Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Legal Studies

Abstract

The Master of Arts in Legal Studies is aimed at persons who wish to acquire a sound fundamental knowledge of law, but do not want to complete full law studies. It chiefly addresses non-lawyers who are interested in Swiss law in the context of their professional activities, or lawyers who hold a foreign law degree.
Students draw up their own curriculum, which enables them to deepen their legal knowledge in line with their personal interests. Compulsory subjects can be freely combined with other subjects.
This Master's degree course is only offered at the Faculty of Law of the University of Fribourg.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Students create their own curriculum in consultation with the person responsible for the Master of Arts in Legal Studies, which means they can intensify their basic legal knowledge in accordance with their personal interests. They take some of the compulsory subjects in the Bachelor course –introduction to law, civil law, code of obligations, public law and criminal law – and combine these with freely selectable subjects from the Bachelor's and/or Master's programmes. This Master's degree course can be awarded with the distinction «Bilingual curriculum». Students are free to choose whether to complete their studies in one language or take some examinations in German and some in French, thus fulfilling the requirements for this distinction.

Fribourg profile
The Master of Arts in Legal Studies gives non-lawyers and lawyers with a foreign law degree a thorough fundamental knowledge of Swiss law. This option is unique in the whole of Switzerland. Students benefit from the global network of teaching staff and events featuring visiting professors.

Career openings
This programme of studies is directed at persons wishing to acquire a level of legal knowledge which is sufficient for use in their professional activities. It prepares them for management and consulting activities in areas such as communal, cantonal and federal administration, social services, associations, the private sector and international organisations, as well as paving the way to future careers as diplomats, journalists, politicians, teachers or legal informatics specialists.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 2-3 semesters; no limit on study time

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/qtfeu (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/djufB (German)

Comments

The annual compulsory courses start in the Autumn Semester (September).

Admission

There are two types of admission:

Holders of a non-law bachelor's or master's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to the Master of Arts in Legal Studies without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a law or non-law bachelor's or master's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the degree is recognized and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with additional requirements (can be completed during the master's degree program). They have to submit a written work within the first to semesters.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Rechtswissenschaftliche Studien

Kurzbeschreibung

Der Master of Arts in Legal Studies (Rechtswissenschaftliche Studien) richtet sich an Personen, die über ein solides juristisches Grundwissen verfügen wollen, jedoch kein Vollstudium in Recht absolvieren möchten. Angesprochen sind deshalb vor allem Nicht-Juristen, die sich hinsichtlich einer beruflichen Tätigkeit für das Schweizer Recht interessieren, oder Juristen mit einem ausländischen Diplom.
Die Studierenden stellen sich ihre Studienpläne selber zusammen und vertiefen so ihr juristisches Know-how nach persönlichen Interessen. Dabei können sie Pflichtfächer frei mit weiteren Fächern kombinieren.
Dieser Master wird nur an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Freiburg angeboten.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

In Absprache mit dem Verantwortlichen für den Master of Arts in Legal Studies (Rechtswissenschaftliche Studien) stellen sich die Studierenden ihre Studienpläne selber zusammen und vertiefen so ihre juristischen Grundkenntnisse nach persönlichen Interessen. Sie belegen einige der obligatorischen Fächer aus dem Bachelorangebot, nämlich die Einführung in das Recht, Zivilrecht, Obligationenrecht, Öffentliches Recht oder Strafrecht und kombinieren diese mit frei wählbaren Fächern aus dem Bachelor- und/oder Masterprogramm. Der Master kann mit dem Zusatz «Zweisprachiges Studium» erworben werden. Den Studierenden steht aber frei, ob sie das Studium einsprachig absolvieren oder manche Prüfungen auf Deutsch und andere auf Französisch ablegen, um diesen Zusatz zu erwerben.

Freiburger Profil
Der Master of Arts in Legal Studies vermittelt Nicht-Juristen und Juristen mit einem ausländischen Diplom solides Grundwissen über das Schweizer Recht. Diese Möglichkeit ist schweizweit einzigartig. Die Studierenden profitieren von der weltweiten Vernetzung der Lehrenden und kommen in den Genuss von Veranstaltungen von Gastprofessorinnen und Gastprofessoren.

Berufsperspektiven
Dieses Studienprogramm richtet sich an Personen, die im Rahmen ihrer beruflichen Tätigkeit über hinreichende juristische Kenntnisse verfügen wollen. Er bereitet vor auf leitende und beratende Tätigkeiten in der Gemeinde-, Kantons- oder Bundesverwaltung, im Sozialwesen, bei Verbänden, in der Privatwirtschaft, in internationalen Organisationen, zukünftige Diplomatinnen oder Diplomaten, Journalistinnen oder Journalisten, Politikerinnen oder Politiker, Lehrpersonen, Rechtsinformatikerin oder Rechtsinformatiker.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 2 bis 3 Semester; keine Studienzeitbeschränkung

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/djufB

Bemerkung

Die Pflichtfächer sind Jahreskurse und beginnen im Herbstsemester (September).

Zulassung

Es gibt zwei Arten der Zulassung:

Wer über einen schweizerischen universitären nicht-juristischen Bachelor- oder Masterabschluss verfügt, kann ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master of Arts in Legal Studies zugelassen werden. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg als gleichwertig anerkannte ausländische universitäre juristische und nicht-juristische Bachelor- oder Masterabschlüsse.

Wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH/PH) verfügt, kann mit Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) zugelassen werden. Innerhalb der ersten zwei Studiensemester wird im Prinzip eine schriftliche Arbeit verlangt.