Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Nature, Society and Politics

Abstract

Tuned to current environmental challenges and social dimensions of environmental change, this specialised master programme in Nature, Society and Politics enables students from backgrounds other than geography to understand and assess environmental systems and the relationship between «nature», society and politics. After studying a core module covering conceptual and theoretical basics in both physical and human geography, students explore social science subjects such as political ecology and natural resource governance in the specialisation module.
Students have a broad choice of seminars, as well as colloquiums and opportunities to practice fieldwork on excursions. Students can also participate in national or international research teams, particularly in the context of their master's thesis. The Unit of Geography offers cutting edge teaching and mentoring, preparing the students for critical thinking in academia, as well as providing a professional qualification beyond academia.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The Unit of Geography – part of the University of Fribourg Department of Geosciences – offers a specialised master's degree in Nature, Society and Politics that focuses on current environmental and social problems. This study programme gives students from backgrounds other than geography the means to understand and analyse the socio-environmental issues at stake, such as the consequences of climate change, urban and rural development and change, and extraction of natural resources. The course is partly based on the complementarity between the approaches and methods used in the natural and social sciences.

Throughout the programme, students are taught theoretical and methodological approaches that are required to assess the environmental issues at stake in a critical manner. The aim of this specialised master's degree is to deepen already acquired knowledge and to hone one's competencies in the chosen field.

At the end of the course, students will have shown that they can apply their knowledge to conduct a research project, and will have learned how to work independently and within an interdisciplinary research team. The award of the degree requires creativity and reflexivity, as well as the ability to communicate ideas and work both in English and in the student's native language.

Integrative, interdisciplinary geography
Reflecting the diverse team of around 30 researchers at our Unit of Geography, the specialised master's course in Nature, Society and Politics is truly integrative and interdisciplinary. Apart from providing integrative training, i.e. with the neighbouring disciplines of the Department: Physical Geography and Environmental Sciences, it also gives students the chance to specialise in topics like political ecology, natural resource management and governance (water, land, re-naturation and landscapes). This approach is a great aid to understanding and assessing complex environmental systems, as well as the relationship between nature, society, and politics. During their master's studies in Fribourg – and especially while working on their master's thesis – students may be part of research teams and can participate in on-going national and international research projects. The human dimensions of our diverse Department and the drive of the various research groups provide a supportive, quality environment for all students.

Structure of classes and lectures
All teaching is in English. The teaching is structured into four modules and is delivered through a combination of lectures, hands-on methodological courses, seminars, excursions and colloquiums. A field trip is organised abroad in one of the teams' research regions every other year (Morocco in 2009, Namibia in 2011, Central Asia in 2013, Kyrgyzstan in 2017, Greenland in 2019), complemented by student-organised excursions in Switzerland.

  1. The core module covers the conceptual and theoretical bases in geography. Students are taught the different approaches to human and physical geography at master's level, as well as methods for collecting and analysing data. Three cycles of internal colloquiums offer students a chance to gain more in-depth knowledge on current research topics.
  2. The specialisation module equips the students with advanced knowledge in the chosen field.
  3. A supporting module allows students to personalise their study programmes by pursuing courses related to their specialisation. Students can choose from a wide range of courses from the University of Fribourg, as well as other universities. Depending on the student's prior education and training, the supporting module may also be used to fill in gaps.
  4. The master's thesis is carried out under the supervision of a professor and makes up a very substantial part of the programme.

Career openings
This programme is intended for motivated students who are interested in pursuing a career in research – e.g. by pursuing a PhD – or in the public or private sector – e.g. in environmental consulting and management, (spatial) planning and development, monitoring, documentation, administration, public institutions (local, cantonal, federal, international), international organisations such as NGOs or the UN institutions of sustainable development. The specialised master's degree does not give access to the teacher education for academic upper secondary schools (DEEM or LDM) of the University of Fribourg.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

120 ECTS credits, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/xZPll (French)
http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1 (German)

Admission

Admission to the specialised master is based on the student's dossier, according to the conditions described in the study plan.
N.B. Students who have obtained a bachelor's degree in geography, or at least 60 ECTS credits in geography, should choose the master's degree in geography (option Dynamics in Glaciology and Geomorphology or Nature, Society and Politics).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Natur, Gesellschaft und Politik

Kurzbeschreibung

Der spezialisierte Master in Natur, Gesellschaft und Politik beschäftigt sich mit den aktuellen Umweltproblemen und sozialen Aspekten der Umweltveränderung. Studierende mit einem nicht geographischen Hintergrund lernen, Umweltsysteme und das Verhältnis zwischen «Natur», Gesellschaft und Politik zu verstehen und einzuschätzen. Nach dem Hauptmodul, das die konzeptionellen und theoretischen Grundlagen in Human- und Physischer Geographie abdeckt, beschäftigen sich die Studierenden in ihrem Spezialisierungsmodul mit sozialwissenschaftlichen Themen wie der politischen Ökologie und dem Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen.
Die Studierenden haben eine grosse Auswahl an Seminaren und Kolloquien. Weiterhin besteht die Möglichkeit, bei Exkursionen Feldarbeit zu betreiben. Insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit der Erstellung der Masterarbeit können die Studierenden auch in nationalen oder internationalen Forschungsgruppen mitarbeiten. Der Fachbereich Geographie bietet modernste Lehre und Betreuung. Die Studierenden werden an das kritische Denken in den Wissenschaften herangeführt und auf eine berufliche Laufbahn auch über die Universität hinaus vorbereitet.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Der Fachbereich Geographie gehört zum Departement für Geowissenschaften der Universität Freiburg und bietet einen spezialisierten Master in Natur, Gesellschaft und Politik, der sich auf aktuelle umweltbezogene und gesellschaftliche Probleme konzentriert. Dieses Studienprogramm gibt Studierenden mit einem nicht geographischen Hintergrund die Mittel, die derzeitigen sozioökologischen Fragestellungen wie die Konsequenzen des Klimawandels, Stadt- und Landentwicklung und -veränderung und Abbau natürlicher Ressourcen zu verstehen und zu analysieren. Das Programm basiert teilweise auf der Komplementarität der in den Natur- und Sozialwissenschaften verwendeten Ansätze und Methoden.

Den Studierenden werden die theoretischen und methodologischen Ansätze vermittelt, die sie für die kritische Einschätzung der derzeitigen Umweltprobleme benötigen. Der spezialisierte Master zielt auf die Vertiefung des bereits erworbenen Wissens und auf die Erweiterung der Kenntnisse im gewählten Fachgebiet ab.

Am Ende des Programms haben die Studierenden unter Beweis gestellt, dass sie ihr Wissen anwenden können, um ein Forschungsprojekt durchzuführen. Weiterhin haben sie gelernt, unabhängig und in einem interdisziplinären Forscherteam zu arbeiten. Für den Erwerb des Masterdiploms sind Kreativität und Reflexionsfähigkeiten notwendig. Darüber hinaus müssen die Studierenden in der Lage sein, Ideen zu kommunizieren und sowohl auf Englisch als auch in ihrer Muttersprache zu arbeiten.

Integrative, interdisziplinäre Geographie
Der spezialisierte Master in Natur, Gesellschaft und Politik spiegelt die Vielfalt des etwa 30-köpfigen Forscherteams an unserem Fachbereich Geographie wider und ist damit integrativ und interdisziplinär. Neben der Einbindung der verwandten Disziplinen Physische Geographie und Umweltwissenschaften können sich die Studierenden auch auf Themen wie politische Ökologie, Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen (Wasser, Boden, Renaturierung und Landschaften) und deren Verwaltung spezialisieren. Der Ansatz eignet sich hervorragend dafür, ein Verständnis komplexer Umweltsysteme zu entwickeln sowie die Beziehung zwischen Natur, Gesellschaft und Politik zu verstehen und diese einschätzen zu können. Während des Masterstudiums in Freiburg und insbesondere während der Erstellung der Masterarbeit können die Studierenden in Forscherteams arbeiten und sich an laufenden nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten beteiligen. Die überschaubare Grösse unseres vielfältigen Departements und unsere motivierten Forschungsgruppen ermöglichen es uns, allen Studierenden ein hilfsbereites und hochwertiges Umfeld zu bieten.

Struktur der Lehrveranstaltungen
Alle Lehrveranstaltungen finden in englischer Sprache statt. Die Lehrveranstaltungen gliedern sich in vier Module und finden in Form von Vorlesungen, praktisch ausgerichteten Methodologieübungen, Seminaren, Exkursionen und Kolloquien statt. In jedem zweiten Jahr findet eine Exkursion in eine der Forschungsregionen des Teams statt (2009: Marokko; 2011: Namibia; 2013: Zentralasien; 2017: Kirgisistan; 2019: Grönland). Zusätzlich werden von den Studierenden organisierte Exkursionen innerhalb der Schweiz durchgeführt.

  1. Das Hauptmodul deckt die konzeptionellen und theoretischen Grundlagen in Geographie ab. Die Studierenden lernen die verschiedenen Ansätze in Human- und Physischer Geographie auf Masterstufe sowie Methoden für die Datenerhebung und -analyse. In drei internen Kolloquienzyklen können die Studierenden ihr Wissen über die derzeitigen Forschungsthemen vertiefen.
  2. Im Spezialisierungsmodul werden den Studierenden vertiefte Kenntnisse im gewählten Fachgebiet vermittelt.
  3. Im Nebenmodul können die Studierenden ihr Studienprogramm um Kurse ergänzen, die mit ihrer Spezialisierung in Verbindung stehen. Sie können dabei aus einer breiten Palette von Lehrveranstaltungen der Universität Freiburg und anderer Universitäten auswählen. Je nach Vor- und Ausbildung des Studierenden können mit dem Nebenmodul auch Wissenslücken gefüllt werden.
  4. Die Masterarbeit wird unter der Leitung einer Professorin oder eines Professors erstellt und ist ein sehr wesentlicher Bestandteil des Programms.

Berufsperspektiven
Dieses Programm richtet sich an motivierte Studierende, die ihre berufliche Laufbahn z.B. mit einer Promotion in der Forschung fortsetzen möchten oder sich für eine Tätigkeit im öffentlichen Dienst oder in der Privatwirtschaft interessieren, z.B. in den Bereichen Umweltberatung und -verwaltung, (Raum-)Planung und -entwicklung, Überwachung, Dokumentation, Verwaltung. Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten gibt es unter anderem bei öffentlichen Institutionen (auf lokaler, kantonaler, föderaler oder internationaler Ebene), internationalen Organisationen wie NGOs oder bei UNO-Sonderorganisationen für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Der spezialisierte Master ist keine Zugangsberechtigung für die Ausbildung für den Unterricht an Maturitätsschulen (LDM) der Universität Freiburg.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 4 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/z3FE1

Zulassung

Die Zulassung zum spezialisierten Master erfolgt auf der Grundlage eines Dossiers, gemäss den im Studienplan beschriebenen Bedingungen.
N.B. Studierende, die einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Geographie oder mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in Geographie erworben haben, sollten den Master in Geographie wählen (Option Dynamische Systeme in Glaziologie und Geomorphologie oder Natur, Gesellschaft und Politik).