Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Ethics, Responsibility and Development

Abstract

By incorporating ethical and responsibility issues, this specialised Master's programme aims to understand, in a critical, scientific manner, the field of development in its multiple components: sustainable, social, environmental, educational, human, etc. It promotes an analytical management approach, enabling action not only in a general environment, but also and especially in accordance with the complexity of the social reality and with ethical and responsibility issues which influence the development of contemporary societies.
It is based on three learning objectives: consolidation of the foundations of theoretical work in the field of ethics and responsibility; reflection on the conditions for development that respect human beings; understanding of the implications of development on the social organisation, the life styles and the forms of solidarity.
The programme includes field experience abroad, enabling students to compare theoretical analysis and real development practice. At the end of the course, an ethics week is organised based on the students' work.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

By incorporating ethical and responsibility issues, the specialised Master's programme Ethics, Responsibility and Development aims to understand, in a critical, scientific manner, the field of development in its multiple components (sustainable, social, environmental, educational, human, solidarity economy, development aid) and to forge the conditions for a reasoned analysis of development issues crossed with ethical issues.

It is based on three learning objectives:

  1. Consolidate, in a methodical fashion, the foundations of theoretical work in the field of ethics and responsibility with a view to developing a critical approach on the basis of the specific context of development;
  2. Reflect on the conditions of development which respect human beings;
  3. Understand the implications of development experiences on social organisation, life styles and forms of solidarity by integrating ethical and responsibility issues.

It thus subscribes to the ethical objective of Paul Ricoeur: «Live well, with and for others, in just institutions».

Fribourg profile
This specialised Master's programme includes field work abroad (Brazil, Canada, Paraguay, Argentina, Mexico, Romania, Bulgaria, Tunisia, Senegal, Congo, Rwanda, etc.) enabling a comparison between theoretical analyses (ethics, responsibility and development) and real development experiences. In order to achieve this, the University works with internationally recognised theoreticians in ethics, responsibility and development, and organisations/experts in the field of development and cooperation.
The programme finishes with an «Ethics Week» based on the students' work, with exhibitions, debates, discussion-workshops, talks, etc., on the actors/experts in development and cooperation and on the City.

The programme's strong points are:

  • Development of a practical foundation to the ethical dimension, with contributions from figures in national and international agencies confronted with the application of ethical issues in the field of development;
  • Observation work on real development operations during a semester abroad;
  • On-site supervision by a partner university on a contractual basis;
  • Pursuit of the theoretical standpoint of linking ethical issues with problems in development;
  • Integration of the various dimensions of project management from design and implementation to evaluation.

Learning outcomes and career openings
In answer to the question, «how should we act?», this specialised Master's programme offers teaching that focuses on critical debate, examining ethical aspects in their full scope and complexity.

The programme thereby promotes the formation of an analytical-management approach, enabling action not simply in accordance with a general framework, but which also integrates the complexity of social reality and in particular ethical and responsibility issues which are today very much a feature of development issues (social, environmental, educational, health, technological, etc.) in contemporary societies. Such an approach is sorely needed in a context in which the ethical, social and humanistic dimensions of development are justly questioned, on a recurrent basis, by organisations, foundations and associations working in the field of development or development aid, and also by public opinion.

These studies prepare students for roles in research, counselling, programme organisation, public administration, associations with various interests, non-profit organisations active in social and humanitarian fields, consultancy firms, non-governmental organisations and (inter)national administrations. Given that current ethics and development issues are becoming increasingly complex, this programme could also be of interest to students who wish to train for management roles in the social field in the public and private sectors, in which it is often necessary to make decisions involving issues that go substantially beyond the framework of the sector.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

90 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in a specialisation programme, 4 semesters

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/421D- (French only)

Comments

The number of places is limited to 25.

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.
Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss University in Social Work and Social Policy, Sociology, Socio Anthropology, Social and Human Sciences, Philosophy, Contemporary History, Human Geography, Economic Sciences, Political Sciences, International Relations, Sciences of Education and/or Special Education can be admitted to this Master's degree course without any additional requirements.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Ethik, Verantwortung und Entwicklung

Kurzbeschreibung

Der spezialisierte Master stellt Fragen der Ethik und der Verantwortung in den Vordergrund und zielt auf ein kritisches und wissenschaftliches Verständnis der Entwicklung in ihren vielfältigen Komponenten: nachhaltige Entwicklung, Entwicklung von Gesellschaft, Mensch und Umwelt, Erziehung usw. Er fördert die analytischen und proaktiven Kapazitäten der Studierenden, die nicht nur im allgemeinen Studienrahmen, sondern auch angemessen auf die komplexe soziale Realität sowie die ethischen Herausforderungen und Verantwortungen in der Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Gesellschaften reagieren können.
Dem Master liegen drei pädagogische Zielsetzungen zugrunde: die Konsolidierung der theoretischen Grundlagen im Bereich Ethik und Verantwortung, die Erörterung der Bedingungen, unter denen Entwicklung in Achtung der menschlichen Person erfolgt, und das Erfassen der Bedeutung von Entwicklung für die gesellschaftliche Organisation, die Lebensweise und die Formen der Solidarität.
Die Ausbildung umfasst einen Forschungsaufenthalt im Ausland, in dessen Rahmen die theoretischen Analysen mit konkreten Entwicklungsrealitäten konfrontiert werden können. Zum Studienabschluss wird eine Ethikwoche organisiert, in der die Arbeiten der Studierenden aufgegriffen werden.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Der spezialisierte Master Ethik, Verantwortung und Entwicklung zielt auf ein kritisches und wissenschaftliches Verständnis der Entwicklung in ihren vielfältigen Komponenten (nachhaltige Entwicklung, Entwicklung von Gesellschaft, Mensch und Umwelt, Erziehung, solidarische Ökonomie, Entwicklungshilfe). Zudem fördert er die Rahmenbedingungen für die durchdachte Analyse der ethischen Herausforderungen, die sich im Bereich der Entwicklung stellen.

Dem Master liegen drei pädagogische Zielsetzungen zugrunde:

  1. Die methodische Erläuterung der theoretischen Grundlagen von Ethik und Verantwortung, um zu einer kritischen Haltung im Umgang mit Problemen der Entwicklung anzuleiten;
  2. Die Erörterung der Bedingungen, unter denen Entwicklung in Achtung der menschlichen Person erfolgt;
  3. Das Erfassen der Bedeutung von Entwicklung für die gesellschaftliche Organisation, die Lebensweise und die Formen der Solidarität, indem Fragen der Ethik und Verantwortung berücksichtigt werden.

So fügt er sich in den ethischen Ansatz von Paul Ricœur ein: «Mit und für die anderen in gerechten Institutionen gut zu leben».

Freiburger Profil
Dieses spezialisierte Masterprogramm umfasst einen Forschungsaufenthalt im Ausland (Brasilien, Kanada, Paraguay, Argentinien, Mexiko, Rumänien, Bulgarien, Tunesien, Senegal, Kongo, Ruanda usw.), durch den die theoretischen Analysen (Ethik, Verantwortung und Entwicklung) mit konkreten Entwicklungsrealitäten konfrontiert werden können. Der Forschungsaufenthalt wird von international anerkannten Fachkräften in Ethik, Verantwortung und Entwicklung sowie Akteuren/Experten im Bereich Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit unterstützt.
Abschliessend findet eine «Ethikwoche» statt, in der die Arbeiten der Studierenden aufgegriffen werden. Sie umfasst Ausstellungen, Diskussionen, Diskussionsworkshops, Konferenzen usw. und richtet sich auch an die Akteure in der Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit und der Stadt.

Die Schwerpunkte des Programms sind:

  • Die praktische Verankerung der Ethik durch die Beiträge von Akteuren aus nationalen oder internationalen Organisationen, die mit der Anwendung ethischer Fragen im Bereich Entwicklung konfrontiert werden;
  • Die Beobachtung konkreter Entwicklungsvorgänge während eines Semesters im Ausland;
  • Die Betreuung vor Ort durch eine Partneruniversität, mit der ein Abkommen abgeschlossen wird;
  • Die Verfolgung eines theoretischen Ansatzes unter Einbindung von Herausforderungen in der Ethik und Entwicklung;
  • Die Kenntnis der verschiedenen Ebenen der Projektverwaltung von der Planung über die Umsetzung bis hin zur Auswertung.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Der spezialisierte Master geht auf die Frage ein, wie man sich zu verhalten hat. Er bietet eine Ausbildung, die sich mit der kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der ethischen Frage in ihrem ganzen Umfang und in ihrer Komplexität befasst.

So fördert das Programm die analytischen und proaktiven Kapazitäten der Studierenden, die nicht nur im allgemeinen Studienrahmen, sondern auch angemessen auf die komplexe soziale Realität und die ethischen Herausforderungen und Verantwortungen in der Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Gesellschaften reagieren können (Entwicklung von Gesellschaft, Mensch und Umwelt, Erziehung, Gesundheit, Technik usw.). Fachkräfte in diesem Gebiet sind leider immer noch Mangelware, obwohl im heutigen Kontext die ethischen, sozialen und humanistischen Aspekte der Entwicklung regelmässig durch in der Entwicklung oder Entwicklungshilfe tätige Organisationen, Stiftungen und Vereine einerseits und die Öffentlichkeit andererseits hinterfragt werden.

Der Master öffnet die Türen für Stellen im Bereich Forschung, Beratung, Programmorganisation, öffentliche Verwaltung sowie in Gesellschaften und Non-Profit-Organisationen, die im Bereich des Sozialen und Humanitären sowie für Beratungsorgane, Nichtregierungsorganisationen oder nationale und internationale Verwaltungen tätig sind. Da die ethischen und entwicklungstheoretischen Herausforderungen immer komplexer werden, ist der Master auch für Studierende von Interesse, die Führungsstellen im sozialen Bereich oder generell im öffentlichen und im privaten Sektor anstreben, wo sie oft Entscheidungen zu treffen haben, die über ihr Spezialgebiet hinausgehen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte + 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte in einem Spezialisierungsprogramm, 4 Semester

Studienplan

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/421D- (Französisch)

Bemerkung

Die Platzanzahl ist auf 25 Plätze beschränkt.

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.
Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zu diesem Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in Sozialarbeit und Sozialpolitik, Soziologie, Sozialanthropologie, Sozialwissenschaften, Philosophie, Zeitgeschichte, Humangeographie, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Politikwissenschaften, Internationale Beziehungen, Erziehungswissenschaften und/oder Heilpädagogik verfügt.