Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings


Medical Sciences

Fribourg profile

The department of Medicine offers doctoral programmes in various domains of the biomedical research. Students are affiliated to one of the research groups of our Department and in addition may attend an organized programme of lectures, seminars and other activities. See for example: BeNeFRi Program Neuroscience and ProDoc project Cell migration supported by Swissuniversities.

The research groups of the department of Medicine are organised in 3 research clusters:

  • Neurosciences
  • Cardiovascular, metabolism & endocrinology
  • Cancer, immunology & microbiology

All details concerning the present research activities of each group, the available PhD positions and the contact addresses can be found in the websites of each group (see Contact) and in the Scientific Report of the Department of Medicine, which is published every two years (actual: 2013/2014).

Research groups list

Cluster Neurosciences

  • Laboratory for cognitive and neurological sciences
    Prof. J.-M. Annoni, Dr. L. Spierer
  • Perception and control of movement
    Prof. J.-P. Bresciani
  • Brain circuits for positive emotions
    Prof. M. Celio
  • Neurophysiology of cognitive and emotional functions as well as decision-taking in normal subjects and psychiatric patients
    Prof. M. Merlo
  • Visual cognition laboratory
    Prof. G. Rainer
  • Laboratory of neurophysiology of action and hearing
    Prof. E.M. Rouiller
  • Calcium signalling in health and disease
    Prof. B. Schwaller
  • Motor control and motor learning
    Prof. W. Taube

Cluster Cardiovascular, Metabolism and Endocrinology

  • Translational and clinical cardiology
    Profs. S. Cook and M. Togni, Dr. M.-N. Giraud
  • Nutritional energetics and body composition regulation
    Prof. A. Dulloo
  • Molecular oxygen physiology
    Prof. D. Hoogewijs
  • Molecular endocrinology
    Prof. A. Lauber-Biason
  • Cardiovascular and metabolic physiology
    Prof. J.-P. Montani
  • The importance of renal proximal tubular function
    Prof. F. Theilig
  • Cardiovascular and aging research
    Prof. Z. Yang

Cluster Cancer, Immunology and Microbiology

  • Cell biology, immunology and clinical anatomy
    Prof. L. Filgueira
  • Molecular mechanisms of hypoxia signalling
    Prof. D. Hoogewijs
  • Molecular and medical microbiology: emerging antibiotic resistance unit
    Prof. P. Nordmann
  • Experimental and translational oncology
    Prof. C. Rüegg

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

ECTS credits can be earned.

Doctoral school



In order to be admitted to a doctorate the candidate must have been awarded an academic Bachelor's and Master's degree or an equivalent qualification by a university recognised by the University of Fribourg.

Before applying for a doctorate the candidate must contact a professor who would be willing to supervise the thesis work.

There is no general right to be admitted to a doctorate.

The respective conditions of admission for each doctoral study programme are reserved.