Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Theology (Canonical License)

Abstract

A Canonical License is required for advancement to a doctorate by students wishing to teach at a papal or other ecclesiastical university, or at a seminary.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

Unlike other university disciplines, theology has its own guiding perspective: it is fundamentally concerned with God and doctrine, reflecting its own position and that of the church in society. The critical work of theology is aimed at helping to keep issues of values and truth alive in public discourse.

Theological training consists primarily of training courses for future priests and pastoral care assistants and secondary school teachers.

Fribourg profile
The Faculty of Theology of the University of Fribourg is the largest theological faculty in Switzerland and one of two Catholic theological faculties integrated into a state university. Like the other faculties, it is subject to state law; however, it is also recognised by the ecclesiastical authorities and is supported by the Dominican Order and the Conference of Bishops of Switzerland.

The content of a Canonical License course consists of lectures and classes, a thesis and ECTS points in the license special subject and in other theological fields, which are agreed with the license supervisor. All departments must be taken into consideration: the Hebraic Bible and its cultural context (OT), the New Testament in its cultural and historical context, patristics and ancient church history, modern and contemporary church history, the sciences of faith and philosophy, dogmatic theology, the theology of ecumenism, interreligious dialogue, theological ethics, practical theology and liturgical science.

Candidates doing a license are mentored by their thesis supervisor. He or she defines the license components in agreement with the candidate.

Candidates who already have a specialist Master's degree in Theology must catch up the subjects they did not study for their Master's degree in agreement with the curator studiorum for their license; this may prolong their studies to two years.

Learning outcomes and career openings
A Canonical License is required for advancement to a doctorate by candidates wishing to teach at a papal or other ecclesiastical university (SapC 17) or at a priests' seminary (SapC 50.1). To be eligible to apply for a doctoral programme, candidates need a Canonical License; this gives them access to a doctorate recognised by the church.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits, 2 semesters

Admission

Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Theologie (Kanonisches Lizentiat)

Kurzbeschreibung

Das kanonische Lizentiat ist die Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme eines Doktoratsstudiums für Studierende, die an einer päpstlichen oder anderen kirchlichen Universität oder an einem Priesterseminar unterrichten möchten.

Profil des Studienprogramms anzeigen

Profil des Studienprogramms

Im Unterschied zu anderen universitären Studienbereichen hat die Theologie eine eigene leitende Perspektive: Sie beschäftigt sich grundlegend mit Gott und der Glaubenslehre und reflektiert dabei ihre eigene Stellung und jene der Kirche in der Gesellschaft. Die kritische Arbeit der Theologie will einen Beitrag leisten, um Wert- und Wahrheitsfragen im öffentlichen Diskurs lebendig zu halten.

Den Kern der theologischen Ausbildung bilden die Studiengänge zur Ausbildung künftiger Priester, Pastoralassistentinnen und Pastoralassistenten, sowie von Lehrerinnen und Lehrern an der Sekundarstufe.

Freiburger Profil
Die Theologische Fakultät der Universität Freiburg ist die grösste theologische Fakultät der Schweiz und eine der zwei katholisch-theologischen Fakultäten, die in eine staatliche Universität integriert sind. Sie unterliegt staatlichem Recht wie die übrigen Fakultäten der Universität, besitzt aber zugleich die Anerkennung kirchlicher Autoritäten und wird vom Dominikanerorden und der Schweizer Bischofskonferenz mitgetragen.

Das kanonische Lizentiat beinhaltet Lehrveranstaltungen, die Vorbereitung der Lizentiatsarbeit, den Erwerb von ECTS-Kreditpunkten im Lizentiatsgebiet und in anderen theologischen Gebieten nach Absprache mit der Leiterin oder dem Leiter des Lizentiats. Dabei sind alle Departemente zu berücksichtigen: Die hebräische Bibel und ihr kultureller Kontext (AT), das Neue Testament in seiner kulturgeschichtlichen Umwelt, Patristik und Alte Kirchengeschichte, Moderne und zeitgenössische Kirchengeschichte, Glaubenswissenschaften und Philosophie, Dogmatik, Theologie der Ökumene, Interreligiöser Dialog, Theologische Ethik, Praktische Theologie, Liturgiewissenschaft.

Die Lizentiatsstudien werden durch die Begleiterin oder den Begleiter der Lizentiatsarbeit geleitet. Sie oder er legt in Rücksprache mit der Kandidatin oder dem Kandidaten die Studienverpflichtungen fest.

Studierende, die einen spezialisierten theologischen Masterabschluss mitbringen, müssen nach Absprache mit dem Curator studiorum im Lizentiatsstudium die fehlenden Gebiete des Master in Theologie nachholen; die Studien können sich dadurch auf zwei Jahre verlängern.

Ausbildungsziele und Berufsperspektiven
Das kanonische Lizentiat ist die Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme eines Doktoratsstudiums für Studierende, die an einer päpstlichen oder anderen kirchlichen Universität (SapC 17) oder an einem Priesterseminar (SapC 50.1) unterrichten möchten. Bevor sie sich in das Doktorat einschreiben können, müssen sie das Kanonische Lizentiat erwerben, um ein von der Kirche anerkanntes Doktorat zu erlangen.

Studienaufbau

Studienstruktur

60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, 2 Semester

Zulassung

Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.