Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Glossary

The Bologna process
Process initiated in 1999 by the Bologna Declaration, with the purpose of establishing a European Higher Education Area (EHEA, declared open in 2010). The process introduced a system of academic grades that are easily recognisable and comparable. The process also aims to promote mobility of students, teachers and researchers, to ensure a high quality of teaching and to integrate the European dimension into higher education.
ECTS European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System
The ECTS credit system improves transparency by providing a means of comparison for study programmes and diplomas; it also facilitates the process of mutually recognising diplomas and qualifications. 1 ECTS credit corresponds to a workload of 25 to 30 hours.
Bachelor
The 1st cycle of studies in which students receive a general scientific education. To gain a Bachelor’s degree students have to acquire 180 ECTS credits in 3 years of full-time studies.
Master
The 2nd cycle of studies in which students deepen the knowledge acquired in the 1st cycle (Bachelor). To gain a Master’s degree students have to acquire 90 to 120 ECTS credits in 1.5 to 2 years of full-time studies.
PhD
Personal research followed by a thesis under supervision of a University professor is required. The first condition for a PhD is to have a recognised Master’s degree. In some cases, a minimum final mark in Master’s examinations is required. The duration of research is variable. It takes between 2 and 6 years to obtain a PhD depending in particular on the research domain.
BENEFRI/BEFRI (Convention)
A collaboration network established by a framework convention between the universities of Bern, Neuchâtel and Fribourg. The purpose of the network is mainly to co-ordinate teaching between the three universities and to allow students to easily access a wider range of studies. A number of conventions have been drawn up which govern the range of courses. For some study programmes, the co-operation set up between the three universities makes mobility between sites compulsory. Students receive a common BENEFRI diploma.

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Glossar

Bologna-Prozess
Der Bologna-Prozess wurde 1999 mit der Bologna-Erklärung ins Leben gerufen. Ziel war es, einen einheitlichen Europäischen Hochschulraum (EHEA, 2010 als eröffnet erklärt) zu schaffen. Mit diesem Prozess soll ein System von besser vergleichbaren Hochschulabschlüssen eingeführt werden, die leichter anerkannt werden können. Ausserdem sollen die Mobilität von Studierenden, Lehrkräften und Wissenschaftlern gefördert, eine hohe Qualität der Bildung sichergestellt und die europäische Dimension in die Hochschulbildung einbezogen werden.
ECTS European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (Leistungspunktesystem)
Das Kreditpunktesystem ECTS ermöglicht die Verbesserung der Transparenz und die Vergleichbarkeit von Studienprogrammen und Diplomen. Es erleichtert zudem die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Diplomen und Qualifikationen. Ein ECTS-Kreditpunkt entspricht einer Arbeitsleistung von 25 bis 30 Stunden.
Bachelor
Der Bachelor ist die erste Studienstufe und bietet eine wissenschaftliche Grundausbildung. Er setzt den Erwerb von 180 ECTS-Kreditpunkten voraus und entspricht generell einem 3-jährigen Vollzeitstudium.
Master
Der Master ist die zweite Studienstufe und dient der Vertiefung der im Rahmen des Bachelors erworbenen Kenntnisse. Er setzt den Erwerb von 90 bis 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten voraus und entspricht generell einem Vollzeitstudium von 1,5 bis 2 Jahren.
Doktorat
Das Doktorat ist eine persönliche Forschungsarbeit mit anschliessender Dissertation unter der Leitung eines Universitätsprofessors. Grundvoraussetzung für die Zulassung zu einem Doktoratsstudium ist ein abgeschlossenes und anerkanntes Masterdiplom. In einigen Fällen wird eine Mindestnote bei den Masterprüfungen verlangt. Die Dauer der Forschungsarbeiten ist nicht festgelegt. Generell dauert das Doktorat 2 bis 6 Jahre, je nach Forschungsbereich kann diese Dauer jedoch unterschiedlich ausfallen.
BENEFRI/BEFRI (Vereinbarung)
Ein Netzwerk zwischen den Universitäten Bern, Neuenburg und Freiburg, das durch eine Rahmenvereinbarung geregelt ist. Sein Ziel ist es, die Ausbildung der drei Universitäten zu koordinieren und den Studierenden den Zugang zu einem breiteren Studienangebot zu ermöglichen. Verschiedene Fachvereinbarungen decken dieses Angebot ab. In gewissen Bereichen ist die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den drei Universitäten so festgelegt worden, dass ein Pendeln zwischen den Ausbildungsstätten zwingend ist. Die Studierenden können so ein gemeinsames BENEFRI-Diplom erlangen.