Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Rhaeto-Romance

Abstract

The Master programme deepens the skills acquired during the Bachelor's course in Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. In the linguistics section, emphasis is placed on aspects of individual and societal multilingualism, as well as on more practical issues of the use and promotion of the language. The literary section of the course takes a more in-depth look at the literary traditions of the canton of Grisons, including in relation to neighbouring literary traditions, and with a particular focus on the critical application of theoretical models. An internship allows students to relate theory to actual fields of work. Graduates are qualified to work in Rhaeto-Romance institutions, the media or teaching, and research.
The Master programme requires thorough knowledge of at least one variant of Rhaeto-Romance. A number of lectures will be in German and/or French.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

In the Rhaeto-Romance Master programme, the competences acquired during the Bachelor's degree are systematised and critically applied. The programme consists of two compulsory 15 ECTS modules, both comprising lectures and classes on linguistics and literature.
In the linguistics section, the focus is on structural language description and sociolinguistics. In the first module, the students study theoretical literature at various linguistic levels of analysis and conduct their own empirical investigations. The second module looks at practical issues of the use and promotion of the language, individual and societal approaches to multilingualism, and the institutional documentation of the language and culture.
In the literary section of both modules, students look more deeply into the literary tradition of the Rhaeto-Romance-speaking canton of Grisons, including in relation to neighbouring literary traditions. Particular attention is paid to questions specific to the genre, as well as to the problems that arise when applying models of literary theory and criticism to a regional literature.
During their internship in a Rhaeto-Romance institution or one with links to such an institution (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Post da translaziun da la Chanzlia Chantunala, Radiotelevisiun Svizra Rumantscha, schools, Swiss Literary Archives etc.), students obtain insight into potential fields of work.

Fribourg profile
The University of Fribourg is the only higher education establishment in Switzerland apart from the University of Zurich to offer studies in Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. The Rhaeto-Romance course in Fribourg puts the emphasis on linguistics, whereby sociolinguistics and language-contact issues are given particular consideration. The study programme offers opportunities for collaboration within the subject area of Multilingualism Studies and Foreign Language Education, and exploits synergies with the Institute of Multilingualism. On behalf of the Swiss government, this Research Centre investigates current issues of Swiss language policy, schools and teaching, language skills and how to assess them, as well as migration and labour.

Learning outcomes and career openings
At the Master's level, students acquire sound, practice-related skills in Rhaeto-Romance language and literature. Graduates will have the capacity to conduct their own independent research and will have developed critical thinking skills. These skills are in demand in a variety of career fields, such as teaching at secondary level I or II, media (radio, press, TV, Internet), work in Rhaeto-Romance or Rhaeto-Romance-related language and cultural institutions (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Swiss Literary Archives etc.), translation and administration (Chanzlia Chantunala, Chanzlia Federala), the book industry and publishing, as well as in project work and research.
The Master's degree meets the requirements for admission to the Teaching Diploma for Academic Upper Secondary Schools (Diplôme d'enseignement pour les écoles de maturité, DEEM/Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen, LDM). Moreover, graduates are qualified to take up an academic career.
Given the relatively low number of university graduates in Rhaeto-Romance, people with that qualification are always in great demand on the labour market in Grisons, in the federal administration, universities and a variety of national research projects.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

30 ECTS credits as a minor study programme or a specialisation programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/lCeda (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/IaFd2 (German)

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Rätoromanisch

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Masterstudienprogramm vertieft die auf Bachelorstufe erworbenen Kompetenzen in rätoromanischer Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft. In der Linguistik stehen Aspekte der individuellen und gesellschaftlichen Mehrsprachigkeit sowie anwendungsorientierte Fragen rund um die Sprachverwendung und -förderung im Vordergrund. In der Literaturwissenschaft wird das Studium der literarischen Traditionen Romanischbündens und ihrer Beziehungen zu den benachbarten Literaturen vertieft, wobei der kritischen Anwendung theoretischer Modelle besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt. Ein Praktikum ermöglicht es, Bezüge zu Berufsfeldern herzustellen. Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind qualifiziert für die Tätigkeit in rätoromanischen Institutionen, Medien und Schulen sowie für die Forschung.
Das Masterprogramm setzt vertiefte Kenntnisse in mindestens einer rätoromanischen Varietät voraus. Einige Veranstaltungen werden auf Deutsch und/oder Französisch durchgeführt.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Im Masterstudienprogramm Rätoromanisch werden die in der Bachelorausbildung erworbenen Kompetenzen systematisiert und kritisch angewendet. Das Programm besteht aus zwei Pflichtmodulen zu 15 ECTS, die jeweils sprach- und literaturwissenschaftliche Lehrveranstaltungen enthalten.
Im linguistischen Teil liegt der Fokus auf der strukturellen Sprachbeschreibung und der Soziolinguistik. Die Studierenden setzen sich im ersten Modul mit theoretischer Literatur zu verschiedenen sprachlichen Analyseebenen auseinander und führen eigenständige empirische Untersuchungen durch. Gegenstand des zweiten Moduls sind anwendungsorientierte Fragen rund um die Sprachverwendung und -förderung, der individuelle und gesellschaftliche Umgang mit Mehrsprachigkeit sowie die institutionelle Sprach- und Kulturdokumentation.
Im literaturwissenschaftlichen Teil wird in beiden Modulen das Studium der literarischen Traditionen Romanischbündens und ihrer Beziehungen zu den benachbarten Literaturen vertieft. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit erhalten gattungsspezifische Fragen sowie Probleme, die sich bei der Anwendung literaturtheoretischer und kritischer Modelle auf eine Regionalliteratur ergeben.
Im Rahmen eines Praktikums bei einer rätoromanischen oder einer mit dem Rätoromanischen verbundenen Institution (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Post da translaziun da la Chanzlia Chantunala, Radiotelevisiun Svizra Rumantscha, Schulen, Schweizerisches Literaturarchiv etc.) erhalten die Studierenden einen Einblick in mögliche Berufsfelder.

Freiburger Profil
Die Universität Freiburg ist neben der Universität Zürich die einzige Schweizer Hochschule, die ein Studienprogramm in rätoromanischer Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft anbietet. Der Schwerpunkt des Rätoromanischstudiums liegt in Freiburg auf der Linguistik. Soziolinguistische und sprachkontaktbezogene Fragestellungen finden dabei besondere Berücksichtigung. Das Studienprogramm bietet Möglichkeiten zur Zusammenarbeit innerhalb des Departements für Mehrsprachigkeitsforschung und Fremdsprachendidaktik und nutzt zudem die Synergien, die sich mit dem Institut für Mehrsprachigkeit ergeben. Dieses wissenschaftliche Kompetenzzentrum untersucht im Auftrag des Bundes aktuelle Fragen rund um die Schweizer Sprachenpolitik, zu Schule und Unterricht, zu Sprachkompetenzen und deren Evaluierung sowie zu Migration und Arbeitswelt.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Auf Masterstufe erwerben die Studierenden fundierte und praxisrelevante Kompetenzen im Bereich der rätoromanischen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft. Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind in der Lage, eigenständig zu forschen, und haben ein kritisches Denkvermögen entwickelt. Diese Kompetenzen sind in unterschiedlichen Tätigkeitsfeldern gefragt: Unterricht auf Sekundarstufe I oder II, Medienarbeit (Radio, Zeitung, Fernsehen, Internet), Mitarbeit in rätoromanischen oder mit dem Rätoromanischen verbundenen Sprach- und Kulturinstitutionen (Lia Rumantscha, Institut dal Dicziunari Rumantsch Grischun, Schweizerisches Literaturarchiv etc.), Übersetzertätigkeit und Verwaltung (Chanzlia Chantunala, Chanzlia Federala), Buchindustrie und Verlagswesen sowie Projektarbeit und Forschung.
Das Masterprogramm erfüllt die Anforderungen für die Zulassung zum Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen (LDM). Ausserdem sind die Absolventinnen und Absolventen qualifiziert für eine akademische Laufbahn.
Wegen der relativ geringen Anzahl von Hochschulabsolventinnen und -absolventen in Rätoromanistik sind auf dem Arbeitsmarkt in Graubünden, in der Bundesverwaltung, an Hochschulen sowie in verschiedenen nationalen Forschungsprojekten immer wieder Personen mit dieser Qualifikation gefragt.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte als Nebenprogramm oder Spezialisierungsprogramm

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/IaFd2

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf die im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines universitären Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Universitären Hochschule werden ohne Bedingungen zum Masterstudium zugelassen, wenn sie, je nach gewünschtem Masterstudium, 60 oder 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in derselben Studienrichtung erworben haben. Es können jedoch Auflagen verfügt werden. Dasselbe Prinzip gilt für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Schweizer oder ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird, welche diese Bedingung nicht erfüllen, können mit Bedingungen (vor Beginn des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) und/oder Auflagen (während des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) zum Masterstudium zugelassen werden. Diese Studienleistungen dürfen 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte nicht überschreiten. Dasselbe trifft für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Fachhochschule zu, gemäss den massgebenden Konventionen.

Die spezifischen Zulassungsbedingungen jedes Masterstudienprogrammes bleiben vorbehalten.