Commerce, E-Government, Supply Chain Management, Revenue Management, usw.). Auch das obligatorische Praktikum in der Wirtschaft oder einer öffentlichen Institution zeugt von dieser Verankerung in der Praxis. In der Masterarbeit befassen sich die Studierenden schliesslich mit einer Fragestellung im Zusammenhang mit einer praktischen Anwendung.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Der Master of Arts in Wirtschaftsinformatik bietet ein breites Vorlesungsangebot und eine wissenschaftlich fundierte, praxisorientierte Ausrichtung. Er bereitet die Studierenden auf den Berufsmarkt vor, wo die Interdisziplinarität und die praktischen Fähigkeiten bei qualifizierten Absolventinnen und Absolventen besonders geschätzt werden. Der Masterstudiengang Wirtschaftsinformatik eröffnet den Studienabgängern Berufsmöglichkeiten in verschiedenen Wirtschaftszweigen, einschliesslich Finanzindustrie, Hightechunternehmen, Journalismus und Entertainment, öffentliche Verwaltung, Lehre und Weiterbildung, Forschung, Automatisierung, Gaming und Sport, Kommunikationstechnologie, Engineering und Wissensmanagement. Sie können auch ein Doktoratsstudium aufnehmen, das ihnen weitere interessante Berufsmöglichkeiten in der Industrie und im universitären Umfeld eröffnet.
Ganz allgemein bietet das Studium hervorragende Berufsmöglichkeiten, da weltweit eine hohe Nachfrage für praxisorientierte Informatikerinnen und Informatiker besteht.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/TbVuN

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).