Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Medieval Studies

Abstract

The Middle Ages generally refers to the period of European cultures from the 5th to the 15th centuries. Interdisciplinary research into the heterogeneous and diverse culture of the European Middle Ages also serves to gain a deeper understanding of modern and contemporary developments.
Medieval Studies, an interdisciplinary minor study programme in the master's degree course, is aimed at students majoring in a subject that focuses on the medieval period who wish to gain complementary or more advanced knowledge and skills in other, interdisciplinary fields of medieval civilisation. This course is run by the Medieval Institute of the University of Fribourg.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Mediävistik

Kurzbeschreibung

Als Mittelalter wird im Allgemeinen die Epoche der europäischen Kulturen zwischen dem 5. und dem 15. Jahrhundert bezeichnet. Die interdisziplinäre Erforschung der heterogenen und vielschichtigen Kultur des europäischen Mittelalters dient auch einem tieferen Verständnis von neuzeitlichen und zeitgenössischen Entwicklungen.
Das interdisziplinäre Masternebenprogramm Mediävistik richtet sich an Studierende, die ein Hauptprogramm mit mediävistischem Schwerpunkt absolvieren und diese Studien durch Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf bereichsfremden bzw. interdisziplinären Gebieten der Mediävistik ergänzen oder vertiefen möchten. Es handelt sich um ein Angebot des Mediävistischen Instituts der Universität Freiburg.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf die im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines universitären Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Universitären Hochschule werden ohne Bedingungen zum Masterstudium zugelassen, wenn sie, je nach gewünschtem Masterstudium, 60 oder 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in derselben Studienrichtung erworben haben. Es können jedoch Auflagen verfügt werden. Dasselbe Prinzip gilt für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Schweizer oder ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird, welche diese Bedingung nicht erfüllen, können mit Bedingungen (vor Beginn des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) und/oder Auflagen (während des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) zum Masterstudium zugelassen werden. Diese Studienleistungen dürfen 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte nicht überschreiten. Dasselbe trifft für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Fachhochschule zu, gemäss den massgebenden Konventionen.

Die spezifischen Zulassungsbedingungen jedes Masterstudienprogrammes bleiben vorbehalten.