Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Course offerings

Business Communication

Abstract

This Bachelor's level minor study programme combines theory and practice in the fields of information and communication. The objective is to help students master the different communication skills needed in a variety of constantly changing environments and contexts.
The programme comprises a communication module and a specialisation module, chosen by the student, in management, economics or information systems. It then leads to a full Master's level programme in the same topics.
This study programme in Business Communication at the University of Fribourg is unique in its category and offers targeted and highly sought-after academic and professional prospects.

Show the study programme profile

Profile of the study programme

The development of information and communication technologies, the rise of Web 2.0 and new applications have profoundly changed the way all organisations communicate.
To design a communication strategy, implement a communication plan or pursue a public relations policy for a corporation or institution, solid theoretical bases are required, along with in-depth knowledge of new communication practices to meet the demands of a constantly changing professional environment.
The Bachelor's level minor study programme in Business Communication helps students acquire the theoretical knowledge, skills and know-how required in the fields of information and communication.

Fribourg profile
The study programme consists of two modules:

«Communication and Media» module (30 ECTS credits):
This module, which is offered in French only, contains a broad variety of lectures: communication and media theory, communication and media strategies, media and new media, public relations, communication and Internet law, surveys and analyses of qualitative data.

Specialisation module (30 ECTS credits):

  • «Economics», giving direct access to either the Master of Arts in Business Communication, specialisation in Economics or in Ethics and economics;
  • «Information systems», giving direct access to the Master of Arts in Business Communication, specialisation in Information systems;
  • «Management». To access the Master of Arts in Business Communication, specialisation in Management, this programme must be completed with additional Management elements (information can be obtained from the Dean's Office at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences).

Compulsory courses are supplemented with optional courses in applied communication: on-line multimedia production, Web writing, television, written and oral communication, etc.
Group works, courses and seminars with a limited number of students are also a feature of this module providing better supervision and more effective teaching.

Through combining courses in communication with management, economics courses or business computing courses, the Business Communication programme at the University of Fribourg is unique in its category and provides academic and professional qualifications that are sought after in the business world.

Learning outcomes
The main objectives of this study programme are to develop the theoretical and methodological knowledge required in the fields of information, communication and media, and to help students master the different communication skills needed in a variety of constantly changing environments and contexts.
Students gain insight into the techniques used by corporations and organisations to disseminate information or communicate to different audiences, such as consumers, users, journalists, public authorities, opinion leaders, the general public, etc., and they are given the opportunity to put the acquired knowledge into practice.

Methodological skills
The main methodological feature of media and communication sciences is without a doubt transdisciplinarity. Insights and analyses using different approaches and methods from the field of social sciences permit students to grasp the complexity of the field of communication.

Professional skills
– Editorial: written communication and Web writing techniques;
– Digital: creation of content and online media management;
– Communicational: design and planning of communication strategies for corporations, associations or public institutions;
– Economic, legal and ethical: knowledge of the business world, analysis of legal and ethical issues.

Social skills
Social and organisational skills are encouraged through group works and through the multilingual and multicultural context of the University of Fribourg.

Career openings
Continuation to Master's level studies may lead to highly qualified positions in the fields of information and communication, particularly in connection with the development of new technologies:

  • Communication manager (internal/external/financial, etc.); spokesperson;
  • Online editor; manager of electronic publications and media;
  • Public relations, events manager; press relations manager;
  • Communications officer;
  • Consultant in Web communication and applications.

Studies organisation

Structure of studies

60 ECTS credits as a minor study programme

Curriculum

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/MRcFh

Admission

The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

  • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
  • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
  • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities (in French and German only): https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/schweizerische-ausweise/

Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

  1. First language (native language)
  2. Second language
  3. Mathematics
  4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
  5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
  6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/en/services/admission-to-universities/countries/
In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

The assessment of foreign school-leaving certificates is based on the «CRUS Recommendations for the Assessment of Foreign Upper Secondary School-Leaving Certificates, 7 September 2007» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07en). The admission requirements are valid for the respective academic year. The Rectorat of the University of Fribourg reserves the right to change these requirements at any time.

Alternatives

Furthermore, a study programme worth 30 ECTS credits is also offered as a minor in this field of study: «Communication and Media» (French only).

Universität Fribourg Université de Fribourg Suisse | Universität Freiburg Schweiz Offre d'études

Business Communication

Résumé

Ce programme d'études secondaires de niveau Bachelor propose une formation qui allie connaissances théoriques et apprentissages pratiques dans les domaines de l'information et de la communication, avec comme objectif la maîtrise de techniques de communication adaptées à des environnements et des contextes variés en constante mutation.
Comprenant un module en communication et un module de spécialisation au choix de l'étudiante ou de l'étudiant, en gestion d'entreprise, en sciences économiques ou en informatique de gestion, ce programme d'études débouche ensuite sur une formation complète de niveau Master dans les mêmes disciplines.
Cette offre d'études de l'Université de Fribourg en Business Communication est unique en son genre et elle offre des perspectives académiques et professionnelles ciblées et très recherchées.

Afficher le profil du programme d'études

Profil du programme d'études

L'explosion des technologies de l'information et de la communication, le Web 2.0 et les nouveaux usages ont changé en profondeur la communication de toute organisation.
Pour concevoir une stratégie de communication, mettre en place un plan de communication ou engager une politique de relations publiques pour une entreprise ou une institution, il faut posséder des bases théoriques solides, mais aussi avoir des connaissances approfondies des nouvelles pratiques de la communication pour satisfaire aux exigences d'un environnement professionnel en constante mutation.
Le programme d'études secondaires de niveau Bachelor en Business Communication propose une formation alliant des connaissances théoriques et des apprentissages de techniques et de savoir-faire dans les domaines de l'information et de la communication.

Profil fribourgeois
Le programme d'études est composé de deux modules:

Module «Communication et Médias» (30 crédits ECTS):
Ce module, offert en français seulement, offre une large palette de cours: théories de la communication et des médias, stratégies de communication et médias, médias et nouveaux médias, relations publiques, droit de la communication et d'Internet, enquêtes et analyses de données qualitatives.

Module au choix (30 crédits ECTS):

  • «Economie politique», donnant l'accès direct au Master of Arts in Business Communication, option Economie politique ou option Ethique et Economie politique;
  • «Informatique de gestion», donnant l'accès direct au Master of Arts in Business Communication, option Informatique de gestion;
  • «Gestion d'entreprise». Pour accéder au Master of Arts in Business Communication, option Gestion d'entreprise, il est nécessaire de compléter ce programme par des prestations supplémentaires en gestion d'entreprise (renseignements auprès du Décanat de la Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales).

Les cours obligatoires sont complétés par des cours optionnels en communication appliquée: réalisation multimédia en ligne, écriture web, télévision, communication écrite et orale etc.
Des travaux de groupe, des cours et des séminaires à nombre limité d'étudiants sont également proposés pour permettre un meilleur encadrement et une pédagogie efficace.

En alliant des enseignements en communication et d'autres enseignements en gestion d'entreprise, en sciences économiques ou en informatique de gestion, l'offre fribourgeoise en Business Communication est unique en son genre et permet des orientations académiques ou professionnelles recherchées dans le monde du travail.

Objectifs de formation
Les objectifs principaux de ce programme d'études sont d'acquérir des connaissances théoriques et méthodologiques dans les domaines de l'information, de la communication et des médias, et de maîtriser des techniques de communication adaptées à des environnements et des contextes variés en pleine mutation.
La formation permet de comprendre et de pratiquer les techniques utilisées par les entreprises ou les organisations pour diffuser des informations ou communiquer auprès de différents publics, consommatrices et consommateurs, usagers, journalistes, pouvoirs publics, leaders d'opinion, grand public, etc.

Compétences méthodologiques
L'apport méthodologique fondamental des sciences de la communication et des médias est sans conteste la transdisciplinarité. Des éclairages et des analyses utilisant différentes approches et méthodes des sciences sociales permettent d'appréhender la complexité de la communication.

Compétences professionnelles
– Rédactionnelles: maîtrise de la communication écrite et des techniques d'écriture sur le Web;
– Numériques: création de contenus et gestion de médias en ligne;
– Communicationnelles: conception et planification de stratégies de communication pour les entreprises, les associations ou les institutions publiques;
– Economiques, juridiques et éthiques: connaissances du monde de l'entreprise, analyse des questions légales et éthiques.

Compétences sociales
Des compétences sociales et organisationnelles sont favorisées par des travaux collaboratifs en groupes, ainsi que par le contexte multilingue et pluriculturel de l'Université de Fribourg.

Débouchés
La poursuite des études au niveau Master peut vous conduire vers des postes hautement qualifiés dans les domaines de l'information et de la communication, en lien notamment avec l'essor des nouvelles technologies:

  • Responsable de communication (interne/externe/financière etc.); porte-parole;
  • Rédactrice ou rédacteur en ligne; responsable des publications et médias électroniques;
  • Chargée ou chargé des relations publiques, de l'événementiel; responsable des relations presse;
  • Chargée ou chargé d'études en communication;
  • Consultante ou consultant spécialiste en communication et applications web.

Organisation des études

Structure des études

60 crédits ECTS en tant que programme d'études secondaires

Plan d'études

http://studies.unifr.ch/go/ho6yt

Admission

Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg:

  • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
  • Certificat de maturité professionnelle complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
  • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/certificats-suisses/

Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante:

  1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
  2. Deuxième langue
  3. Mathématiques
  4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
  5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
  6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities: https://www.swissuniversities.ch/fr/services/admission-a-luniversite/pays/
De plus, les candidats étrangers et les candidates étrangères doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

L'évaluation de diplômes étrangers de fin d'études se base sur les «Recommandations du 7 septembre 2007 de la CRUS relatives à l'évaluation des diplômes d'études secondaires supérieures étrangers» (http://studies.unifr.ch/go/crus07fr). Les conditions d'admission ne sont valables que pour l'année académique respective. Le Rectorat de l'Université de Fribourg se réserve le droit de les modifier à tout instant.

Variantes

Un programme d'études à 30 crédits ECTS est également offert en tant que programme d'études secondaires dans ce même domaine: «Communication et médias» (en français seulement).