Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Latin Studies

Abstract

This Master programme broadens students' Latin language skills and enhances their knowledge of the culture and literature of Latin antiquity. It further encompasses the lasting influence of this heritage through the centuries of Late Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
The study programme consists of a common core made up of a literature course, a reading course and two seminars on Latin language and culture. A practical workshop gives students the opportunity to learn the basics of scientific research and do hands-on training in areas such as papyrology, palaeography, codicology and text edition.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Master programme in Latin studies offers both general training and specialisation. Building on the Bachelor's degree, it broadens students' Latin language skills, also enhancing their knowledge of the culture and literature of classical antiquity and giving them additional insights into the continuity of classical antiquity through the centuries of Late Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Pride of place is given to the reading and interpretation of texts in their original language and their reception in European intellectual life.

Fribourg profile
According to the special focus of the University of Fribourg in the field of classical studies, particular emphasis is placed on the culture and literature of Late Antiquity and, in collaboration with the Medieval Institute (Institut d'études médiévales/Mediävistisches Institut), on that of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Students also study the influence of literary forms and ancient mythology on modern literature in partnership with the Institute of General and Comparative Literature (Institut de littérature générale et comparée/Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft). A practical workshop gives students the opportunity to learn the basics of scientific research and do hands-on training in areas such as papyrology, palaeography, codicology and text edition. In line with University of Fribourg's language policy, students of Latin studies have the possibility of taking their course in two languages (French and German).

Learning outcomes and career openings
On completing their course, students will have acquired a command of Latin and in-depth knowledge of Roman literature and culture. They will be capable of translating a Latin text, analysing it grammatically and stylistically, placing it in its literary, historical and cultural context and establishing links with modern literature. For a given problem, they will have acquired the methodological skills allowing them to draw up a pertinent bibliography, search for sources, analyse them critically and in detail, put forward a summary of the issues and give an oral and/or written presentation of the results of their research. Thanks to their practical training, they will be capable of working on original documents (papyri, manuscripts, etc.) and producing a text edition.

The principal career openings for students of Latin studies are:

  • Teaching Latin at secondary school level I and II;
  • An academic or scientific career in classical studies;
  • Public administration and cultural policy;
  • Administrative posts in scientific bodies;
  • Private sector (human resources).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme, 2-4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/M56x7 (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/jXVrf (German)

Comments

The Master programme Greek Studies is also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).
The Master programme Classics is offered as a major study programme (90 ECTS credits).

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Lateinische Sprache und Kultur

Kurzbeschreibung

In diesem Masterprogramm werden die Kenntnisse der lateinischen Sprache vertieft und die Kultur- und Literaturkenntnisse im Bereich der lateinischen Antike verfeinert. Das Programm umfasst auch das Nachwirken dieses Kulturerbes in der Spätantike, im Mittelalter und in der Renaissance.
Der Studienplan besteht aus einem gemeinsamen Stamm, der aus einem Literaturkurs, einem Lektürekurs und zwei Seminaren zur lateinischen Sprache und Kultur besteht. Darüber hinaus wird in einem praktischen Workshop in die wissenschaftliche Recherche eingeführt und eine konkrete Ausbildung geboten, insbesondere in den Bereichen Papyrologie, Paläografie, Kodikologie und Kritische Ausgabe.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Master-Studienprogramm in Lateinischer Sprache und Kultur zielt einerseits auf eine allgemeine Ausbildung, andererseits auf eine Spezialisierung ab. Aufbauend auf dem Bachelor-Abschluss sollen die Kenntnisse der Literatur und der Kulturgeschichte des klassischen Altertums erweitert und die Beherrschung der klassischen Sprache Latein vertieft werden. Darüber hinaus gilt ein spezielles Interesse dem Nachwirken der klassischen Antike in der Spätantike, dem Mittelalter und der Renaissance. Die Lektüre von Originaltexten und deren Interpretation und Rezeption im europäischen Geistesleben stehen dabei im Vordergrund.

Freiburger Profil
Entsprechend dem Schwerpunkt der Altertumswissenschaften an der Universität Freiburg liegt die besondere Aufmerksamkeit auf der Kultur und Literatur der Spätantike und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Mediävistischen Institut auf dem lateinischen Mittelalter und der Renaissance. Einbezogen ist auch das Nachleben antiker Mythen und literarischer Gattungen in den modernen Literaturen, dies vor allem in gemeinsamen Veranstaltungen mit dem Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft. Darüber hinaus wird in einem praktischen Workshop in die wissenschaftliche Recherche eingeführt und eine konkrete Ausbildung in den Bereichen Papyrologie, Paläografie, Kodikologie und Kritische Ausgabe geboten. In Übereinstimmung mit der Sprachpolitik unserer Universität können die Studierenden der lateinischen Sprache und Kultur ihr Studium zweisprachig (deutsch/französisch) absolvieren.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsmöglichkeiten
Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss ihres Studiums verfügen die Absolventinnen und Absolventen über solide Kenntnisse des Lateins und sind mit der Literatur und Kultur der römischen Antike vertraut. Sie bringen die Fähigkeit, einen lateinischen Text zu übersetzen, ihn grammatisch und stilistisch zu erklären, ihn in die literarische Tradition und in den kulturhistorischen Kontext einzuordnen und seine Rezeption in der neueren Literatur zu erkennen. Methodisch werden sie imstande sein, die antiken Texte in Auseinandersetzung mit der wissenschaflichen Literatur zu interpretieren, sie kritisch zu analysieren und die Ergebnisse der philologisch-literarischen Untersuchung argumentierend zusammenzufassen, sei es in einem mündlichen Referat oder in Form einer schriflichen Arbeit. Die praktische Ausbildung vermittelt den Studierenden das nötige Rüstzeug für die Arbeit mit Originaldokumenten (Papyri, Handschriften etc.) und für deren Kritische Ausgabe.

Hauptsächliche Berufsmöglichkeiten für Absolventen in Lateinischer Sprache und Kultur sind:

  • Lehramt für Latein auf der Sekundarstufe I und II;
  • Akademische oder wissenschaftliche Karriere im Bereich der Altertumswissenschaften;
  • Öffentliche Verwaltung und Kulturpolitik;
  • Wissenschaftsverwaltung;
  • Privatsektor (Personalwesen).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm, 2 bis 4 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/jXVrf

Bemerkung

Das Masterstudienprogramm Griechische Sprache und Kultur wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).
Das Masterstudienprogramm Klassische Philologie wird als Hauptprogramm angeboten (90 ECTS-Kreditpunkten).

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.