Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Special Education (Special Educational Needs Teacher) (DE)

Abstract

The Master of Arts in Special Education with a specialisation in Special Educational Needs Teacher imparts theoretical and practical skills for teaching children and adolescents in need of special educational support. Students learn about different forms of disability by studying the basics of various forms of such. They also learn how to diagnose, assess the effectiveness of interventions; they acquire the ability to use teaching and learning methods effectively and are able to plan lessons for pupils with special educational needs.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Master of Arts in Special Education with a specialisation in Special Educational Needs Teacher is an academic and vocational course of study. Students acquire theoretical and practical skills for teaching children and adolescents in need of special educational support.

The study programme is aimed at holders of a Bachelor's degree in one of the following subjects: teaching for mainstream education, speech and language therapy, psychomotricity, remedial education, social pedagogy, special education, educational sciences, psychology or ergotherapy, or holders of a Bachelor's degree obtained in an integrated teacher training course for Secondary Level I (not a teaching qualification). During the Master course, students build on the knowledge obtained during their Bachelor programme.

The study programme provides students both with sound theoretical bases and practical teaching skills. Closely following research findings, the programme covers the following topics: basic knowledge about different forms of disability, a reflection on deviation and normality, diagnosis, evaluation of the effectiveness of interventions, special teaching and learning methods, and planning lessons for pupils with special educational needs.

Fribourg profile
This Master programme is the continuation of a long tradition of research-based Special Education teaching at the University of Fribourg. It is the only German-language study programme in Switzerland to offer simultaneously an academic and a vocational qualification in Special Needs Education at university level.
The final diploma is recognised by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (CDIP/EDK) and enables access to doctoral studies.

Learning outcomes and career openings
The study programme trains students to become specialists in the schooling of children and adolescents with special educational needs.

On successfully completing their training, the students are able, among other things, to (see also EDK, 2008):
– use diagnostic evaluation procedures and observation methods adapted to each child, on the basis of personal and environmental characteristics;
– develop and implement an individualised specialised teaching project taking into account the school, family and social environments;
– collaborate in an interdisciplinary manner with all the specialists and institutions involved;
– work in both ordinary and specialised school environments;
– perform a consulting and support role in relation to the problems which arise in special needs education;
– engage in theoretical reflection with a scientific basis on the problems and tasks involved and the possible teaching initiatives;
– evaluate the effectiveness of professional activity using explicit methods;
– engage in reflection on their personal, social and professional skills with a view to planning ongoing training requirements;
– construct qualitative and/or quantitative research projects respecting the relevant ethical and deontological codes.

This Master programme opens the way to careers in teaching as well as in research:

  • Teaching in special needs classes (institution);
  • Teaching in small, special needs classes;
  • Teaching in integration classes;
  • Remedial teaching in regular classes;
  • Counsellor or educational adviser in special needs education;
  • Administration, training and research positions (universities, higher education establishments, research centres).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in one or two supplements, 4-6 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/eklQE (German)

Admission

The following persons can be admitted:
a) Candidates with the «Foundations of Special Education» supplement, who are holders of a teaching certificate recognised in Switzerland to teach in regular classes and at least the equivalent of a Bachelor;
b) Candidates with the «Foundations of Instruction in Ordinary Classes» or «Foundations of Special Education» supplement with any of the following Bachelor degrees (main field of study): Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Science in remedial education, speech-language therapy, special education, psychomotricity, social education, educational sciences, psychology or a BA attained in an integrated course of study for the secondary level I teaching degree (without a teaching licence).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Schulische Heilpädagogik

Kurzbeschreibung

Der Master of Arts in Sonderpädagogik mit einer Vertiefung in Schulischer Heilpädagogik vermittelt theoretische und praktische Kompetenzen für den Unterricht von Kindern und Jugendlichen, die einer speziellen pädagogischen Förderung bedürfen. Die Studierenden setzen sich mit dem Grundlagenwissen zu verschiedenen Behinderungsformen auseinander. Zudem lernen sie zu diagnostizieren, bewerten die Wirksamkeit von Interventionen und sie eignen sich Lehr- und Lernmethoden sowie Kompetenzen für die Unterrichtsgestaltung für Schülerinnen und Schüler mit sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf an.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Der Master of Arts in Sonderpädagogik, Vertiefungsrichtung Schulische Heilpädagogik, ist ein universitäres, berufsqualifizierendes Studienangebot. Das Studium ermöglicht den Erwerb von theoretischen und praktischen Kompetenzen im Bereich des Unterrichtens von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf.

Das Studienprogramm richtet sich an Personen mit einem der folgenden Bachelorabschlüsse: Lehrdiplom für Regelklassen, Logopädie, Psychomotorik, Klinische Heilpädagogik, Sozialpädagogik, Sonderpädagogik, Erziehungswissenschaften, Psychologie, Ergotherapie oder Bachelor einer integrierten Lehrerbildung für die Sekundarstufe I (noch kein Lehrdiplom). Basierend auf dem vorliegenden Bachelor absolvieren die Studierenden während ihres Masterstudiums eine Ergänzung.

Das Studienprogramm verbindet die Vermittlung von fundierten theoretischen Grundlagen mit dem Erlernen praktischer Unterrichtskompetenzen. In engem Bezug zu Forschungsergebnissen erlaubt das Studium die Auseinandersetzung mit u.a. folgenden Themen: Grundlagenwissen zu verschiedenen Behinderungsformen, Reflexion von Abweichung und Normalität, Diagnostik, Evaluation der Wirksamkeit von Interventionen, sonderpädagogische Lehr- und Lernmethoden, Unterrichtsgestaltung für Schülerinnen und Schüler mit sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf.

Freiburger Profil
Dieses Masterprogramm knüpft an eine lange wissenschaftliche Tradition der Sonderpädagogik an der Universität Freiburg an. Es ist schweizweit das einzige deutschsprachige Studienprogramm, welches ein akademisches und gleichzeitig berufsqualifizierendes Masterstudium in Schulischer Heilpädagogik auf universitärem Niveau anbietet.
Das Abschlussdiplom ist von der Schweizerischen Konferenz der Erziehungsdirektoren (EDK) anerkannt und erlaubt den Zugang zum Doktorat.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das Studienprogramm bildet die Studierenden zu Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten für die Beschulung von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf aus.

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Ausbildung besitzen sie u.a. die Kompetenz (s.a. EDK, 2008):
– zum Einsatz von differenzierten kind- und umfeldbezogenen diagnostischen Evaluationsverfahren und Beobachtungsmethoden;
– zum Konzipieren und Realisieren von individualisierter sonderpädagogischer Förderplanung unter Einbezug des familiären, schulischen und sozialen Umfelds;
– zur interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit mit beteiligten Fachpersonen und Institutionen;
– zur sonderpädagogischen Tätigkeit in Regel- und Sonderschulen;
– zur Beratungstätigkeit hinsichtlich sonderpädagogischer Problemstellungen;
– zur Reflexion problembezogener Aufgaben und pädagogischer Handlungsmöglichkeiten vor einem wissenschaftlich fundierten Hintergrund;
– zur Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit der eigenen beruflichen Tätigkeit mit transparenten Methoden;
– zur Reflexion und allenfalls der Änderung oder dem Ausbau der eigenen persönlichen, sozialen und beruflichen Fertigkeiten;
– zum Planen und Umsetzen qualitativer und/oder quantitativer Forschungsprojekte unter Beachtung ethischer Richtlinien.

Dieser Master eröffnet sowohl Zugang zu schulpraktischen als auch zu wissenschaftlich ausgerichteten Tätigkeiten:

  • Unterricht in Sonderklassen heilpädagogischer Institutionen;
  • Unterricht in sonderpädagogischen Kleinklassen;
  • Unterricht in integrativen Regelklassen;
  • Förderunterricht in Regelklassen;
  • Sonderpädagogische Beratungstätigkeit;
  • Tätigkeit in der Administration, Ausbildung und Forschung (Universitäten, Fachhochschulen, Forschungszentren).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in einer oder zwei Ergänzungen, 4-6 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/eklQE

Zulassung

Zugelassen werden:
a) mit einer Ergänzung «Grundlagen der Sonderpädagogik», Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines in der Schweiz anerkannten Lehrdiploms für Regelklassen, sofern das Diplom mindestens einem Bachelor-Abschluss entspricht;
b) mit einer Ergänzung «Grundlagen des Unterrichts in Regelklassen» sowie einer Ergänzung «Grundlagen der Sonderpädagogik», Studierende mit folgenden Bachelor-Abschlüssen (Hauptbereich): Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Science in Klinischer Heilpädagogik, Logopädie, Sonderpädagogik, Psychomotorik, Sozialpädagogik, Erziehungswissenschaften, Psychologie sowie Bachelor of Arts einer integrierten Lehrerbildung für die Sekundarstufe I (noch ohne Lehrdiplom).