Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

 

Mathematics

Abstract

The study programme provides a high-level education in pure and applied mathematics and involves individualized curricula specializing in several domains of analysis, algebra and geometry, topology, statistics, numerical analysis or biomathematics. Previous course work can be extended in computer science, physics or economics. Master's level classes at the nearby universities of Bern and Neuchâtel are open to students registered at Fribourg and can be part of their curriculum. Activities from the «Swiss Doctoral Program in Mathematics» can equally be integrated into the course of study. The programme culminates in a Master's thesis under the supervision of a thesis advisor with a final presentation of the results.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The study programme in mathematics provides a high-level education in pure and applied mathematics. It is open to candidates holding a Bachelor's degree in mathematics, and to well prepared and talented candidates with an equivalent degree. Because of the increasing use of advanced mathematical methods in a wide variety of fields, the study programme leads to a multitude of careers in private companies, government institutions, or teaching.
Mathematicians generally have excellent prospects on the national and international job market. This Master's degree also provides the necessary preparation for students planning to follow a Doctoral programme in mathematics.

This Master offers advanced classes in a broad spectrum of mathematical areas. Students follow highly individualized curricula specializing in several domains of analysis, algebra and geometry, topology, statistics, numerical analysis or biomathematics. It is also possible to extend previous course work in computer science, physics or economics at the Master's level. Lectures and seminars introduce students to the world of mathematical research. The study programme culminates in a Master's thesis carried out under the supervision of a thesis advisor, and a final presentation of the results.

Fribourg profile
In accordance with the multi-lingual and international profile of the University, mathematics classes at Fribourg are taught in French, German and English, while seminars are trilingual. Students may choose the language of their seminar talks, written works and exams between French, German and English.
The Mathematics Department is well integrated into the international research landscape, and provides a particularly attractive learning environment.
Assistants and professors are easily accessible and ready to provide advice and help. Master's level classes at the nearby universities of Bern and Neuchâtel are open to students registered at Fribourg and can be part of their curriculum.
Activities from the «Swiss Doctoral Programm in Mathematics» can equally be integrated into the course of study.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits, 3 semesters

Curriculum

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_e.php

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Alternatives

Also offered as a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

 

Mathematik

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Studienprogramm bietet eine hochwertige Ausbildung in reiner und angewandter Mathematik. Die Studierenden folgen einem individuellen Studienplan, um sich auf verschiedene Bereiche, wie Analyse, Algebra, Geometrie, Topologie, Statistik, numerische Analyse oder Biomathematik, zu spezialisieren. Bereits erworbene Kenntnisse aus den Bereichen Informatik, Physik oder Wirtschaft können ausgebaut werden. Die Studierenden der Universität Freiburg haben die Möglichkeit, von den nahe gelegenen Universitäten Bern und Neuenburg angebotene Masterkurse in ihren Studienplan aufzunehmen. Auch Aktivitäten des «Swiss Doctoral Program in Mathematics» können in Studienplan eingebunden werden. Das Studienprogramm wird mit einer betreuten Masterarbeit abgeschlossen, deren Ergebnisse zu präsentieren sind.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Das Studienprogramm bietet eine hochwertige Ausbildung in reiner und angewandter Mathematik. Es steht allen Inhaberinnen und Inhabern eines Bachelorabschlusses in Mathematik sowie besonders geeigneten und talentierten Personen mit einem gleichwertigen Abschluss offen. Da fortschrittliche mathematische Methoden heutzutage in immer mehr Bereichen eingesetzt werden, bildet dieses Studienprogramm den Grundstein für eine Vielzahl an Laufbahnen in privaten Unternehmen, staatlichen Institutionen und der Bildung.
Mathematikerinnen und Mathematiker verfügen sowohl auf dem nationalen als auch auf dem internationalen Arbeitsmarkt über exzellente Vermittlungschancen. Dieser Master ist zudem Voraussetzung für die Studierenden, die in Mathematik promovieren möchten.

Die von diesem Studienprogramm angebotenen Aufbaukurse decken ein breites Spektrum an mathematischen Fachbereichen ab. Die Studierenden folgen einem individuellen Lehrplan, um sich auf verschiedene Bereiche, wie Analyse, Algebra, Geometrie, Topologie, Statistik, numerische Analyse oder Biomathematik, zu spezialisieren. Bereits erworbene Kenntnisse aus den Bereichen Informatik, Physik oder Wirtschaft können auf Masterebene ausgebaut werden. Über Vorlesungen und Seminare werden Studierende in die Welt der mathematischen Forschung eingeführt. Das Studienprogramm wird mit einer betreuten Masterarbeit abgeschlossen, deren Ergebnisse zu präsentieren sind.

Freiburger Profil
In Übereinstimmung mit dem mehrsprachigen und internationalen Studienprofil der Universität Freiburg werden Mathematikvorlesungen in Französisch, Deutsch und Englisch gehalten; Seminare werden dreisprachig unterrichtet. Studierende können sich bei Seminarbeiträgen, schriftlichen Arbeiten und Prüfungen für eine der drei Sprachen entscheiden.
Das Departement für Mathematik ist gut in die internationale Forschungslandschaft eingebunden und bietet ein besonders reizvolles Lernumfeld.
Dozenteninnen und Dozenten, Professorinnen und Professoren stehen den Studierenden zur Verfügung, um ihnen bei Fragen und Problemen weiterzuhelfen. Die Studierenden der Universität Freiburg haben die Möglichkeit, von den nahe gelegenen Universitäten Bern und Neuenburg angebotene Masterkurse in ihren Studienplan aufzunehmen.
Auch Aktivitäten des «Swiss Doctoral Programm in Mathematics» können eingebunden werden.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 3 Semester

Studienplan

http://www.unifr.ch/science/plans/plans_d.php

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.

Varianten

Wird auch als Nebenprogramm angeboten (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).