Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Environmental Biology

Abstract

Major environmental problems, in particular global change and its consequences for biodiversity and ecosystem functioning, are intimately interconnected and pose a threat to our future. Solving these problems requires an integrative and synergistic approach in terms of both fundamental and applied research. The Department of Biology of the Faculty of Science and Medicine offers a multidisciplinary Master of Science in Environmental Biology. The programme ranges from fundamental concepts in ecology and evolution to molecular aspects of plant and microbial sciences through applied solutions for environmental policies and sustainable development. It provides students with state-of-the-art training and background in conceptual, technical, and applied aspects of environmental biology. Master students are integrated into active research teams and can thus gain extensive experience in basic and applied academic research in environmental biology.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The master students in this programme will acquire cutting-edge knowledge and skills in basic and applied aspects of environmental biology. The programme emphasises the development of both scientific and soft skills, e.g. independent analytical thinking, problem-solving, critical evaluation and analysis of data, oral and written communication, and the ability to work in a team. Courses are accompanied by discussions, student presentations and project writing exercises. The master thesis (60 ECTS credits in case of the three 120 ECTS options; 45 ECTS credits in case of the 90 ECTS «Teaching» option) is carried out in one of the research teams, possibly in collaboration with other research institutions, giving students the opportunity to experience all aspects of the daily life of a research scientist. Students also have the opportunity to present their work during a research seminar. An agreement with the Universities of Bern and Neuchâtel (BENEFRI Framework Convention) allows students to take elective courses in these institutions and to have them credited for the study programme in Fribourg. The master programme in Environmental Biology is accessible to students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biology. Students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry are also eligible provided they have chosen the necessary courses in their BSc curriculum.

The Master of Science in Environmental Biology offers four options. These options are complementary but also contain shared courses, and students have the opportunity, next to a set of mandatory courses, to customise their study plan according to their interests. The three 120 ECTS options below focus on research; the fourth option («Teaching», 90 ECTS) is appropriate for students who would like to become teachers. The four options are:

1. Ecology and Evolution (120 ECTS credits)
This option is centred on the conceptual and empirical aspects of ecology and evolution. It covers fundamental areas ranging from population, community to ecosystems ecology; theoretical ecology and evolution; eco-evolutionary feedback dynamics; evolutionary and population genetics; evolutionary and ecological genomics; behavioural ecology; the evolution of life histories and aging; as well as phylogenetic analyses of organismal relationships. Research groups in these areas work on a variety of study systems and use a broad range of experimental, observational, and theoretical approaches. Biological systems include various insects; birds; plants and their microorganismal communities; microbial soil communities; relict tree species; threatened aquatic species; invasive species; and alpine vegetation ecosystems. Methods encompass laboratory experiments; field observations and experiments; genomics and bioinformatics; statistical analyses; computer simulations and theoretical modelling.

2. Plant and Microbial Sciences (120 ECTS credits)
This option focuses on the molecular aspects of plant health and development and includes the study of plant-associated microbiota. It covers an exciting range of subjects such as molecular signalling systems, resistance and tolerance of plants to biotic and abiotic stress, the molecular basis of immunity, interactions between plants and their symbionts, plant microbiota, plant biotechnology, as well as plant systematics and biogeography. To address questions in these areas, research teams use various well-established model plants (Arabidopsis, Petunia, tobacco) and plants of agronomical relevance (potato, tomato, grapevine). They rely on a wide array of methods including biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, proteomics and metabolomics as well as cellular imaging. Researchers collaborate with agronomical research institutions such as Agroscope, FiBL (Forschungsinstitut fu?r biologischen Landbau), and the agricultural school in Grangeneuve, amongst others.

3. Applied Environmental Biology (120 ECTS credits)
This option addresses important applied facets of environmental biology, especially in terms of biological invasions, conservation biology and sustainable crop protection; it also addresses the consequences of global change. In collaboration with the Environmental Sciences and Humanities Institute, students have the opportunity to learn about major current issues in environmental ethics, policy making and sustainable development. Research methods in this area include for example field and laboratory experiments; database mining and meta-analyses; computer simulations; as well as working out policy recommendations. Researchers in this field (working mostly on applied aspects of ecology and microbiology) collaborate with applied research institutions such as Agroscope, FiBL (Forschungsinstitut fu?r biologischen Landbau), or CABI. This master option also offers the opportunity to carry out either a short research internship or the master project in such a partner research institution.

4. Teaching (90 ECTS credits)
This option combines core courses from the 3 options above and is appropriate for students who are interested in becoming teachers at the secondary level II. The students taking this option will need to complement the 90 ECTS credits with 30 ECTS credits from another programme (second teaching subject).

Career prospects
Graduates of this programme will be well prepared for careers inside and outside academia, e.g., in university research and higher education, teaching, agroindustry, federal research institutes and offices (including institution such as Agroscope, FIBL, HAFL, HEPIA, BAFU, BLW, WSL), cantonal offices, private foundations or small-scale businesses. The master's degree in Environmental Biology also paves the way to doctoral studies (PhD) in this subject area (depending on the institution additional requirements might apply).

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters
or
90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters (option «Teaching»)

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a bachelor's degree.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university are admitted to a master's degree programme without any preconditions if they have earned 60 or 90 ECTS credits – depending on the chosen master's degree programme – within the corresponding discipline. However, additional requirements can be required. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss or a foreign university, provided that the bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, who do not fulfil this condition can be admitted to a master's degree programme with preconditions (which must be successfully completed before starting the master's degree programme) and/or additional requirements (which can be completed during the master's degree programme). The preconditions and/or additional requirements may not exceed 60 ECTS credits in total. The same applies to holders of a bachelor's degree awarded by a Swiss university of applied sciences, according to existing agreements.

The respective conditions of admission for each master's degree programme are reserved.
The master programme in Environmental Biology is accessible to students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biology. Students who have completed their Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry are also eligible provided they have chosen the necessary courses in their BSc curriculum.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits) as part of the Diplôme d'Enseignement pour les Ecoles de Maturité (DEEM)/Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen (LDM).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Umweltbiologie

Kurzbeschreibung

Die grossen Umweltprobleme, insbesondere der globale Wandel und seine Folgen für die biologische Vielfalt und die Funktionsweise des Ökosystems, sind eng miteinander verknüpft und bedrohen unsere Zukunft. Zur Lösung dieser Probleme ist sowohl in der Grundlagenforschung als auch in der angewandten Forschung ein integrativer und synergetischer Ansatz notwendig. Das Departement für Biologie der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen und Medizinischen Fakultät bietet einen interdisziplinären Master in Umweltbiologie an. Das Programm reicht von den grundlegenden Ökologie- und Evolutionskonzepten über angewandte Lösungen für die Umweltpolitik und für die nachhaltige Entwicklung bis hin zu molekularen Aspekten der Pflanzenbiologie und der Mikrobiologie. Die Studierenden erhalten in den Konzepten, Techniken und Anwendungen der Umweltbiologie eine Ausbildung, die auf dem modernsten Stand der Wissenschaft basiert. Die Studierenden im Masterprogramm werden in aktive Forschungsteams integriert und können so umfangreiche Erfahrung in der wissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung und der angewandten Forschung in der Umweltbiologie sammeln.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Die Studierenden in diesem Masterprogramm erwerben das jüngste Wissen und die modernsten Fähigkeiten in Grundlagen- und Anwendungsaspekten der Umweltbiologie. In dem Programm wird Wert darauf gelegt, dass neben den wissenschaftlichen auch die sozialen Kompetenzen weiterentwickelt werden, z.B. das unabhängige analytische Denken, die Problemlösungskompetenzen, die kritische Auswertung und Analyse von Daten, die schriftliche und mündliche Ausdrucksfähigkeit und die Teamfähigkeit. Die Kurse werden von Diskussionen, Präsentationen der Studierenden und Übungen im Projektschreiben begleitet. Die Masterarbeit (60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte bei den drei Optionen zu 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten; 45 ECTS-Kreditpunkte bei der Option «Unterricht» zu 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkten) wird in einem der Forschungsteams erstellt. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Forschungseinrichtungen ist möglich, so dass die Studierenden sämtliche Aspekte des täglichen Lebens eines Wissenschaftlers in der Forschung kennenlernen können. Die Studierenden erhalten auch die Möglichkeit, ihre Arbeit in einem Forschungsseminar zu präsentieren. Durch Fachabkommen mit den Universitäten Bern und Neuenburg (Rahmenvereinbarung des BENEFRI-Netzwerkes) können die Studierenden Kurse in diesen Institutionen besuchen und sich diese für das Studienprogramm in Freiburg anrechnen lassen. Das Masterprogramm in Umweltbiologie steht Studierenden offen, die ihren Bachelor of Science in Biologie abgeschlossen haben. Auch Studierende mit einem abgeschlossenen Bachelor of Science in Biochemie können an dem Masterprogramm zugelassen werden, sofern sie die erforderlichen Kurse in ihrem BSc-Programm belegt haben.

Der Master in Umweltbiologie bietet vier Optionen an. Diese Optionen ergänzen sich, umfassen aber auch gemeinsame Kurse. Neben einer Reihe von Pflichtkursen können die Studierenden den Studienplan ihren Interessen entsprechend anpassen. In den nachstehenden drei Optionen zu 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Forschung; die vierte Option («Unterricht», 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) ist für Studierende geeignet, die eine Laufbahn als Lehrerin/Lehrer anstreben. Die vier Optionen lauten:

1. Ökologie und Evolution (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte)
Bei dieser Option liegt der Schwerpunkt auf den konzeptionellen und empirischen Aspekten der Ökologie und der Evolution. Die Option deckt grundlegende Bereiche ab: Populationen, Ökologie der Gemeinschaften und Ökosysteme, theoretische Ökologie und Evolution, öko-evolutionäre Rückkopplungsdynamiken, Evolutions- und Populationsgenetik, Evolutions- und Ökogenomik, Verhaltensökologie, Evolution der Lebensgeschichten und Alterung, phylogenetische Analysen organismischer Beziehungen. Die Forschungsgruppen in diesen Bereichen arbeiten an einer Vielzahl von Studiensystemen und verwenden ein breites Spektrum an experimentellen, beobachtungsgestützten und theoretischen Ansätzen. Die biologischen Systeme umfassen verschiedene Insekten, Vögel, Pflanzen und deren Mikroorganismen-Gemeinschaften, mikrobielle Bodengemeinschaften, Baum-Reliktarten, bedrohte Wasserarten, invasive Arten und alpine Vegetationsökosysteme. Zu den Methoden zählen Laborexperimente, Feldbeobachtungen und -versuche, Genomik und Bioinformatik, statistische Analysen, Computersimulationen und theoretische Modellierung.

2. Pflanzenbiologie und Mikrobiologie (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte)
Diese Option konzentriert sich auf die molekularen Aspekte der Pflanzengesundheit und -entwicklung und umfasst die Untersuchung pflanzenassoziierter Mikrobiota. Es wird ein spannendes Themenspektrum behandelt, darunter molekulare Signalsysteme, Toleranz und Resistenz von Pflanzen gegen biotischen und abiotischen Stress, die molekulare Grundlage der Immunität, Interaktionen zwischen Pflanzen und deren Symbionten, Pflanzenmikrobiota, Biotechnologie der Pflanzen sowie Pflanzensystematik und Biogeographie. Um diesen Bereich zu erforschen, greifen die Forschungsteams auf verschiedene gut etablierte Modellpflanzen (Schaumkressen, Petunien, Tabak) sowie agronomisch relevante Pflanzen (Kartoffeln, Tomaten, Weinreben) zurück. Die Methoden umfassen ein breites Spektrum, darunter Biochemie, Molekularbiologie, Genetik, Genomik, Proteomik und Metabolomik sowie zelluläre Bildgebung. Die Forscher arbeiten mit agronomischen Forschungsinstitutionen zusammen, unter anderem mit Agroscope, FiBL (Forschungsinstitut für biologischen Landbau) und mit der Landwirtschaftsschule in Grangeneuve.

3. Angewandte Umweltbiologie (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte)
Diese Option beschäftigt sich mit den wichtigen angewandten Facetten der Umweltbiologie, insbesondere im Hinblick auf biologische Invasionen, Konservationsbiologie und nachhaltigen Pflanzenschutz. Ein weiteres Forschungsfeld sind die Konsequenzen des globalen Wandels. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Umweltwissenschaften und Umweltgeisteswissenschaften (UniFR-ESH) haben die Studierenden die Möglichkeit, sich mit den derzeit grössten Problemen in der Umweltethik, in der Politikgestaltung und in der nachhaltigen Entwicklung vertraut zu machen. Die Forschungsmethoden in diesem Bereich umfassen beispielsweise Feld- und Laborversuche, Data-Mining in Datenbanken und Metaanalysen, Computersimulationen sowie die Erarbeitung von Politikempfehlungen. Die Forscher in diesem Bereich (die sich hauptsächlich mit angewandten Aspekten der Ökologie und der Mikrobiologie beschäftigen) arbeiten mit Instituten für angewandte Forschung wie Agroscope, FiBL (Forschungsinstitut für biologischen Landbau) und CABI zusammen. Diese Masteroption bietet auch die Möglichkeit, entweder ein kurzes Forschungspraktikum in einer solchen Partnerforschungseinrichtung zu absolvieren oder die Masterarbeit dort anzufertigen.

4. Unterricht (90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte)
In dieser Option sind die zentralen Kurse der obigen drei Optionen kombiniert. Sie eignet sich für Studierende, die eine Laufbahn als Lehrerin/Lehrer auf Sekundarstufe II anstreben. Die Studierenden, die diese Option wählen, müssen die 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte mit 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkten aus einem anderen Programm (zweites Unterrichtsfach) ergänzen.

Berufsperspektiven
Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen dieses Programms sind gut auf eine Laufbahn inner- und ausserhalb des Hochschulbereichs vorbereitet. Mögliche Tätigkeitsbereiche sind die akademische Forschung und Hochschulbildung, die Lehre, die Agroindustrie, die Forschungsanstalten und -ämter des Bundes (darunter Agroscope, FiBL, HAFL, HEPIA, BAFU, BLW, WSL), kantonale Ämter, private Stiftungen oder kleinere Unternehmen. Der Masterabschluss in Umweltbiologie ist auch eine Voraussetzung für ein Doktoratsstudium (PhD) in diesem Forschungsbereich (je nach Institution können zusätzliche Bedingungen gestellt werden).

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 4 Semester
oder
90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester (Option «Unterricht»)

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf die im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines universitären Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Universitären Hochschule werden ohne Bedingungen zum Masterstudium zugelassen, wenn sie, je nach gewünschtem Masterstudium, 60 oder 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in derselben Studienrichtung erworben haben. Es können jedoch Auflagen verfügt werden. Dasselbe Prinzip gilt für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird.

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Schweizer oder ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschlusses, der von der Universität Freiburg anerkannt und als gleichwertig eingestuft wird, welche diese Bedingung nicht erfüllen, können mit Bedingungen (vor Beginn des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) und/oder Auflagen (während des Masterstudiums zu erbringen) zum Masterstudium zugelassen werden. Diese Studienleistungen dürfen 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte nicht überschreiten. Dasselbe trifft für Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines Bachelorabschlusses einer Schweizer Fachhochschule zu, gemäss den massgebenden Konventionen.

Die spezifischen Zulassungsbedingungen jedes Masterstudienprogrammes bleiben vorbehalten.
Das Masterprogramm in Umweltbiologie steht Studierenden offen, die ihren Bachelor of Science in Biologie abgeschlossen haben. Auch Studierende mit einem abgeschlossenen Bachelor of Science in Biochemie können an dem Masterprogramm zugelassen werden, sofern sie die erforderlichen Kurse in ihrem BSc-Programm belegt haben.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) im Rahmen des Lehrdiploms für Maturitätsschulen (LDM).