Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Islam and Society

Abstract

More than practically any other subject, Islam is a key conflict issue in European societies. In national and international politics, education and social services, there is a struggle to achieve constructive interaction between Islam and society. The «Islam and Society» programme, which is unique in Switzerland, teaches skills for a differentiated approach to complex debates, in which central matters of the religious self-understanding of Muslims are raised and solutions to meet social challenges are proposed and established. The programme is offered by the Swiss Centre for Islam and Society (SZIG) at the University of Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The programme teaches skills related to the complex interactions between Islam and society. Through the examination of Islam, different fundamental issues relating to the self-understanding of European societies are broached from a new angle. On the one hand, based on social science or socio-philosophical theories and social practice, the course looks at the situation of Muslims in Europe. In relation with legal, political and social conditions, Islam is undergoing key transformation processes. On the other hand, it deals with the issue as to how Islamic thought develops based on its multiple traditions of knowledge in the European context and how it is positioned in ethical, philosophical and social discourses. How was and how is the heritage of Islamic traditions of knowledge, such as in the field of interpretations of the Quran or ethics, introspectively processed and made effective for the European context?

Fribourg profile
The study programme is based on offers from the Swiss Centre for Islam and Society (SZIG) and other Domains at the University of Fribourg. The SZIG is a centre of competence for current social issues related to Islam in Switzerland, resulting from a long-term dialogue process at federal level. The SZIG pursues a multi-perspective approach which also includes Islamic self-reflection. It is committed to a differentiated perception of the diversity of Islam at the level of individual identities and organisations. The SZIG maintains close contacts with different actors in the fields of politics, religion and civil society. Due to its varied advanced training programme and through the preparation of briefs on current themes, the SZIG has proven highly relevant in recent times. As an inter-faculty centre of the Faculties of Theology, Law and Arts and Humanities,it brings together different skills related to Islam and religion, which facilitate a varied study programme. Regular meetings and guest lectures with international guests broaden the study programme.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The programme is for students seeking an in-depth qualification with practical content in relation to Islam and society. In many of today's professional fields, skills connected to cultural and religious diversity are required. Therefore, the subject of Islam plays an important role for teachers, in health and social occupations, as well as for jobs in public administrations, culture, economy, finance and civic organisations. It is thus possible to combine the study programme with all major programmes.
Graduates acquire skills which they can bring to different areas of activity. They can use their Islamic-legitimated practices in a wide range of traditions. They are able to critically analyse interfaces between Islam, politics, law and ethics and make comparisons between different country contexts. Lastly, they can assess to what extent Muslim organisations can be involved in civic areas of activity. In this way, and combined with knowledge from other study programmes, they can function as mediators in complex and controversial situations.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/szig

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.
Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.
According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Islam und Gesellschaft

Kurzbeschreibung

Der Islam ist wie kaum ein anderes Thema zentraler Konfliktgegenstand in europäischen Gesellschaften. In den Bereichen nationaler wie internationaler Politik, Bildung und Sozialwesen wird um eine konstruktive Wechselbeziehung von Islam und Gesellschaft gerungen. Das schweizweit einzigartige Programm «Islam und Gesellschaft» vermittelt Kompetenzen für einen differenzierten Umgang mit komplexen Debatten, indem zentrale Fragen des muslimisch-religiösen Selbstverständnisses aufgegriffen und Lösungsvorschläge für gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen erarbeitet werden. Das Programm ist ein Studienangebot des Schweizerischen Zentrums für Islam und Gesellschaft (SZIG) an der Universität Freiburg.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Programm vermittelt Kompetenzen im Umgang mit komplexen Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Islam und Gesellschaft. In der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Islam werden verschiedene Grundfragen des Selbstverständnisses europäischer Gesellschaften neu aufgeworfen. Einerseits geht es darum, ausgehend von sozialwissenschaftlichen oder sozialphilosophischen Theorien und sozialer Praxis den Blick auf die Situation der Muslime in Europa zu richten. Im Zusammenhang rechtlicher, politischer und gesellschaftlicher Rahmenbedingungen unterliegt der Islam zentralen Transformationsprozessen. Andererseits geht es um die Frage, wie sich islamisches Denken auf der Grundlage seiner pluralen Wissenstraditionen im europäischen Kontext entwickelt und in ethischen, philosophischen und sozialen Diskursen positioniert. Wie wurde und wird das Erbe islamischer Wissenstraditionen etwa im Bereich der Koranauslegung oder der Ethik selbstreflexiv aufgearbeitet und für den europäischen Kontext fruchtbar gemacht?

Freiburger Profil
Das Studienprogramm speist sich aus Angeboten des Schweizerischen Zentrums für Islam und Gesellschaft (SZIG) und anderer Studienbereiche der Universität Freiburg. Das SZIG ist ein Kompetenzzentrum für aktuelle gesellschaftliche Fragen zum Islam in der Schweiz, welches aus einem langjährigen Dialogprozess auf Bundesebene hervorgegangen ist. Das SZIG verfolgt einen multiperspektivischen Ansatz, der, nicht zuletzt, auch eine islamische Selbstreflexion mit einschliesst. Es ist einer differenzierten Wahrnehmung der Vielfalt des Islams auf der Ebene von individuellen Identitäten wie Organisationen verpflichtet. Das SZIG pflegt enge Kontakte mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren in den Bereichen Politik, Religion und Zivilgesellschaft. Aufgrund seines vielfältigen Weiterbildungsprogramms und durch die Bearbeitung von Mandaten zu aktuellen Themen weist das SZIG einen hohen Praxisbezug auf. Als interfakultäres Zentrum der Theologischen, der Rechtswissenschaftlichen und der Philosophischen Fakultät führt es unterschiedliche islam- und religionsbezogene Kompetenzen zusammen, die ein vielfältiges Studienprogramm ermöglichen. Regelmässige Tagungen und Gastvorträge mit internationalen Gästen ergänzen das Studienangebot.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das Programm richtet sich an Studierende, die in Bezug auf Islam und Gesellschaft eine vertiefende Qualifikation mit praxisrelevanten Inhalten erwerben möchten. In vielen Berufsfeldern sind heute Kompetenzen im Umgang mit kultureller und religiöser Vielfalt gefragt. So spielt das Thema Islam eine wichtige Rolle für Lehrkräfte, Gesundheits- und Sozialberufe, aber auch für Tätigkeiten in der öffentlichen Verwaltung, in Kultur, Wirtschaft, Finanzwesen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen. Daher ist es möglich, das Studienprogramm mit allen Hauptprogrammen zu kombinieren.
Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen verfügen über Kompetenzen, die sie in unterschiedlichen Tätigkeitsfeldern einbringen können. Sie können islamisch legitimierte Praktiken in ein breites Spektrum an Traditionen einordnen. Sie sind in der Lage, Schnittstellen zwischen Islam, Politik, Recht und Ethik kritisch zu analysieren und Vergleiche zwischen unterschiedlichen Länderkontexten vorzunehmen. Schliesslich können sie einschätzen, inwiefern muslimische Organisationen in gesellschaftliche Handlungsfelder eingebunden werden können. Auf diese Weise sind sie – in Verbindung mit Kenntnissen aus anderen Studienprogrammen – in der Lage, in gleichermassen komplexen wie kontroversen Situationen als Vermittler zu fungieren.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Studienplan

http://www.unifr.ch/szig

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf die im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf.
Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Uni-versität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.
Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.