Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Admission

Conditions of admission

Bachelor

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor’s degree courses at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate;
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission;
  • Bachelor’s degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH).

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates (in French and German only) is to be found on the website of the Rectors’ Conference of the Swiss Universities (CRUS).

Foreign academic upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognized only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language);
  2. Second language;
  3. Mathematics;
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics);
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law);
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5).

The general admission requirements to Bachelor’s degree courses for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries (in French and German only) are to be found on our website. In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007 (French and German only). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Application procedure and further informations
Master

Master’s degree courses are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor’s degree.

Holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded from a Swiss University can be admitted to a Master’s degree course within the corresponding discipline (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor's level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognized and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.

Holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded by a foreign University, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognized and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master’s degree course within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master’s degree course) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master’s degree course). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor’s degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.

The respective conditions of admission for each Master’s degree course are reserved.

Application procedure and further informations
Guest Students
Guest student: complementary studies

The University of Fribourg offers students registered at another Swiss university the possibility to follow a limited number of courses and, if necessary, to submit written reports and sit the corresponding examinations.

Guest students: minor studies

The University of Fribourg offers students registered at another Swiss university the possibility to study a minor for as long as the home university does not offer that particular minor.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Zulassung

Zulassungsbedingungen

Bachelor

Folgende schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise berechtigen zur Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium an der Universität Freiburg:

  • Schweizerische oder schweizerisch anerkannte kantonale, gymnasiale Maturität;
  • Eidgenössisches Berufsmaturitätszeugnis in Verbindung mit dem Ausweis über die bestandenen Ergänzungsprüfungen;
  • Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen universitären Hochschule, einer anerkannten schweizerischen Fachhochschule (FH) oder pädagogischen Hochschule (PH).

Eine Liste aller weiteren anerkannten schweizerischen Vorbildungsausweise befindet sich auf der Webseite der Rektorenkonferenz der Schweizer Universitäten (CRUS).

Ausländische Vorbildungsausweise werden grundsätzlich nur anerkannt, wenn sie im Wesentlichen einer schweizerischen gymnasialen Maturität entsprechen. Sie müssen einen allgemein bildenden Charakter aufweisen. Als allgemein bildend gilt ein ausländischer Vorbildungsausweis, wenn in den letzten drei Schuljahren der Sekundarstufe II durchgehend mindestens sechs allgemein bildende, voneinander unabhängige Fächer gemäss folgender Liste absolviert wurden:

  1. Erstsprache (Muttersprache);
  2. Zweitsprache;
  3. Mathematik;
  4. Naturwissenschaften (Biologie oder Physik oder Chemie);
  5. Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (Geographie oder Geschichte oder Wirtschaft/Recht);
  6. frei wählbar (zusätzliche Sprache oder ein Fach aus den Fächergruppen 4 oder 5).

Die allgemeinen sowie die länderspezifischen Mindestanforderungen für ausländische Vorbildungsausweise für die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium befinden sich auf unserer Webseite. Zusätzlich muss der Nachweis ausreichender Deutsch- oder Französischkenntnisse erbracht werden.

Als Grundlage für die Bewertung von ausländischen Vorbildungsausweisen gelten die Empfehlungen der CRUS vom 7. September 2007 für die Bewertung ausländischer Reifezeugnisse. Die Zulassungsbestimmungen sind jeweils für das angegebene akademische Jahr gültig. Das Rektorat der Universität Freiburg behält sich das Recht vor, sie jederzeit zu ändern.

Anmeldeverfahren und weitere Informationen
Master

Das Masterstudium baut auf die im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf.

Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg als gleichwertig anerkannte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.

Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt.

Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Studienprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.

Anmeldeverfahren und weitere Informationen
Gaststudierende
Gaststudierende für ergänzende Lehrveranstaltungen

Die Universität Freiburg bietet Studierenden, die an einer anderen schweizerischen universitären Hochschule immatrikuliert sind, die Möglichkeit, eine begrenzte Anzahl Lehrveranstaltungen zu besuchen und in diesen gegebenenfalls schriftliche Arbeiten einzureichen und Prüfungen abzulegen.

Gastnebenfachstudierende

Die Universität Freiburg bietet Studierenden, die an einer anderen schweizerischen universitären Hochschule immatrikuliert sind, die Möglichkeit, ein Nebenfach zu belegen, sofern die Herkunftsuniversität dieses Fach nicht anbietet.