Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Experimental Biomedical Research

Abstract

The Master's programme in Experimental Biomedical Research provides opportunities for a broad learning experience in the area of biomedicine. It emphasizes research training and acquisition of practical skills that will enhance students' capacity to continue learning in their future employment and/or develop a research career in their chosen option. Three options are available: «Neuroscience», «Infection, Inflammation and Cancer», «Cardiovascular and Metabolic Health».

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Master's programme in Experimental Biomedical Research provides opportunities for a broad learning experience in the area of biomedicine. It emphasizes research training and acquisition of practical skills that will enhance students' capacity to continue learning in their future employment and/or develop a research career in their chosen option. Three options are available:

  • Neuroscience: The focus of this option lies mainly on understanding the functioning of neural circuits and systems in health and disease in both humans as well as relevant animal models including rodents, tree shrews and macaques. State-of-the-art approaches for diagnosing and repairing central nervous system dysfunctions will be presented and critically evaluated. Students will have the opportunity to acquire in-depth expertise in areas including structural and functional brain imaging, multi-channel electrical recordings, deep-brain and trans-cranial magnetic stimulation, pharmacological interventions, quantitative neuroanatomical reconstruction, data analysis and interpretation as well as developing and conducting behavioral assays.
  • Infection, Inflammation and Cancer: This option will provide a comprehensive theoretical and practical basis to understand novel paradigms and emerging areas of research in the field of infection, inflammation and cancer. Students will gain insights into topics at the forefront of medical research such as the role of inflammation in cancer and metastasis, the immune response to cancer and the development of antibiotic resistance in infectious diseases. Emphasis will be placed on translational aspects and clinical relevance. Students will acquire practical expertise in state-of-the-art molecular and cellular research techniques, including multicolour flow cytometry, biochemical analyses, a wide range of immunological assays, high-end live imaging techniques, and pharmacological strategies as well the role of various mouse models for cancer and inflammation.
  • Cardiovascular and Metabolic Health: The focus of this option lies mainly on understanding mechanisms of cardiovascular and metabolic diseases in an integrative way. Much effort will be made on horizontal integration of research themes among different organs or systems e.g., cardiovascular, renal, metabolic and endocrine systems as well as vertical integration of specific research topic between basic and clinical research teams to foster aspects of transfer of basic laboratory discovery or knowledge into clinical relevance. A wide range of laboratory skills at the molecular, cellular, organ, and whole body levels, including analysis of oxidative stress, inflammation, advanced gene/cell therapy and drug delivery techniques for heart and vascular repair, and metabolic phenotyping, etc. will be provided.

What will I learn?
Students will develop an advanced comprehension of the structure and function of biological systems, together with an understanding of the mechanisms underlying normal function and dysfunction at molecular, cellular and systems levels. They will develop proficiency in scientific thinking, formulation of scientific hypotheses, research project design as well as data analysis and interpretation. They will also acquire and apply research skills necessary for scientific investigations and develop specific knowledge in this field.

Who can apply?
The programme is addressed to students with an undergraduate degree in Life Sciences or a related subject area.

What are we looking for?
When assessing your application we would like to know:
– Why you want to study Experimental Biomedical Research?
– Why you want to study at the University of Fribourg?
– What particularly attracts you to this programme compared to other ones?
– How your personal and professional background meets the demands of this rigorous programme?
– What are your expectations from this programme?
– What your career plans are following the award of your degree?

Together with essential academic requirements, the personal statement is your opportunity to illustrate whether your reasons for applying to this programme match what the programme delivers.

Academic and professional openings
Graduates will find employment opportunities in the biotechnology, pharmaceutical or medical device industry as well as in the health care sector. The Master's degree also provides a solid foundation for doctoral studies, where students can capitalize upon the acquired knowledge and skills. A doctorate and subsequent postdoctoral experience then provide potential access to academic and management positions within Switzerland or abroad.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/pde_pdf/pde_2014/Cur_MSc-sp_EBR_14.pdf

Comments

The number of places is limited to the formation capacities of the department of medicine.

Admission

The admission to the Master follows the conditions of admission of the University of Fribourg. Holders of a Bachelor's degree in Life Sciences awarded from a Swiss University can be admitted to the Master's degree course. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognized and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg. For details, please, refer to the study plan.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Experimentelle biomedizinische Forschung

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Masterprogramm in experimenteller biomedizinischer Forschung bietet eine breit gefächerte Lernerfahrung in der Biomedizin und fördert die Forschungsfähigkeiten der Studierenden. Die Studierenden eignen sich das erforderliche Praxiswissen an, um ihre Kenntnisse im Arbeitsumfeld und/oder im Rahmen einer Forschungslaufbahn in der gewählten Option vertiefen zu können. Drei Optionen stehen zur Auswahl: «Neuroscience», «Infection, Inflammation and Cancer», «Cardiovascular and Metabolic Health».

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Masterprogramm in experimenteller biomedizinischer Forschung bietet eine breit gefächerte Lernerfahrung in der Biomedizin und fördert die Forschungsfähigkeiten der Studierenden. Die Studierenden eignen sich das erforderliche Praxiswissen an, um ihre Kenntnisse im Arbeitsumfeld und/oder im Rahmen einer Forschungslaufbahn in der gewählten Option vertiefen zu können. Drei Optionen stehen zur Auswahl:

  • Neuroscience: In dieser Option wird in erster Linie das Verständnis der Nervenschaltkreise und -systeme bei gesunden und kranken Menschen sowie in relevanten Tiermodellen (Nagetiere, Spitzhörnchen und Makaken) gefördert. Anhand modernster Ansätze werden die Diagnose und die Behebung von Funktionsstörungen des zentralen Nervensystems vorgestellt und kritisch evaluiert. Die Studierenden erhalten die Möglichkeit, detailliertes Fachwissen in folgenden Bereichen zu erwerben: strukturelle und funktionelle Bildgebung, elektrische Ableitungen (Multichannel), Tiefenhirnstimulation und transkranielle Magnetstimulation, pharmakologische Interventionen, quantitative neuroanatomische Rekonstruktion, Datenanalyse und -auswertung sowie Planung und Durchführung von verhaltenstheoretischen Analyseverfahren usw.
  • Infection, Inflammation and Cancer: Diese Option bietet eine umfassende theoretische und praktische Grundlage, um die neuen Paradigmen und Themen in der medizinischen Infektions-, Entzündungs- und Krebsforschung zu verstehen. Die Studierenden erhalten einen Einblick in Themen, die in der medizinischen Forschung zuvorderst stehen: die Funktion der Entzündung bei Krebserkrankungen und Metastasen, die Immunreaktion auf Krebs und die Entwicklung von Antibiotikaresistenzen bei Infektionskrankheiten. Translationale Ansätze und klinische Relevanz stehen dabei im Vordergrund. Die Studierenden eignen sich Fachwissen in den modernsten Methoden der molekularen und zellulären Forschung an: Multicolour-Durchflusszytometrie, biochemische Analysen, eine breite Auswahl immunologischer Verfahren, hochwertige Live-Imaging-Verfahren und pharmakologische Strategien. Auch die Rolle verschiedener Mausmodelle für Krebs und Entzündung wird erforscht.
  • Cardiovascular and Metabolic Health: Gesundheit von Herz und Stoffwechsel: Der Schwerpunkt liegt hier in der integrativen Erforschung von Stoffwechselstörungen und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Es wird Wert gelegt auf eine horizontale Einbindung von organ- und systemspezifischen Fragen, wie z.B. zum Herzkreislauf-, Nieren-, Stoffwechsel- oder Hormonsystem. Auch die vertikale Integration spezifischer Forschungsthemen zwischen Forschungsteams in der Grundlagenforschung und der klinischen Forschung wird unterstützt. Somit lernen die Studierenden, Laborergebnissen und Wissen eine klinische Relevanz zu verleihen. Es werden vielfältige Laborkompetenzen auf Molekül-, Zell-, Organ- und Ganzkörperebene vermittelt. Dazu zählen die Analyse von oxidativem Stress, Entzündung, fortgeschrittener Gen- und Zelltherapie sowie Drug-Delivery-Technologien für die Herz- und Gefässchirurgie, metabolische Phänotypisierung usw.

Was lernen die Studierenden?
Die Studierenden entwickeln ein vertieftes Verständnis der Struktur und Funktion von biologischen Systemen sowie der Mechanismen, die der normalen und der gestörten Funktion von Molekülen, Zellen und Systemen zugrunde liegen. Sie entwickeln ihre Fähigkeiten im wissenschaftlichen Denken, in der Formulierung wissenschaftlicher Hypothesen, dem Aufbau von Forschungsprojekten sowie der Datenanalyse und -auswertung. Zudem eignen sie sich die erforderliche Forschungskompetenz für wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen an und vertiefen ihr Wissen in diesem Bereich.

Wer kann sich bewerben?
Das Studienprogramm richtet sich an Studierende mit einem abgeschlossenen Bachelorstudium in Life Sciences oder einem angrenzenden Gebiet.

Was interessiert uns?
Bei der Bewertung der Bewerbungen interessieren uns folgende Aspekte:
– Wieso will der/die Studierende experimentelle biomedizinische Forschung studieren?
– Wieso will der/die Studierende an der Universität Freiburg studieren?
– Was interessiert die/den Studierende/n besonders an diesem Programm, im Vergleich zu anderen Studiengängen?
– Inwiefern erfüllt der persönliche und berufliche Hintergrund der/s Studierenden die Anforderungen dieses anspruchsvollen Programms?
– Welche Erwartungen hat der/die Studierende an dieses Programm?
– Welche Karrierepläne hat der/die Studierende nach Studienabschluss?

Zusätzlich zu den akademischen Grundanforderungen können die Interessenten in der persönlichen Stellungnahme zeigen, dass ihre Beweggründe für diese Studienwahl mit der Realität des Studienprogramms übereinstimmen.

Akademische und berufliche Perspektiven
Absolventen haben Zugang zu Arbeitsmöglichkeiten im Bereich Biotechnologie, in der pharmazeutischen oder medizintechnischen Industrie sowie im Gesundheitswesen. Der Master-Abschluss bietet eine solide Grundlage für ein Doktorat, in dem die Studierenden die erlernten Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten optimal einbringen können. Ein Doktorat und eine Postdoc-Erfahrung ermöglichen eine akademische Karriere sowie Führungspositionen in der Schweiz und im Ausland.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester

Studienplan

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/pde_pdf/pde_2014/Cur_MSc-sp_EBR_14.pdf

Bemerkung

Die Anzahl Plätze ist beschränkt und trägt den Ausbildungskapazitäten des Departements für Medizin Rechnung.

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum Master erfolgt gemäss den Zulassungsbedingungen der Universität Freiburg. Inhaber eines Bachelordiploms in Life Sciences einer Schweizer Universität können zum Masterstudium zugelassen werden. Dasselbe gilt für Inhaber eines Bachelordiploms von einer ausländischen Universität, sofern das Diplom anerkannt und von der Universität Freiburg als gleichwertig eingestuft wurde. Für weitere Informationen verweisen wir auf den Studienplan.