Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Structure of studies

The courses offered at the University of Fribourg are offered in compliance with the Bologna process. The University issues diplomas which are recognised in the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).

The education system is sub-divided into three cycles:

  • Bachelor: an initial course earning 180 ECTS credits, corresponding in principle to 3 years of full-time studies and leading to the title of Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Medicine;
  • Master: an in-depth course earning between 90 and 120 ECTS credits, corresponding in principle to 1, 5 or 2 years of full-time studies and leading to the title of Master of Arts or Master of Science;
  • PhD: personal research work followed by a thesis. PhD candidates are admitted by application only, pursuant to the conditions of admission specific to each faculty. The duration of studies is variable.

Education system: Bachelor (3 years) ? Master (2 years) ? PhD/Doctorate (3 years and more) In compliance with the Bologna process, it is possible to study for a Bachelor’s degree in one university and a Master’s degree in another university.

Organisation of the academic year

The university academic year is divided into 2 semesters. Autumn semester lessons start in mid-September (week 38) and end at the end of December (week 51). Spring semester lessons start in mid-February (week 8) and end at the start of June (week 22), i.e. in principle 14 weeks of lessons for each semester.

Academic year

Structure of studies according to Faculty

Faculty of Theology
Bachelor

The Faculty of Theology offers two main types of study programmes: full major study programmes (180 ECTS credits) and major study programmes (120 ECTS credits). Students choose either a full major, or a major plus one or two secondary minors (60 ECTS credits or 30+30 ECTS credits) from a field of study other than that of the major.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Master

The Faculty of Theology offers two main types of study programme: full major study programmes (120 ECTS credits) and major study programmes (90 ECTS credits). Students choose a full major or a major plus one minor (30 ECTS credits) from a field of study other than that of the major.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Faculty of Law
Bachelor

The Faculty of Law offers a full major study programme (180 ECTS credits) leading to a Bachelor of Law.

Students from other faculties may also study law as a minor study programme (60/30 ECTS credits).

Master

Study programmes at the Faculty of Law earn 90 ECTS credits.

Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences
Bachelor

The main study programmes at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences earn 180 ECTS credits, with the exception of the Communication and Media Research programme (120 ECTS credits). The latter must be supplemented with one or two minor study programmes (60 ECTS credits in total).

Students from other faculties may also study economics and social sciences as a minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits).

Master

The main study programmes offered at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences earn 90 ECTS credits.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Bachelor

At the Faculty of Arts and Humanities, students choose a major study programme (120 ECTS credits) in a first field of study, and a minor study programme (60 ECTS credits) in another field.

There are three exceptions to this rule: the full major study programmes in Special Education and Social Pedagogy, Speech-Language Therapy  and Psychology (180 ECTS credits). 

The Faculty also offers secondary minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Master

The Faculty of Arts and Humanities offers three types of study programme: major study programmes (90 ECTS credits, including the Master’s thesis), specialisation programmes (30 ECTS credits) and minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits). Candidates choose a major study programme then, if required as part of this programme, a specialisation programme (associated with the same field of study) or a minor (associated with another field of study). If a specialisation programme or a minor not required as part of the major, the choice of a specialisation programme or a minor is optional.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Faculty of Science
Bachelor

The Faculty of Science offers major study programmes earning 150 or 120 ECTS credits. These study programmes must be completed along with a minor study programme (30 ECTS credits), or one or two minor study programmes (60 ECTS credits in total).

Exceptions to this rule are studies leading to a Bachelor of Medicine in Human Medicine (180 ECTS credits) and to a Bachelor of Medicine in Dental Medicine (120 ECTS credits; only the first two years at Fribourg).

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (60/30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Master

The Faculty of Science offers full major study programmes earning 90 or 120 ECTS credits.

The Faculty also offers minor study programmes (30 ECTS credits) to students from other faculties.

Teacher Education for Secondary level

For this courses, please consult the following sources for the structure of studies:

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Studienangebot

Studienstruktur

Das Studienangebot der Universität Freiburg richtet sich nach dem Bologna-Prozess. Die Diplome, die an der Universität erworben werden können, sind im Europäischen Hochschulraum anerkannt.

Das Studiensystem umfasst drei Studienstufen:

  • Bachelor: Grundausbildung zu 180 ECTS-Kreditpunkten. Dies entspricht grundsätzlich einem Vollzeitstudium über 3 Jahre. Folgende Abschlüsse sind möglich: Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science oder Bachelor of Medicine;
  • Master: Vertiefende Ausbildung zu 90 oder 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten. Dies entspricht grundsätzlich einem Vollzeitstudium über 1,5 bzw. 2 Jahre. Folgende Abschlüsse können erworben werden: Master of Arts oder Master of Science;
  • Doktorat: Persönliche Forschungsarbeit mit anschliessender Dissertation. Die Zulassung zum Doktorat erfolgt ausschliesslich auf Bewerbungsdossier, gemäss den spezifischen Zulassungsbedingungen jeder Fakultät. Es gibt keinen Richtwert für die Studiendauer.

Studiensystem: Bachelor (3 Jahre) ? Master (2 Jahre) ? Doktorat (mindestens 3 Jahre) Im Rahmen des Bologna-Prozesses können Studierende ein Bachelor-Diplom an einer Universität erwerben und ihr Masterstudium anschliessend an einer anderen Universität weiterführen.

Organisation des akademischen Jahres

Das akademische Jahr der Universität ist in 2 Semester unterteilt. Die Vorlesungen des Herbstsemesters (HS) beginnen Mitte September (Woche 38) und dauern bis Ende Dezember (Woche 51). Das Frühlingssemester (FS) startet Mitte Februar (Woche 8) und endet Anfang Juni (Woche 22). Jedes Semester umfasst grundsätzlich 14 Wochen.

Akademisches Jahr

Studienstruktur nach Fakultät

Theologische Fakultät
Bachelor

Die Theologische Fakultät bietet zwei Arten von Hauptstudienprogrammen an: Vollprogramme (180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) und Hauptprogramme (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte). Die Studierenden wählen entweder ein Vollprogramm oder ein Hauptprogramm mit einem oder zwei Nebenprogrammen aus einem anderen Bereich (60 bzw. 30 + 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).

Die Fakultät bietet auch Nebenprogramme (60 oder 30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten an.

Master

Die Theologische Fakultät bietet zwei Arten von Hauptstudienprogrammen an: Vollprogramme (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) und Hauptprogramme (90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte). Die Studierenden wählen entweder ein Vollprogramm oder ein Hauptprogramm mit einem Nebenprogramm aus einem anderen Bereich (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).

Die Fakultät bietet auch Nebenprogramme (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten an.

Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Bachelor

Die Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät bietet ein Vollprogrammstudium (180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) an, das mit einem Bachelor of Law abgeschlossen wird.

Studierende anderer Fakultäten können jedoch auch ein Nebenprogramm in Recht belegen (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).

Master

Die Studienprogramme der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät umfassen 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte.

Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät
Bachelor

Die Hauptstudienprogramme der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät umfassen 180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, mit Ausnahme des Studienprogramms Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte). Dieses Programm muss mit einem oder zwei Nebenprogrammen (insgesamt 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) ergänzt werden.

Für Studierende anderer Fakultäten besteht auch die Möglichkeit, ein Nebenprogramm in der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät zu belegen (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte).

Master

Die an der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät angebotenen Hauptstudienprogramme umfassen 90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte.

Die Fakultät bietet auch Nebenprogramme (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten an.

Philosophische Fakultät
Bachelor

Die Studierenden der Philosophischen Fakultät wählen im Prinzip ein Hauptprogramm (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) in einem ersten Bereich und ein Nebenprogramm (60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) in einem zweiten Bereich.

Von dieser Regelung ausgenommen sind die drei Hauptprogramme Klinische Heilpädagogik und Sozialpädagogik, Logopädie und Psychologie, die zu 180 ECTS-Kreditpunkten angeboten werden. 

Die Fakultät bietet auch Nebenprogramme (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten an.

Master

Auf Masterstufe bietet die Philosophische Fakultät drei Studienprogramme-Typen an: Vertiefungsprogramme (90 ECTS-Kreditpunkte einschliesslich Masterarbeit), Spezialisierungsprogramme (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) sowie Nebenprogramme (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte). Die Studierenden wählen ein Vertiefungsprogramm und — falls erforderlich — ein Spezialisierungs- (im selben Bereich) oder ein Nebenprogramm (in einem anderen Bereich). Ist das Spezialisierungs- oder Nebenprogramm im Vertiefungsprogramm nicht vorgeschrieben, so ist die Wahl eines solchen optional.

Die Fakultät bietet auch Nebenprogramme (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten an.

Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät
Bachelor

Die Mathematisch -Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät bietet im Prinzip Hauptstudienprogramme zu 150 bzw. 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten an. Diese Hauptstudienprogramme müssen mit einem Nebenprogramm (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) bzw. einem oder zwei Nebenprogrammen (insgesamt 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) ergänzt werden.

Eine Ausnahme bilden die Studienprogramme in Humanmedizin (180 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) und Zahnmedizin (120 ECTS-Kreditpunkte, lediglich die ersten zwei Jahre in Freiburg).

Die Fakultät bietet auch Nebenprogramme (60/30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten an.

Master

Die Mathematisch -Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät bietet Vollprogramme zu 90 bzw. 120 ECTS-Kreditpunkten an.

Die Fakultät bietet auch Nebenprogramme (30 ECTS-Kreditpunkte) für Studierende anderer Fakultäten an.

Unterricht auf der Sekundarstufe

Für die spezifische Studienstruktur dieser Studiengänge verweisen wir auf folgende Ressourcen: