Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Abstract

Fascinated by biological questions and intrigued by the opportunities Big Data and high computer power offers to tackle them? Jump right into it with our Master programme in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology!

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Fascinated by biological questions and intrigued by the opportunities Big Data and high computer power offers to tackle them? Jump right into it with our Master programme in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology!

Why study bioinformatics and computational biology?
It took 13 years and 3 billion dollars to decipher the human genome. Today, sequencing a whole genome takes but a few hours on a machine that fits on a tabletop at a tiny fraction of the original costs. Similar technological revolutions are underway in biological imaging, mass spectrometry based proteomics and metabolomics, or ecological remote sensing, just to name a few. Consequently, biological and medical sciences are now collecting enormous amounts of information with the goal to describe and understand how cells, complex organisms or entire ecosystems function. But this tsunami of data generates new challenges: How can we unearth and retrieve the exciting knowledge hidden in such data? How can we make such massive amounts of data available to the scientific community? A proper analysis of this trove of this data does not only require massive amounts calculation power, but also talented people with knowledge in both biology as well as in computer science and statistics to develop adequate and computationally fast analysis tools.

The Master of Science in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology is an interdisciplinary programme taught exclusively in English and jointly organized between the Universites of Fribourg and Bern. All involved departments offer outstanding conditions for research and training and highly competitive researcher-student ratios.

The study programme of the first semester builds upon your expertise in biology, biochemistry or life science, or respectively in mathematics, computer science or physics and complements your background with individually tailored courses in programing, statistics or fundamental biology. In the second semester you will then concentrate on the major topics in bioinformatics and computational biology, namely in data management, the analysis of sequence data, modeling of biological systems, image analysis and systems biology. The so acquired skills will further be reinforced through intensive hands-on training and practical courses. The third semester is then devoted to your own research project that you will conduct in an internationally recognized research lab at the University of Fribourg or Bern. Alternatively, your project may also be conducted in collaboration with an affiliated institute (e.g. the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics), a governmental institution or the private sector.

Learning objectives and career opportunities
Our Master programme in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology will trim you fit for a career in the life sciences, health science or in food technology, both in industry or in governmental or non-governmental organizations, as well as for a PhD in academia. Bioinformatics and computational biology have direct and highly sought applications in basic and applied research ranging from conservation biology and modeling molecular networks to epidemiology, biomedical engineering and drug design, artistic data visualization and developing human-computer interaction. Our programme further promotes the exchange and interaction with people from many different fields, which will considerably widen your job prospects in academia as well as in the private sector.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Bioinformatik und computationale Biologie

Kurzbeschreibung

Sie sind fasziniert von biologischen Fragestellungen und den Möglichkeiten diese mit Big Data und moderner Computertechnologie zu beantworten? Unser Masterprogramm in Bioinformatik und computationale Biologie bietet den idealen Start in diesen vielseitigen Forschungszweig!

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Sie sind fasziniert von biologischen Fragestellungen und den Möglichkeiten diese mit Big Data und moderner Computertechnologie zu beantworten? Unser Masterprogramm in Bioinformatik und computationale Biologie bietet den idealen Start in diesen vielseitigen Forschungszweig!

Bioinformatik und computationale Biologie
Für die erste Entschlüsselung des menschlichen Genoms waren 13 Jahre und drei Milliarden US-Dollar notwendig. Heute können ganze Genome in wenigen Stunden sequenziert werden – mit einer Maschine, die locker auf einem Schreibtisch Platz findet, und zu einem Bruchteil der damaligen Kosten. Ähnliche technologische Revolutionen finden derzeit in der biologischen Bildgebung, in der Massenspektronomie basierten Proteomik und Metabolomik, sowie in der ökologischen Fernerkundung statt, um nur ein paar Beispiele zu nennen. In den Bio- und Medizinwissenschaften werden daher aktuell enorme Datenmengen gesammelt mit dem Ziel die Funktion von biologischen Systemen wie einzelne Zellen, komplexe Organismen Menschen oder Ökosysteme zu verstehen. Doch diese Datenflut stellt ganz neue Herausforderungen: Wie können wir auf das aufregende Wissen zugreifen, das in diesen Daten steckt? Und wie machen wir diese Daten der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinde zugänglich? Die Analyse dieser phänomenalen Datenmenge erfordert nicht nur Unmengen an Rechenkapazität, sondern vor allem auch kreative Köpfe mit Kenntnissen in der Biologie, der Informatik und der Statistik um angebrachte Analyseverfahren zu entwickeln und gezielt anzuwenden.

Der Master of Science in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology ist ein interdisziplinäres Masterprogramm, das vollständig auf Englisch unterrichtet wird und von den Universitäten Freiburg und Bern gemeinsam organisiert wird. Alle beteiligten Departemente bieten Ihnen herausragende Studien- und Forschungsbedingungen sowie ausgezeichnete Betreuungsverhältnisse.

Der Studienplan des ersten Semesters baut auf Ihren Vorkenntnissen in Biologie, Biochemie oder Life Sciences bzw. Mathematik, Informatik oder Physik auf und ergänzt fehlende Grundlagen jeweils durch individuell zurecht geschnittene Lehrveranstaltungen z.B. in Statistik, Programmieren oder den Grundlagen der Biologie. Im zweiten Semester konzentrieren Sie sich auf die Hauptgebiete der Bioinformatik und rechnergestützten Biologie: Data Management, Sequenzanalyse, Modellierung von biologischen Systemen, Bildanalyse und Systembiologie. Die erlernten Fähigkeiten werden zudem durch intensive Anwendung und Praktika vertieft. Das dritte Semester ist geprägt von individueller Forschungsarbeit, die Sie in einer der Forschungsgruppen durchführen und sich somit in Ihr gewähltes Fachgebiet vertiefen. Die Masterarbeit können Sie ebenso in Zusammenarbeit mit einem der angegliederten Institute (z.B. Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics), mit staatlichen Einrichtungen oder mit Unternehmen erstellen.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Unser Masterprogramm in Bioinformatik und computationale Biologie bereitet Sie auf eine Laufbahn in der Industrie der Lebenswissenschaften, im Gesundheitswesen, in staatlichen oder nicht-staatlichen Organisationen oder auf ein Doktorat im akademischen Umfeld vor. Bioinformatik und computationale Biologie haben direkte und gefragte Anwendungen in der Grundlagen- und der angewandten Forschung, angefangen von der Naturschutzbiologie und der Modellierung molekularer Netzwerke, über Epidemologie, Biomedical Engineering und Drug Design, bis hin zu künstlerischer Datenvisualisierung und der Entwicklung von Mensch-Maschinen-Interaktionen. Unser Programm fördert zudem gezielt den Austausch mit Wissenschaftlern aus den unterschiedlichsten Forschungsfeldern welche Ihre Berufsaussichten deutlich erweitern.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester

Studienplan

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_d.php

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.